DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed on 7/9/2026.
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1 and 18 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 19 was/were cancelled; Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are independent claims. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 5/8/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The claim objections are withdrawn because of the amendment and the persuasive argument in the remark (page 8).
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C 102:
Regarding the Applicant’s (I) argument in the remarks (page 9), the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claimed feature is NOT required to disclose or suggest that the column processing unit 13 itself has multiple switchable PGA levels and the signal processing occurs before CDS/AD conversion. The claim simply requires “each column signal processing unit of the image sensor has a plurality of available voltage gain levels” which can be taught by Sakano where Sakano teaches that FDG is switched on/off to set different available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 14; off to set a first gain and on to set a second gain).
Regarding the Applicant’s (II) argument in the remarks (page 10): in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Examiner respectfully submits that the claimed feature does not require to have a feedback control logic of the column processing unit detecting the FD voltage and then accordingly selecting which photoelectric conversion unit to use in real time. There is nothing in the claim requiring that the column signal processing unit first detects a signal voltage, and then accordingly selects the photoelectric conversion unit, which is a dynamic and real-time feedback control process based on a detection result. The claimed feature simply recites each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column (transfer the signal to the FD), and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column” (turn on/off switches to select a PD) (Figs. 3, 4, 6; during t25-t26, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is off to detect FD 105a; each of the column processing unit 13 can detect by outputting and then select PD 101a/101b by turning on or off transistors within the pixel; transistor SEL is turned on to select a PD to readout).
Regarding the Applicant’s (III) argument in the remarks (pages 10-11): in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Examiner respectfully submits that the claimed feature does not require to have “real-time feedback control based on signal voltage detection”. The claimed feature simply recites each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column (transfer signal to the FD), and accordingly determining a charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (outputting the gained signal based on the set gain) (Figs. 3, 4, 6; pages 7-8; during t25-t26, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is off to detect FD 105a with a first gain; during t27-t28, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is on to detect FD 105a with a second gain).
Regarding the Applicant’s (IV) argument in the remarks (page 11): in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The Examiner respectfully submits that the claimed feature does not require to have “the column processing unit 13 primarily performs CDS and possibly AD conversion… has a plurality of configurable analog voltage gain settings”. The claimed feature simply requires each of the column signal processing units (13) detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column (the column 13 reads out the signal voltage output from the FD), and accordingly determining a voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels (the column 13 reads out the gained signal based on the set gain) (Figs. 3, 4, 6; pages 7-8; during t25-t26, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is off to detect FD 105a with a first gain; during t27-t28, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is on to detect FD 105a with a second gain; detecting SH1 based on the first gain and detecting SH2 based on the second gain).
The Examiner respectfully notes that the claimed “detecting” steps do not specify anything other than simply detecting without any detecting conditions. It is suggested to claim as detecting whether A > B and performing Step1 when A > B, rather than “detecting… accordingly performing Step1”.
For the above reasons, the Examiner respectfully submits that claim 1 is too broad and that is why the 102 rejection was presented and is maintained. Sakano does teach the features as claimed in claim 1.
Rejections under 35 U.S.C 103:
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant is arguing In the remark (page 12) that Velichko is silent on a process of "selecting the photoconversion unit for signal conversion" and Velichko does NOT disclose or suggest a feature of "detecting signal voltage and accordingly selecting the photoconversion unit". Therefore, Velichko also fails to disclose or suggest the feature, "each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to a column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column" as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Velichko does teach selecting the photoconversion unit for signal conversion (Figs. 2-6; para. 0032: “a given per-column control circuit 31 for processing image signals captured by a given pixel 22 and for adjusting gain in that pixel 22… The steps of FIG. 4 may be performed independently for each pixel 22 (using a corresponding pixel control circuit 31) in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or concurrently) to provide active and independent gain control to each pixel in the selected row while the row is selected”; photodiode PD 34 in each pixel can be selected independently for signal conversion by turning on/off transfer switches 52 and selection transistors 56 [fig. 3] while turning on/off DCG transistors 64 to set a gain). Moreover, Velichko also teaches each column processing unit 31 detects/reads signal voltage output from PD 34 to the column 32 and select each PD 34 to read out with a set gain by turning on/off transfer switches 52 and selection transistors 56 [fig. 3] while turning on/off DCG transistors 64 to set a gain based on a feedback signal DCG (Figs. 3-6). Therefore, Velichko does teach the feature “each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to a column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column" as recited in claim 1 (Figs. 2-6; para. 0032: “a given per-column control circuit 31 for processing image signals captured by a given pixel 22 and for adjusting gain in that pixel 22… The steps of FIG. 4 may be performed independently for each pixel 22 (using a corresponding pixel control circuit 31) in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or concurrently) to provide active and independent gain control to each pixel in the selected row while the row is selected”; para. 0044: “adjusting the gain provided by an associated pixel 22 by adjusting dual conversion gain control signal DCG and/or by adjusting the gain of a corresponding column amplifier 33”; para. 0036).
For the reason above, the Examiner respectfully submits that, in an alternative claim interpretation, the combination of Sakano and Velichko does teach the features as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments in the remarks (pages 13-14) for claim 15, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner notes that the claimed feature simply recites “select the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in each of the pixel units” without specifying any specific one and how the specific one is selected. Thus, Velichko does teach the claimed feature select the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in each of the pixel units (Figs. 2-6; para. 0032: “a given per-column control circuit 31 for processing image signals captured by a given pixel 22 and for adjusting gain in that pixel 22… The steps of FIG. 4 may be performed independently for each pixel 22 (using a corresponding pixel control circuit 31) in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or concurrently) to provide active and independent gain control to each pixel in the selected row while the row is selected”; photodiode PD 34 in each pixel can be selected independently for signal conversion by turning on/off transfer switches 52 and selection transistors 56 [fig. 3] while turning on/off DCG transistors 64 to set a gain based on a feedback control signal DCG). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits that Velichko does disclose the feature the gain control unit is configured to determine a brightness range of an image based on a signal voltage output by each of the pixel units, and select the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in each of the pixel units, a charge-to-voltage conversion gain of each of the pixel units and a voltage gain of the column processing unit based on the brightness range (Figs. 2-6; para.0035: “At step 114, column control circuit 31 may compare the first image signal received from pixel 22 to a selected threshold value to determine whether additional charge storage is required at pixel 22 (e.g., to determine whether to adjust the gain or switch gain modes at pixel 22)”; para. 0032: “a given per-column control circuit 31 for processing image signals captured by a given pixel 22 and for adjusting gain in that pixel 22… The steps of FIG. 4 may be performed independently for each pixel 22 (using a corresponding pixel control circuit 31) in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or concurrently) to provide active and independent gain control to each pixel in the selected row while the row is selected”; para. 0044: “adjusting the gain provided by an associated pixel 22 by adjusting dual conversion gain control signal DCG and/or by adjusting the gain of a corresponding column amplifier 33”; para. 0036: brightness range less than or larger than the threshold; based on the comparison, select a photodiode to configure a different gain for readout). For the reasons above, the Examiner respectfully submits that the combination of Sakano and Velichko does teach the features as claimed in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakano et al (JP 2017175345 A).
Regarding claim 1, Sakano teaches A method for implementing High Dynamic Range (HDR) imaging, implemented based on an image sensor (Figs. 1-6) comprising a plurality of pixel units and a plurality of column signal processing units (Figs. 1-6), wherein each pixel unit (Fig. 4; 100A) of the image sensor has a plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (Figs. 4, 6), each column signal processing unit (13) of the image sensor has a plurality of available voltage gain levels (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 14), and each pixel unit comprises two photoelectric conversion units with different photosensitivity (Fig. 4; page 5, line 6; large PD 101a and small PD 101b);
wherein the method comprises:
emptying photoelectric conversion units of pixel units in a current row (Fig. 6; page 7; t22);
integrating photogenerated carriers on each of the photoelectric conversion units in the current row (Fig. 6; during t23-t25);
resetting floating diffusion areas of the pixel units in the current row (during t22-t23);
setting the available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels of the pixel units in the current row (Figs. 4, 6; FDG on/off to set different available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels);
setting the available voltage gain levels of the column signal processing units of the image sensor (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 14; outputting different available voltage gain levels [SH1,SH2,SL…] to column processing unit 13 via amplifier 106);
converting and saving a conversion reference value of a reference voltage in a certain level setting state after the floating diffusion areas are reset, or multiple conversion reference values of the reference voltage in multiple level setting states after the floating diffusion areas are reset (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 3; periods t23-t25; converting and saving NH2, NH1);
controlling transfer transistors of the pixel units of the current row to transfer all or part of the photogenerated carriers of the pixel units from the photoelectric conversion units with higher photosensitivity to the floating diffusion areas (Fig. 6; during t25-t26, TGL is on);
each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to a column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column (Figs. 3, 4, 6; during t25-t26, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is off to detect FD 105a);
each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (Figs. 3, 4, 6; pages 7-8; during t25-t26, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is off to detect FD 105a with a first gain; during t27-t28, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is on to detect FD 105a with a second gain);
each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels (Figs. 3, 4, 6; pages 7-8; during t25-t26, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is off to detect FD 105a with a first gain; during t27-t28, TGL is on and accordingly FDG is on to detect FD 105a with a second gain; detecting SH1 based on the first gain and detecting SH2 based on the second gain);
the column signal processing units simultaneously converting the signal voltages of the floating diffusion areas of the pixel units to acquire a conversion signal value of the current row (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 4; column processing unit 13 simultaneously converting signal voltages for each selected row to acquire SH1, SH2); and
processing the conversion signal value and the one conversion reference value or multiple conversion reference values to acquire an image signal value of each pixel unit in the current row at corresponding charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (page 14; noise removal processing by the column processing unit 13 to process NH1, NH2, SH1, SH2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 15-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano et al (JP 2017175345 A) in view of Velichko (US 20150054973 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakano teaches A method for implementing High Dynamic Range (HDR) imaging, implemented based on an image sensor (Figs. 1-6) comprising a plurality of pixel units and a plurality of column signal processing units (Figs. 1-6), wherein each pixel unit (Fig. 4; 100A) of the image sensor has a plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (Figs. 4, 6), each column signal processing unit (13) of the image sensor has a plurality of available voltage gain levels (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 14), and each pixel unit comprises two photoelectric conversion units with different photosensitivity (Fig. 4; page 5, line 6; large PD 101a and small PD 101b);
wherein the method comprises:
emptying photoelectric conversion units of pixel units in a current row (Fig. 6; page 7; t22);
integrating photogenerated carriers on each of the photoelectric conversion units in the current row (Fig. 6; during t23-t25);
resetting floating diffusion areas of the pixel units in the current row (during t22-t23);
setting the available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels of the pixel units in the current row (Figs. 4, 6; FDG on/off to set different available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels);
converting and saving a conversion reference value of a reference voltage in a certain level setting state after the floating diffusion areas are reset, or multiple conversion reference values of the reference voltage in multiple level setting states after the floating diffusion areas are reset (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 3; periods t23-t25; converting and saving NH2, NH1);
controlling transfer transistors of the pixel units of the current row to transfer all or part of the photogenerated carriers of the pixel units from the photoelectric conversion units with higher photosensitivity to the floating diffusion areas (Fig. 6; during t25-t26, TGL is on);
the column signal processing units simultaneously converting the signal voltages of the floating diffusion areas of the pixel units to acquire a conversion signal value of the current row (Figs. 3, 4, 6; page 4; column processing unit 13 simultaneously converting signal voltages for each selected row to acquire SH1, SH2); and
processing the conversion signal value and the one conversion reference value or multiple conversion reference values to acquire an image signal value of each pixel unit in the current row at corresponding charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (page 14; noise removal processing by the column processing unit 13 to process NH1, NH2, SH1, SH2),
but fails to teach
setting the available voltage gain levels of the column signal processing units of the image sensor; each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to a column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column; each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels; each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels.
However, in the same field of endeavor Velichko teaches
setting the available voltage gain levels of the column signal processing units of the image sensor; each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to a column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column; each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels; each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels (Figs. 2-6; para.0035: “At step 114, column control circuit 31 may compare the first image signal received from pixel 22 to a selected threshold value to determine whether additional charge storage is required at pixel 22 (e.g., to determine whether to adjust the gain or switch gain modes at pixel 22)”; para. 0032: “a given per-column control circuit 31 for processing image signals captured by a given pixel 22 and for adjusting gain in that pixel 22… The steps of FIG. 4 may be performed independently for each pixel 22 (using a corresponding pixel control circuit 31) in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or concurrently) to provide active and independent gain control to each pixel in the selected row while the row is selected”; para. 0044: “adjusting the gain provided by an associated pixel 22 by adjusting dual conversion gain control signal DCG and/or by adjusting the gain of a corresponding column amplifier 33”; para. 0036: brightness range less than or larger than the threshold; based on the comparison, select a photodiode to configure a different gain for readout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in Sakano to have setting the available voltage gain levels of the column signal processing units of the image sensor; each of the column signal processing units detecting a signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to a column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column; each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels; each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly determining a voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels for providing per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claims 2-7, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Velichko teaches
Claim 2: The method according to claim 1, wherein a brightness range of an image is determined based on a signal voltage output by the pixel unit (Figs. 4-6; steps 112, 114, 132, 134).
Claim 3: The method according to claim 2, where the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit, the charge-to-voltage conversion gain of the pixel unit and the voltage gain of the column processing unit are adjusted based on the brightness range (Figs. 3-6; steps 118, 120, 122, 124; 142-148).
Claim 4. The method according to claim 1, wherein different column signal processing units in the current row have different voltage gain levels (Figs. 3-6; para. 0029: per-column control circuits may individually adjust the conversion gain provided for each pixel 22 in a given row of array 20 during image capture and readout operations).
Claim 5. The method according to claim 4, wherein a gain level voltage is provided to be compared with an output signal voltage of the pixel unit once or multiple times to determine a brightness range of an image (Figs. 3-6; 114/134).
Claim 6. The method according to claim 5, wherein based on the brightness range of the image, a control signal for selecting the photoelectric conversion unit in the pixel unit, determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain and determining the voltage gain of the column processing unit is generated (Figs. 3-6; 134-148).
Claim 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein different pixel units in the current row have different charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels (Figs. 3-6; para. 0029: per-column control circuits may individually adjust the conversion gain provided for each pixel 22 in a given row of array 20 during image capture and readout operations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in the combination to have features of claims 2-7 for providing per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein different pixel units in the current row select the photoelectric conversion units with different photosensitivity (large and small PDs 101a, b) to perform signal conversion (FDG on/off) (Figs. 3, 4, 6).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Velichko teaches wherein said each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column, accordingly determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, and accordingly determining the voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels (Figs. 3-6) comprises:
setting a plurality of level combinations based on sensitivity of the photoelectric conversion units, the available voltage gain levels and the available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, wherein the plurality of level combinations correspond to different voltage ranges (Figs. 3-6; paras. 0035-0038); and
determining a voltage range of the detected signal voltage of the floating diffusion area, determining the level combination corresponding to the voltage range, selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion, and determining the voltage gain level and the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level (Figs. 3-6; paras. 0035-0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in the combination to have wherein said each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column, accordingly determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, and accordingly determining the voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels comprises: setting a plurality of level combinations based on sensitivity of the photoelectric conversion units, the available voltage gain levels and the available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, wherein the plurality of level combinations correspond to different voltage ranges; and determining a voltage range of the detected signal voltage of the floating diffusion area, determining the level combination corresponding to the voltage range, selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion, and determining the voltage gain level and the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level for optimizing gain and signal in the provided per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Velichko teaches wherein said each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column, accordingly determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, and accordingly determining the voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels (Figs. 3-6) comprises:
determining the voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit corresponding to the signal voltage based on the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area and a first preset voltage range (Figs. 4-5; para. 0055);
determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the signal voltage based on the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area and a second preset voltage range (Figs. 4-5; para. 0055); and
determining the photoelectric conversion unit for performing signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the signal voltage based on the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area and a third preset voltage range (Figs. 4-5; para. 0055).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in the combination to have wherein said each of the column signal processing units detecting the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area of the pixel unit corresponding to the column, and accordingly selecting the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the column, accordingly determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the column based on the plurality of available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, and accordingly determining the voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit based on the plurality of available voltage gain levels comprises: determining the voltage gain level of the column signal processing unit corresponding to the signal voltage based on the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area and a first preset voltage range; determining the charge-to-voltage conversion gain level of the pixel unit corresponding to the signal voltage based on the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area and a second preset voltage range; and determining the photoelectric conversion unit for performing signal conversion in the pixel unit corresponding to the signal voltage based on the signal voltage of the floating diffusion area and a third preset voltage range for optimizing signal gain utilizing multiple threshold ranges in the provided per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein an image signal is divided into a plurality of sub-segments (Fig. 18) based on the available voltage gain levels and the available charge-to-voltage conversion gain levels, and the column signal processing units perform signal quantization on corresponding sub-segments and output the image signal (NH1, NH2, SH1, SH2, SL, NL) (Figs. 3, 4, 6; pages 15-18).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 1. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein the image signal in each of the plurality of sub-segments is processed in a preset manner, to make image curves fitted by the image signal in each sub-segment be capable of being connected end to end in sequence and output (pages 15-18; pixel signal calculation processing of the signal processing unit 18 performs scaling different readout signals with different gains/weights so that they can be combined to generate higher HDR signals).
Regarding claim 15, Sakano teaches A High Dynamic Range (HDR) imaging device (Figs. 1-6, 20), comprising an image sensor (Figs. 1-4), wherein the HDR imaging device further comprises:
a pixel array in the image sensor (Figs. 1-3), comprising a plurality of pixel units (Fig. 4); and
a column processing unit (13), comprising
wherein each of the pixel units comprises two photoelectric conversion units with different photosensitivity (Fig. 4; page 5, line 6; large PD 101a and small PD 101b); and
but fails to teach
a column processing unit, comprising a gain control unit; and the gain control unit is configured to determine a brightness range of an image based on a signal voltage output by each of the pixel units, and select the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in each of the pixel units, a charge-to-voltage conversion gain of each of the pixel units and a voltage gain of the column processing unit based on the brightness range.
However, in the same field of endeavor Velichko teaches
a column processing unit (column control and readout circuitry 28), comprising a gain control unit (para. 0020: “column readout and control circuitry 28 may include per-column control circuits 31”); and the gain control unit is configured to determine a brightness range of an image based on a signal voltage output by each of the pixel units, and select the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in each of the pixel units, a charge-to-voltage conversion gain of each of the pixel units and a voltage gain of the column processing unit based on the brightness range (Figs. 2-6; para.0035: “At step 114, column control circuit 31 may compare the first image signal received from pixel 22 to a selected threshold value to determine whether additional charge storage is required at pixel 22 (e.g., to determine whether to adjust the gain or switch gain modes at pixel 22)”; para. 0032: “a given per-column control circuit 31 for processing image signals captured by a given pixel 22 and for adjusting gain in that pixel 22… The steps of FIG. 4 may be performed independently for each pixel 22 (using a corresponding pixel control circuit 31) in parallel (e.g., simultaneously or concurrently) to provide active and independent gain control to each pixel in the selected row while the row is selected”; para. 0044: “adjusting the gain provided by an associated pixel 22 by adjusting dual conversion gain control signal DCG and/or by adjusting the gain of a corresponding column amplifier 33”; para. 0036: brightness range less than or larger than the threshold; based on the comparison, select a photodiode to configure a different gain).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in Sakano to have a column processing unit, comprising a gain control unit; and the gain control unit is configured to determine a brightness range of an image based on a signal voltage output by each of the pixel units, and select the photoelectric conversion unit for signal conversion in each of the pixel units, a charge-to-voltage conversion gain of each of the pixel units and a voltage gain of the column processing unit based on the brightness range for providing per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 15. In addition, Velichko teaches wherein the gain control unit comprises:
a gain level voltage providing unit, configured to provide a gain level voltage for one or more comparisons with an output signal voltage of each of the pixel units to determine the brightness range of the image (Figs. 4-6); and
a gain control signal generating unit, configured to generate a control signal for selecting the photoelectric conversion unit in each of the pixel units, setting the charge-to- voltage conversion gain, and setting the voltage gain of the column processing unit based on the brightness range of the image (Figs. 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in the combination to have wherein the gain control unit comprises: a gain level voltage providing unit, configured to provide a gain level voltage for one or more comparisons with an output signal voltage of each of the pixel units to determine the brightness range of the image; and a gain control signal generating unit, configured to generate a control signal for selecting the photoelectric conversion unit in each of the pixel units, setting the charge-to- voltage conversion gain, and setting the voltage gain of the column processing unit based on the brightness range of the image for providing per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 15. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein each pixel unit further comprises a floating diffusion area (FD 105a), and each photoelectric conversion unit (101a,b) comprises a photoelectric conversion part and a transfer gate (102a, 102d), wherein the transfer gate is configured to transfer charges in the photoelectric conversion part to the floating diffusion area (Figs. 4, 6).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 15. In addition, Sakano teaches further comprising a first switch unit (FDG 102c) is provided between first one of the photoelectric conversion units and second one of the photoelectric conversion units (large PD 101a, small PD 101b), the first switch unit is configured to switch the different photoelectric conversion units to connect to the column processing unit, and photosensitivity of the first one of the photoelectric conversion units is higher than photosensitivity of the second one of the photoelectric conversion units (Figs. 4, 6).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 15. In addition, Sakano teaches An image processing system (Figs. 1-20), comprising:
the High Dynamic Range (HDR) imaging device of claim 15; and
a row drive unit (vertical drive unit 12);
wherein the pixel units in a same row are connected to a same row control line, and the row drive unit drives and controls the pixel units through the row control line (Figs. 1-6; page 4);
the pixel units in a same column are connected to a same column signal line, and an output signal of the pixel units is output to the column processing unit via the column signal line (Figs. 1-6); and
Moreover, in the same field of endeavor, Velichko teaches
the pixel units in the same column are connected to a same column control line (DCG), and the column processing unit (31’s) drives and controls the pixel units through the column control line (Figs. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Velichko in the combination to have the pixel units in the same column are connected to a same column control line, and the column processing unit drives and controls the pixel units through the column control line for providing per-column (per-pixel) dual conversion gain controller for controlling the pixels in each row of the array without over-boosting signal, thereby reducing voltage stress on the pixel array and improving lifetime of the image sensor and preventing over-saturation of the image pixels yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 20. In addition, Sakano teaches further comprising a column storage unit (a data storage unit 19), wherein the column processing unit saves an analog-to-digital result of the output signal of the pixel units into the column storage unit (Fig. 3; page 4: “the column processing unit 13 is provided with an AD conversion function for performing AD conversion for each column or a plurality of columns of the pixel array unit 11, and a data storage unit is provided for the column processing unit 13”).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano et al (JP 2017175345 A) in view of Velichko (US 20150054973 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Toyofuku (US 20200021755 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 11. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein an image signal output corresponding to beginning and end parts of each sub-segment changes linearly (Fig. 18),
but fails to expressly show
the image signal output corresponding to a remaining part of each sub-segment changes nonlinearly.
However, in the same field of endeavor Toyofuku teaches
the image signal output corresponding to a remaining part of each sub-segment changes nonlinearly (Figs. 3, 12; paras. 0097, 0100-0104; A signal processing unit 280 multiplies the signal obtained by the logarithmic reading by the photoelectric conversion unit 112 and the signal obtained by the normal-sensitivity reading by the photoelectric conversion unit 111 by a ratio of the conversion efficiency to create an image conforming to the signal level in the high-sensitivity reading).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Toyofuku in the combination to have the image signal output corresponding to a remaining part of each sub-segment changes nonlinearly for obtaining logarithmic component so that proper conforming signal can be obtained yielding a predicted result.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sakano and Velichko teaches everything as claimed in claim 13. In addition, Sakano teaches wherein for multiple sub-segments (SH2 and SL) of the image signal, the beginning part of each sub-segment has the same gain as the ending part of the previous sub-segment (Fig. 6; SH2 and SL has the same gain since they both readout during FDG is being turned on), to make the image curves smoothly transition between adjacent sub-segments (pages 15-18; pixel signal calculation processing of the signal processing unit 18 performs correcting different readout signals with different gains/weights so that they can be properly matched to a linear form and to be combined to generate HDR signal).
Prior arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Innocent et al (US 20210144319 A1) teaches a same HDR image sensor having different size of PDs 40 and 42 and control circuitry may also simultaneously (and partially) assert control signal DCG to extend the storage capacity of floating diffusion region 48 by connecting floating diffusion region 48 to capacitor 64.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637