DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Specification filed on 11/08/2024 (4/4) is accepted.
Preliminary Amendments
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 11/08/2024.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13-17, 19, 21-26, 37 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 13, 16, 21-22, 26, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ying et al. ( US 2024/0205639 A1), hereinafter referred to as Ying.
Regarding claim 1, Ying teaches: A method for processing information, performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see FIG. 8, Second network element; The second network element (the AMF network element) ¶[0423], ¶[0447]), comprising:
receiving request information sent by a user equipment (UE) ( see ¶[0418] The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service), wherein the request information is configured to request service information of a sensing application function ( see ¶[0418] The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service; ¶[0419] the first request message carries sensing indication information, where the sensing indication information indicates that the first request message requests a sensing service); and
sending, based on the request information, the service information of the sensing application function to the UE (see ¶[0432], 43. The second network element sends a response message of the first request message to the UE, where the response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0433] Optionally, the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized), wherein the service information is at least configured to indicate an address of the sensing application function (¶[0433] the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0434] the response message further includes address information of a sensing network element (for example, the SF network element); ¶[0708] the response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element).
Regarding claim 2, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
sending the request information to a Session Management Function (SMF) ( see ¶[0738] For example, the AMF selects the appropriate SMF based on information carried in the N1 message; ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message; ¶[0741] Optionally, the N11 message may be an SM request message ); and
receiving the service information of the sensing application function sent, in response to the request information, by the SMF ( see ¶[0742] 705. Optionally, the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0743] Specifically, the SMF obtains subscription information of the UE, and further obtains the service authorization information of the UE. The SMF determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0752] 708. The SMF sends a session management SM response message to the UE ( Note: The SMF sends a session management response message to AMF and to UE); ¶[0753] The session management response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized).
Regarding claim 3, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the request information sent by the UE comprises:
receiving a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message carrying the request information ( see ¶[0731] 702. The UE sends an N1 message to an AMF; ¶[0732] Optionally, the N1 message may be a session management (session management, SM) request message (Note: it is well known in the art that PDU session establishment request is included in N1 session management SM message); ¶[0733] The UE adds the session management request message to the N1 message, where the session management request message is used to request a sensing service for the UE. Optionally, the UE includes a sensing indication in the session management request, to indicate that the session management request message is used to request a sensing service for the UE. Optionally, the session management request message may further include a sensing service type and a sensing requirement; the session management request message includes sensing indication information, and the sensing indication information indicates to request the sensing service. Optionally, the N1 message further includes a service type and/or a service requirement);
wherein the sending the service information of the sensing application function to the UE comprises:
sending PDU session response information carrying the service information to the UE, wherein the PDU session response information is associated with an acceptance of establishment of a PDU session (¶[0752] 708. The SMF sends a session management SM response message to the UE ( Note: The SMF sends a session management response message to AMF, and AMF to UE); ¶[0753] The session management response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0754] In addition, the session management response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that a request of the UE for the sensing service is accepted).
Regarding claim 9, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the request information sent by the UE comprises:
receiving a registration request message carrying the request information ( see FIG. 14 (steps 601); ¶[0690] 601. UE sends an N1 MM request message to an AMF; ¶[0691] The N1 MM request message includes sensing indication information. The sensing indication information indicates to request a sensing service ¶[0692] Optionally, the N1 MM request message may further include a service type and/or a service requirement; ¶[0695] For example, the N1 MM request message is a registration request message or a service request message);
wherein the sending the service information of the sensing application function to the UE (see ¶[0432], 43. The second network element sends a response message of the first request message to the UE, where the response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0433] Optionally, the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized) comprises:
sending a registration accept message carrying the service information to the UE ( see ¶[0706] 604. The AMF sends a response message of the N1 MM request message to the UE; ¶[0707] The response message of the N1 MM request message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0708] the response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element ).
Regarding claim 13, Ying teaches: A method for processing information, performed by a Session Management Function (SMF) (see FIG. 15, SMF; ¶[0742] the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized ), comprising:
receiving request information sent by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) ( see ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message), wherein the request information is configured to request service information of a sensing application function ( ¶[0418] The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service; ¶[0419] the first request message carries sensing indication information, where the sensing indication information indicates that the first request message requests a sensing service; ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message; ¶[0741] Optionally, the N11 message may be an SM request message.¶[0742] the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0748] 706. Optionally, the SMF selects an appropriate sensing network element for the UE); wherein the request information is sent by a user equipment (UE) to the AMF ( see ¶[0418] The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service; ¶[0419] the first request message carries sensing indication information, where the sensing indication information indicates that the first request message requests a sensing service), and the service information is at least configured to indicate an address of the sensing application function (¶[0434] the response message further includes address information of a sensing network element (for example, the SF network element); ¶[0708] the response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element; ¶[0748] 706. Optionally, the SMF selects an appropriate sensing network element for the UE); and
sending, in response to the request information, the service information of the sensing application function to the AMF ( see ¶[0742] 705. Optionally, the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0743] Specifically, the SMF obtains subscription information of the UE, and further obtains the service authorization information of the UE. The SMF determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized), wherein the service information is sent by the AMF to the UE ¶[0752] 708. The SMF sends a session management SM response message to the UE ( Note: The SMF sends a session management response message to AMF, and from AMF to UE); ¶[0753] The session management response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized).
Regarding claim 16, Ying: The method according to claim 13, wherein the service information is pre-stored in the SMF ( see Ying ¶[0423] the second network element is … the SMF network element. ¶[0425] the second network element stores subscription information of the UE, where the subscription information includes service authorization information of the UE. The second network element determines, based on the service authorization information of the UE, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0754] the session management response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that a request of the UE for the sensing service is accepted).
Regarding claim 21, Ying teaches: A method for processing information, performed by a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 8, UE; ¶[0417] method for providing a sensing service for UE), comprising:
sending request information to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see ¶[0418] The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service), wherein the request information is configured to request service information of a sensing application function ( see ¶[0418] The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service; ¶[0419] the first request message carries sensing indication information, where the sensing indication information indicates that the first request message requests a sensing service); and
receiving the service information of the sensing application function sent, based on the request information, by the AMF (see ¶[0432], 43. The second network element sends a response message of the first request message to the UE, where the response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0433] Optionally, the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized), wherein the service information is at least configured to indicate an address of the sensing application function (¶[0433] the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0434] the response message further includes address information of a sensing network element (for example, the SF network element); ¶[0708] the response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element).
Regarding claim 22, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 21, wherein the sending the request information to the AMF comprises:
sending a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session establishment request message carrying the request information to the AMF ( see ¶[0731] 702. The UE sends an N1 message to an AMF; ¶[0732] Optionally, the N1 message may be a session management (session management, SM) request message (Note: it is well known in the art that PDU session establishment request is included in N1 session management SM message); ¶[0733] The UE adds the session management request message to the N1 message, where the session management request message is used to request a sensing service for the UE. Optionally, the UE includes a sensing indication in the session management request, to indicate that the session management request message is used to request a sensing service for the UE. Optionally, the session management request message may further include a sensing service type and a sensing requirement; the session management request message includes sensing indication information, and the sensing indication information indicates to request the sensing service. Optionally, the N1 message further includes a service type and/or a service requirement);
the receiving the service information of the sensing application function sent, based on the request information, by the AMF (see ¶[0432], 43. The second network element sends a response message of the first request message to the UE, where the response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0433] Optionally, the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized) comprises:
receiving PDU session response information carrying the service information, wherein the PDU session response information is associated with an acceptance of establishment of a PDU session (¶[0752] 708. The SMF sends a session management SM response message to the UE ( Note: The SMF sends a session management response message to AMF, and AMF to UE); ¶[0753] The session management response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0754] In addition, the session management response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that a request of the UE for the sensing service is accepted).
Regarding claim 26, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 21, wherein the sending the request information to the AMF comprises:
sending a registration request message carrying the request information to the AMF ( see ¶[0069] the first request message is specifically a registration request message; ¶[0418] 41. The second network element receives a first request message from the UE. The first request message is used to request the sensing service; [0423] the second network element is the AMF network element );
the receiving the service information of the sensing application function sent, based on the request information, by the AMF (see ¶[0432], 43. The second network element sends a response message of the first request message to the UE, where the response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0433] Optionally, the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized) comprises:
receiving a registration accept message carrying the service information (see ¶[0069] the first request message is specifically a registration request message, and the response message is a registration accept message; ¶[0070] the first request message is specifically a service request message, and the response message is a service accept message; ¶[0432], 43. The second network element sends a response message of the first request message to the UE, where the response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0433] Optionally, the response message includes sensing accept indication information, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is accepted. That is, the sensing accept indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized).
Regarding claim 37, Ying teaches: A communication device (see FIG. 18 Communication apparatus 1000; FIG. 19 Communication apparatus 10; ¶[0938] In the embodiments of the UE corresponding to the communication apparatus 1000, the processing unit 1100 is configured to perform processing), comprising:
a processor ( see FIG. 19, Processor 11) ; and
a memory for storing executable instructions of the processor (see FIG. 19, Memory 12);
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method (¶[0938] In the embodiments of the UE corresponding to the communication apparatus 1000, the processing unit 1100 is configured to perform processing) according to claim 21 (see rejection of Claim 21 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 14, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0345442 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 6, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 2, wherein the sending the request information to the session management function SMF (see ¶[0738] For example, the AMF selects the appropriate SMF based on information carried in the N1 message; ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message; ¶[0741] Optionally, the N11 message may be an SM request message ) comprises:
sending a PDU session context request carrying the request information to the SMF ( see ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message; ¶[0741] Optionally, the N11 message may be an SM request message ¶[0742] 705. Optionally, the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized );
wherein the receiving the service information of the sensing application function sent, in response to the request information ( see ¶[0742] 705. Optionally, the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0743] Specifically, the SMF obtains subscription information of the UE, and further obtains the service authorization information of the UE. The SMF determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0752] 708. The SMF sends a session management SM response message to the UE ( Note: The SMF sends a session management response message to AMF and to UE); ¶[0753] The session management response message indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized), by the SMF comprises:
receiving N1N2 message transfer carrying the service information sent, in response to the PDU session context request, by the SMF;
wherein the service information is pre-stored in the SMF ( see ¶[0423] the second network element is … the SMF network element. ¶[0425] the second network element stores subscription information of the UE, where the subscription information includes service authorization information of the UE. The second network element determines, based on the service authorization information of the UE, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; ¶[0754] the session management response message includes sensing accept indication information and address information of the sensing network element, and the sensing accept indication information indicates that a request of the UE for the sensing service is accepted), or acquired by the SMF from a Policy Control Function (PCF).
Although Ying teaches in ( see ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message; ¶[0741] Optionally, the N11 message may be an SM request message ¶[0742] 705. Optionally, the SMF obtains service authorization information of the UE, and determines, based on the service authorization information, that the sensing service of the UE is authorized; and in ¶[0512] the sensing network element may invoke an existing message transmission service of the AMF to interact signaling with the RAN. For example, the signaling is NIN2MessageTransfer), Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to (a) sending a PDU session context request and (b) receiving N1N2 message transfer carrying the service information sent, in response to the PDU session context request, by the SMF.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: sending a PDU session context request carrying the request information to the SMF ( see Lee ¶[0079] In step 202, the AMF 111 selects the SMF 112 based on the DNN value or the location of the UE 101, and transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message to the selected SMF 112. The AMF 111 may include the PDU session establishment request message received from the UE 101 in this message; ¶[0080] In step 203, in order to view the PDU session estimation request message received from the UE 101 and obtain session-related subscription information for the UE 101 );
receiving N1N2 message transfer carrying the service information sent, in response to the PDU session context request, by the SMF ( see Lee ¶[0092] In step 207, the SMF 112 configures a session management NAS message called PDU session establishment accept, and includes the PCO in this message. This PCO may include an ESZI value according to step 206; ¶[0093] In step 208, the SMF 112 may transmit the PDU session establish accept message delivered to the UE 101 and the N2 message delivered to the base station by including the same in the Namf_Communication_N1N2messageTransfer message to the AMF 111. The N2 message may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, a QoS flow ID, tunnel information on the UPF side for N3 tunnel connection between the UPF and the base station, and the like; ¶[0094] The AMF 111 may transmit the ACK for Namf_Communication_N1N2messageTransfer to the SMF 112).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Lee's above teaching to enable seamless control-plane signaling during PDU Session Establishment, handovers, and UE state transitions.
Regarding claim 8, Ying teaches: the method according to claim 3, wherein the sending the PDU session response information carrying the service information to the UE comprises:
sending an N2 PDU session request carrying a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message to an access network device, wherein the NAS message carries the service information, and is sent by the access network device to the UE ( see ¶[0783] 804. The AMF sends an N2 message to a RAN; ¶[0784] The N2 message includes second sensing authorization indication information and/or a second sensing authorization parameter; ¶[0785] The second sensing authorization indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized. The second sensing authorization parameter is a sensing parameter that the network side authorizes the UE to use).
Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to Non Access Stratum (NAS) message. However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches ( see Lee ¶[0095] In step 209, the AMF 111 may transfer the message received from the SMF 112 to the base station 121. This message may include the N2 SM message received from the SMF 112, and the N1 SM NAS message received from the SMF 112; ¶[0096] In step 210, the base station 121 may receive the message in step 209 and perform an RRC signaling procedure for establishing a data radio bearer with the UE according to QoS information contained in the N2 SM message. In addition, the base station 121 may transmit the received NAS message to the UE 101).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Lee's above teaching in order to reduce signaling overhead and improve network efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Ying teaches the method according to claim 13. Although Ying teaches in ( see ¶[0739] 704. The AMF sends an N11 message to the SMF; ¶[0740] The N11 message includes the session management request message; ¶[0741] Optionally, the N11 message may be an SM request message) Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to receiving a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session context request carrying the request information.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 13, wherein the receiving the request information sent by the AMF comprises: receiving a Packet Data Unit (PDU) session context request carrying the request information ( see Lee ¶[0079] In step 202, the AMF 111 selects the SMF 112 based on the DNN value or the location of the UE 101, and transmits the Nsmf_PDUSession_CreateSMContext request message to the selected SMF 112. The AMF 111 may include the PDU session establishment request message received from the UE 101 in this message; ¶[0080] In step 203, in order to view the PDU session estimation request message received from the UE 101 and obtain session-related subscription information for the UE 101 ).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Lee's above teaching to enable seamless control-plane signaling during PDU Session Establishment, handovers, and UE state transitions.
Regarding claim 25, Ying teaches: The method according to claim 22, wherein the receiving the PDU session response information carrying the service information comprises:
receiving a Non Access Stratum (NAS) message carrying the service information sent by an access network device, wherein the NAS message is carried in an N2 PDU session request sent by the AMF to the access network device ( see Ying ¶[0783] 804. The AMF sends an N2 message to a RAN; ¶[0784] The N2 message includes second sensing authorization indication information and/or a second sensing authorization parameter; ¶[0785] The second sensing authorization indication information indicates that the sensing service of the UE is authorized. The second sensing authorization parameter is a sensing parameter that the network side authorizes the UE to use).
Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to Non Access Stratum (NAS) message. However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches ( see Lee ¶[0095] In step 209, the AMF 111 may transfer the message received from the SMF 112 to the base station 121. This message may include the N2 SM message received from the SMF 112, and the N1 SM NAS message received from the SMF 112; ¶[0096] In step 210, the base station 121 may receive the message in step 209 and perform an RRC signaling procedure for establishing a data radio bearer with the UE according to QoS information contained in the N2 SM message. In addition, the base station 121 may transmit the received NAS message to the UE 101).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Lee's above teaching in order to reduce signaling overhead and improve network efficiency.
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying in view of Zhu et al. (US 2022/0264690 A1), hereinafter referred to as Zhu.
Regarding claim 23, Ying teaches the method according to claim 22. Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to request information carried in a Session Management (SM) container of the PDU session establishment request message; or sensing capability information of the UE carried in a Protocol Configuration Option (PCO) of the PDU session establishment request message.
However, Zhu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: the method according to claim 22, wherein the request information comprises at least one of:
request information carried in a Session Management (SM) container of the PDU session establishment request message ( see ¶[0043] The UE 310 sends a PDU session establishment request 402 to the AMF 339 via the RAN 322. For example, this request may be carried by a non-access-stratum (NAS) message between the core network and the UE 310. The message may include information such as data network name (DNN), the new PDU session ID, and the PDU session establishment request. In some implementations, the PDU session establishment request is encapsulated in a N1 session management (SM) container for transmission; ¶[0044] The AMF 339 selects the SMF 331 based on the requested DNN. Then, the AMF 339 sends a SM context creation request message 404 to the SMF 331 for requesting creation of a SM context for the new PDU session. The SM context creation message 404, for example, may include information such as subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), DNN, PDU session ID, AMF ID, and N1 SM container containing the PDU session establishment request 402 ); or sensing capability information of the UE carried in a Protocol Configuration Option (PCO) of the PDU session establishment request message.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhu's above teachings in order to enable data traffic offloading towards an application service when it is relocated ( see Zhu ¶[0003] ).
Regarding claim 24, Ying teaches the method according to claim 22. Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the service information is carried in at least one of an SM container of the PDU session response information or a PCO of the PDU session response information.
However, Zhu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 22, wherein the service information is carried in at least one of an SM container of the PDU session response information ( see Zhu ¶[0043] The UE 310 sends a PDU session establishment request 402 to the AMF 339 via the RAN 322 … the PDU session establishment request is encapsulated in a N1 session management (SM) container for transmission; ¶[0044] the AMF 339 sends a SM context creation request message 404 to the SMF 331 for requesting creation of a SM context for the new PDU session. The SM context creation message 404, for example, may include information such as … N1 SM container containing the PDU session establishment request 402; ¶[0045] the SMF 331 creates a SM context and sends a response message 406 including an identifier of the SM context to the AMF 339; ¶[0050] The N1 SM container may include a PDU session establishment accept message that the AMF 339 shall provide to the UE 310) or a PCO of the PDU session response information.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhu's above teachings in order to enable data traffic offloading towards an application service when it is relocated ( see Zhu ¶[0003] ).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying in view Qia et al. (US 2021/0385625 A1), hereinafter referred to as Qia.
Regarding claim 17, Ying teaches the method according to claim 13. Ying fails to explicitly state, however, Qia, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 13 further comprising: sending the request information to a Policy Control Function (PCF) ( see Qia ¶[0206] The SMF 160 may select a PCF (e.g., the PCF 135). The SMF 160 may send, to the PCF 135, a request message (e.g., an SM Policy association establishment/modification request message 1606) to request PCC rules); and receiving the service information sent, in response to the request information, by the PCF, wherein the service information is pre-stored in the PCF (see Qia ¶[0206] The PCF 135 may send, to the SMF 160, a response message (e.g., SM policy association establishment/modification response message 1608). The response message may comprise PCC rules);
wherein the sending the request information to the PCF comprises: sending an SM policy management establishment request carrying the request information to the PCF (see Qia ¶[0206] The SMF 160 may select a PCF (e.g., the PCF 135). The SMF 160 may send, to the PCF 135, a request message (e.g., an SM Policy association establishment/modification request message 1606) to request PCC rules)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Qia's above teaching in order to improve wireless device location determination ( see Qia ¶[0229] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Qia prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Ying art) based on design incentives ( improve wireless device location determination) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying in view of Lee, and further in view of Zhu.
Regarding claim 15, Ying and Lee combination teaches the method according to claim 14. The combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to request information carried in a Session Management (SM) container of the PDU session context request or sensing capability information of the UE carried in a Protocol Configuration Option (PCO) of the PDU session context request.
However, Zhu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: The method according to claim 14, wherein the request information comprises at least one of:
request information carried in a Session Management (SM) container of the PDU session context request ( see ¶[0043] The UE 310 sends a PDU session establishment request 402 to the AMF 339 via the RAN 322. For example, this request may be carried by a non-access-stratum (NAS) message between the core network and the UE 310. The message may include information such as data network name (DNN), the new PDU session ID, and the PDU session establishment request. In some implementations, the PDU session establishment request is encapsulated in a N1 session management (SM) container for transmission; ¶[0044] The AMF 339 selects the SMF 331 based on the requested DNN. Then, the AMF 339 sends a SM context creation request message 404 to the SMF 331 for requesting creation of a SM context for the new PDU session. The SM context creation message 404, for example, may include information such as subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), DNN, PDU session ID, AMF ID, and N1 SM container containing the PDU session establishment request 402 ); or sensing capability information of the UE carried in a Protocol Configuration Option (PCO) of the PDU session context request.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhu's above teachings in order to enable data traffic offloading towards an application service when it is relocated ( see Zhu ¶[0003] ).
Regarding claim 19, Ying teaches the method according to claim 13. Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to sending N1N2 message transfer carrying the service information to the AMF and the service information is carried in at least one of an SM container of the N1N2 message transfer or a PCO of the N1N2 message transfer.
However, Lee, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the sending the service information of the sensing application function to the AMF comprises: sending N1N2 message transfer carrying the service information to the AMF ( see Lee ¶[0092] In step 207, the SMF 112 configures a session management NAS message called PDU session establishment accept, and includes the PCO in this message. This PCO may include an ESZI value according to step 206; ¶[0093] In step 208, the SMF 112 may transmit the PDU session establish accept message delivered to the UE 101 and the N2 message delivered to the base station by including the same in the Namf_Communication_N1N2messageTransfer message to the AMF 111. The N2 message may include a PDU session ID, a QoS profile, a QoS flow ID, tunnel information on the UPF side for N3 tunnel connection between the UPF and the base station, and the like; ¶[0094] The AMF 111 may transmit the ACK for Namf_Communication_N1N2messageTransfer to the SMF 112).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Lee's above teaching to enable seamless control-plane signaling during PDU Session Establishment, handovers, and UE state transitions.
Ying and Lee combination fails to explicitly teach, however, Zhu, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the service information is carried in at least one of an SM container of the N1N2 message transfer ( see Zhu ¶[0043] The UE 310 sends a PDU session establishment request 402 to the AMF 339 via the RAN 322. For example, this request may be carried by a non-access-stratum (NAS) message between the core network and the UE 310. The message may include information such as data network name (DNN), the new PDU session ID, and the PDU session establishment request. In some implementations, the PDU session establishment request is encapsulated in a N1 session management (SM) container for transmission; ¶[0044] The AMF 339 selects the SMF 331 based on the requested DNN. Then, the AMF 339 sends a SM context creation request message 404 to the SMF 331 for requesting creation of a SM context for the new PDU session. The SM context creation message 404, for example, may include information such as subscription permanent identifier (SUPI), DNN, PDU session ID, AMF ID, and N1 SM container containing the PDU session establishment request 402 ) or a PCO of the N1N2 message transfer.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Zhu's above teachings in order to enable data traffic offloading towards an application service when it is relocated ( see Zhu ¶[0003] ).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying in view of Wang et al. (CN 115915048 A), hereinafter referred to as Wang, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2021/0212136 A1), hereinafter referred to as Jeong.
Regarding claim 10, Ying teaches the method according to claim 9. Ying, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to sending the request information to a PCF; and receiving the service information sent, in response to the request information, by the PCF, wherein the service information is pre-stored in the PCF; wherein the sending the request information to the PCF comprises: sending an Access Management (AM) policy association establishment message carrying the request information to the PCF.
However, Wang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: sending the request information to a PCF ( see Wang ¶[075] the UE can provide sensing capability information to the AMF in the registration request message. The AMF sends the terminal's sensing capability information to the policy control function PCF); and
receiving the service information sent, in response to the request information, by the PCF, wherein the service information is pre-stored in the PCF ( see Wang ¶[075] The PCF decides to send information such as the <DNN, S-NSSAI> related to the sensing function or sensing application, the IP address, port number or FQDN of the sensing function entity).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ying's teachings with Wangs above teaching in order to reduce implementation complexity and maintenance difficulty of an existing application layer (see Wang Abstract). Known work in one field of endeavor (Wang prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Ying prior art) based on design incentives (reduce implementation complexity and maintenance difficulty of an existing application layer) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Although the combination teaches the substantial features of the claimed invention, the combination, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to sending an Access Management (AM) policy association establishment message carrying the request information to the PCF.
However, Jeong, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches: wherein the sending the request information to the PCF comprises: sending an Access Management (AM) policy association establishment message carrying the request information to the PCF ( see Jeong ¶[0055] In operation 222, the AMF 120 may transmit an Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Create request message to the PCF 140. For example, the AMF 120 may perform AM policy association establishment with the PCF 140 selected in operation 220. In an embodiment of the disclosure, the Npcf_AMPolicyControl_Create request message transmitted by the AMF 120 to the PCF 140 may include information about a network slice available for the UE 100; ¶[0062] the AMF 120 may receive the registration request message from the BS 110, receive UE subscription data from the UDM 145, select the PCF 140 based on the UE subscription data, and transmit a request message for AM policy association establishment to the selected PCF 140. The PCF 140 may determine policy information to be provided for the AMF 120 based on the information included in the request message for AM policy association establishment. The AMF 120 may receive a response message including the policy information determined by the PCF 140).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Jeong's above teachings in order to effectively provide a service in a wireless communication system ( see Jeong ¶[0008] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Jeong prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Ying prior art) based on design incentives (effectively provide a service in a wireless communication system) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chong et al. ( US 2024/0205719 A1) discloses a method for processing a sensing service and a device
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476