Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 111391934).
In re claim 1, Chen discloses a biaxially extensible and retractable wheel-leg mechanism (as shown in Figure 1) for a vehicle (as shown in Figures 5-7), comprising a pantograph coupling limb assembly (as shown in Figure 1) with multiple coupling limbs (3, 4, 9, 11, 12) which are coupled together in an articulated manner, wherein a wheel hub motor (7) and a steering actuator (6) operatively connected thereto are arranged on a first coupling limb (4 with 12), and the wheel hub motor is designed to rotate a vehicle wheel (8) drivingly connected to the wheel hub motor, and wherein the steering actuator is designed to set a steering angle of the wheel of the vehicle (see [0064]), the wheel-leg mechanism additionally comprising a rotary drive (2) for positioning (see [0063]) the coupling limbs, said rotary drive being drivingly arranged on a first joint between a second coupling limb (3) and a third coupling limb (9), wherein the rotary drive is designed to set a relative angular position between the coupling limbs coupled together in an articulated manner such that a position of the wheel hub motor relative to the rotary drive can be adjusted in the a longitudinal direction and/or in a vertical direction of the vehicle (as shown in Figures 1 and 3).
In re claim 2, Chen further discloses wherein the pantograph coupling limb assembly comprises at least four coupling limbs (3, 9, 11, and 4 with 12), wherein the first coupling limb (4 with 12) is articulatedly coupled to the second coupling limb (3) and a fourth coupling limb (11), and wherein the third coupling limb is articulatedly coupled to the second and fourth coupling limbs (as shown in Figures 1 and 3).
In re claim 3, Chen further discloses further comprising a chassis bracket (13) which is arranged on the fourth coupling limb and is designed to fasten the wheel-leg mechanism to a chassis of the vehicle.
In re claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein the wheel hub motor and the steering actuator are connected to one another via a stator element (504) which is radially and axially mounted on the first coupling limb (4 with 12) via a bearing element (502) (as shown in Figure 4).
In re claim 9, Chen further discloses vehicle comprising at least one biaxially extensible and retractable wheel-leg mechanism according to claim1, wherein the respective wheel-leg mechanism is arranged and supported on a common chassis (as shown in Figures 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
In re claim 5, Chen discloses the wheel-leg mechanism according to claim 4, but does not specifically disclose wherein the bearing element is a double-row angular contact ball bearing. As double-row angular contact ball bearings are known in the art to support radial loads and axial loads in both directions, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bearing of Chen such that it comprised a double-row angular contact ball bearing to advantageously support both radial loads and axial loads.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Payne (US 2021/0094407).
In re claim 6, Chen discloses the wheel-leg mechanism according to claim 1, but does not specifically disclose wherein a brake is arranged on the wheel hub motor. Payne, however, does disclose a hub motor system (10) including a mechanical friction brake (98) to slow the vehicle when in motion (see [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hub motor of Chen such that it further comprised the friction brake of Payne to advantageously provide each wheel with braking power to slow the vehicle when desired.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Gao (US 11,260,717).
In re claim 10, Chen discloses the vehicle according to claim 9, but does not specifically disclose comprising a control device which is designed to control multiple wheel-leg mechanisms separately such that a position of the wheel hub motor relative to the rotary drive of the respective wheel-leg mechanism can be adjusted in the longitudinal direction and/or in the vertical direction of the vehicle. Gao, however, does disclose a control device (10) which is designed to control multiple wheel-leg mechanisms (as shown in Figures 2 and 7) separately such that a position of the wheel hub motor relative to the rotary drive of the respective wheel-leg mechanism can be adjusted in the longitudinal direction and/or in the vertical direction of the vehicle (as shown in Figure 7) (see column 8, lines 17-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of Chen such that it further comprised the controller of Gao to advantageously be able to control each leg individually to overcome obstacles.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “wherein the rotary drive comprises a crank which is drivingly connected to the first joint” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not teach a rotary drive crank drivingly connected to the first joint between the second and thir coupling limbs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO-892 teach wheel-leg mechanisms of interest.
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/KEVIN HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611