DETAILED ACTION
Claims 26-42 are pending.
Claims 1-25 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 for Application No. GB2206933.0 filed on 05/12/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/24/2025, 04/03/2025 and 11/18/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for informalities, lack of antecedent support, or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 29, line 8, replace “the pre-determined pressure” with “a pre-determined pressure”
Claim 30, line 1, replace “the pressure condition” with “the gas pressure condition”
Claim 33, line 2, replace “one or more” with “the one or more”
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Referring to independent claim 41, this claim recites the claim limitations a “pressure control means”. For purposes of examination, as described in paragraph [0039] and [0121] of the published specification, the “pressure control means” will be construed as any pressure control device, such as a valve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26-27, 29-30, 33-34 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUKI et al. (JP 2004-295567 A) (“Kuki”), in view of Yu et al. (US 2020/0074570 A1) (“Yu”).
Regarding independent claim 26, Kuki teaches:
A method performed by a computing device for controlling gas pressure in a gas distribution network (GDN) above a threshold pressure by communicating with a plurality of pressure-control stations distributed throughout the GDN to independently control a gas pressure at each of the plurality of pressure control stations, the method comprising: (Kuki: [0001] “The present invention relates to a method of optimally operating the supply of gas sent from a plurality of factories, and more specifically, to a customer to whom a gas is supplied, by distinguishing the factories sending the gas. The present invention relates to a method for supplying gas.”) (Kuki: [0012] “Means for Solving the Problems and Effects of the Invention In order to achieve the above object, the present invention has the following features. A first invention is a gas supply method for supplying gas from a plurality of factories to a consumer through a conduit network provided with a plurality of nodes, A demand forecasting step of predicting the demand for gas by predicting the demand for gas of the customer in advance; A delivery amount setting step of setting respective gas delivery amounts to be delivered to a pipeline network from a plurality of manufacturing sites based on the predicted demand amount obtained in the demand amount prediction step; On the basis of the predicted demand calculated in the demand forecasting step and the gas delivery set in the delivery setting step, the gas flow rate flowing between the nodes and the gas feature indicating which gas is sent from which manufacturing plant And analyzing the conduit network.”) (Kuki: [0053] “Returning to FIG. 2, the computer system executing step S4 determines whether or not the gas pressure of each node indicated by the result of the network analysis is within the allowable pressure range set for each network. A decision is made (step S5). If there is a node outside the allowable pressure range in step S5, the computer system instructs to return to step S3 again to set each set value again, and all the nodes are within the allowable range. In this case, the process proceeds to the next step S6.”) [The computer system reads on “a computing device”. The conduit network for the gas supply reads on “a gas distribution network”. The nodes read on “a plurality of pressure-control stations”. Controlling the gas pressure to be within the allowable pressure range reads on “above a threshold pressure”.]
… algorithm to establish one or more correspondences between a measured variation in gas demand in the GDN for a first time period and measured environmental conditions for the first time period; using the … algorithm to predict a variation in gas demand in the GDN for a second, later time period based on predicted environmental conditions for the second time period and the established one or more correspondences between the measured variation in gas demand in the GDN for the first time period and the measured environmental conditions for the GDN for the first time period; (Kuki: [0043] “Next, a description will be given of a process for determining the optimum transmission amount and the setting of each facility in the central command room 7. Hereinafter, with reference to FIG. 2, a description will be given of a process performed in the central command room 7 for determining the transmission amount and the setting of each facility. FIG. 2 is a flowchart for explaining a process performed in the central command room 7 for determining the above-mentioned transmission amount and the setting of each facility.”) (Kuki: [0044] “In FIG. 2, in the central command room 7, the above-mentioned transmission amount and the setting of each facility are planned in advance by dividing the time period in units of one hour for 24 hours from 7:00 in the morning to 7:00 in the next morning. First, a temporary variable t indicating a time zone in the flowchart is set to an initial value 1 (step S1). Then, the process proceeds to the next step.“) (Kuki: [0045] “Next, the central command room 7 predicts the gas demand on the day when the plan is made (step S2). In predicting the demand, the forecast demand in the time zone t to be processed is obtained by referring to the past demand results in consideration of the weather, temperature, humidity, day of the week, season, etc. of the day. Then, the process proceeds to the next step.”) (Kuki: [0048] “In FIG. 3, at nodes n1 to n11 indicated by the results of the conduit network analysis, load flow rates Vo1 to Vo11 and gas pressures P1 to P11 are shown for the respective node numbers n1 to n11. In FIG. 3, for each of the nodes n1 to n11, the node number is shown in the upper part, the load flow rate is shown in the middle part, and the gas pressure is shown in the lower part. The load flow rate indicates a gas flow rate flowing out of a conduit in which the node is provided to another conduit or a customer, and is, for example, 1,000 Nm. 3 / H. The gas pressure indicates the gas pressure at the node, and is indicated in, for example, a unit MPa.”) [The changing of the gas demand reads on “a … variation in gas demand”. The time period of the previous day reads on “a first time period”, and the corresponding time period in advance or the future reads on “a second, later time period”. Using the past demand results in consideration of the weather, temperature, humidity, etc., reads on “correspondences between a measured variation … and measured environmental conditions for the first time period”. Using the stored past or previously taught demand results to use in the future settings reads on “… algorithm to …” and “using the … algorithm”.]
determining, based on the predicted variation in gas demand for the second time period, a variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure control stations for the second time period to satisfy a gas pressure condition at one or more pre-determined points in the GDN downstream from the plurality of pressure control stations; and (Kuki: [0046] “Next, the central command room 7 searches for a similar date in the past in which the predicted demand in the time zone t predicted in step S2 is similar. Then, referring to the delivery amount for each of the first and second mills 1 and 2 on the similar day, the governor pressure or flow rate set value, and the setting of the receiving / dispensing of the holder, the delivery amount in the time zone t and The set value of each facility is set (step S3). …”) (Kuki: [0047] “Next, in the central command room 7, the computer system, to which the respective set values have been input in step S3, performs a conduit network analysis (step S4). In the computer system, data such as a conduit diameter and a distance between nodes are stored in advance. In the conduit network analysis, a gas pressure and a flow rate between each node are calculated using a general fluid formula based on the data and the set values set in step S3. Then, the pressure and flow rate at each node, the gas flow rate flowing between each node, the direction, and the gas property thereof are determined by the above conduit network analysis. Hereinafter, data obtained by the conduit network analysis will be described with reference to FIG. FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing data obtained by the conduit network analysis for the nodes n1 to n11 set in the high-pressure main line 10 and the intermediate-pressure A gas conduit network 11 shown in FIG.”) (Kuki: [0051] “… That is, in the above conduit network analysis, by repeating the process of distinguishing the gas properties a and / or b supplied from the upstream of the analysis target node and sending out the gas corresponding to the gas property to the downstream node, The properties of the gas supplied to the nodes are distinguished.”) [The downstream target nodes read on “one or more pre-determined points in the GDN downstream …”.]
transmitting, to the plurality of pressure control stations, an indication of the determined variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure-control stations for the second time period to satisfy the gas pressure condition at the one or more pre-determined points in the GDN. (Kuki: [0047] and [0051] as discussed above) (Kuki: [0073] “In step S28, the computer system executes a conduit network analysis in the time zone t based on the newly input transmission amounts of the first and second factories 1 and 2. The computer system determines whether or not the gas pressure of each node indicated by the result of the analysis of the conduit network executed in step S28 is within the allowable pressure range set in each conduit network (step). S29). If there is a node outside the allowable pressure range in step S29, the computer system returns to step S26 again and instructs the setting of the transmission amount again, and all the nodes are within the allowable range. In this case, the process proceeds to the next step S30.”) [The calculated set value or setting reads on “an indication of … gas pressure to be applied …”.]
Kuki does not expressly teach: the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm.
Yu teaches:
the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm. (Yu: [0016]-[0020] “[0016] In accordance with an embodiment of the invention there is provided a method of establishing control data for a controller controlling consumption of a utility for a location comprising: [0017] employing acquired consumption data and ambient environment sensor data for a predetermined location with associated time data as a training set for a machine based learning algorithm; [0018] acquiring projected activity data and environmental data for the predetermined location for a predetermined period of time in the future; [0019] establishing using the machine based learning algorithm a planned utility consumption over the predetermined period of time for a plurality of time slots within the predetermined period of time for the predetermined location; and [0020] establishing at least one control profile of a plurality of control profiles for the controller in dependence upon the planned utility consumption over the predetermined period of time for a plurality of time slots within the predetermined period of time for the predetermined location.”) (Yu: [0080] “By collecting indoor, outdoor and behaviour usage data discretely or in conjunction with a training phase, the JUPAC device can learn and establish configurations for one or more appliances and appliance configurations which are related to each ambient parameter combination (indoor measurements, outdoor measurements and other useful data like energy consumer behaviour). Accordingly, the JUPAC device can use the predicted appliance configuration in conjunction with weather forecast, user activity data etc. to deduce the user's future energy consumption for a predetermined period into the future with a granularity defined by the utility, e.g. a week ahead with 2-hour granularity, 2 days forward with 1-hour granularity, next 3 days at 2-hour granularity and projected totals for subsequent 12 days. These may then be communicated to the utility either as a commitment for a predetermined period into the future or a forecast for a predetermined period of time. Optionally, the granularity may be variable such that the utility captures at a finer granularity during so-called peak consumption/generation periods than during so-called off-peak or low consumption periods. This granularity may also be defined by the ability of the utility to provide additional levels of the utility to its distribution grid etc. For example, electricity production capacity increases may have different lead times/availability based upon for example whether they are wind, nuclear, solar, fossil fueled etc. and whether it is daytime/nighttime etc.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kuki and Yu before them, to modify the adjustment of gas pressures of the nodes based on the predicted demand based on past data, to incorporate a trained machine learning model.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would improve the accuracy of the prediction. (Yu: [0003] “Forecasting accurate utility consumption such as electricity, gas, and water or waste generation is a challenge. However, failure to predict accurately can lead to insufficient supply and penalties for excess consumption/generation. Consider, electricity for example, then in order to perform this task, electricity suppliers today are using aggregate prediction due the lack of information about individual electricity usage and behavior. However, if they could predict energy consumption at the scale of the individual service subscriber and then aggregate this, they could in principle manage more effectively their energy distribution and optimize their energy production (by using more renewable energy for example).”)
Regarding claim 27, Kuki and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 26. Kuki further teaches:
wherein the indication transmitted by the computing device comprises pressure control settings for the plurality of pressure control stations to control gas pressure in accordance with the determined variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure-control stations for the second time period. (Kuki: [0047], [0051] and [0073] as discussed in claim 26)
Regarding claim 29, Kuki and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 26. Kuki further teaches:
wherein the determining the variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure control stations for the second time period comprises: creating, based on the predicted variation in gas demand for the second time period, a model for simulating gas pressure at the one or more pre-determined points in the GDN for the second time period for a given set of gas pressures at the plurality of pressure control stations for the second time period; and using a numerical technique to estimate a variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure-control stations for the second period which would satisfy the pre-determined pressure condition at the one or more pre-determined points in the GDN. (Kuki: [0047] as discussed in claim 26)
Regarding claim 30, Kuki and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 26. Kuki further teaches:
wherein the pressure condition is minimising a sum of one or more areas between a curve for each of the simulated gas pressures at the one or more pre-determined points in the GDN and a minimum permitted gas pressure in the GDN. (Kuki: [0039] “The high-pressure main line 10, the medium-pressure A gas conduit network 11, the medium-pressure B gas conduit network 12, and the low-pressure gas supply conduit network 13 each have an allowable pressure range for safely and stably supplying gas. . Specifically, a range between a minimum pressure required for gas supply (hereinafter, referred to as a minimum pressure) and a pressure of a withstand pressure upper limit value (hereinafter, referred to as a maximum pressure) is defined as the allowable pressure range, respectively. Is set.”)
Regarding claim 33, Kuki and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 26. Yu further teaches:
wherein the training the machine learning algorithm to establish one or more correspondences between the measured variation in gas demand for the first time period and the measured environmental conditions for the first time period comprises: receiving the measured environmental conditions for the first time period. (Yu: [0077] “Within embodiments of the invention the ambient parameter configuration could be specified by the User 120 or it may be automatically determined by the JUPAC 180 in dependence upon the sensors and/or appliances to which it is connected. The JUPAC 180 may make suggestions to users for improving its prediction accuracy through adding missing sensors or upgrading sensors, for example. Said sensors may include, but not be limited to, internal/external ambient environment sensors and utility consumption sensors.”)
The motivation to combine Kuki and Yu as described in claim 26 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 34, Kuki and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 26. Kuki further teaches:
receiving the predicted environmental conditions for the GDN for the second time period, wherein the predicted environmental conditions are received as a weather forecast for the second period. (Kuki: [0045] as discussed in claim 26)
Regarding claim 37, Kuki and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 26. Kuki further teaches:
wherein the one or more pre-determined points in the GDN are gas pressure low-points. (Kuki: [0038] “The medium-pressure B gas pipe network 12 is connected to the low-pressure gas supply pipe network 13 through a plurality of medium-pressure B governors 6a to 6f that reduce the medium-pressure B to a low pressure. A consumer 23 is connected to the medium-pressure B gas pipe network 12, and a medium-pressure B gas is sent to the consumer 23 and consumed. Then, the low-pressure gas supply network 13 is connected to the consumer 21, and the low-pressure gas produced in the first and second mills 1 and 2 is sent to the consumer 21 for consumption. Hereinafter, the amount of gas consumed by the consumers 21 to 23 will be referred to as demand.”)
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuki, in view of Schnaare et al. (US 2005/0258959 A1) (“Schnaare”).
Regarding independent claim 41, Kuki teaches:
A pressure control station for controlling gas pressure in a gas distribution network (GDN), the pressure control station comprising: (Kuki: [0001] “The present invention relates to a method of optimally operating the supply of gas sent from a plurality of factories, and more specifically, to a customer to whom a gas is supplied, by distinguishing the factories sending the gas. The present invention relates to a method for supplying gas.”) (Kuki: [0012] “Means for Solving the Problems and Effects of the Invention In order to achieve the above object, the present invention has the following features. A first invention is a gas supply method for supplying gas from a plurality of factories to a consumer through a conduit network provided with a plurality of nodes, A demand forecasting step of predicting the demand for gas by predicting the demand for gas of the customer in advance; A delivery amount setting step of setting respective gas delivery amounts to be delivered to a pipeline network from a plurality of manufacturing sites based on the predicted demand amount obtained in the demand amount prediction step; On the basis of the predicted demand calculated in the demand forecasting step and the gas delivery set in the delivery setting step, the gas flow rate flowing between the nodes and the gas feature indicating which gas is sent from which manufacturing plant And analyzing the conduit network.”) [Any one or combination of the central command and nodes reads on a “pressure control station”. The conduit network for the gas supply reads on “a gas distribution network”.]
pressure control means for adjusting gas pressure at the pressure control station; (Kuki: [0042] “In FIG. 1, nodes provided in the conduit network are provided before and after a branch point and a merging point and a governor of each conduit, and further provided between points where the diameter of the conduit changes, and between branch points and the merging point. For example, nodes n1 and n2 are provided at the connection points to the high-voltage governors 3a and 3b on the high-voltage trunk line 10, respectively. The nodes n3 to n11 are provided on the medium-pressure A gas network 11. The node n3 is provided at a connection point from the medium-pressure A gas pipe network 11 to the medium-pressure A governor 4a and the holder 5a. The node n4 is provided at a connection point flowing from the high-pressure governor 3a to the medium-pressure A gas pipe network 11. The node n5 is provided at a connection point from the medium pressure A gas pipe network 11 to the medium pressure A governor 4b. The node n7 is provided at a connection point from the medium pressure A gas pipe network 11 to the medium pressure A governor 4b. The node n7 is provided at a connection point of the conduit from the medium pressure A gas conduit network 11 to the customer 22. The node n9 is provided at a connection point from the medium-pressure A gas pipe network 11 to the medium-pressure A governor 4c. The node n10 is provided at a connection point flowing from the high-pressure governor 3b to the medium-pressure A gas pipe network 11. The node n11 is provided at a connection point from the medium-pressure A gas pipe network 11 to the medium-pressure A governor 4d and the holder 5b. Nodes n6 and n8 are provided between nodes n5 to n7 and n7 to n9, respectively.”) [The governors read on “pressure control means”.]
receive, from a computing device, an indication of a determined variation in gas pressure to be applied at the pressure-control station for a future time period to satisfy a gas pressure condition at one or more pre-determined points in the GDN downstream from the pressure control station, (Kuki: [0047] “Next, in the central command room 7, the computer system, to which the respective set values have been input in step S3, performs a conduit network analysis (step S4). In the computer system, data such as a conduit diameter and a distance between nodes are stored in advance. In the conduit network analysis, a gas pressure and a flow rate between each node are calculated using a general fluid formula based on the data and the set values set in step S3. Then, the pressure and flow rate at each node, the gas flow rate flowing between each node, the direction, and the gas property thereof are determined by the above conduit network analysis. Hereinafter, data obtained by the conduit network analysis will be described with reference to FIG. FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing data obtained by the conduit network analysis for the nodes n1 to n11 set in the high-pressure main line 10 and the intermediate-pressure A gas conduit network 11 shown in FIG.”) (Kuki: [0051] “… That is, in the above conduit network analysis, by repeating the process of distinguishing the gas properties a and / or b supplied from the upstream of the analysis target node and sending out the gas corresponding to the gas property to the downstream node, The properties of the gas supplied to the nodes are distinguished.”) (Kuki: [0053] “Returning to FIG. 2, the computer system executing step S4 determines whether or not the gas pressure of each node indicated by the result of the network analysis is within the allowable pressure range set for each network. A decision is made (step S5). If there is a node outside the allowable pressure range in step S5, the computer system instructs to return to step S3 again to set each set value again, and all the nodes are within the allowable range. In this case, the process proceeds to the next step S6.”) (Kuki: [0073] “In step S28, the computer system executes a conduit network analysis in the time zone t based on the newly input transmission amounts of the first and second factories 1 and 2. The computer system determines whether or not the gas pressure of each node indicated by the result of the analysis of the conduit network executed in step S28 is within the allowable pressure range set in each conduit network (step). S29). If there is a node outside the allowable pressure range in step S29, the computer system returns to step S26 again and instructs the setting of the transmission amount again, and all the nodes are within the allowable range. In this case, the process proceeds to the next step S30.”) [The computer system reads on “a computing device”. The downstream target nodes read on “one or more pre-determined points in the GDN downstream …” The calculated set value or setting reads on “an indication of … gas pressure to be applied …”. The computer system instructing the downstream target nodes reads on the downstream target nodes “receive … an indication”.]
wherein the pressure control means is configured to: adjust a pressure of gas at the pressure-control station in accordance with the indication received from the computing device. (Kuki: [0037] “…A governors 4a to 4d, and valves are provided before and after. The holders 5a and 5b can store gas inside from the medium-pressure A gas pipe network 11 and discharge them to the medium-pressure B gas pipe network 12 by opening and closing the valve. By its function, the holders 5a and 5b release the stored gas when the consumption of the consumers connected to the downstream area increases, and store the surplus gas when the consumption of those consumers decreases, Mitigating the impact of rapid fluctuations in consumer consumption.”) [The node governors using the valves to control the pressure through the conduits reads on “adjust a pressure of gas …”.]
Kuki does not expressly teach: transceiver circuitry configured to transmit and/or receive signals; and controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry.
Schnaare teaches:
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit and/or receive signals; and controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry. (Schnaare: [0029] “FIG. 3 illustrates a simplified block diagram of a system 300 according to the present invention. The system 300 has a transmitter 302 mechanically coupled to a process 304 and connected to control center 306 via communications link 308 (which may be wired or wireless).”) (Schnaare: [0033] “In general, the mode of operation for the process is often known in advance of the change. For example, some industrial processes are performed in batches. During batch processing, the ordinary operating mode is used. However, between batches or periodically, the conduits and vessels of the process must be sterilized. When sterilization is to occur, control center 306 transmits a mode selection signal over the communications link 308 to the transmitter 302. The transceiver 318 receives the mode selection signal and delivers the received signal to a controller within the circuitry 312, which causes the mode selector 316 to change modes. The memory 314 then outputs the characterization coefficients associated with the selected mode, which can then be utilized by the circuitry 312 to produce an output that is tuned to the mode of operation of the process 304.”) [The process 304 reads on a “pressure control station”. The circuitry 312 and the transceiver 318 of the process 304, as illustrated in FIG. 3, reads on “controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kuki and Schnaare before them, to modify the communication between the central command and the nodes of the conduit network for the gas supply, to incorporate a transceiver communication.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for transmitting and receiving between the central command and the nodes. (Schnaare: [0029])
Claims 38-39 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuki, in view of Schnaare, further in view of Yu.
Regarding independent claim 38, Kuki teaches:
A computing device for controlling gas pressure in a Gas Distribution Network (GDN) above a threshold pressure by communicating with a plurality of pressure-control stations distributed throughout the GDN to independently control a gas pressure at each of the plurality of pressure control stations, the computing device comprising: (Kuki: [0001] “The present invention relates to a method of optimally operating the supply of gas sent from a plurality of factories, and more specifically, to a customer to whom a gas is supplied, by distinguishing the factories sending the gas. The present invention relates to a method for supplying gas.”) (Kuki: [0012] “Means for Solving the Problems and Effects of the Invention In order to achieve the above object, the present invention has the following features. A first invention is a gas supply method for supplying gas from a plurality of factories to a consumer through a conduit network provided with a plurality of nodes, A demand forecasting step of predicting the demand for gas by predicting the demand for gas of the customer in advance; A delivery amount setting step of setting respective gas delivery amounts to be delivered to a pipeline network from a plurality of manufacturing sites based on the predicted demand amount obtained in the demand amount prediction step; On the basis of the predicted demand calculated in the demand forecasting step and the gas delivery set in the delivery setting step, the gas flow rate flowing between the nodes and the gas feature indicating which gas is sent from which manufacturing plant And analyzing the conduit network.”) (Kuki: [0053] “Returning to FIG. 2, the computer system executing step S4 determines whether or not the gas pressure of each node indicated by the result of the network analysis is within the allowable pressure range set for each network. A decision is made (step S5). If there is a node outside the allowable pressure range in step S5, the computer system instructs to return to step S3 again to set each set value again, and all the nodes are within the allowable range. In this case, the process proceeds to the next step S6.”) [The computer system reads on a “computing device”. The conduit network for the gas supply reads on “a gas distribution network”. The nodes read on “a plurality of pressure-control stations”. Controlling the gas pressure to be within the allowable pressure range reads on “above a threshold pressure”.]
… algorithm to establish one or more correspondences between a measured variation in gas demand in the GDN for a first time period and measured environmental conditions for the first time period; use the … algorithm to predict a variation in gas demand in the GDN for a second, later time period based on predicted environmental conditions for the second time period and the established one or more correspondences between the measured variation in gas demand in the GDN for the first time period and the measured environmental conditions for the GDN for the first time period; (Kuki: [0043] “Next, a description will be given of a process for determining the optimum transmission amount and the setting of each facility in the central command room 7. Hereinafter, with reference to FIG. 2, a description will be given of a process performed in the central command room 7 for determining the transmission amount and the setting of each facility. FIG. 2 is a flowchart for explaining a process performed in the central command room 7 for determining the above-mentioned transmission amount and the setting of each facility.”) (Kuki: [0044] “In FIG. 2, in the central command room 7, the above-mentioned transmission amount and the setting of each facility are planned in advance by dividing the time period in units of one hour for 24 hours from 7:00 in the morning to 7:00 in the next morning. First, a temporary variable t indicating a time zone in the flowchart is set to an initial value 1 (step S1). Then, the process proceeds to the next step.“) (Kuki: [0045] “Next, the central command room 7 predicts the gas demand on the day when the plan is made (step S2). In predicting the demand, the forecast demand in the time zone t to be processed is obtained by referring to the past demand results in consideration of the weather, temperature, humidity, day of the week, season, etc. of the day. Then, the process proceeds to the next step.”) (Kuki: [0048] “In FIG. 3, at nodes n1 to n11 indicated by the results of the conduit network analysis, load flow rates Vo1 to Vo11 and gas pressures P1 to P11 are shown for the respective node numbers n1 to n11. In FIG. 3, for each of the nodes n1 to n11, the node number is shown in the upper part, the load flow rate is shown in the middle part, and the gas pressure is shown in the lower part. The load flow rate indicates a gas flow rate flowing out of a conduit in which the node is provided to another conduit or a customer, and is, for example, 1,000 Nm. 3 / H. The gas pressure indicates the gas pressure at the node, and is indicated in, for example, a unit MPa.”) [The changing of the gas demand reads on “a … variation in gas demand”. The time period of the previous day reads on “a first time period”, and the corresponding time period in advance or the future reads on “a second, later time period”. Using the past demand results in consideration of the weather, temperature, humidity, etc., reads on “correspondences between a measured variation … and measured environmental conditions for the first time period”. Using the stored past or previously taught demand results to use in the future settings reads on “… algorithm to …” and “use the … algorithm”.]
determine, based on the predicted variation in gas demand for the second time period, a variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure control stations for the second time period to satisfy a gas pressure condition at one or more pre-determined points in the GDN downstream from the plurality of pressure control stations; and (Kuki: [0046] “Next, the central command room 7 searches for a similar date in the past in which the predicted demand in the time zone t predicted in step S2 is similar. Then, referring to the delivery amount for each of the first and second mills 1 and 2 on the similar day, the governor pressure or flow rate set value, and the setting of the receiving / dispensing of the holder, the delivery amount in the time zone t and The set value of each facility is set (step S3). …”) (Kuki: [0047] “Next, in the central command room 7, the computer system, to which the respective set values have been input in step S3, performs a conduit network analysis (step S4). In the computer system, data such as a conduit diameter and a distance between nodes are stored in advance. In the conduit network analysis, a gas pressure and a flow rate between each node are calculated using a general fluid formula based on the data and the set values set in step S3. Then, the pressure and flow rate at each node, the gas flow rate flowing between each node, the direction, and the gas property thereof are determined by the above conduit network analysis. Hereinafter, data obtained by the conduit network analysis will be described with reference to FIG. FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram showing data obtained by the conduit network analysis for the nodes n1 to n11 set in the high-pressure main line 10 and the intermediate-pressure A gas conduit network 11 shown in FIG.”) (Kuki: [0051] “… That is, in the above conduit network analysis, by repeating the process of distinguishing the gas properties a and / or b supplied from the upstream of the analysis target node and sending out the gas corresponding to the gas property to the downstream node, The properties of the gas supplied to the nodes are distinguished.”) [The downstream target nodes read on “one or more pre-determined points in the GDN downstream …”.]
transmit, to the plurality of pressure control stations, an indication of the determined variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure-control stations for the second time period to satisfy the gas pressure condition at the one or more pre-determined points in the GDN. (Kuki: [0047] and [0051] as discussed above) (Kuki: [0073] “In step S28, the computer system executes a conduit network analysis in the time zone t based on the newly input transmission amounts of the first and second factories 1 and 2. The computer system determines whether or not the gas pressure of each node indicated by the result of the analysis of the conduit network executed in step S28 is within the allowable pressure range set in each conduit network (step). S29). If there is a node outside the allowable pressure range in step S29, the computer system returns to step S26 again and instructs the setting of the transmission amount again, and all the nodes are within the allowable range. In this case, the process proceeds to the next step S30.”) [The calculated set value or setting reads on “an indication of … gas pressure to be applied …”.]
Kuki does not expressly teach: transceiver circuitry configured to transmit and/or receive signals; controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry; and the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm.
Schnaare teaches:
transceiver circuitry configured to transmit and/or receive signals; controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry. (Schnaare: [0029] “FIG. 3 illustrates a simplified block diagram of a system 300 according to the present invention. The system 300 has a transmitter 302 mechanically coupled to a process 304 and connected to control center 306 via communications link 308 (which may be wired or wireless).”) (Schnaare: [0033] “In general, the mode of operation for the process is often known in advance of the change. For example, some industrial processes are performed in batches. During batch processing, the ordinary operating mode is used. However, between batches or periodically, the conduits and vessels of the process must be sterilized. When sterilization is to occur, control center 306 transmits a mode selection signal over the communications link 308 to the transmitter 302. The transceiver 318 receives the mode selection signal and delivers the received signal to a controller within the circuitry 312, which causes the mode selector 316 to change modes. The memory 314 then outputs the characterization coefficients associated with the selected mode, which can then be utilized by the circuitry 312 to produce an output that is tuned to the mode of operation of the process 304.”) [The control center 306 that communicates with the transceiver 318 of the process 304 reads on “controller circuitry configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kuki and Schnaare before them, to modify the communication between the central command and the nodes of the conduit network for the gas supply, to incorporate a transceiver communication.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for transmitting and receiving between the central command and the nodes. (Schnaare: [0029])
Kuki and Schnaare do not expressly teach: the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm.
Yu teaches:
the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm. (Yu: [0016]-[0020] “[0016] In accordance with an embodiment of the invention there is provided a method of establishing control data for a controller controlling consumption of a utility for a location comprising: [0017] employing acquired consumption data and ambient environment sensor data for a predetermined location with associated time data as a training set for a machine based learning algorithm; [0018] acquiring projected activity data and environmental data for the predetermined location for a predetermined period of time in the future; [0019] establishing using the machine based learning algorithm a planned utility consumption over the predetermined period of time for a plurality of time slots within the predetermined period of time for the predetermined location; and [0020] establishing at least one control profile of a plurality of control profiles for the controller in dependence upon the planned utility consumption over the predetermined period of time for a plurality of time slots within the predetermined period of time for the predetermined location.”) (Yu: [0080] “By collecting indoor, outdoor and behaviour usage data discretely or in conjunction with a training phase, the JUPAC device can learn and establish configurations for one or more appliances and appliance configurations which are related to each ambient parameter combination (indoor measurements, outdoor measurements and other useful data like energy consumer behaviour). Accordingly, the JUPAC device can use the predicted appliance configuration in conjunction with weather forecast, user activity data etc. to deduce the user's future energy consumption for a predetermined period into the future with a granularity defined by the utility, e.g. a week ahead with 2-hour granularity, 2 days forward with 1-hour granularity, next 3 days at 2-hour granularity and projected totals for subsequent 12 days. These may then be communicated to the utility either as a commitment for a predetermined period into the future or a forecast for a predetermined period of time. Optionally, the granularity may be variable such that the utility captures at a finer granularity during so-called peak consumption/generation periods than during so-called off-peak or low consumption periods. This granularity may also be defined by the ability of the utility to provide additional levels of the utility to its distribution grid etc. For example, electricity production capacity increases may have different lead times/availability based upon for example whether they are wind, nuclear, solar, fossil fueled etc. and whether it is daytime/nighttime etc.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kuki, Schnaare and Yu before them, to modify the adjustment of gas pressures of the nodes based on the predicted demand based on past data, to incorporate a trained machine learning model.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would improve the accuracy of the prediction. (Yu: [0003] “Forecasting accurate utility consumption such as electricity, gas, and water or waste generation is a challenge. However, failure to predict accurately can lead to insufficient supply and penalties for excess consumption/generation. Consider, electricity for example, then in order to perform this task, electricity suppliers today are using aggregate prediction due the lack of information about individual electricity usage and behavior. However, if they could predict energy consumption at the scale of the individual service subscriber and then aggregate this, they could in principle manage more effectively their energy distribution and optimize their energy production (by using more renewable energy for example).”)
Regarding claim 39, Kuki, Schnaare and Yu teach all the claimed features of claim 38. Kuki further teaches:
wherein the indication transmitted by the computing device comprises pressure control settings for the plurality of pressure control stations to control gas pressure in accordance with the determined variation in gas pressure to be applied at the plurality of pressure-control stations for the second time period. (Kuki: [0047], [0051] and [0073] as discussed in claim 38)
Regarding claim 42, Kuki and Schnaare teach all the claimed features of claim 41. Kuki further teaches:
… algorithm to establish one or more correspondences between a measured variation in gas demand in the GDN for a first time period and measured environmental conditions for the first time period; use the … algorithm to predict a variation in gas demand in the GDN for a second, later time period based on predicted environmental conditions for the second time period and the established one or more correspondences between the measured variation in gas demand in the GDN for the first time period and the measured environmental conditions for the GDN for the first time period; (Kuki: [0043] “Next, a description will be given of a process for determining the optimum transmission amount and the setting of each facility in the central command room 7. Hereinafter, with reference to FIG. 2, a description will be given of a process performed in the central command room 7 for determining the transmission amount and the setting of each facility. FIG. 2 is a flowchart for explaining a process performed in the central command room 7 for determining the above-mentioned transmission amount and the setting of each facility.”) (Kuki: [0044] “In FIG. 2, in the central command room 7, the above-mentioned transmission amount and the setting of each facility are planned in advance by dividing the time period in units of one hour for 24 hours from 7:00 in the morning to 7:00 in the next morning. First, a temporary variable t indicating a time zone in the flowchart is set to an initial value 1 (step S1). Then, the process proceeds to the next step.“) (Kuki: [0045] “Next, the central command room 7 predicts the gas demand on the day when the plan is made (step S2). In predicting the demand, the forecast demand in the time zone t to be processed is obtained by referring to the past demand results in consideration of the weather, temperature, humidity, day of the week, season, etc. of the day. Then, the process proceeds to the next step.”) (Kuki: [0048] “In FIG. 3, at nodes n1 to n11 indicated by the results of the conduit network analysis, load flow rates Vo1 to Vo11 and gas pressures P1 to P11 are shown for the respective node numbers n1 to n11. In FIG. 3, for each of the nodes n1 to n11, the node number is shown in the upper part, the load flow rate is shown in the middle part, and the gas pressure is shown in the lower part. The load flow rate indicates a gas flow rate flowing out of a conduit in which the node is provided to another conduit or a customer, and is, for example, 1,000 Nm. 3 / H. The gas pressure indicates the gas pressure at the node, and is indicated in, for example, a unit MPa.”) [The changing of the gas demand reads on “a … variation in gas demand”. The time period of the previous day reads on “a first time period”, and the corresponding time period in advance or the future reads on “a second, later time period”. Using the past demand results in consideration of the weather, temperature, humidity, etc., reads on “correspondences between a measured variation … and measured environmental conditions for the first time period”. Using the stored past or previously taught demand results to use in the future settings reads on “… algorithm to …” and “using the … algorithm”.]
Kuki and Schnaare do not expressly teach: the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm.
Yu teaches:
the algorithm is the trained machine learning algorithm. (Yu: [0016]-[0020] “[0016] In accordance with an embodiment of the invention there is provided a method of establishing control data for a controller controlling consumption of a utility for a location comprising: [0017] employing acquired consumption data and ambient environment sensor data for a predetermined location with associated time data as a training set for a machine based learning algorithm; [0018] acquiring projected activity data and environmental data for the predetermined location for a predetermined period of time in the future; [0019] establishing using the machine based learning algorithm a planned utility consumption over the predetermined period of time for a plurality of time slots within the predetermined period of time for the predetermined location; and [0020] establishing at least one control profile of a plurality of control profiles for the controller in dependence upon the planned utility consumption over the predetermined period of time for a plurality of time slots within the predetermined period of time for the predetermined location.”) (Yu: [0080] “By collecting indoor, outdoor and behaviour usage data discretely or in conjunction with a training phase, the JUPAC device can learn and establish configurations for one or more appliances and appliance configurations which are related to each ambient parameter combination (indoor measurements, outdoor measurements and other useful data like energy consumer behaviour). Accordingly, the JUPAC device can use the predicted appliance configuration in conjunction with weather forecast, user activity data etc. to deduce the user's future energy consumption for a predetermined period into the future with a granularity defined by the utility, e.g. a week ahead with 2-hour granularity, 2 days forward with 1-hour granularity, next 3 days at 2-hour granularity and projected totals for subsequent 12 days. These may then be communicated to the utility either as a commitment for a predetermined period into the future or a forecast for a predetermined period of time. Optionally, the granularity may be variable such that the utility captures at a finer granularity during so-called peak consumption/generation periods than during so-called off-peak or low consumption periods. This granularity may also be defined by the ability of the utility to provide additional levels of the utility to its distribution grid etc. For example, electricity production capacity increases may have different lead times/availability based upon for example whether they are wind, nuclear, solar, fossil fueled etc. and whether it is daytime/nighttime etc.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kuki, Schnaare and Yu before them, to modify the adjustment of gas pressures of the nodes based on the predicted demand based on past data, to incorporate a trained machine learning model.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would improve the accuracy of the prediction. (Yu: [0003] “Forecasting accurate utility consumption such as electricity, gas, and water or waste generation is a challenge. However, failure to predict accurately can lead to insufficient supply and penalties for excess consumption/generation. Consider, electricity for example, then in order to perform this task, electricity suppliers today are using aggregate prediction due the lack of information about individual electricity usage and behavior. However, if they could predict energy consumption at the scale of the individual service subscriber and then aggregate this, they could in principle manage more effectively their energy distribution and optimize their energy production (by using more renewable energy for example).”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Each of the claims 28, 31-32, 35-36 and 40 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116