DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/864,541
This Office Action is responsive to the amended claims received 10 November 2024.
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of the prior-filed applications KR 10-2022-0057026 (filed 10 May 2022) and KR 10-2023-0057627 (filed 3 May 2023) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The Examiner has determined, for the purposes of the instant action, that the effective filing date of the instant claims is 10 May 2023, at least due to the lack of an English translation of the earlier priority document. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) received on 2 June 2026, 28 August 2025, and 10 November 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, these information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Factors to be considered in making this determination include: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. While all of these factors are considered, a sufficient number for a prima facie case are discussed below.
Claims 6-9 recite methods of preventing cancers through the administration of a composition of instant claim 6 or 9. All humans are susceptible to developing cancer. NCI (NIH National Cancer Institute, “Risk Factors for Cancer” 2015) teaches that cancer can be caused by inherited genetic mutations and via aging. It is not clear how the instantly claimed compounds could prevent the formation of cancer through these routes. The identity of the patient or patient population that one of ordinary skill in the art would choose to treat with a composition of instant claim 6 or 9, for the prevention of cancer, is entirely unclear. One of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably read the instant claims and determine that all humans should be administered a composition of claim 6 or 9, regardless of their age, gender, or comorbidities. Therefore, the artisan would not know which humans should be administered the instantly claimed compounds. This represents an insufficient amount of direction provided by the inventor. Additionally, due to the low level of predictability in the chemical arts, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know if there would be unique risks to specific patient populations, such as pediatric or elderly patients.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
SUZUKI (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 10 November 2024; Suzuki, S.; Okada, M.; Kuramoto, K.; et al. “Aripiprazole, an Antipsychotic and Partial Dopamine Agonist, Inhibits Cancer Stem Cells and Reverses Chemoresistance” ANTICANCER RESEARCH 36: 5153-5162 (2016)).
SUZUKI teaches that aripiprazole is a drug widely used to treat patients with schizophrenia (3rd paragraph, Pg. 5153). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, instant claim 1 only requires the step of administering a composition comprising aripiprazole to a subject. Claim 1 can reasonably be interpreted as a method of sensitizing a patient to the effect of an RAF inhibitor, wherein the patient may be administered such a drug in the future. SUZUKI teaches the practice of administering aripiprazole to patients to have been well known in the art. Claims 2 and 3 narrow the scope of the RAF inhibitor and anticancer effect of claim 1, but they do not require the patient to take such an inhibitor. Also, the anticancer effect of claim 1 does not appear to require the selection of a patient with a particular type of cancer, because claim 1 could be used as a preventative method wherein a cancer is combated by the pharmaceutical composition without the patient having any knowledge that the cancer has appeared.
Regarding claim 4: The outcomes within instant claim 4 are solely the result of administering the composition of claim 1 to a subject. There are no positive steps recited therein that would alter these outcomes unrelated to administering the composition of instant claim 1 to the subject. Therefore, because the method of administering the composition of instant claim 1 to the subject has been found to be anticipated, these direct outcomes must also be anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
SUZUKI (Cited by Applicant in IDS of 10 November 2024; Suzuki, S.; Okada, M.; Kuramoto, K.; et al. “Aripiprazole, an Antipsychotic and Partial Dopamine Agonist, Inhibits Cancer Stem Cells and Reverses Chemoresistance” ANTICANCER RESEARCH 36: 5153-5162 (2016))
in view of:
PLANCHARD (Planchard, D.; Besse, B.; Groen, H.J.M.; et al. “Phase 2 Study of Dabrafenib Plus Trametinib in Patients With BRAF V600E-Mutant Metastatic NSCLC: Updated 5-Year Survival Rates and Genomic Analysis” Journal of Thoracic Oncology August 2021, Vol. 17 No. 1: 103–115).
SUZUKI teaches that aripiprazole is a drug widely used to treat patients with schizophrenia (3rd paragraph, Pg. 5153). SUZUKI teaches that the A549 cell line, tested therein is a non-small cell lung cancer cell line (2nd Paragraph, Pg. 5154). Figure 1 of SUZUKI teaches that the NSCLC cells were selectively inhibited and caused to undergo cell death through the administration of aripiprazole. Figure 4 of SUZUKI teaches that aripiprazole sensitizes the A549 NSCLC stem cells to chemotherapeutic agents, such as gemcitabine. SUZUKI teaches that the results therein suggest that aripiprazole could be a promising drug candidate (discussion section).
SUZUKI does not specifically teach RAF inhibitors.
PLANCHARD teaches the results of a clinical trial that administered dabrafenib to patients with BRAF V600E-mutant metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) (abstract). PLANCHARD teaches that patients received 150 mg of dabrafenib twice daily and 2 mg of trametinib once daily (abstract). PLANCHARD teaches that the dabrafenib + trametinib therapy had a substantial clinical benefit (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the instant effective filing date, to combine the aripiprazole therapy taught by SUZUKI for treating NSCLC with the dabrafenib + trametinib therapy taught by PLANCHARD to treat BRAF V600E-mutant NSCLC, for the purpose of increasing the anti-cancer efficacy of the therapy. The artisan would have expected success in this combination, because both drugs were taught to treat the same condition.
This is an example of combining equivalent therapeutic agents known to be useful for the same purpose. “It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06.
Regarding claim 9: The definition of a “health functional food” within paragraph [28] of the instant specification is not a closed definition, and includes materials such as coloring agents, thickeners, and guar gum. One of ordinary skill in the art would assume that the administration of dabrafenib, within the treatment regimen section of PLANCHARD, did not consist of administering patients the pure drug itself. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have assumed that the oral administration discussed in that section indicated administration of a tablet formulation, almost certainly with some type of coloring agent present therein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claim 17 of copending Application No. 19/680,198 (referred to below as the ‘198 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: As discussed in the rejections above, instant claims 1-4 only require the step of administering a composition comprising aripiprazole to a subject. Claim 17 of the ‘198 application claims a method that includes the administration of aripiprazole to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/864,544 (referred to below as the ‘544 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: As discussed in the rejections above, instant claims 1-4 only require the step of administering a composition comprising aripiprazole to a subject. Claim 1 of the ‘544 application claims a method that includes the administration of aripiprazole to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/864,542 (referred to below as the ‘542 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: As discussed in the rejections above, instant claims 1-4 only require the step of administering a composition comprising aripiprazole to a subject. Claim 1 of the ‘542 application claims a method that includes the administration of aripiprazole to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over:
Claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/864,540 (referred to below as the ‘540 application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: As discussed in the rejections above, instant claims 1-4 only require the step of administering a composition comprising aripiprazole to a subject. Claim 1 of the ‘540 application claims a method that includes the administration of aripiprazole to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowable.
/JDMc/Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625