Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A, claims 1-7 drawn to a robot programming device in the reply filed on August 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-15 are thus withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a robot programming teaching unit” and “a code conversion unit” in claim 1;
“a three-dimensional model arrangement unit” in claim 2;
“a work target specification unit” and “a work program generation unit” in claim 4; and
“a file output unit” in claim 6.
According to the specification, “FIG. 3 illustrates functional block diagrams of the robot programming device 80 and the robot controller 50. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the robot programming device 80 includes a virtual space creation unit 181, a three-dimensional model arrangement unit 182, a robot program teaching unit 183, a code conversion unit 184, and a file output unit 185” [0022]. Further, “FIG. 12 illustrates functional block diagrams of a robot programming device 80A and a robot controller 50 according to the second embodiment. In FIG. 12, a functional block being the same as a functional block according to the first embodiment is given the same sign. As a configuration for automatically generating a robot program dependent on a workpiece, a robot program teaching unit 183A in the robot programming device 80A according to the second embodiment includes a work target specification unit 186 and a work program generation unit 187” [0053]. Then, as further defined in the specification, “Functional blocks in a functional block diagram exemplified as a diagram illustrating a functional configuration of the robot programming device or the robot controller in the embodiments described above may be provided by executing various types of software stored in the storage device by the processor in the robot programming device or the robot controller or may be provided by a configuration mainly based on hardware such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC)” [0083]. Thus, each of the robot programming teaching unit, code conversion unit, three-dimensional model arrangement unit, work target specification unit, work program generation unit, and file output unit will be considered as any such processor which executes the designated function, and/or any such functional equivalent thereof will be considered pertinent when reviewing the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daisuke et al. (JP 2008/207262 A1; hereinafter “Daisuke” -- Translation attached in previous file mailed out on July 2, 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Daisuke discloses a robot programming device comprising:
a robot program teaching unit configured to perform teaching of a robot program (Paragraphs [0022-0023] describe a process performed by the central processing unit, i.e., robot program teaching unit, which performs teaching of a robot program.); and
a code conversion unit configured to convert information for identifying the taught robot program into a code (“When the assembly operation of the object to be assembled by the manipulator 10 is performed as smoothly as if by a human, and when it is properly assembled (S4,S5), the central processing unit 11 transmits teaching operation information with a unique teaching information code and the above teaching work status information to the storage unit 15 of the manipulator operation system 1, and stores it in the storage unit 15 (S6)” [0024]. Thus, the central processing unit further performs the function of a code conversion unit which converts the information identifying a successfully taught robot program into a unique teaching information code. Such a teaching information code may be read from an IC tag as described in Paragraph [0038].).
Regarding claim 3, Daisuke discloses the robot programming device according to claim 1,
wherein the robot program is a program having a property dependent on a workpiece being a work target (As described in Paragraphs [0012-0013], the taught robot program is one which depends on a specific assembled object, i.e., workpiece, being the work target.).
Regarding claim 4, Daisuke discloses the robot programming device according to claim 3,
wherein the robot program teaching unit includes:
a work target specification unit configured to accept an operation for specifying, based on a geometric characteristic of a workpiece model, a work target part on the workpiece model (“The system may include a reader that reads dimensional information of the assembled object from an IC tag attached to the assembled object, and the motion control unit may modify the movement of the manipulator based on the taught operation information using the read dimensional information” [0013]. Thus, there is a “reader” which performs the function of reading dimensional information of the assembled object, i.e., specifies a work target part on the workpiece model based on a geometric characteristic of a workpiece model. The motion control unit is then the functional equivalent of a work target specification unit which accepts this “read” operation for specifying the work target part by modifying the taught operation according to the read dimensional information of the workpiece.); and
a work program generation unit configured to generate a robot program for performing work by a work tool on the specified work target part (“The manipulator control system 1 for operating the manipulator 10 consists of the manipulator 10 which handles the workpiece 9 with a highly flexible hand” [0018]. “For example, when a single manipulator 10 performs assembly of multiple types of products in small-batch production of various products, the teaching operation information for each type is stored in the storage means 15. As shown in Figure 8, the corresponding teaching operation information is retrieved from the storage means 15 based on a unique teaching information code read from the IC tag 3, and the manipulator 10 is operated based on that teaching operation information” [0038]. Thus, there is further a functional equivalent for the work program generation unit installed within the code retrieval system which generates the robot program, i.e., teaching operation information, for performing assembly work by the work tool, i.e., flexible hand which handles the workpiece, on the specified work target part which is inclusive of the IC code as described above.).
Regarding claim 6, Daisuke discloses the robot programming device according to claim l, further comprising
a file output unit configured to output the code generated by the code conversion unit as a file (“At this time, the teaching device 20 measures the above operation, and based on this measurement, the operation information generation unit 21 generates time-stamped teaching operation information (S1), transmits the teaching operation information to the storage unit 15 of the manipulator operating system 1, and stores it in the storage unit 15 (S2)” [0022]. “This involves the central processing unit 11 acquiring teaching operation information from the storage unit 15 (S32), generating a target motion trajectory from this teaching operation information (S33), and the manipulator control unit 12 controlling and driving the manipulator 10 based on the obtained target motion trajectory (S34), performing this for each timestamp of the teaching operation information to test whether the manipulator 10 can assemble the object to be assembled. During this test, the teaching work state information generation unit 24 generates timestamped teaching work state information (S35) from measured values regarding the position and orientation of the manipulator and the object to be assembled, obtained from the work state recognition device 13 while the manipulator 10 is being controlled” [0023]. Thus, the operation information generation unit generates time-stamped teaching operation information which is transmitted to the storage unit. From there, the central processing unit performs the equivalent function to the file output unit, as the central processing unit is configured to output the code generated by the code conversion unit to identify the stored teaching operation as a time-stamped motion trajectory which is the complete collection of data as a program which is treated by the central processing unit as a single entity for the purpose of operation output, i.e., file.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daisuke in view of Yoneyama (US 2021/0101282 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Daisuke teaches the robot programming device according to claim 1…
However, Daisuke does not explicitly teach …a three-dimensional model arrangement unit configure to arrange, in a virtual space, a robot system model including a robot model three-dimensionally expressing a robot system including a robot,
wherein the robot program teaching unit is configured to accept teaching of the robot program by an operation on the robot system model.
Yoneyama, pertinent to the problem at hand, teaches …a three-dimensional model arrangement unit configure to arrange, in a virtual space, a robot system model including a robot model three-dimensionally expressing a robot system including a robot (“One aspect of a robot system according to the present disclosure is configured to be a robot system including a simulation device configured to place virtual models including at least a virtual robot model on a screen, display the virtual model simultaneously with a real equipment including at least a real robot, and perform teaching and simulation of a robot program, the simulation device including a virtual model display unit configured to place virtual models in a virtual space on a screen and display the virtual models simultaneously with real equipment” [0011]. Thus, the simulation device is a functional equivalent of the three-dimensional model arrangement unit as it is configured to place at least a virtual robot model, i.e., arrange a robot system model in a virtual space, including a robot model which three-dimensionally expresses the “real equipment”, i.e., a robot system including a robot. See Fig. 3 as an example of the three-dimensionally displayed virtual model.),
wherein the robot program teaching unit is configured to accept teaching of the robot program by an operation on the robot system model (“One aspect of a robot system according to the present disclosure is configured to be a robot system including … a robot program teaching unit configured to perform teaching of a robot program in the virtual space; a real space virtual model display unit configured to display the virtual models and teaching points of the robot program in a real space, based on a positional relationship in the virtual space; and virtual model placement position correcting unit configured to correct placement positions of the virtual models to match the real equipment in the real space” [0011]. Thus, the robot program teaching unit is the functional equivalent to the robot program teaching unit of the claimed invention as it is configured to perform teaching of a robot program in virtual space, i.e., accepts teaching of the robot program by an operation on the robot system model (virtual robot model).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching methods of Daisuke to further include the virtual model teaching methods of Yoneyama with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the virtual system of Yoneyama allows automatic correction of a robot program onsite and simulated verifications (Yoneyama, [0012]), thereby increasing performance efficiency in translating the taught robot program to real space operations.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daisuke in view of Hama (US 2022/0331972 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Daisuke teaches the robot programming device according to claim l…
However, Daisuke does not explicitly teach …wherein the code conversion unit adds, as additional information, information for identifying a robot by which the robot program is executed, to the information for identifying the robot program and converts the information for identifying the robot program to which the additional information is added into a code.
Hama, pertinent to the problem at hand, teaches a robot program teaching method which includes a selection of a designated robot model to perform the executed teaching function which is then stored as a registered teaching point and further a control program corresponding to the designated robot model (Fig. 7 shows the method which results in S130 of registering the designated teaching point for the specified robot model. See [0037-0038] which selects the robot model before performing the teaching operation. See also [0034] which designates “robot attribute data” corresponding to the plurality of robot models stored in memory as well as robot control programs stored in memory. Paragraph [0054] describes the process for storing the taught robot control program in memory such that the robot may reproduce the taught operation.).
Examiner ascertains that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the code conversion unit as taught by Daisuke for converting information identifying the taught robot program into a code (see rejection of claim 1) to further include the model information according to the system of Hama which comprises a plurality of robot models to perform teaching such that when the taught robot program is stored as a code, the code further identifies the robot by which the robot program is executed. This modification is a mere combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143.I(A)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because for a system with a plurality of robot models which are being taught (Hama), including such model identification information in the taught robot program stored as a code will lead to efficient recall and instruction for a particular robot to perform the designated robot program according to the teaching information for the particular workpiece which is presented at the robot assembly station.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daisuke in view of Nagatsuka et al. (US 2006/0015218 A1; hereinafter “Nagatsuka”).
Regarding claim 7, Daisuke teaches the robot programming device according to claim l…
Daisuke does not explicitly teach …wherein the information for identifying the robot program is one of a program name and a program ID of the robot program.
Nagatsuka, pertinent to the problem at hand, teaches …wherein the information for identifying the robot program is one of a program name and a program ID of the robot program (“According to one aspect of the present invention, there is provided a robot controller for calling a teaching program related to a workpiece from a plurality of stored teaching programs, and causing a robot to carry out a job in accordance with the called teaching program, which includes a storage means for storing a plurality of teaching programs having registered therein identification information indicating the type of the workpiece as attribute information; a teaching program retrieving means for retrieving all teaching programs having registered therein, as attribute information, the same identification information as a designated identification information, based on the designated identification information, from the plurality of teaching programs stored in the storage means” [0009]. Thus, each teaching program includes an attribute, i.e., information, for identifying the robot program which is one of a program ID of the robot program stored amongst a plurality of robot programs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the information for identifying the robot program as taught by Daisuke to include the attributes which are a program ID of a robot program as taught by Nagatsuka with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because by storing the teaching program with a specific attribute which is a program ID corresponding to a part number and sequence order, the time to sufficiently code programs which repeat for batch assembly processes including similar parts is reduced as the teaching process need only be repeated for sufficiently new parts introduced to the operation (Nagatsuka, [0028]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18/841,674 (hereinafter ‘674). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
‘674 teaches a robot programming device (“an information processing device”) comprising:
a robot program teaching unit configured to perform teaching of a robot program (“a processor configured to … perform teaching to the robot system model based on a user input”); and
a code conversion unit configured to convert information for identifying the taught robot program into a code (“a processor configured to … convert the robot program generated by the teaching into a code including information about a command sentence, a motion sentence, and a teaching position of the robot program”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent No. 11,763,115 teaches a robotic system which prints QR codes for subareas of workspace.
US 2017/0341229 A1 teaches a stocker robot which reads QR codes off of a teaching jig.
US 2020/00306981 A1 teaches a robotic assembler which acquires assembly information from a QR code attached to the construction element.
US 2025/0162145 A1 corresponds to copending application No. 18/841,674 used for the double patenting rejection.
/S.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/WADE MILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656