DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO 1449.These IDS has been considered.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “distance measuring unit; bias control unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 8-9, 11 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by TA et al. (JP 2022-36806 A) (hereinafter TA) [cited in the IDS field by the applicant].
As of claim 1, TA discloses a distance measuring device comprising:
a light receiving unit that receives a reflected light pulse signal reflected by an object [the light receiving element 5 within the first period There is no risk of saturation, and the distance to the object can be measured accurately…page 7];
a distance measuring unit that performs distance measuring processing on a basis of an output signal of the light receiving unit [the control unit 4 controls the bias voltage of each light receiving element 5 so that the number of light receiving elements 5 that receive light within the first period is less than the threshold value, the control unit 4 may fail to receive the light from the object. It disappears, and the distance to the object can be measured accurately…page 8]; and
a bias control unit that controls a bias voltage of the light receiving unit before the distance measuring unit starts the distance measuring processing [the control unit 4 controls the bias voltage of each light receiving element 5 so that the number of light receiving elements 5 that receive light within the first period is less than the threshold value…page 8].
As of claim 4, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the light receiving unit includes: a first light receiving element used for the distance measuring processing; and a second light receiving element used to control the bias voltage [page 7-8].
As of claim 8, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the bias control unit controls the bias voltage on a basis of a voltage level of an output signal of the light receiving unit before the distance measuring unit starts the distance measuring processing [page 7-8].
As of claim 9, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the bias control unit controls the bias voltage on a basis of a voltage level of an output signal of the light receiving unit that has received the reflected light pulse signal before the distance measuring unit starts the distance measuring processing [page 7-8].
As of claim 11, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the bias control unit controls the bias voltage on a basis of a number of crossing times between an output signal of the light receiving unit and a predetermined threshold [page 7-8].
As of claim 16, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, a light emitting unit that emits a light pulse signal, wherein the light receiving unit receives the reflected light pulse signal obtained by reflecting the light pulse signal by the object [page 7-8].
As of claim 17, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting unit emits the light pulse signal during a period in which the distance measuring processing is performed and a period in which the bias control unit controls a bias voltage of the light receiving unit before starting the distance measuring processing [page 7-8].
As of claim 18, TA discloses the distance measuring device according to claim 1, wherein the distance measuring unit measures a distance to the object on a basis of a time difference between a light emission timing of the light pulse signal by the light emitting unit and a light reception timing of the reflected light pulse signal by the light receiving unit [page 7-8].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-7, 10, 12-15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “wherein the bias control unit controls a bias voltage of the light receiving unit in a first period before the distance measuring unit starts the distance measuring processing and a second period during which the distance measuring processing is performed” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 5, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “wherein the light receiving unit includes:a first light receiving element used for the distance measuring processing; anda second light receiving element used to control the bias voltage, andthe first light receiving element performs a light receiving operation within a period in which the second light receiving element controls the bias voltage” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 6, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “wherein the light receiving unit includes:a plurality of first light receiving elements used in the distance measuring processing; anda second light receiving element used to control the bias voltage, anda part of the first light receiving elements among the plurality of first light receiving elements perform a light receiving operation within a period in which the second light receiving element controls the bias voltage” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 10, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “wherein the bias voltage is controlled to cause a cathode voltage or an anode voltage of the first light receiving element to become a predetermined voltage level when the first light receiving element receives the reflected light pulse signal” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 12, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “the light receiving unit includes a plurality of light receiving elements, and the bias control unit controls the bias voltage on a basis of a number of crossing times between output signals of at least a part of light receiving elements among the plurality of light receiving elements and a predetermined threshold” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 13, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “a storage unit that stores a correspondence relationship between a number of times that an output signal of the light receiving unit crosses a predetermined threshold and an output signal level of the light receiving unit; anda storage control unit that reads, from the storage unit, the output signal level corresponding to a number of times counted by the number-of-times counting unit, wherein the bias control unit controls the bias voltage on a basis of the output signal level read by the storage control unit” along with all other limitations of the claim.
As to claim 19, the prior arts alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed limitations such as “a second distance range wider than the first distance range, and,in the first mode, the light emitting unit causes the first number of pieces of light emitting elements to simultaneously emit light in a period in which the distance measuring unit performs the distance measuring processing and before the distance measuring unit starts the distance measuring processing, and in the second mode, the light emitting unit does not cause the second number of pieces of light emitting elements to simultaneously emit light before the distance measuring unit starts the distance measuring processing and causes the second number of pieces of light emitting elements to simultaneously emit light within a period in which the distance measuring unit performs the distance measuring processing” along with all other limitations of the claim.
Claims 3, 7, 14-15 are allowable due to their dependencies.
MD M. RAHMAN
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2886
/MD M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877