DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
wherein the tension members include at least one steel tension member for monitoring the belt (claims 17 and 35)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-26, 28, 30-32 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 17 and 35, the limitation “wherein the back side of the belt body has a film made of an electrically conductive material applied thereto for monitoring the belt; and/or wherein the tension members include at least one steel tension member for monitoring the belt” is vague and indefinite. First where is the feature “wherein the tension members include at least one steel tension member for monitoring the belt” shown (see drawing objections)? In the “and/or” limitation, is and possible? Is it possible to monitor the belt with the conductive film applied to the outside of the belt AND monitor the belt with an internal steel strand? Where is the dual monitoring scenario described and shown? What structure is being claimed?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19-26, 28, 32 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bissig et al., US PGPub 2008/0081721 in view of Zhao et al., US PGPub 2019/0071281
Regarding claim 17, Bissig et al. discloses a belt (11) for carrying an elevator car and/or a counterweight of an elevator system (see [0013]), the belt (11) comprising: a belt body (12) having a traction side (16) adapted to contact a traction sheave (drive pulley) of the elevator system (see [0037]) and a back side (13) opposite the traction side (16), wherein the belt body (12) has on the traction side (16) a groove profile (14,15) adapted to an outer contour of the traction sheave (see [0037]) and a profile on the back side (flat back side - see fig 4) deviating from the groove profile (14,15); and a plurality of tension members (1) embedded in the belt body (12) for transmitting tensile forces, wherein each of the tension members (1) is formed by multiple strands twisted together (4-5, 7-9), and each of the strands (4-5, 7-9) is formed by multiple non-metallic fibers twisted together (see [0033]).
Bissig et al. does not specify wherein the back side (13) has a film made of an electrically conductive material applied thereto for monitoring the belt.
Zhao et al. teaches a similar elevator belt (see fig 9) structure including an electrically conductive film (42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the conductive film described by Zhao et al. to the system disclosed by Bissig et al. in order to provide lateral stiffness and all for belt condition monitoring.
Regarding claim 19, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 wherein the belt body (12) is flat (see fig 4) on the back side (13).
Regarding claim 20, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 wherein the strands of each of the tension members (1) include a central strand (5) surrounded by multiple outer strands (7-10).
Regarding claim 21, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 with varied strand diameters, but does not specify that a ratio of a diameter of a thinnest of the strands to a diameter of a thickest of the strands is at least 0.8. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the strand thinkness in the specified manner since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA). One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to employ the specified strand thicknesses in order to optimize the strength and bending properties of the belt for a specific elevator application.
Regarding claim 22, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 but does not specify a ratio of a breaking load of the belt to a width of the belt is between 5.2 kN/mm and 5.4 kN/mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to construct a system with the specified breaking load since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated construct a system with the specified breaking load range in order to optimize the belt strength, weight and flexibility for a specific elevator application.
Regarding claim 23, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 wherein the tension members (1) include at least one first tension member (Z in figure 2) and at least one second tension member (S in figure 2) that differ in a direction of lay (see [0037]).
Regarding claim 24, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 23 wherein a plurality of the at least one first tension member (as described above) and a plurality of the at least one second tension member (as described above) are arranged distributed over a width (left to right in fig 2) of the belt body (12), wherein at least one of the second tension members (as described above) is arranged between (see fig 2) two adjacent ones of the first tension members (as described above).
Regarding claim 25, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 wherein at least four (see fig 4) of the tension members (1) are embedded in the belt body (12).
Regarding claim 26, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 wherein an even number (6 in fig 4) of the tension members (1) is embedded in the belt body (12).
Regarding claim 28, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 but does not specify the electrically conductive material (42) is copper. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ a copper film, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended us as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to employ a copper film in order to improve the durability and electrical properties.
Regarding claim 32, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 wherein a diameter (see fig 4) of each of the tension members (1) corresponds to at least 70% of a total height (distance between 16 and 13) of the belt (11).
Regarding claim 35, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17, incorporated into an elevator system (see [0013]) with a traction sheave (drive pulley) in an elevator shaft; an elevator car (see [0013]) movable in the elevator shaft, the belt (11) carrying the elevator car (as described above).
Regarding claim 36, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the elevator system according to Claim 35 but does not specify that the traction sheave has a diameter that is greater by a factor of 80 to 120 than a diameter of a thickest one of the strands of the belt. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to employ the specified sized sheave and strands since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated employ the specified sized sheave and strands in order to optimize the belt strength and size of the traction sheave for a specific elevator application.
Claim(s) 18 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. and further in view of Goser et al., WO2020/104089.
Regarding claims 18, 30-31, Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. discloses the belt according to Claim 17 but does not specify that a profile height of the groove profile corresponds to at least half of a total height of the belt or that the sheathing is fire retardant.
Goser et al. teaches a similar elevator belt (see fig 1, 4) a profile height of the groove profile (see fig 1,4) corresponds to at least half of a total height (from 10a-10b)of the belt (10). (claim 18)
wherein each of the tension members (16) has a fire-retardant sheathing (see page 1). (claim 30)
wherein the groove profile (see fig 1,4) is formed as multiple elevations (tooth portion below 16) and depressions (between tension member)( and wherein each of the tension members (16) is embedded in an associated one of the elevations (see fig 4) such that a cross-sectional area of each the elevations is at least half of a cross-sectional area of the associated tension member (see fig 1,4). (claim 31).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sheathing and profile geometry described by Goser et al. to the system disclosed by Bissig et al. in view of Zhao et al. in order to improve the grip properties and abrasion resistance of the belt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that Bissig does not disclose a belt with both metallic and non-metallic fibers. Firstly, both metallic and non-metallic fibers are not required in claims 17 and 35 due to the and/or limitation. If “or” is selected, both are not required. See also drawing objections and 112 rejection. Applicants argument is not persuasive.
On page 9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that layer 42 of Zhao et al. is a fibrous fabric material and not an electrically conductive film. Examiner respectfully disagrees. From [0044], Zhao et al. details one configurations where 42 may be “.. rather than a fabric, the lateral layer 42 may be a monolithic film or metallic layer, such as an aluminum foil, to provide lateral stiffness and/or fire resistance.” Therefore, Zhao et al. details the disputed limitation and applicants argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL A. RIEGELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/MICHAEL A RIEGELMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654