DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a measurement value obtainment unit that obtains measurement values………. In claim 1; line 4-5 and corresponding support can be found in [0031]; [0049]-[0051].
an identification information reading unit that reads identification information as binary data by determining….. In claim 1; line 6-11 and corresponding support can be found in [0049]-[0051].
a threshold value setting unit that sets the determination threshold value….. In claim 1; line 12-17 and corresponding support can be found in [0049]-[0051].
a determination threshold value record holding unit that holds a record……in claim 7; lines 3-4 and corresponding support can be found in [0049]-[0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ittogi et al. (US 20210258195, hereinafter “Ittogi”) and further in view of Levy (US 20140152485, hereinafter “Levy”).
Regarding claim 1, Ittogi discloses,
An identification information receiving device connected to an identification information transmitting device by a power line ( The data carrier drive apparatus 102 has a terminal A and a terminal B, and the data carrier apparatus 101 has a contact A and a contact B. Here, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the terminal A and the contact A are connected by a communication line, the terminal B and the contact B are connected by a communication line, and the data carrier apparatus 101 and the data carrier drive apparatus 102 transmit and receive data through these two communication lines. Further, the data carrier drive apparatus 102 supplies operating power for the data carrier apparatus 101 to the data carrier apparatus 101 through the two communication lines Fig. 1 and [0019]-[0020]), the identification information receiving device comprising:
a measurement value obtainment unit that obtains measurement values of an electric current or a voltage of the power line (A converter 110 has a current detection resistor Ri, and the current detection resistor Ri converts an inter-apparatus current Ia (hereinafter, simply referred to as a current Ia) flowing from the first power supply 107 to the data carrier apparatus 101 into a voltage Va. … the voltage Va also changes as illustrated in FIG. 3. This voltage Va is input to an AD port of the processing unit 103 and a comparator of a determiner 109, [0026] and Fig. 4);
an identification information reading unit that reads identification information as binary data by determining whether a measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information among the measurement values is greater or less than a determination threshold value other than 0 (Threshold setting unit 111 generates Vth by dividing the positive supply voltage Vl and sets Vth between the two operating voltage levels Vy and Vx of voltage Va. Thus, Vth is anonzero voltage located between the two signal levels used for binary determination, [0027] and FIG. 4), the identification information being defined by a plurality of bits and superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device (The memory of data carrier apparatus 101 stores information regarding the connected replacement unit. including information regarding authentication of the replacement unit. In response to a read command, apparatus 101 returns the stored information as reply data [0020]-[0022]. Examiner’s note: The authentication information is reasonably interpreted as the claimed identification information because it is information used to identify or authenticate the physically connected replacement unit. The claim does not require a globally unique identifier or any particular identifier format; To transmit that information, switching unit 117 changes line current Ia accollling to the binary values of the reply data. Current-detection resistor Ri converts current Ia into voltage Va, and determiner 109 compares Va with threshold voltage Vth. Processing unit 103 determines whether the transmitted bit is "0" or "l" based on whether Va is greater or less than Vth. Accordingly, the reply information is defined by multiple bits, is superimposed on the current of the powered line, and is read as binmy data by comparing the measurement associated with each bit against Vth. See Ittogi, FIGS. 4, 6, and 8 and 141 [0027]-[0028) and [0033]-[0035]. and
a threshold value setting unit that sets the determination threshold value based on a measurement value corresponding to each bit of threshold value verification information defined by a plurality of bits among the measurement values (After receiving a command and before transmitting the substantive reply data, apparatus 101 enters an adjustment state and transmits adjustment data expressly characterized as “threshold determination data”. The adjustment state precedes the reply state in which the stored replacement-unit information is returned [0021]-[0022] and FIG. 2), the threshold value verification information being superimposed on the electric current or the voltage in the power line by the identification information transmitting device before the identification information is superimposed (the adjustment data has the known eight-bit pattern 00001111. Processing unit 103 obtains voltage Va at the sampling time for each adjustment bit. including four measurements corresponding to “0” and four measurements corresponding to “1”. Processing unit 103 averages the “0” measurements, averages the “1” measurements. and sets Vth to an intermediate value between the two averages. The threshold determined during the adjustment state is then used to decode the reply data transmitted in the following reply state. The adjustment data therefore corresponds to the claimed multi-bit threshold value verification information, and sets the determination threshold using the measurement corresponding to each bit of that information [0028] and [0036]-[0039].)
However, Ittogi does not disclose the threshold value setting unit that sets the determination threshold value based on an initial threshold value other than 0.
In the same field of endeavor, Levy discloses, the threshold value setting unit that sets the determination threshold value based on an initial threshold value other than 0 (the threshold adaptation component begins with an initial estimate of the threshold values, which may be predetermined. The receiver obtains measured current samples, determines an expected current for the recognized or known symbol, determines an error from the measured and expected current values, and uses the error
to update the existing threshold values. The updated threshold is then used for the next symbol. Levy also teaches using a scaling factor in a first-order IIR update to mitigate overcorrection, [0027]-[0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ittogi by specifically providing the threshold value setting unit that sets the determination threshold value based on an initial threshold value other than 0, as taught by Levy for the purpose of correlating the quantization signal with reference symbols to generate an output signal and modifying the one or more threshold levels according to the output signal and the input signal (abstract).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ittogi and Levy discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Levy discloses, a determination threshold value record holding unit that holds a record of the determination threshold value, wherein the threshold value setting unit sets the initial threshold value based on at least one determination threshold value held in the determination threshold value record holding unit (the threshold adaptation component begins with an initial estimate of the threshold values, which may be predetermined. The receiver obtains measured current samples, determines an expected current for the recognized or known symbol, determines an error from the measured and expected current values, and uses the error to update the existing threshold values. The updated threshold is then used for the next symbol. Levy also teaches using a scaling factor in a first-order IIR update to mitigate overcorrection, [0027]-[0039]; The method 400 begins at block 402, wherein current threshold values are obtained. The current threshold values include a value for one or more levels used in modulating current for communication. In one example, the threshold values include 3 levels. The threshold values can be initial assigned values or obtained from a previous adaptation of a previous value [0050]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 corresponds to claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Ittogi discloses,
An identification information receiving method comprising:
obtaining, by an identification information receiving device, measurement values of an electric current or a voltage of the power line (A converter 110 has a current detection resistor Ri, and the current detection resistor Ri converts an inter-apparatus current Ia (hereinafter, simply referred to as a current Ia) flowing from the first power supply 107 to the data carrier apparatus 101 into a voltage Va. … the voltage Va also changes as illustrated in FIG. 3. This voltage Va is input to an AD port of the processing unit 103 and a comparator of a determiner 109, [0026] and Fig. 4) connecting an identification information transmitting device and the identification information receiving device ( The data carrier drive apparatus 102 has a terminal A and a terminal B, and the data carrier apparatus 101 has a contact A and a contact B. Here, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the terminal A and the contact A are connected by a communication line, the terminal B and the contact B are connected by a communication line, and the data carrier apparatus 101 and the data carrier drive apparatus 102 transmit and receive data through these two communication lines. Further, the data carrier drive apparatus 102 supplies operating power for the data carrier apparatus 101 to the data carrier apparatus 101 through the two communication lines Fig. 1 and [0019]-[0020]);
reading identification information as binary data by determining whether a measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information among the measurement values is greater or less than a determination threshold value other than 0 (Threshold setting unit 111 generates Vth by dividing the positive supply voltage Vl and sets Vth between the two operating voltage levels Vy and Vx of voltage Va. Thus, Vth is anonzero voltage located between the two signal levels used for binary determination, [0027] and FIG. 4), the identification information being defined by a plurality of bits and superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device (The memory of data carrier apparatus 101 stores information regarding the connected replacement unit. including information regarding authentication of the replacement unit. In response to a read command, apparatus 101 returns the stored information as reply data [0020]-[0022]. Examiner’s note: The authentication information is reasonably interpreted as the claimed identification information because it is information used to identify or authenticate the physically connected replacement unit. The claim does not require a globally unique identifier or any particular identifier format; To transmit that information, switching unit 117 changes line current Ia accollling to the binary values of the reply data. Current-detection resistor Ri converts current Ia into voltage Va, and determiner 109 compares Va with threshold voltage Vth. Processing unit 103 determines whether the transmitted bit is "0" or "l" based on whether Va is greater or less than Vth. Accordingly, the reply information is defined by multiple bits, is superimposed on the current of the powered line, and is read as binmy data by comparing the measurement associated with each bit against Vth. See Ittogi, FIGS. 4, 6, and 8 and 141 [0027]-[0028) and [0033]-[0035]. and
setting the determination threshold value based on a measurement value corresponding to each bit of threshold value verification information defined by a plurality of bits among the measurement values (After receiving a command and before transmitting the substantive reply data, apparatus 101 enters an adjustment state and transmits adjustment data expressly characterized as “threshold determination data”. The adjustment state precedes the reply state in which the stored replacement-unit information is returned [0021]-[0022] and FIG. 2), the threshold value verification information being superimposed on the electric current or the voltage in the power line by the identification information transmitting device before the identification information is superimposed (the adjustment data has the known eight-bit pattern 00001111. Processing unit 103 obtains voltage Va at the sampling time for each adjustment bit. including four measurements corresponding to “0” and four measurements corresponding to “1”. Processing unit 103 averages the “0” measurements, averages the “1” measurements. and sets Vth to an intermediate value between the two averages. The threshold determined during the adjustment state is then used to decode the reply data transmitted in the following reply state. The adjustment data therefore corresponds to the claimed multi-bit threshold value verification information, and sets the determination threshold using the measurement corresponding to each bit of that information [0028] and [0036]-[0039].)
However, Ittogi does not disclose setting the determination threshold value based on an initial threshold value other than 0.
In the same field of endeavor, Levy discloses, setting the determination threshold value based on an initial threshold value other than 0 (the threshold adaptation component begins with an initial estimate of the threshold values, which may be predetermined. The receiver obtains measured current samples, determines an expected current for the recognized or known symbol, determines an error from the measured and expected current values, and uses the error to update the existing threshold values. The updated threshold is then used for the next symbol. Levy also teaches using a scaling factor in a first-order IIR update to mitigate overcorrection, [0027]-[0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ittogi by specifically providing setting the determination threshold value based on an initial threshold value other than 0, as taught by Levy for the purpose of correlating the quantization signal with reference symbols to generate an output signal and modifying the one or more threshold levels according to the output signal and the input signal (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Ittogi and Levy, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “the identification information receiving device comprises wherein the threshold value setting unit compares the initial threshold value and the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the threshold value verification information, calculates two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the initial threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the initial threshold value, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Ittogi and Levy, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “the identification information receiving device comprises wherein the threshold value setting unit performs: holding converted threshold value verification information obtained by converting 0 in a bit string constituting the threshold value verification information into a negative value and setting a value corresponding to 1 in the bit string and a value corresponding to 0 in the bit string to have equal absolute values; sequentially calculating a difference value by subtracting the initial threshold value from the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the threshold value verification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line; specifying, based on a sum of products in respective digits of a difference value sequence and the converted threshold value verification information, the difference value sequence in a section with a highest degree of correlation, the difference value sequence being an array of the difference value; and calculating two representative values that are a representative value of a positive value included in the difference value sequence specified and a representative value of a negative value included in the difference value sequence specified, and setting the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Ittogi and Levy, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “the identification information receiving device comprises wherein the threshold value setting unit compares the determination threshold value and the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, calculates two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the determination threshold value, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value, and the identification information reading unit reads the identification information as the binary data by determining whether the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information is greater or less than the updated determination threshold value”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Ittogi and Levy, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “the identification information receiving device comprises wherein the identification information transmitting device superimposes a plurality of pieces of the identification information on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, and the threshold value setting unit performs: comparing a measurement value corresponding to each bit of a first piece of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line and a first determination threshold value that is the determination threshold value set for a first time, calculating two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the first determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the determination threshold value, and setting the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values; and comparing a measurement value corresponding to each bit of second and subsequent pieces of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line and the updated determination threshold value that has been set upon reading of an immediately preceding piece of the identification information, calculating two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the updated determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the updated determination threshold value, and setting the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as a new updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Ittogi and Levy, whether taken alone or in combination does not teach the following novel feature: “the identification information receiving device comprises wherein the identification information transmitting device superimposes a plurality of pieces of the identification information on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, the threshold value setting unit compares a measurement value corresponding to each bit of a first piece of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line and a first determination threshold value that is the determination threshold value set for a first time, calculates two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the first determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the determination threshold value, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values, the identification information reading unit reads the first piece of the identification information as the binary data by determining whether the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the first piece of the identification information is greater or less than the updated determination threshold value, the threshold value setting unit compares the measurement value corresponding to each bit of second and subsequent pieces of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line and the updated determination threshold value that has been set upon reading of an immediately preceding piece of the identification information, calculates two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the updated determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the updated determination threshold value, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as a new updated determination threshold value, and the identification information reading unit reads the second and subsequent pieces of the identification information as the binary data by determining whether the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the second and subsequent pieces of the identification information is greater or less than the new updated determination threshold value”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 10816940: According to the present disclosure, a sensor controller configured to collect a variety of machine related operations data may receive operation data from at least one measurement sensor connected to a machine and configured to detect the operation data of the machine and transfer the operation data to a communication module to be transmitted to and collected by a server. Even if a different measurement sensor is connected to a sensor controller, the operation data of the connected measurement sensor can be still recognized.
US 9438260: A semiconductor apparatus according to an embodiment includes a plurality of unit elements that are provided to correspond to the total number of weights for each bit of the digital intermediate value b[1:0] output from a sub ADC, and the same capacitance, the same resistance value, or the same current value being set to the plurality of unit elements. Further included is a corresponding bit switching unit configured to switches the bits of the digital intermediate value based on which the plurality of unit elements generate analog values.
EP 3579335: A wireless communication device of the present disclosure, to which an electric power measurement value is input that is measured in an electric power measurer to which a power supply side power line and a load side power line are connected, includes a first antenna element that transmits and receives radio waves and a wireless circuit connected to the first antenna element. The first antenna element has a longitudinal side perpendicular to a line along which the power supply side power line and the load side power line extend.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641