DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 & 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitagawa (U.S. PGPub # 2009/0039833) in view of Ittogi et al (U.S. PGPub # 2021/0258195.).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Kitagawa teaches:
An identification information receiving device (Fig. 1 Element 3. See Abstract.) connected to an identification information transmitting device (Fig. 1 Element 1. See Abstract.) by a power line (Fig. 1 Elements 1 & 3. See Abstract and paragraph 0052.), the identification information receiving device comprising:
a measurement value obtainment unit (Fig. 1 Elements 7, 8, & 9. See Abstract and paragraphs 0043-0045. Fig. 3 Elements 7, 8, & 9. See paragraphs 0058-0062.) that obtains measurement values of an electric current (Fig. 1 Elements 8 & 9. Fig. 3 Elements 8 & 9.) or a voltage (Fig. 1 Elements 8 & 9. Fig. 3 Elements 8 & 9.) of the power line;
an identification information reading unit (Fig. 1 Element 3, the Control means. See paragraph 0044. Fig. 3 Element 3. See paragraph 0060.) that reads identification information as binary data (Fig. 1 Element 34, the Control means. See paragraphs 0056-0057, 0059, 0065, 0067, & 0076 wherein digital data and signals are disclosed. Digital data is binary. ) by determining whether a measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information among the measurement values is greater or less than a determination threshold value other than 0 (Paragraph 0054 wherein “the control means 3 of the battery pack 1 monitors a charge state and a discharge state, when information indicating an over-charge state or the occurrence of an abnormal phenomenon is transmitted from the battery pack to the charging device.”), the identification information being defined by a plurality of bits and superimposed on the electric current or the voltage in the power line by the identification information transmitting device (Fig. 1 Element 3, the Control means. See paragraphs 0048-0049 & 0059-0061.); and
Kitagawa does not explicitly teach:
a threshold value setting unit that compares a latest determination threshold value to the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device, calculates two representative values that are (i) a representative value of one or more measurement values each greater than or equal to the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information and (ii) a representative value of one or more measurement values each less than the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value.
Ittogi teaches:
a threshold value setting unit (Fig. 1 Element 103. Paragraphs 0026-0028.) that compares a latest determination threshold value to the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information (Fig. 1 Element 109. See paragraphs 0026-0030 and 0038. See adjustment data.) superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device (Fig. 1 Element 101, the data carrier apparatus. See paragraphs 0019-0030 and elsewhere.), calculates two representative values (Fig. 1 Element 103. Paragraphs 0026-0028.) that are (i) a representative value of one or more measurement values each greater than or equal to the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information (Paragraph 0037 wherein the “average voltage” Acd is calculated.) and (ii) a representative value of one or more measurement values each less than the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value (Paragraph 0038 wherein the “adjustment data is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Ittogi to the teachings of Kitagawa such that a threshold value setting unit that compares a latest determination threshold value to the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device, calculates two representative values that are (i) a representative value of one or more measurement values each greater than or equal to the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information and (ii) a representative value of one or more measurement values each less than the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value because both Kitagawa & Ittogi “pertain to the technical field of data communication using a voltage or a current.” “Therefore, a person skilled in the art could easily have conceived of determining whether a measurement value of a current or a voltage corresponding to each of the bits of data is greater or smaller than a determination threshold excluding 0, instead of using PWM as a method for modulating the identification information, to read the data as binary data in the identification information receiving device of the invention disclosed in Kitagawa and configuring the invention in Kitagawa to compare the measurement values corresponding to the respective bits of the multi-bit identification information transmitted by the identification information transmission device as a current or a voltage of the transmission line with a determination threshold, calculate a representative value of the measurement values equal to or higher than the determination threshold and a representative value of the measurement values less than the determination threshold, and set an intermediate value of the two representative values as an updated determination threshold on the basis of the matters disclosed in Ittogi.” See written opinion of international search authority. Furthermore, these references would combine because these both allow one to make determinations in data communications using various techniques that are functionally equivalent, reliable and dependable.
Regarding claim 2, Kitagawa & Ittogi teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kitagawa teaches the identification information reading unit (Fig. 1 Element 3, the Control means. See paragraph 0044. Fig. 3 Element 3. See paragraph 0060.) reads the identification information as the binary data (Fig. 1 Element 3, the Control means. See paragraph 0044. Fig. 3 Element 3. See paragraph 0060.) by determining whether the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information is greater or less than the updated determination threshold value (Paragraph 0037.).
Regarding claim 5, Kitagawa & Ittogi teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kitagawa does not explicitly teach a determination threshold value record holding unit that holds a record of the updated determination threshold value, wherein the threshold value setting unit sets an initial value of the determination threshold value based on at least one determination threshold value held in the determination threshold value record holding unit.
Ittogi teaches a determination threshold value record holding unit that holds a record of the updated determination threshold value (Paragraphs 0004, 0022-0023, 0027-0028, 0036-0037, & elsewhere.), wherein the threshold value setting unit sets an initial value of the determination threshold value based on at least one determination threshold value held in the determination threshold value record holding unit (Paragraphs 0004, 0022-0023, 0027-0028, 0036-0037, & elsewhere.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Ittogi to the teachings of Kitagawa such that a determination threshold value record holding unit that holds a record of the updated determination threshold value, wherein the threshold value setting unit sets an initial value of the determination threshold value based on at least one determination threshold value held in the determination threshold value record holding unit because storing information is common and well-known.
Regarding claim 6, Kitagawa & Ittogi teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kitagawa teaches an energy storage pack that is detachable and portable and serves as the identification information receiving device according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 Element 1. Fig. 3 Element 50. See associated text in paragraphs 0026-0030.)
Regarding Independent claim 7, Kitagawa teaches:
An identification information receiving method comprising:
obtaining measurement values of an electric current (Fig. 1 Elements 8 & 9. Fig. 3 Elements 8 & 9.) or a voltage (Fig. 1 Elements 8 & 9. Fig. 3 Elements 8 & 9.) of a power line connecting an identification information transmitting device (Fig. 1 Elements 7, 8, & 9. See Abstract and paragraphs 0043-0045. Fig. 3 Elements 7, 8, & 9. See paragraphs 0058-0062.) and an identification information receiving device (Fig. 1 Elements 7, 8, & 9. See Abstract and paragraphs 0043-0045. Fig. 3 Elements 7, 8, & 9. See paragraphs 0058-0062.);
reading identification information (Fig. 1 Element 3, the Control means. See paragraph 0044. Fig. 3 Element 3. See paragraph 0060.) as binary data (Fig. 1 Element 34, the Control means. See paragraph 0059. ) by determining whether a measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information among the measurement values is greater or less than a determination threshold value other than 0 (Paragraph 0054 wherein “the control means 3 of the battery pack 1 monitors a charge state and a discharge state, when information indicating an over-charge state or the occurrence of an abnormal phenomenon is transmitted from the battery pack to the charging device.”), the identification information being defined by a plurality of bits and superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device (Fig. 1 Element 3, the Control means. See paragraph 0044. Fig. 3 Element 3. See paragraph 0060.);
Kitagawa does not explicitly teach:
comparing a latest determination threshold value to the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device;
calculating two representative values that are (i) a representative value of one or more measurement values each greater than or equal to the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information and (ii) a representative value of one or more measurement values each less than the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information; and
setting the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value.
Ittogi teaches:
comparing a latest determination threshold value (Fig. 1 Element 103. Paragraphs 0026-0028.) to the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information (Fig. 1 Element 109. See paragraphs 0026-0030 and 0038. See adjustment data.) superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device (Fig. 1 Element 101, the data carrier apparatus. See paragraphs 0019-0030 and elsewhere.);
calculating two representative values (Fig. 1 Element 103. Paragraphs 0026-0028.) that are (i) a representative value of one or more measurement values each greater than or equal to the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information (Paragraph 0037 wherein the “average voltage” Acd is calculated.) and (ii) a representative value of one or more measurement values each less than the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information (Paragraph 0038 wherein the “adjustment data is disclosed.); and
setting the determination threshold value (Fig. 1 Element 103. Paragraphs 0026-0028.) to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value (Fig. 1 Element 103. Paragraphs 0026-0028.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Ittogi to the teachings of Kitagawa such that a threshold value setting unit that compares a latest determination threshold value to the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line by the identification information transmitting device; calculates two representative values that are (i) a representative value of one or more measurement values each greater than or equal to the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information and (ii) a representative value of one or more measurement values each less than the determination threshold value among the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the identification information; and
sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value because both Kitagawa & Ittogi “pertain to the technical field of data communication using a voltage or a current.” “Therefore, a person skilled in the art could easily have conceived of determining whether a measurement value of a current or a voltage corresponding to each of the bits of data is greater or smaller than a determination threshold excluding 0, instead of using PWM as a method for modulating the identification information, to read the data as binary data in the identification information receiving device of the invention disclosed in Kitagawa and configuring the invention in Kitagawa to compare the measurement values corresponding to the respective bits of the multi-bit identification information transmitted by the identification information transmission device as a current or a voltage of the transmission line with a determination threshold, calculate a representative value of the measurement values equal to or higher than the determination threshold and a representative value of the measurement values less than the determination threshold, and set an intermediate value of the two representative values as an updated determination threshold on the basis of the matters disclosed in Ittogi.” See written opinion of international search authority. Furthermore, these references would combine because these both allow one to make determinations in data communications using various techniques that are functionally equivalent, reliable and dependable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 & 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art listed does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by applicant.
Regarding claim 3, Kitagawa & Ittogi teach all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kitagawa does not explicitly teach the identification information transmitting device superimposes a plurality of pieces of the identification information on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, and the threshold value setting unit performs: comparing an initial value of the determination threshold value and a measurement value corresponding to each bit of a first piece of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, calculating two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the initial value of the determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the initial value of the determination threshold value, and setting the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values; and comparing a measurement value corresponding to each bit of second and subsequent pieces of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line and the updated determination threshold value that has been set upon reading of an immediately preceding piece of the identification information, calculating two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the updated determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the updated determination threshold value, and setting the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as a new updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values.
Regarding claim 4,
The identification information receiving device according to claim 1, wherein the identification information transmitting device superimposes a plurality of pieces of the identification information on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, the threshold value setting unit compares an initial value of the determination threshold value and a measurement value corresponding to each bit of a first piece of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line, calculates two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the initial value of the determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the initial value of the determination threshold value, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as an updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values, the identification information reading unit reads the first piece of the identification information as the binary data by determining whether the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the first piece of the identification information is greater or less than the updated determination threshold value, the threshold value setting unit compares a measurement value corresponding to each bit of second and subsequent pieces of the identification information superimposed on the electric current or the voltage of the power line and the updated determination threshold value that has been set upon reading of an immediately preceding piece of the identification information, calculates two representative values that are a representative value of the measurement value greater than or equal to the updated determination threshold value and a representative value of the measurement value less than the updated determination threshold value, and sets the determination threshold value to an intermediate value between the two representative values as a new updated determination threshold value, the measurement value being included in the measurement values, and the identification information reading unit reads the second and subsequent pieces of the identification information as the binary data by determining whether the measurement value corresponding to each bit of the second and subsequent pieces of the identification information is greater or less than the new updated determination threshold value.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant. Specifically, U.S. PGPub # 2014/0074308 discusses vehicle identification using a different set of method steps. U.S. PGPub # 2004/0189090 discusses communication elements between a powerline and a vehicle. They are both broadly related.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858