DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 November 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “communication IF” in claims 1, 6-8, 13, 15, and 16, is not defined by the claim or specification. It is unclear if “IF” is an acronym, and if so, for what words. This renders the claims unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it claims only a computer program.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ujiie et al., USPN 2016/0315766.
With regard to claim 1, 11, and 12, Ujiie discloses a transmission device (0002) including a control unit that controls security processing performed on output data of each of frames output by a sensor (0061-0063) and transmission of information indicating an update timing of a key used for the security processing (0048, 0060, 0107) to a reception device that is a transmission destination of the output data (0046, 0061, 0077-0082), and a first communication unit that transmits, using a first communication IF (0046, 0061, 0077-0082), frame data in a predetermined format used for transmission of the output data subjected to the security processing (0065, 0077-0082).
With regard to claim 2, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses in a case where an update deadline of the key has expired, the control unit transmits, to the reception device, information indicating that a state of the output data is an error state (0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172).
With regard to claim 3, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits information indicating a period until the update deadline (0082,0142, 0153, 0172, 0187).
With regard to claim 4, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the update timing by including the information indicating the update timing in additional information arranged in a predetermined line of the frame data (0048, 0060, 0107).
With regard to claim 5, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the error state by including the information indicating the error state in the additional information (0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172).
With regard to claims 6, 13-15, and 18-20, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses a second communication unit that performs communication with the reception device via a second communication IF using a register (0077, Fig. 3), wherein the control unit updates the key in accordance with a setting made by the reception device using the second communication IF (0060, 0142, 0086-0088).
With regard to claims 7 and 16, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the update timing using the second communication IF (0060, 0142, 0086-0088).
With regard to claim 8, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the error state using the second communication IF (0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172).
With regard to claims 9 and 17, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the update timing using a dedicated port (0046, 0060, 0142, 0086-0088).
With regard to claim 10, Ujiie discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the error state using the dedicated port (0046-0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172).
References Cited
Hanna et al., USPN 2022/0294640, discloses acquiring frames from an image sensor (0057) and having expired key information transmitted (0079).
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434