CTFR 18/864,598 CTFR 80025 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ujiie et al., USPN 2016/0315766, in view of Leong et al., USPN 2019/0013937 . With regard to claims 1, 11, and 12, Ujiie discloses a transmission device (0002), including a control unit configured to control execution of a security process on output data of each frame of a plurality of frames output by a sensor (0061-0063), and transmission of first information to a reception device (0046, 0061, 0077-0082), wherein the first information indicates an update time of a key associated with the security process (0048, 0060, 0107), and the reception device is a transmission destination of the output data (0046, 0061, 0077-0082), and a first communication unit configured to transmit ,via a first communication interface (IF) (0046, 0061, 0077-0082), frame data based on the execution of the security process on the output data (0065, 0077-0082), wherein the frame data is transmitted in a specific format (0065, 0079), the specific format includes embedded data in the frame data (“including information indicating the expiration data regarding the shared key” 0048, “an expiration date dentification frame including data” 0141, “a frame including information indicating the expiration date” 0143), the embedded data is additional information added to the output data (such as the MAC field, 0141-0142), and the embedded data includes the first information that indicates the update time of the key (0142, 0143, 0153). Ujiie discloses that the expiration date information is sent in the frame along with MAC data (0141-0142), and that it is additional information (0048, 0141-0143), but does not clearly specifically state that it is additional information added to the output data. Leong discloses a device that transmits data in secure frames (0004-0018), similar to that of Ujiie, and further discloses the that the update data is additional information added to the output data (0151). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to send the expiration information of Ujiie along with other output data, as taught by Ujiie (0048, 0141-0143), and also taught further by Leong, for the motivation of increased efficiency. With regard to claim 2, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses in a case where an update deadline of the key has expired, the control unit transmits, to the reception device, information indicating that a state of the output data is an error state (0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172). With regard to claim 3, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses the control unit transmits information indicating a period until the update deadline (0082,0142, 0153, 0172, 0187). With regard to claim 5, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses the control unit transmits the second information in the additional information (0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172). With regard to claims 6, 13, 15, and 18-20, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses a second communication unit that performs communication with the reception device via a second communication IF using a register (0077, Fig. 3), wherein the control unit updates the key in accordance with a setting made by the reception device using the second communication IF (0060, 0142, 0086-0088). With regard to claims 7 and 16, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the update timing using the second communication IF (0060, 0142, 0086-0088). With regard to claim 8, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses the control unit transmits the second information using the second communication IF (0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172). With regard to claims 9 and 17, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses the control unit transmits the information indicating the update timing using a dedicated port (0046, 0060, 0142, 0086-0088). With regard to claim 10, Ujiie in view of Leong discloses the device of claim 1, as outlined above, and Ujiie further discloses the control unit transmits the second information using the dedicated port (0046-0048, 0082, 0142, 0153, 0120, 0172). Response to Arguments Applicant's arguments filed 6 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive. The arguments were persuasive with regard to the 112 and 101 rejections in light of the filed amendments. The arguments regarding the 102 rejection were not fully persuasive. Ujiie discloses that the expiration information is sent in a frame including other information, as outline above. He discloses at least the MAC information, but also uses language, such as, “including information indicating the expiration data regarding the shared key” (0048), which implies other information can also be in the frame. The examiner added the Leong reference, to further support the idea that other information could be included in the same frame. References Cited Ling et al., CN 102014266A, discloses transmitting embedded key update information in a frame (0011). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. /JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/864,598 Page 2 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/864,598 Page 3 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/864,598 Page 4 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/864,598 Page 5 Art Unit: 2434 Application/Control Number: 18/864,598 Page 6 Art Unit: 2434