DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 11/25/2025 has been considered and entered. The amendment to claim 6 overcomes the rejection based on indefiniteness which is hereby withdrawn. The amendment does not overcome the rejections based on the prior art of Onouchi et al. (US 2019/0119601) which are hereby maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onouchi et al. (US 2019/0119601)
In regards to claim 1, Onouchi teaches lubricating oil composition for internal combustion engines comprising a major amount of oil of lubricating viscosity comprising alkaline earth metal alkylhydroxybenzoate detergents, molybdenum compound providing molybdenum in amounts of from about 100 to about 1500 ppm, and wherein magnesium is present at amounts of from 100 to 800 ppm, and calcium is present at from 500 to about 2000 ppm (abstract). The benzoate detergent is a salicylate of metal salts such as calcium and/or magnesium [0058]. The detergent also comprises overbased sulfonates, phenate or naphthenates [0065]. The detergent provides the calcium and magnesium amounts of 500 to 2000 ppm calcium and 100 to 800 ppm magnesium [0064]. The composition comprises viscosity modifier in amounts of from 0.5 to 15% by weight [0093]. The composition can comprise various additives such as pour point depressants [0121]. Thus, the claimed limitations are overlapped.
In regards to claims 1 – 6, Onouchi teaches the composition having the claimed limitations with ratios overlapping the claimed ranges as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 7, Onouchi teaches the composition wherein the molybdenum compound is an organomolybdenum compound such as molybdenum dithiocarbamate [0079 – 0081].
In regards to claims 8 – 10, Onouchi teaches the composition for use in hybrid engines and thus would be useful in plug-in hybrid or hybrid vehicles with a range extender [0119]. When the composition is used in such engines, they would provide the claimed improvement and would intrinsically provide the claimed method.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Onouchi fails to teach the proportion of the viscosity index improver. The argument is erroneous.
Paragraph 0093 teaches the amount of the viscosity modifier which overlaps the claimed range.
Applicant argues that Onouchi does not teaches the claimed additives including the presence of the pour point depressant. The argument is not persuasive.
Onouchi teaches the magnesium carboxylate, molybdenum compound and other detergent as claimed. Paragraph 0121 teaches the pour point depressant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771