DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-8, 12, 13, and 16) in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the mentioned species are referring to the same technical feature in more and specific details, such as aspects of the digital printing apparatus with more specificity. This is not found persuasive because as set forth in the previous communication each mentioned group is referring to different technical features, such as scanning unit, outlet conveyors, and/or filling apparatus. Even though, the different groups might be referring to the printing apparatus in more specific details, yet each still referring to a completely different special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roidl et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0182486) in view of Baechle et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 9,828,192).
The following listing of claims will replace all prior versions and listings of claims in this application.
Regarding claim 1: Roidl discloses a digital printing apparatus for a packaging machine producing packages comprising:
- a control unit for controlling the digital printing apparatus, see for example (paragraph 0047; “A control unit (not illustrated) of the planar drive system 14”, in the imprinting device 10);
- a conveying device (paragraph 0002; “inspected and transferred out” and/or movement device 18 with carrier 22); and
- a digital printing unit (via imprinting device 10);
wherein the digital printing unit (via 24) is arranged at a printing station (10);
wherein the control unit is configured to selectively control movement of the carriers (via 18/22) so as to selectively direct one or more carriers to the printing station (via 24) and afterwards to the outlet station (Fig. 2; via downstream direction to 30); and
wherein the digital printing unit is configured to print information and/or messages and/or decorations onto the packages directed to the printing station (via imprints in containers 12).
Roidl may not disclose the conveying device comprises a planar motor having a plurality of carriers configured to receive packages at an inlet station and to deliver the packages to an outlet station. However, Baechle discloses similar conveying and printing apparatus with the use of carriers to receive packages at an inlet station and to deliver them to an outlet station, see for example (Figs. 3-8; via carriers 20 conveying products 32 throughout the apparatus from an inlet to outlet stations and “The device comprises a linear motor having conveyed items”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Roidl’s apparatus, with the use of carriers configured to receive packages at an inlet station and to deliver the packages to an outlet station, in order to make it possible to convey the packages at the same speed and/or at different speeds and gain more control over the conveying mechanism (column 2, lines 39-53).
Regarding claim 2: Roidl discloses that each carrier is configured to receive a respective package (Figs. 1-2; via holders 22 on movement device 18) or wherein a plurality of carriers, preferably two carriers, jointly receives a package.
Regarding claim 3: Roidl further comprising a scanning unit (via “a laser scanner or an LED scanner”), the scanning unit being arranged adjacent to the planar motor (inherently there is a motor arranged to move the machine’s elements) at a scanning station and configured to scan the packages (it is noted that placing the scanner unit at a specific arrangement in respect to a motor would be nothing more than a design choice for re-arranging parts);
wherein the control unit is configured to selectively control movement of each one of the carriers (via “the planar drive system is configured (e.g. by means of a control unit)” and/or “A control unit… can control la power supply”) so as to selectively direct the carrier to the scanning station, then to the printing station and afterwards to the outlet conveyor (intended use limitations of the claimed “control unit”; not given much patentable weight); and
wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the digital printing unit in dependence of the scanning results obtained by the scanning unit (paragraph 0055; “the first movement device 18 can be controlled especially by the planar drive system 14”).
Regarding claim 4: Roidl discloses that each carrier is configured to rotate the package around a rotation axis at the scanning station, see for example (Fig. 2; via “The movement devices 18, 20 can also be rotated with respect to the base element 16”).
Regarding claim 5: the control unit is configured to control movement of the carriers along three linear axes and around three rotational axes (paragraph 0047; via each device 18 is rotated about its own axis; “The movement devices 18, 20 can also be rotated with respect to the base element 16”).
Regarding claim 6: Roidl discloses that the control unit is configured to selectively move the carriers along a first path from the inlet station to the outlet station or along a second path from the inlet station to the printing station and from the printing station to the outlet station, see for example (Fig. 2; via controlled movement devices 18 moving carriers 22 along different stations from inlet to outlet).
Regarding claim 7: Roidl discloses a first imaginary line extending from the inlet station to the printing station and a second imaginary line from the printing station to the outlet station describe and/or define an angle different from 180 degrees or a multiple of 180°, see for example (Fig. 2; via the shown imaginary lines 38, 38A, 38B, 38C).
Regarding claim 8: Roidl discloses that the planar motor comprises a planar control module comprising a plurality of coils configured to generate local electromagnetic fields for selectively moving the carriers (paragraph 0047; “the base element 16 can have, for example, a plurality of electromagnets arranged in a distributed manner, e.g. electric coils.”);
wherein each carrier comprises at least one magnetic and/or ferromagnetic element;
wherein the planar control module extends along a first axis and a second axis;
wherein the control unit is configured to selective control movement of each carrier along the first axis and the second axis by controlling the interaction of the local electromagnetic fields with the at least one magnetic and/or ferromagnetic element of each carrier, see for example (paragraph 0047; “the planar drive system 14 can control a power supply to the electromagnets of the base element 16 in order to build up electromagnetic fields with a desired strength at a desired position of the base element 16.” Forward propulsion, rotation, inclination and/or a stroke of the movement devices”).
Regarding claim 12: Roidl discloses that the digital printing unit comprises a plurality of digital printers (paragraphs 0015-0019; via “imprints”).
Regarding claim 13: Roidl discloses that each carrier comprises a support surface configured to carry the respective package (Fig. 1; via base element 16).
Regarding claim 16: Roidl discloses two carriers jointly receive a package (paragraph 0053 - 0054; “the movement of the movement device 18 or 20 can comprise bypassing, preferably circling around, the respectively other movement device 20 or 18” and “The relative movement between the movement devices 18, 20 can be adapted to the individual shape and/or size (of containers) in such a manner that the container 12 is guided at a predetermined distance”).
Conclusion
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731