Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 11/17/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 12, and 24 have been amended. Claims 1-12 and 17-24 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12, 17-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over SON (US 20130222644 A1) in view of KAPRI (US 20200401219 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses a method of line-of-sight detection, comprising:
obtaining a current image frame and a first reference image frame, wherein the current image frame is an eye image collected in real time, and the first reference image frame is an eye image collected before the current image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050]; a current image and a previous image);
obtaining an inter-frame variation amount of the current image frame relative to the first reference image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050] and Equations in [0049]; variation between the current image and the previous image); and
deriving a target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount, where the target gaze direction is a first gaze direction or a second gaze direction, the first gaze direction is a gaze direction pre-generated based on the first reference image frame, and the second gaze direction is a gaze direction generated in real time based on the current image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050] including Equation 1; corrected eye gaze based on the variation between the current image and the previous image).
Son also suggests wherein deriving the target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; gaze direction of eye 1000); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; gaze direction of eye 1010-eye 1080). The examiner further cites KAPRI as a reference. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein deriving the target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than a threshold 177, Steps 34-36 in Fig. 4; [0046]-[0048] and [0051]-[0056]); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than the threshold 177, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 2, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 1, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses wherein obtaining the inter-frame variation amount of the current image frame relative to the first reference image frame comprises: obtaining region coordinates corresponding to an eye region in a baseline image frame, where the baseline image frame is the current image frame or the first reference image frame ([0040]-[0041] and [0043]-[0050] and [0060]-[0063]; coordinates of eye region), and the eye region is configured to represent an eye feature in the eye image (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; eye region); extracting a first pixel value matrix in the first reference image frame and a second pixel value matrix in the current image frame based on the region coordinates ([0040]-[0041] and [0043]-[0050] and [0060]-[0063]; pixel coordinates in the current image and the previous image); and comparing the first pixel value matrix with the second pixel value matrix to derive the inter- frame variation amount ([0049]-[0050] including Equation 1).
Regarding claim 3, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 2, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses wherein obtaining region coordinates corresponding to the eye region in the baseline image frame comprises: performing image recognition on the baseline image frame to derive a first position point and a second position point, where the first position point is an inner canthus point, and the second position point is an outer canthus point; determining the region coordinates based on the first position point and the second position point (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; coordinates of eye region, eye inner end point and outer end point, [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 4, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 3, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses wherein the eye region is a rectangular region surrounding an eye, and the region coordinates are vertex coordinates of the rectangular region (e.g., Fig. 9; rectangular region 930 including four vertices); wherein determining the region coordinates based on the first position point and the second position point (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; inner end point and outer end point of the eye) comprises: obtaining a Euclidean distance between the first position point and the second position point (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9 and [0064]; straight line between inner end point and outer end point of the eye, the Euclidean distance can be calculated based on coordinates of inner end point and outer end point); and performing weighted calculation on a coordinate corresponding to the first position point and a coordinate corresponding to the second position point based on the Euclidean distance ([0049]-[0051] and [0062]; weight calculation on a coordinate), to derive the vertex coordinates (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; vertex coordinates can be derived based on coordinates of inner end point and outer end point).
Regarding claim 6, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses the method of claim 1. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein deriving the target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, obtaining a pre-generated first gaze direction, and determining the first gaze direction as the target gaze direction, where the first gaze direction is a gaze direction derived based on the first reference image frame (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than threshold 177, Steps 34-36 in Fig. 4; [0046]-[0048] and [0051]-[0056]); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, generating a second gaze direction based on the current image frame, and determining the second gaze direction as the target gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than threshold 177, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 7, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 6. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein if the inter-frame variation amount is less than the first threshold, obtaining the pre-generated first gaze direction comprises: comparing the inter-frame variation amount with a second threshold (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; threshold 174); and if the inter-frame variation amount is less than the second threshold, reading the pre- generated first gaze direction, where the first gaze direction is generated based on the first reference image frame (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than threshold 174, Steps 30-32 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 8, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 7. SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses where the first region coordinates are region coordinates corresponding to an eye region in the first reference image frame, the eye region is configured to represent an eye feature in the eye image ([0040]-[0041] and [0043]-[0050] and [0060]-[0063]). KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein the method further comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the second threshold, performing line-of- sight estimation on the current image frame based on pre-generated first region coordinates to derive a third gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than threshold 174, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4), and the second threshold (threshold 174) is less than the first threshold (threshold 177). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 9, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 6. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than threshold 174, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4), generating the second gaze direction based on the current image frame comprises: processing the current image frame to obtain second region coordinates, where the second region coordinates are region coordinates corresponding to the eye region in the current image frame, and the eye region is configured to represent an eye feature in the eye image; and performing line-of-sight estimation on the current image frame based on the second region coordinates to derive the second gaze direction (KAPRI, [0051]-[0055] and [0046]-[0047]; Son, [0043]-[0050] and [0057]-[0060]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 12, SON (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-10) discloses a method of controlling a device, comprising:
obtaining a current image frame and a first reference image frame, where the current image frame is an eye image collected in real time, and the first reference image frame is an eye image collected before the current image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050]; a current image and a previous image);
obtaining an inter-frame variation amount of the current image frame relative to the first reference image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050] and Equations in [0049]; variation between the current image and the previous image);
deriving a target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount ([0041] and [0043]-[0050] including Equation 1; corrected eye gaze based on the variation between the current image and the previous image); and
controlling the device based on the target gaze direction (Figs. 1-2 and 4).
Son also suggests wherein deriving the target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; gaze direction of eye 1000); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; gaze direction of eye 1010-eye 1080). The examiner further cites KAPRI as a reference. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein deriving the target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than a threshold 177, Steps 34-36 in Fig. 4; [0046]-[0048] and [0051]-[0056]); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than the threshold 177, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 17, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 12, SON (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-10) discloses wherein obtaining the inter-frame variation amount of the current image frame relative to the first reference image frame comprises: obtaining region coordinates corresponding to an eye region in a baseline image frame, where the baseline image frame is the current image frame or the first reference image frame ([0040]-[0041] and [0043]-[0050] and [0060]-[0063]; coordinates of eye region), and the eye region is configured to represent an eye feature in the eye image (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; eye region) (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; eye region); extracting a first pixel value matrix in the first reference image frame and a second pixel value matrix in the current image frame based on the region coordinates ([0040]-[0041] and [0043]-[0050] and [0060]-[0063]; pixel coordinates in the current image and the previous image); and comparing the first pixel value matrix with the second pixel value matrix to derive the inter- frame variation amount ([0049]-[0050] including Equation 1).
Regarding claim 18, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 17, SON (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-10) discloses wherein obtaining region coordinates corresponding to the eye region in the baseline image frame comprises: performing image recognition on the baseline image frame to derive a first position point and a second position point, where the first position point is an inner canthus point, and the second position point is an outer canthus point; determining the region coordinates based on the first position point and the second position point (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; coordinates of eye region, eye inner end point and outer end point, [0060]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 19, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 18, SON (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-10) discloses wherein the eye region is a rectangular region surrounding an eye, and the region coordinates are vertex coordinates of the rectangular region (e.g., Fig. 9; rectangular region 930 including four vertices); wherein determining the region coordinates based on the first position point and the second position point (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; inner end point and outer end point of the eye) comprises: obtaining a Euclidean distance between the first position point and the second position point (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9 and [0064]; straight line between inner end point and outer end point of the eye, the Euclidean distance can be calculated based on coordinates of inner end point and outer end point); and performing weighted calculation on a coordinate corresponding to the first position point and a coordinate corresponding to the second position point based on the Euclidean distance ([0049]-[0051] and [0062]; weight calculation on a coordinate), to derive the vertex coordinates (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 9; vertex coordinates can be derived based on coordinates of inner end point and outer end point).
Regarding claim 21, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses the method of claim 12, respectively. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses a method, wherein deriving the target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, obtaining a pre-generated first gaze direction, and determining the first gaze direction as the target gaze direction, where the first gaze direction is a gaze direction derived based on the first reference image frame (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than threshold 177, Steps 34-36 in Fig. 4; [0046]-[0048] and [0051]-[0056]); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, generating a second gaze direction based on the current image frame, and determining the second gaze direction as the target gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than threshold 177, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 22, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of 21, respectively. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein if the inter-frame variation amount is less than the first threshold, obtaining the pre-generated first gaze direction comprises: comparing the inter-frame variation amount with a second threshold (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; threshold 174); and if the inter-frame variation amount is less than the second threshold, reading the pre- generated first gaze direction, where the first gaze direction is generated based on the first reference image frame (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than threshold 174, Steps 30-32 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 23, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 22, respectively. SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses where the first region coordinates are region coordinates corresponding to an eye region in the first reference image frame, the eye region is configured to represent an eye feature in the eye image ([0040]-[0041] and [0043]-[0050] and [0060]-[0063]). KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses wherein the method further comprises: if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the second threshold, performing line-of- sight estimation on the current image frame based on pre-generated first region coordinates to derive a third gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than threshold 174, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4), and the second threshold (threshold 174) is less than the first threshold (threshold 177). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
Regarding claim 24, SON (e.g., Figs. 1 and 4-10) discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the processor; the memory storing computer executable instructions (Fig. 1; processor and memory); the processor is configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to:
obtain a current image frame and a first reference image frame, wherein the current image frame is an eye image collected in real time, and the first reference image frame is an eye image collected before the current image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050]; a current image and a previous image);
obtain an inter-frame variation amount of the current image frame relative to the first reference image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050] and Equations in [0049]; variation between the current image and the previous image); and
derive a target gaze direction based on the inter-frame variation amount, where the target gaze direction is a first gaze direction or a second gaze direction, the first gaze direction is a gaze direction pre-generated based on the first reference image frame, and the second gaze direction is a gaze direction generated in real time based on the current image frame ([0041] and [0043]-[0050] including Equation 1; corrected eye gaze based on the variation between the current image and the previous image).
Son also suggests if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; gaze direction of eye 1000); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; gaze direction of eye 1010-eye 1080). The examiner further cites KAPRI as a reference. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2-4) discloses if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; less than a threshold 177, Steps 34-36 in Fig. 4; [0046]-[0048] and [0051]-[0056]); and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4; greater than the threshold 177, Steps 34-44 in Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KAPRI to the method of SON to improve the accuracy and efficiency of an eye gaze determination.
5. Claims 5 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over SON (US 20130222644 A1) in view of KAPRI (US 20200401219 A1) and further in view of LIU (US 20220383081 A1).
Regarding claim 5, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 2, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses wherein comparing the first pixel value matrix with the second pixel value matrix to derive the inter-frame variation amount comprises: comparing pixel values of the first pixel value matrix and the second pixel value matrix on a pixel-by-pixel basis to determine pixel points whose pixel value differences are greater than a pixel threshold as variation pixel points ([0043]-[0050] and Equation 1); and deriving the inter-frame variation amount based on a proportion of the variation pixel points in the first pixel value matrix or the second pixel value matrix ([0043]-[0050] and Equation 1). SON does not disclose obtaining a predetermined pooling matrix as claimed. However, LIU (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses a method to determine a gaze direction, comprises: obtaining a predetermined pooling matrix (e.g., Figs. 2-3; pooling matrix; [0088]-[0089]), where the pooling matrix has a first matrix size, and the first matrix size is less than a second matrix size corresponding to the first pixel value matrix and the second pixel value matrix (e.g., Figs. 2-3; pooling matrix; [0088]-[0089]); mapping the first pixel value matrix and the second pixel value matrix to the pooling matrix to derive a first pooling pixel value matrix corresponding to the first pixel value matrix and a second pooling pixel value matrix corresponding to the second pixel value matrix, respectively (e.g., Figs. 2-3; [0088]-[0089]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU to the method of SON in view of KAPRI to compare pixel values of the first pooling pixel value matrix and the second pooling pixel value matrix on a pixel-by-pixel basis to determine pixel points and derive the inter-frame variation amount. The combination/motivation would be to provide an improved image processing method to efficiently calculate an eye gaze direction.
Regarding claim 20, SON in view of KAPRI disclose the method of claim 17, SON (e.g., Figs. 4-10) discloses wherein comparing the first pixel value matrix with the second pixel value matrix to derive the inter-frame variation amount comprises: comparing pixel values of the first pixel value matrix and the second pixel value matrix on a pixel-by-pixel basis to determine pixel points whose pixel value differences are greater than a pixel threshold as variation pixel points ([0043]-[0050] and Equation 1); and deriving the inter-frame variation amount based on a proportion of the variation pixel points in the first pixel value matrix or the second pixel value matrix ([0043]-[0050] and Equation 1). SON does not disclose obtaining a predetermined pooling matrix as claimed. However, LIU (e.g., Figs. 1-3) discloses a method to determine a gaze direction, comprises: obtaining a predetermined pooling matrix (e.g., Figs. 2-3; pooling matrix; [0088]-[0089]), where the pooling matrix has a first matrix size, and the first matrix size is less than a second matrix size corresponding to the first pixel value matrix and the second pixel value matrix (e.g., Figs. 2-3; pooling matrix; [0088]-[0089]); mapping the first pixel value matrix and the second pixel value matrix to the pooling matrix to derive a first pooling pixel value matrix corresponding to the first pixel value matrix and a second pooling pixel value matrix corresponding to the second pixel value matrix, respectively (e.g., Figs. 2-3; [0088]-[0089]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from LIU to the method of SON in view of KAPRI to compare pixel values of the first pooling pixel value matrix and the second pooling pixel value matrix on a pixel-by-pixel basis to determine pixel points and derive the inter-frame variation amount. The combination/motivation would be to provide an improved image processing method to efficiently calculate an eye gaze direction.
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over SON (US 20130222644 A1) in view of KAPRI (US 20200401219 A1) and further in view of Buckley (US 20220308661 A1).
Regarding claim 10, SON in view of KAPRI discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose determining a gaze state as claimed. However, Buckley discloses a method similar to that disclosed by SON, wherein after deriving the target gaze direction, the method further comprises: obtaining a reference gaze direction corresponding to the second reference image frame, where the second reference image frame is an eye image collected before the current image frame, and the reference gaze direction is a gaze direction derived based on the second reference image frame; determining a gaze state corresponding to the current image frame based on the target gaze direction and the reference gaze direction (e.g., Fig. 4 and [0087]; stable state or un-stable state based on current image frame and previous image frame); and performing smooth filtering on an image to be displayed based on the gaze state (e.g., Figs. 5 and 7 and [0090]; temporal filter to smooth display image). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Buckley to the method of SON in view of KAPRI, which allows to maintain clear vision and focus on an object even when user head or body moves.
7. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over SON (US 20130222644 A1) in view of KAPRI (US 20200401219 A1) and Buckley (US 20220308661 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 20220055480 A1).
Regarding claim 11, SON in view of KAPRI and further in view of Buckley discloses the method of claim 10, Buckley discloses wherein the gaze state comprises a fixation state and a non-fixation state ([0087] and [0096] and [0065]), and the determining the gaze state corresponding to the current image frame based on the target gaze direction and the reference gaze direction comprises: obtaining a time difference between the second reference image frame and the current image frame; obtaining a spatial angle between the target gaze direction and the reference gaze direction; determining a line-of-sight angular velocity based on the time difference and the spatial angle; if the line-of-sight angular velocity is less than a third threshold, the gaze state is the fixation state, and if the line-of-sight angular velocity is greater than the third threshold, the gaze state is a non-fixation state ([0087] and [0096] and [0065]); wherein the performing smooth filtering on an image to be displayed based on the gaze state comprises: performing smooth filtering on the image to be displayed if the gaze state is the non-fixation state (e.g., Figs. 5 and 7 and [0090]; temporal filter to smooth display image). The examiner further cites Lee as a reference, Lee (e.g., Figs. 4-6) discloses a method similar to that disclosed by SON and Buckley, wherein the gaze state comprises a fixation state and a non-fixation state (Figs. 4-6; stable state or un-stable state), and the determining the gaze state corresponding to the current image frame based on the target gaze direction and the reference gaze direction comprises: obtaining a time difference between the second reference image frame and the current image frame; obtaining a spatial angle between the target gaze direction and the reference gaze direction; determining a line-of-sight angular velocity based on the time difference and the spatial angle; if the line-of-sight angular velocity is less than a third threshold, the gaze state is the fixation state, and if the line-of-sight angular velocity is greater than the third threshold, the gaze state is a non-fixation state ([0068] and [0078]-[0079] ; stable state or un-stable state). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Buckley and Lee to the method of SON and KAPRI, which allows to maintain clear vision and focus on an object even when user head or body moves.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
9. Applicant has amended claims 1, 12, and 24. Applicant further argues that the cited references do not disclose the new limitations of amended claims 1, 12, and 24.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. Son (Figs. 10 and 2 and [0071], [0064]; Fig. 10 is reproduced for reference) teaches if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction of eye 1000; and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction of eye 1010-eye 1080. The examiner further cites KAPRI as a reference. KAPRI (e.g., Figs. 2 and 4 and [0046]-[0048] and [0051]-[0056]; Fig. 2 is reproduced for reference) discloses if the inter-frame variation amount is less than a first threshold 177, the target gaze direction is the first gaze direction; and if the inter-frame variation amount is greater than the first threshold 177, the target gaze direction is the second gaze direction.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623