DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-6 are pending.
A preliminary amendment filed on 11/11/2024 amending the specification is acknowledged.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/KR2023/006403 filed on 05/11/2023 and claims
foreign priority under 35 U.S. C. 119(a)-(d) to KR10-2022-0057992 filed on 05/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 is acknowledged.
The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the
information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification in Table 1 (pages 19-21) are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims lack the article "A" in front of recombinant. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jennewein et al. (EP3141610A1, published on 03/15/2017, cited in IDS filed on 11/11/2024, #6).
Claim 1 is directed to a recombinant Corynebacterium glutamicum transformed such that exogenous genes, including genes encoding lactose permease, genes encoding β-1,3-N- acetylglucosaminyltransferase, and genes encoding β-1,3- galactosyltransferase are expressed in Corynebacterium glutamicum, the recombinant Corynebacterium glutamicum transformed such that one or more genes selected from endogenous genes in Corynebacterium glutamicum, including genes encoding glutamine-fructose-6-phosphate aminotransferase, genes encoding phosphoglucosamine mutase, genes encoding glucosamine-1-phosphate N-acetyltransferase, genes encoding UDP-N-acetylglucosamine pyrophosphorylase, genes encoding phosphoglucomutase, genes encoding UTP-glucose-1-phosphate uridylyltransferase, and genes encoding UDP-glucose-4- epimerase are overexpressed. Claim 2 is directed to a recombinant Corynebacterium glutamicum transformed such that exogenous genes, including genes encoding lactose permease, genes encoding β-1,3-N- acetylglucosaminyltransferase, and genes encoding β-1,4- galactosyltransferase are expressed in Corynebacterium glutamicum, the recombinant Corynebacterium glutamicum transformed such that one or more genes selected from endogenous genes in Corynebacterium glutamicum, including genes encoding glutamine-fructose-6-phosphate aminotransferase, genes encoding phosphoglucosamine mutase, genes encoding glucosamine-1-phosphate N-acetyltransferase, genes encoding UDP-N-acetylglucosamine pyrophosphorylase, genes encoding phosphoglucomutase, genes encoding UTP-glucose-1-phosphate uridylyltransferase, and genes encoding UDP-glucose-4- epimerase are overexpressed. Claim 3 is directed to a method for producing lacto-N-tetraose comprising culturing the recombinant Corynebacterium glutamicum according to claim 1 in a medium containing lactose. Claim 4 is directed to the method according to claim 3, wherein the medium further contains glucose. Claim 5 is directed to a method for producing lacto-N-neotetraose comprising culturing the recombinant Corynebacterium glutamicum according to claim 2 in a medium containing lactose. Claim 6 is directed to the method according to claim 5, wherein the medium further contains glucose.
Jennewein et al. teaches a genetically modified microbial host cell comprising (i) a heterologous expressed β-1,3-N-acetylglucosaminyltransferase and (ii) a heterologous expressed β-1,3-galactosyltransferase or a heterologous expressed β-1,4-galactosyltransferase as glycosyltransferases (see claims 18 and 19). Jennewein et al. teaches that the genetically modified microbial host can be Corynebacterium glutamicum (see paragraph [0060]). Jennewein et al. teaches that the host cell can have a nucleic acid sequence coding for a functional lactose permease protein, LacY (see paragraph [0034]). Jennewein et al. teaches increased UDP-N-acetylglucosamine and UDP-galactose production capability comprises the overexpression of one or more genes encoding for proteins comprising the following activities for a: L-glutamine: D-fructose-6-phosphate aminotransferase, N-acetyl glucosamine-1-phosphate uridyltransferase/glucosamine-1-phosphate acetyl transferase, phosphoglucosamine mutase, UDP-galactose-4-epimerase, phosphoglucomutase, glucose-1-phosphate uridylyltransferase (see paragraph [0036]).
Jennewein et al. teaches the genetically modified microbial host cell comprising the characteristics as set forth herein are cultured in the presence of glucose, sucrose, glycerin or a combination thereof - using these substrates as carbon- and energy sources - as well as in the presence of lactose or oligosaccharides larger than disaccharides, e.g., LNT-II (see paragraph [0021]). Jennewein et al. teaches the β-1,3-galactosyltransferase or said β-1,4-galactosyltransferase, respectively, have the activity to galactosylate lacto-N-triose II thus generating lacto-N-tetraose or lacto-N-neotetraose, respectively (see paragraph [0028]). Therefore, the teachings of Jennewein et al. anticipate the instant claims as written/interpreted.
Conclusion
No claims are in condition for allowance.
/DALTON EDWARD KIEFER/Examiner, Art Unit 1652
/ROBERT B MONDESI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1652