DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 21-34 and 37 (claims 20 and 35 will also be examined) in the reply filed on 4/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Examiner’s Comments – Allowable Subject Matter Disclosed
Applicant can overcome the prior art of record by amending claim 20 by adding all of the following subject matter: wherein the device comprises a receptacle for receiving a volume of water, and wherein each of the white light emitting element, the infra-red light emitting element, and the light receiving element are external to and directed into the receptacle; wherein the receptacle is defined by at least one wall, and wherein the white light emitting element, the infra-red emitting element, and the light receiving element are separated from the volume of water during measurement by the at least one wall of the receptacle; wherein the device comprises at least two white light emitting elements, at least two infra-red light emitting elements and at least two light receiving elements, and wherein each of the white light emitting elements are substantially co-axial and opposite a respective light receiving element, and wherein each of the infra-red light emitting elements are arranged substantially orthogonal the incident axis of a respective light receiving element; wherein a first white light emitting element is co-located with a second infra-red light emitting element, and wherein a second white light emitting element is co-located with a first infra-red light emitting element; wherein the at least two light receiving elements are arranged such that their respective light incidence axes are substantially orthogonal; wherein the device comprises an optically opaque sleeve surrounding the wall, the sleeve having a plurality of slots corresponding to emission and incidence axes for the at least one white light emitting element, the at least one infra-red light emitting element, and the light receiving element; wherein the sleeve abuts the at least one wall of the receptacle; wherein the sleeve comprises at least four slots, wherein each slot is aligned and opposite a corresponding slot; and further comprising a processor configured to measure the turbidity of the water based on the algorithm described on pages 7-8 of the specification filed 11/11/2024.
The combination of elements provides an improvement in the art over the prior art of record as the co-location of the white and IR light sources combined with the sleeve with four slots allows one to reduce errors without rotation, while keeping the space requirements minimal, when measuring the water quality.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: white light emitting element and infrared light emitting element in claims 20-35 and 37; light receiving element in claims 20-30, 32-35, 37 (claim 31 includes sufficient structure, “light sensor”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26, 33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 26 and 33, Claim 26 recites the limitation "the at least one wall" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s unclear whether this refers to any at least one wall or if it refers to the wall mentioned in claim 22 (however, claim 26 does not depend on claim 22). This lack of clarity causes the scope of the claims to be indefinite. For the sake of examination, it will be interpreted as any at least one wall. Similar reasoning applies to “the receptacle” in claim 33, where the only previously mentioned receptacles are other dependent claims (where claim 33 only depends on the independent claim 20, which does not mention a receptacle). And similarly, it will be interpreted as referring to any receptacle (not importing limitations on receptacles from other claims).
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 reads, “comparing the light from the at least two white light emitting elements received at each light receiving element respectively, and- comparing the light from the at least two infra-red light emitting elements received at each light receiving element respectively.” It’s unclear what the light from the at least two white light emitting elements are compared to. Are they compared with each other or with something else? This lack of clarity causes the scope of the claim to be indefinite. For the sake of prosecution, it will be interpreted as encompassing both scenarios. Similarly reasoning applies to the comparison involving the two infrared light emitting elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 30, and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (EP3875665A1).
Regarding claim 20, Choi teaches a water quality measurement device for measuring the water quality of processed wash water (paragraph 6), the water quality measuring device comprising:
- a white light emitting element (230) configured to emit substantially white light (paragraph 283; paragraphs 271, 281, and 283-284; figure 22),
- an infra-red light emitting element (240) configured to emit substantially infra-red light (paragraphs 271, 281, and 283-284; figure 22), and
- a light receiving element (270) configured to receive and detect light from the white light emitting element and the infra-red light emitting element (paragraphs 271, 281, and 283-284; figure 22);
wherein the white light emitting element is arranged co-axial and opposite the light receiving element, and wherein the emission axis of the infra-red emitting element is arranged substantially orthogonal the incident axis of the light receiving element (paragraphs 271, 281, and 283-284; figure 22).
Regarding claim 30, Choi teaches the water quality measurement device is configured to detect the turbidity and/or colour of the water (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 32, Choi teaches the water is processed wash water from a washing machine, dishwasher and/or water recycling device (paragraphs 24-26; figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 33, Choi teaches water is received into the receptacle via an inlet (water supply tube 152 in paragraph 49) and exits the receptacle via a separate outlet (drain tube 162 in paragraph 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 26, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Xu (EP3187644A1).
Regarding claim 21, Choi teaches the device comprises a receptacle (120) for receiving a volume of water (paragraphs 40, 44, 59), and wherein each of the white light emitting element, the infra-red light emitting element, and the light receiving element directed into the receptacle (figures 2 and 22).
Choi doesn’t explicitly teach the light emitting and light receiving elements are external to the receptacle.
Like Choi (and like the instant application), Xu is directed to a device for measuring wash water and teaches the light emitting and light receiving elements (5 and 6) are external to the receptacle (figures 2-3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above device of Choi such that the light emitting and light receiving elements are external to the receptacle in order to provide protection for the optical components, for example, protection from being damaged or soiled by the wash water.
Regarding claim 22, in the above combination the receptacle is defined by at least one wall, and wherein the white light emitting element, the infra-red emitting element, and the light receiving element (elements 230, 240, 270 of Choi), are separated from the volume of water during measurement by the at least one wall (43 in Xu) of the receptacle.
Regarding claim 26, note that “around” has two definitions that are consistent with the specification (“in the immediate vicinity’ and “so as to encircle, enclose, or surround something; on each side or wall”; Oxford English Dictionary, “around (adv. & prep.),” June 2026, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/1052641372). For the sake of compact prosecution, both will be examined:
1) According to the first definition of “around,” in the above combination the at least one wall of the receptacle is a tubular wall, and wherein the at least one white light emitting element, the at least one infra-red light emitting element, and the at least one light receiving element are provided around the circumference of the tubular wall (as illustrated in figures 1-2 of Choi, the optical sensor 200 is in the vicinity of the circumference of tubular wall defined by the outer surface of the drum; this is also clear in figures 2-3 of Xu) .
2) According to the second definition of “around,” in the above combination the at least one wall of the receptacle is a tubular wall, and wherein the at least one white light emitting element, the at least one infra-red light emitting element, and the at least one light receiving element are provided around the perimeter of the wall (figures 2-3 of Xu).
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the perimeter of the wall is a circumference of a tubular wall.
This is a difference of shape. Official Notice is taken that it is well known in the art of optical measuring and testing to have sample enclosures that are tubular.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the perimeter of the wall is a circumference of a tubular wall (in other words such that the cross section is circular) in order to provide a sampling area that is adapted to the specific environment.
Regarding claim 35, the above combination comprises
providing a device for measuring water quality according to claim 21 (see citations with respect to claim 21 above
-providing water to the receptacle (Xu, figures 2-3),
-emitting white light from at least one white light emitting element (Choi, 230) such that white light is received at the at least one light receiving element (Choi, 270),
-emitting infra-red light from the at least one infra-red light emitting element (Choi, 240) such that reflected or refracted infra-red light is received at the at least one light receiving element (Choi, 270)
-measuring the intensity of received white light and infra-red light at the at least one light receiving element (Choi, 270; for the sake of compact prosecution, also see the combination with Krief with respect to claim 30).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Swanson (US 4924095 A).
Regarding claim 23, Choi doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the device comprises at least two white light emitting elements, at least two infra-red light emitting elements and at least two light receiving elements, and wherein each of the white light emitting elements are substantially co-axial and opposite a respective light receiving element, and wherein each of the infra-red light emitting elements are arranged substantially orthogonal the incident axis of a respective light receiving element.
However, Choi teaches two configurations of multiple light sources, which includes illuminating and detection that is both co-axial and opposite and orthogonal (figures 21 and 22).
Additionally, it’s routine in the art of optical measuring and testing to have light source arrays and detectors on orthogonal sides of the sample region. For example, like Choi (and like the instant application), Swanson is also directed to an optical measurement system for analyzing fluids and like Choi (and like the instant application), Swanson is also concerned with the problem of using multiple light sources. Swanson teaches duplicating the array of light sources and light detectors, such that they are on orthogonal sides of the sample region (figure 5 and column 9, lines 30-50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above device of Choi by duplicating the light source array (230 and 240 in figure 21) and detector (e.g. 250 and 260, or alternatively 270) to have both horizontal and vertical detection in order to provide more reliable measurement results through duplicated measurements, as well as by correcting for variations with respect to spatial positions and orientations (also see additional prior art).
In the above combination, the device comprises at least two white light emitting elements, at least two infra-red light emitting elements and at least two light receiving elements, and wherein each of the white light emitting elements are substantially co-axial and opposite a respective light receiving element, and wherein each of the infra-red light emitting elements are arranged substantially orthogonal the incident axis of a respective light receiving element (since each array consists of white light emitting element and an infrared light emitting element as explained above with respect to figure 21 of Choi).
Regarding claim 24, in the above combination a first white light emitting element is co-located with a second infra-red light emitting element, and wherein a second white light emitting element is co-located with a first infra-red light emitting element (Choi, figure 21 and Swanson, figure 5).
Regarding claim 25, in the above combination the at least two light receiving elements are arranged such that their respective light incidence axes are substantially orthogonal (Choi, figures 21-22 and Swanson, figure 5).
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Xu as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Voutilaine (GB 2120784 A).
Regarding claim 27, Choi doesn’t explicitly teach the device comprises an optically opaque sleeve surrounding the wall, the sleeve having a plurality of slots corresponding to emission and incidence axes for the at least one white light emitting element, the at least one infra-red light emitting element, and the light receiving element.
Like the above combination (and like the instant application), Voutilaine is directed to an optical measurement system for measuring turbidity and other parameters and teaches the device comprises an optically opaque (abstract) sleeve (2) surrounding the wall (1), the sleeve having a plurality of slots (3) corresponding to emission and incidence axes for the light source and detectors (figure 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination by adding a sleeve such that the device comprises an optically opaque sleeve surrounding the wall, the sleeve having a plurality of slots corresponding to emission and incidence axes for the at least one white light emitting element, the at least one infra-red light emitting element, and the light receiving element – in order to improve the signal to noise ratio by limiting the effect of ambient light.
Regarding claim 28, in the above combination the sleeve abuts the at least one wall of the receptacle (Voutilaine, figure 2).
Regarding claim 29, in the above combination the sleeve comprises at least four slots, wherein each slot is aligned and opposite a corresponding slot (Voutilaine, figure 2).
Claims 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Krief (US 20150241336 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Choi teaches the light receiving element is a light sensor configured to separately detect light in wavelengths corresponding to red, green, blue light (paragraphs 91-100).
It’s not immediately clear to the examiner whether Choi teaches separately detecting white light as well (for example, Choi teaches emitting white light and figure 11 illustrates a filter array, where various cells are adapted to various wavelengths, including red, green, and blue; however, the middle element isn’t labelled, therefore, if it does not filter the light, then Choi also separately detecting white light). Also, like the above combination (and like the instant application), Krief is directed to an optical measurement system for measuring fluids and teaches the light receiving element is a light sensor configured to separately detect light in wavelengths corresponding to red, green, blue, and white light (abstract and paragraph 44; figure 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light sensor of Choi also separately detect white light in order to allow one to be able to compare the relative detected intensities at each color with the white light detected and thus achieve more accurate results (also see Krief, paragraphs 7-8).
Claims 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Xu (US 20180223468 A1).
Regarding claim 34, Choi doesn’t explicitly teach the water recycling device receives processed wash water from a washing machine and/or dishwasher, and determines whether water should be recycled or discarded based on the measured water quality of the processed wash water.
Like Choi (and like the instant application), Xu is directed to measuring wash water and teaches the water recycling device receives processed wash water from a washing machine and/or dishwasher, and determines whether water should be recycled or discarded based on the measured water quality of the processed wash water (paragraph 27).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that it includes a water recycling device receives processed wash water from a washing machine and/or dishwasher, and determines whether water should be recycled or discarded based on the measured water quality of the processed wash water in order to conserve water.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Xu as applied to claim 35 above, and further in view of Swanson.
Regarding claim 37, in the combination that includes Choi and Swans (as described with the apparatus claims 23-25 above) the process comprises:- providing said device comprising at least two white light emitting elements, at least two infra-red light emitting elements and at least two light receiving elements, and wherein each of the white light emitting elements are substantially co-axial and opposite a respective light receiving element, and wherein each of the infra-red light emitting elements are arranged substantially orthogonal the incident axis of a respective light receiving element (see the citations with respect to claims 23-25 above).
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach comparing the light from the at least two white light emitting elements received at each light receiving element respectively, and- comparing the light from the at least two infra-red light emitting elements received at each light receiving element respectively.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known in the art of optical measurement and testing to compare the intensity measurements with a database or library.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination by comparing the measurements with a database or library (including comparing the light from the at least two white light emitting elements received at each light receiving element respectively, and- comparing the light from the at least two infra-red light emitting elements received at each light receiving element respectively) in order to facilitate a quick, accurate, and precise determination of the quality of the water by utilizing results of calibration and reference measurements.
Additional Prior Art
Scott (US 20110056276 A1 ) 0099] FIG. 5 shows the anti-fouling submersible liquid sensor 100 according to the invention. In this embodiment, the anti-fouling submersible liquid sensor 100 includes a substantially cylindrical body 101 including a test chamber portion 101B and an electronics portion 101A. The test chamber portion 101B can include a sensor package 149 including any manner of sensors 121, the radiation source 124, the circulator 128, and/or the gate actuator 128, et cetera. The test chamber portion 101B in this embodiment further includes an inner sleeve 143 including the at least one chamber aperture 104. The inner sleeve 143 is affixed to the body 101. The inner sleeve 143 may be removably affixed to the body 101. The at least one chamber aperture 104 can be in the form of slots, as shown. However, it should be understood that the one or more chamber apertures 104 are contemplated to be of any shape and size.
[0100] The anti-fouling submersible liquid sensor 100 in this embodiment further includes a substantially cylindrical rotatable shell 147 including at least one shell aperture 144. The at least one shell aperture 144 corresponds to, and can be aligned with, the at least one chamber aperture 104. The rotatable shell 147 and the inner sleeve 143 can include multiple corresponding apertures. The rotatable shell 147 fits over the inner sleeve 143. The rotatable shell 147 is configured to rotate with respect to the inner sleeve 143. The
CN 109596523 discloses sleeve (20)
Pettersson US 20050243303 A1 provides a general teaching of arranging the light sources and detectors on all sides of the measurement region
Conclusion
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877