DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on November 11, 2024.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsubone et al. (USPub 2021/0301904).
Referring to Figures 7-8, Tsubone teaches a speed reducer comprising: a carrier (13a/13b, which are fastened together by 14A/14B); a first case (11A) encircling an outer circumferential surface of the carrier between two end surfaces (the surface abutting motors 17A and 17B) of the carrier, the first case being held by the carrier between the two end surfaces of the carrier so as to rotate relative to the carrier; a second case (11B) encircling the outer circumferential surface of the carrier, the second case being held by the carrier at a different position between the two end surfaces of the carrier than the first case so as to rotate relative to the carrier; a first reduction portion (15A) including a first input portion (17A), the first input portion being held by the carrier and configured to receive rotation input from a first side toward which one of the two end surfaces of the carrier faces, the first reduction portion being configured to reduce the rotation input to the first input portion and output the reduced rotation to the first case; and a second reduction portion (15B) including a second input portion (17B), the second input portion being held by the carrier and configured to receive rotation input from a second side toward which another of the two end surfaces of the carrier faces, the second reduction portion being configured to reduce the rotation input to the second input portion and output the reduced rotation to the second case.
Claim 2: Tsubone teaches a first rotation axis (AX) of the first case that rotates relative to the carrier and a second rotation axis (AX) of the second case that rotates relative to the carrier are aligned with each other.
Claim 3: Tsubone teaches the first case is located between the two end surfaces of the carrier, and wherein the second case is located between the two end surfaces of the carrier.
Claim 4: Tsubone teaches the carrier includes a first carrier half (13A) and a second carrier half (13B) that are separably connected (via 14A/14B), the first carrier half holding the first reduction portion, the second carrier half holding the second reduction portion.
Claim 6: Tsubone illustrates (such as Fig, 18A) a part of the carrier (21) is exposed through a gap between the first case and the second case.
Claim 7: Tsubone illustrates the first case includes a first mounting portion (for mounting 120) located between the one of the end surfaces of the carrier and a surface of the first case facing toward the second case, the first mounting portion receiving a predetermined member (120) mounted thereto, and wherein the second case includes a second mounting portion (for mounting 129) located between the other of the end surfaces of the carrier and a surface of the second case facing toward the first case, the second mounting portion receiving a predetermined member (120) mounted thereto.
Claim 8: Tsubone illustrates a seal (21 inherently prevents contamination from entering the gap between the first and second case) provided between the first case and the second case.
Claim 9: Tsubone illustrates the first input portion is a shaft member supported by the carrier.
Claim 10: Tsubone illustrates a first motor (17A) configured to input rotation to the first input portion of the first reduction portion; and a second motor (17B) configured to input rotation to the second input portion of the second reduction portion.
Claim 11: Tsubone teaches a construction machine (transport device) comprising a working element (51).
Claim 12: Tsubone teaches the working element (51) includes a first portion (outer radial friction surface of 51), a second portion (body portion of 51 between outer radial surface and 53), and a third portion (53), wherein the first portion holds the speed reducer (from free rotation), the second portion is mounted to the first case (via 120), and the third portion is rotatably supported by the second portion, and wherein the third portion is connected to the second case via a link device (friction connection between 51 and 120).
Claim 13: Tsubone teaches a working element (51) connected to the speed reducer.
Claim 14: Tsubone teaches the working element (51) includes a one-side portion (lest side) and an other-side portion (right side), the one-side portion being mounted to the first case (110A) and extending in a radially outward direction of the first case, the other-side portion being rotatably supported by the one-side portion, and wherein the other-side portion is connected to the second case (110B) via a link device (friction connection).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach a speed reducer as defined in claim 1, including the first carrier half includes a first flange extending from a gap between the first case and the second case in a radially outward direction of the first case relative to the first case and in a radially outward direction of the second case relative to the second case, wherein the second carrier half includes a second flange extending from the gap between the first case and the second case in the radially outward direction of the first case relative to the first case and in the radially outward direction of the second case relative to the second case, and wherein the first carrier half and the second carrier half are connected together by a fastening member that extends from the first flange to the second flange.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the speed reducer of Gomi et al. (USPub 2012/0172169).
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618