Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White et al., US Patent Application (20160313607), hereinafter “White”.
Regarding claim 16 teaches a transparent coating provided with a surface that switches between a flat, optical clear state and a state that enhances the writing comfort of a stylus on display screen. LCEs containing azobenzene in the main-chain were successfully prepared and spatially aligned by surface photoalignment. UV irradiation induced trans-to-cis isomerization of the azobenzene moiety at the molecular level and reduced the order parameter of the azo-LCE, which brought macroscopic shape and optical changes from a yellow, 2D flat film (thermodynamically stable state) to an orange, 3D cone shape (metastable state). The metastable cone shape generated by the cis isomer of azo-LCE slowly returns to a flat shape due to thermal relaxation of the cis-to-trans isomers. The deformation of complex shapes (or sizes) of the cones results from interplay between photochemical processes and thermomechanical properties of the azo-LCEs. These processes and properties may be tuned by adjusting a concentration of azobenzene, a ratio of acrylate-to-amine functionality, or both. [White para 0178]
While the applicant’s specification does not discuss what a comfort level enhancement of the writing comfort of a stylus on display screen, the specification does include discussing transitioning from a flat layer transparent to a more comfortable writing surface which may be less transparent. White shows that an optical surface can go from a yellow to a darker orange allowing for more contrast of writing onto the display and further the conical surface will translate into a surface with more sensory feedback of the surface texture, than a flatter surface, allowing for a more realistic feel in the writing surface for a user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ASTAM, MERT O, et al., "Active Surfaces Formed in Liquid Crystal Polymer Networks", Applied Materials & Interfaces, Vol. 14, No. 20, 02-10-2022, pp. 22697-22705 (Year: 2022), hereinafter “Astam” and Brokken et al., US Patent Application (20130101804), hereinafter “Brokken”
Regarding claim 1 Astam teaches a haptic system having a programmable LCN technology through various …oscillating/programmable network distortion [Astam abstract], haptic surface layer LCNs as stimuli-responsive materials for soft actuators [Astam abstract] comprising: a substrate provided with a surface layer, liquid crystal polymer network (LCN) dynamic surfaces, focusing on substrate-based topographies and [Astam abstract] the surface layer comprising a shape memory crystal network which contracts the initial homeotropically aligned peaks sink back toward the substrate, whereas the planarly aligned valleys contract [Astam page 3] upon electric and/or thermal stimuli Liquid crystal networks (LCNs) are commonly synthesized by photopolymerizing (Figure 1) reactive mesogens … reactive 1nesogens are often formulated to control monomer properties, for instance, nematic phase transition temperature, … [Astam page 1] to achieve a smoother surface or to form protrusions in the surface layer, the polymer network contracts along the general molecular orientation axis (director) and expands in the perpendicular direction [Astam page 2]
Astam does not teach but Brokken teaches wherein in a first step of the preparation of the shape memory crystal network a surface topographic structure is already brought in by polymerizing against a mould. The procedure is now as follows. The polymer gel is giving its surface topology by pressing it against a UV transparent mould. The mixture is exposed through the mould with UV light. The penetration depth of the light in the mixture is very low because of the presence of the dye and polymerization can take place only near the interface between gel and mould. During the polymerization monomer diffuses to the interface thus forming a thin, but hard top layer that keeps the gel in its shape after removal of the mould. [Brokken para 0059]
Astam discloses animating materials to develop dynamic surfaces. These dynamic surfaces can be utilized for advanced applications, including switchable wetting, friction, and lubrication. Dynamic surfaces can also improve existing technologies, for example, by integrating selfcleaning surfaces on solar cells. In this Spotlight on applications, we describe our most recent advances in liquid crystal polymer network (LCN) dynamic surfaces, focusing on substrate-based topographies and dynamic porous networks. We discuss our latest insights in the mechanisms of deformation with the "free volume" principle. We illustrate the scope of LCN technology through va1ious examples of photo-/ electro-patterning, free-volume channeling, oscillating/programmable network distortion, and porous.
Brokken discloses an actuator device (400) comprising an active layer (410) having directly or indirectly a skin layer (420) on top that can be touched by when in use by a user. The configuration of the active layer (410) can controllably be changed in an extension direction (x, y), and the skin layer (420) comprises a plurality of elevations (E) and intermediate recesses (R). Due to its structure, the skin layer (420) does not hinder conformation changes of the active layer (410) in the extension direction, while it provides favorable tactile characteristics of the actuator device (400). The active layer (410) may particularly comprise an electroactive polymer (EAP). The skin layer (420) may be composed of a plurality of grains isolated from each other, or it may comprise a thin surface layer (421) that is stiffer than the active layer (410).
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam and Brokken in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. Brokken improves Astam’s haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by using a mould to form a topographical surface of a haptic device which allows more favorable characteristics from the deformable surface of said haptic device.
Regarding claim 2 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Astam teaches wherein the shape memory crystal network comprises a pre-cured LCN (liquid crystal polymer network). Liquid crystal networks (LCNs) are polymer networks with tunable optical, mechanical, and electrical properties. [Astam introduction]
Regarding claim 3 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Astam teaches wherein the shape memory crystal network is obtained by a method comprising two stages, wherein in a first stage a loosely crosslinked network is obtained by reaction between a liquid crystalline diacrylate and a dithiol in the presence of tri- or four functional thiol, Liquid crystal networks (LCNs) are commonly synthesized by photopolymerizing (Figure 1) reactive mesogens. Examples of monoacrylate and diacrylate reactive mesogens are given … [Astam ANISOTROPIC DEFORMATION OF DYNAMIC SURFACE TOPOGRAPHIES] and wherein in a second stage a deformation is established in the network that causes orientation of the obtained liquid crystal chains that are fixed by a photo crosslinking reaction. We evaluate active dynamic surfaces in two categories: densely cross-linked dynamic surface topographies and porous liquid-secreting surfaces. [Astam introduction]
Regarding claim 5 Astam teaches a method for manufacturing a shape memory liquid crystal network, LCN technology through various …oscillating/programmable network distortion [Astam abstract], LCNs as stimuli-responsive materials for soft actuators [Astam abstract] liquid crystal polymer network (LCN) dynamic surfaces, focusing on substrate-based topographies and [Astam abstract] the initial homeotropically aligned peaks sink back toward the substrate, whereas the planarly aligned valleys contract [Astam page 3] comprising the following: reacting components on a substrate (LCNs) are commonly synthesized by photopolymerizing (Figure 1) reactive mesogens … reactive 1nesogens are often formulated to control monomer properties, for instance, nematic phase transition temperature, … [Astam page 1]
Astam does not teach but Brokken teaches removing a solvent The photopolymer solution consisted of 23.5 wt. % polymeric binder, 23.5 wt. % monomer, 2.4 wt. % photoinitiator, 3.6 wt. % retarder, and 47 wt. % solvent. The mixture was coated on the elastomer (EAP) and, after evaporation of the solvent, locally exposed to UV light using a mask. [Brokken para 0063];
pressing the surface of the substrate in a desired shape thereby forming a local alignment within the molecules of the pressed area The polymer gel is giving its surface topology by pressing it against a UV transparent mould. [Brokken para 0086]; polymerizing the molecules of the pressed area for arresting the prior formed local alignments. The mixture is exposed through the mould with UV light. The penetration depth of the light in the mixture is very low because of the presence of the dye and polymerization can take place only near the interface between gel and mould. During the polymerization monomer diffuses to the interface thus forming a thin, but hard top layer that keeps the gel in its shape after removal of the mould. [Brokken para 0086]
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam and Brokken in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. Brokken improves Astam’s haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by using a mould to form a topographical surface of a haptic device which allows more favorable characteristics from the deformable surface of said haptic device.
Regarding claim 8 Astam and Brokken teach claim 5 in addition Brokken teaches wherein the shape memory liquid crystal network is obtained in two stages, wherein in a first stage a loosely crosslinked network is obtained by reaction between a liquid crystalline diacrylate and a dithiol in the presence of tri- or four functional thiol, Liquid crystal networks (LCNs) are commonly synthesized by photopolymerizing (Figure 1) reactive mesogens. Examples of monoacrylate and diacrylate reactive mesogens are given … [Astam ANISOTROPIC DEFORMATION OF DYNAMIC SURFACE TOPOGRAPHIES] and wherein in a second stage a deformation is established in the network that causes orientation of the obtained liquid crystal chains that are fixed by a photo crosslinking reaction. We evaluate active dynamic surfaces in two categories: densely cross-linked dynamic surface topographies and porous liquid-secreting surfaces. [Astam introduction]
Regarding claim 10 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Brokken teaches electronic apparatus with user input and device output provided with a haptic system For haptic surfaces that can be touched, the fingertips are specifically relevant. As a result, the roughness (depth d) of surface structures in an actuator device should preferably be smaller than 100 microns, more preferable smaller than 30 microns (the size of a single skin-surface cell), with wavelengths in the same order of magnitude as the roughness. [Brokken para 0091]
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam and Brokken in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. Brokken improves Astam’s haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by forming a topographical input surface of a haptic device which allows more favorable characteristics from the deformable surface of said output haptic device such as the roughness or texture of a surface felt by a user’s fingertip.
Regarding claim 14 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Brokkeen teaches for adjusting the friction coefficient of a surface layer. a product surface made from these low-modulus actuators will also have very high friction with the human skin (often hands or fingertips) {Brokken para 0043]
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam and Brokken in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. Brokken improves Astam’s haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by forming a topographical input surface of a haptic device which allows more favorable characteristics from the deformable surface of said output haptic device such as the surface tension, roughness or texture as felt by a user’s fingertip.
Regarding claim 15 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Brokken teaches for adjusting the aero-dynamic and fluid- dynamics properties of a surface layer. the grains may be arranged on the surface of the active layer in a regular or irregular pattern (array). As the grains are disconnected, they do not hinder conformation changes of the active layer in the extension direction. [Brokken para 0012]
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astam and Brokken as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of White et al., US Patent Application (20160313607), hereinafter “White”
Regarding claim 4 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but White teaches wherein the shape memory crystal network is obtained by a method comprising two stages, wherein in a first stage a loosely crosslinked network is obtained by reaction between a liquid crystalline diacrylate and an amine, monomer solutions that undergo sequential reactions may be utilized, for example, mixtures of diacrylates, amines, alkenes, and thiols. [White para 0124] and wherein in a second stage a deformation is established in the network that causes orientation of the obtained liquid crystal chains that are fixed by a photo crosslinking reaction. After crosslinking, WAXS was utilized to determine an orientational order parameter, which is graphically shown in FIG. 55. The degree of order was not found to vary significantly with the ratio of diacrylate-to-amine. [White para 0200]
Astam discloses animating materials to develop dynamic surfaces. These dynamic surfaces can be utilized for advanced applications, including switchable wetting, friction, and lubrication. Dynamic surfaces can also improve existing technologies, for example, by integrating selfcleaning surfaces on solar cells. In this Spotlight on applications, we describe our most recent advances in liquid crystal polymer network (LCN) dynamic surfaces, focusing on substrate-based topographies and dynamic porous networks. We discuss our latest insights in the mechanisms of deformation with the "free volume" principle. We illustrate the scope of LCN technology through va1ious examples of photo-/ electro-patterning, free-volume channeling, oscillating/programmable network distortion, and porous.
Brokken discloses an actuator device (400) comprising an active layer (410) having directly or indirectly a skin layer (420) on top that can be touched by when in use by a user. The configuration of the active layer (410) can controllably be changed in an extension direction (x, y), and the skin layer (420) comprises a plurality of elevations (E) and intermediate recesses (R). Due to its structure, the skin layer (420) does not hinder conformation changes of the active layer (410) in the extension direction, while it provides favorable tactile characteristics of the actuator device (400). The active layer (410) may particularly comprise an electroactive polymer (EAP). The skin layer (420) may be composed of a plurality of grains isolated from each other, or it may comprise a thin surface layer (421) that is stiffer than the active layer (410).
White discloses a method of making a shape-programmable liquid crystal elastomer. The method includes preparing an alignment cell having a surface programmed with a plurality of domains. A cavity of the alignment cell is filled with a monomer solution. The monomers of the monomer solution are configured to align to the surface of the alignment cell. The aligned monomers are polymerized by Michael Addition. The polymerized monomers are then cross-linked to form a cross-linked liquid crystal elastomer. The cross-linking traps monomer alignment into a plurality of voxels with each voxel having a director orientation.
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam, Brokken and White in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. White improves Astam’s and Brokken haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by using reactive substances to orientate the surface material alignment to enhance the deformable surface of said haptic device to be shaped by the user and/or receive sensory output from the surface.
Regarding claim 6 Astam and Brokken teach claim 5 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but White teaches wherein the substrate is a flexible or rigid substrate, such as glass or plastic. elastomeric materials may be particularly useful as substrates for stretchable or flexible electronics. [White para 0200]
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam, Brokken and White in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. White improves Astam’s and Brokken haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by using a flexible substrate or surface to enhance the deformable surface of said haptic device to be shaped by the user and/or receive sensory output from the surface
Regarding claim 7 Astam and Brokken teach claim 5 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but White teaches wherein polymerizing is carried out with UV light. Following this reaction, the sample was exposed to broadband UV light (wavelength ranging from 320 nm to 500 nm) from a mercury-arc lamp for 30 min at an intensity of about 100 mW/cm.sup.2. Polymerization temperature was selected based on the desired phase of polymerization. [White para 0182 & 0183]
Regarding claim 9 Astam and Brokken teach claim 5 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but White teaches wherein the shape memory liquid crystal network is obtained in two stages, wherein in a first stage a loosely crosslinked network is obtained by reaction between a liquid crystalline diacrylate and an amine, monomer solutions that undergo sequential reactions may be utilized, for example, mixtures of diacrylates, amines, alkenes, and thiols. [White para 0124] and wherein in a second stage a deformation is established in the network that causes orientation of the obtained liquid crystal chains that are fixed by a photo crosslinking reaction. After crosslinking, WAXS was utilized to determine an orientational order parameter, which is graphically shown in FIG. 55. The degree of order was not found to vary significantly with the ratio of diacrylate-to-amine. [White para 0200]
Claim(s) 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astam and Brokken as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yates et al., US Patent Application (20190201047), hereinafter “Yates”
Regarding claim 10 Astam and Brokken teach claim 15 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but Yates teaches wherein the apparatus is chosen from the group of smartphones, desktop monitors, displays, computer mousses, smart watches, and VR systems. The input devices include, but are not limited to, a pointing device such as a mouse, trackball, stylus, touch pad, keyboard, microphone, joystick, game pad, satellite dish, scanner, TV tuner card, digital camera, digital video camera, web camera, and the like. [Yates para 403]
Astam discloses animating materials to develop dynamic surfaces. These dynamic surfaces can be utilized for advanced applications, including switchable wetting, friction, and lubrication. Dynamic surfaces can also improve existing technologies, for example, by integrating selfcleaning surfaces on solar cells. In this Spotlight on applications, we describe our most recent advances in liquid crystal polymer network (LCN) dynamic surfaces, focusing on substrate-based topographies and dynamic porous networks. We discuss our latest insights in the mechanisms of deformation with the "free volume" principle. We illustrate the scope of LCN technology through va1ious examples of photo-/ electro-patterning, free-volume channeling, oscillating/programmable network distortion, and porous.
Brokken discloses an actuator device (400) comprising an active layer (410) having directly or indirectly a skin layer (420) on top that can be touched by when in use by a user. The configuration of the active layer (410) can controllably be changed in an extension direction (x, y), and the skin layer (420) comprises a plurality of elevations (E) and intermediate recesses (R). Due to its structure, the skin layer (420) does not hinder conformation changes of the active layer (410) in the extension direction, while it provides favorable tactile characteristics of the actuator device (400). The active layer (410) may particularly comprise an electroactive polymer (EAP). The skin layer (420) may be composed of a plurality of grains isolated from each other, or it may comprise a thin surface layer (421) that is stiffer than the active layer (410).
Yates discloses method for characterizing a state of an end effector of an ultrasonic device is disclosed. The ultrasonic device including an electromechanical ultrasonic system defined by a predetermined resonant frequency. The electromechanical ultrasonic system further including an ultrasonic transducer coupled to an ultrasonic blade. The method including applying, by an energy source, a power level to the ultrasonic transducer; measuring, by a control circuit coupled to a memory, an impedance value of the ultrasonic transducer; comparing, by the control circuit, the impedance value to a reference impedance value stored in the memory; classifying, by the control circuit, the impedance value based on the comparison; characterizing, by the control circuit, the state of the electromechanical ultrasonic system based on the classification of the impedance value; and adjusting, by the control circuit, the power level applied to the ultrasonic transducer based on the characterization of the state of the end effector. Yates further discloses Feedback devices that incorporate visual feedback devices (e.g., an LCD display screen, LED indicators), audio feedback devices (e.g., a speaker, a buzzer) or tactile feedback devices (e.g., haptic actuators) for use in combined ultrasonic and/or electrosurgical instruments are contemplated in the subsequent disclosure.
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam, Brokken and Yates in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. Yates improves Astam’s and Brokken haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by using the dynamic surface shaped into common user devices including, displays and robotic devices to increase the user sensory feedback from the surface.
Regarding claim 13 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but Yates teaches Surgical robots with control handles The generator module 240 or the device/instrument 235 or both are coupled to … intelligent surgical instruments, robots, [Yates para 0492] provided with a haptic system The output device 2140 includes one or more devices for providing a sensory feedback … or tactile feedback devices (e.g., haptic actuators). [x para 0521] for remotely controlling relaying information on pressure. Vibrating at high frequencies (e.g., 55,500 cycles per second), the ultrasonic blade denatures protein in the tissue to form a sticky coagulum. Pressure exerted on tissue by the blade surface collapses blood vessels and allows the coagulum to form a hemostatic seal. A surgeon can control the cutting speed and coagulation by the force applied to the tissue by the end effector, the time over which the force is applied, and the selected excursion level of the end effector. [Yates para 0664]
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astam and Brokken as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al., US Patent Application (20210188261), hereinafter “Song”
Regarding claim 12 Astam and Brokken teach claim 1 in addition Astam and Brokken do not teach but Yates teaches Vehicles wherein steering wheels of cars are provided with a haptic system for providing warnings to its user thereof. The driver warning controller 331 generates an audio warning signal, a video warning signal, or a haptic warning signal in order to warn a driver of a specific dangerous situation. For example, the driver warning controller 331 may use a vehicle sound system to output warning sounds. Alternatively, in order to display a warning message, the driver warning controller 331 may output a warning message through a head-up display (HUD) or a side mirror display. Alternatively, in order to generate a warning vibration, the driver warning controller 331 may operate a vibration motor mounted on a steering wheel. [Song para 0215]
Astam discloses animating materials to develop dynamic surfaces. These dynamic surfaces can be utilized for advanced applications, including switchable wetting, friction, and lubrication. Dynamic surfaces can also improve existing technologies, for example, by integrating selfcleaning surfaces on solar cells. In this Spotlight on applications, we describe our most recent advances in liquid crystal polymer network (LCN) dynamic surfaces, focusing on substrate-based topographies and dynamic porous networks. We discuss our latest insights in the mechanisms of deformation with the "free volume" principle. We illustrate the scope of LCN technology through va1ious examples of photo-/ electro-patterning, free-volume channeling, oscillating/programmable network distortion, and porous.
Brokken discloses an actuator device (400) comprising an active layer (410) having directly or indirectly a skin layer (420) on top that can be touched by when in use by a user. The configuration of the active layer (410) can controllably be changed in an extension direction (x, y), and the skin layer (420) comprises a plurality of elevations (E) and intermediate recesses (R). Due to its structure, the skin layer (420) does not hinder conformation changes of the active layer (410) in the extension direction, while it provides favorable tactile characteristics of the actuator device (400). The active layer (410) may particularly comprise an electroactive polymer (EAP). The skin layer (420) may be composed of a plurality of grains isolated from each other, or it may comprise a thin surface layer (421) that is stiffer than the active layer (410).
Song discloses steps for the first warning A1, the second warning B1, and the third warning C1, the ECU 4-320 controls the driver warning controller 4-331 to warn a driver of an emergency braking situation and to notify the driver that emergency braking is performed. Here, the ECU 4-320 may warn the driver of an abnormal situation by outputting warning sounds through an audio apparatus of the vehicle, visually outputting a warning situation through a video apparatus, and tactically outputting a warning situation through a haptic apparatus.
Prior to the effective date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Astam, Brokken and Song in the art of haptic devices with dynamic surfaces. Song improves Astam’s and Brokken haptic systems, methods and/or apparatus by using the dynamic surface shaped into common user devices including, input and output devices for steering wheels to allow warnings to be included in the user sensory feedback from the surface during an increase of risk in the driving environment.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622