Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/9/25 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of
i. Claim 21
ii. Claim 24
iii. Claim 25
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
i. Claim 24 lacks antecedent basis (please see 112(b) below)
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites in part “wherein the sealing face of the anchor nut is formed as a phase on the inner bore of the anchor nut.” This is indefinite. The meaning of “phase” in this context is not understood; as a result the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 21 recites “wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore formed in a flange of a hydraulic device, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic device to the housing assembly.” This is indefinite. Claim 21 depends from Claim 11. Claim 11 recites “A housing assembly”. The claim language of “a bore formed in a flange of a hydraulic device, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic device to the housing assembly” appears to be in excess of the “housing assembly”. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite. Examiner notes Claim 19 was withdrawn from consideration to a non-elected group and Claim 21 may be attempting to change the scope of elected Claim 11.
Claim 22 recites “within a further depression, the further depression being formed in the flange and surrounding the bore”. This is indefinite. Claim 22 depends from Claim 11. Claim 11 recites “A housing assembly”. The claim language of “within a further depression, the further depression being formed in the flange and surrounding the bore” appears to be in excess of the “housing assembly”. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 23 recites “thereby securing the flange to the housing part”. This is indefinite. Claim 23 depends from Claim 11. Claim 11 recites “A housing assembly”. The claim language of “thereby securing the flange to the housing part” appears to be in excess of the “housing assembly”. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 24 recites “wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange of a hydraulic pressure generator, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic pressure generator to the housing assembly.” This is indefinite. Claim 24 depends from Claim 11. Claim 11 recites “A housing assembly”. The claim language of “a bore of a flange of a hydraulic pressure generator, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic pressure generator to the housing assembly” appears to be in excess of the “housing assembly”. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite. Examiner notes Claim 19 was withdrawn from consideration to a non-elected group and Claim 24 may be attempting to change the scope of elected Claim 11.
Claim limitation “hydraulic pressure generator” (Claim 24) has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the term does not appear in the originally filed application, the term “generator” appears to be a generic term and “pressure” is sometimes functional language. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Claim 25 recites “wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange of a master brake cylinder, the tension anchor thereby fastening the master brake cylinder to the housing assembly.” This is indefinite. Claim 25 depends from Claim 11. Claim 11 recites “A housing assembly”. The claim language of “a bore of a flange of a master brake cylinder, the tension anchor thereby fastening the master brake cylinder to the housing assembly” appears to be in excess of the “housing assembly”. As a result, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite. Examiner notes Claim 19 was withdrawn from consideration to a non-elected group and Claim 25 may be attempting to change the scope of elected Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14-18, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Faller (US 6651548).
Regarding Claim 11,
A housing assembly for a hydraulic assembly, comprising: a housing part (5) which at least partially encloses an internal volume (ex. 7), the housing part having a through-opening (as example annotated) which extends between an inner face (as example annotated) directed toward the internal volume and an outer face (as example annotated) of the housing part oriented in an opposite direction as the inner face, wherein a region of the inner face surrounding the through-opening forms a depression (as example annotated); a tension anchor (2) which extends with an inner portion (as example annotated) in the internal volume of the housing part and which protrudes through the through-opening, such that an outer portion of the tension anchor (as example annotated) protrudes beyond the outer face of the housing part; an anchor nut (13) which is screwed onto the inner portion of the tension anchor and has a sealing face (with 16); and a sealing element (14) which is arranged in the depression and bears on the inner portion of the tension anchor, on the region of the inner face surrounding the through-opening, and on the sealing face of the anchor nut.
Regarding Claim12,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the housing part is deformed in the region surrounding the through-opening in such a way that the depression is formed on the inner face and a corresponding elevation is formed on the outer face.
Regarding Claim 14,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the anchor nut includes an inner bore having an internal thread, which is screwed onto an external thread formed on the inner portion of the tension anchor, wherein the sealing face of the anchor nut extends at least partially spaced apart from an end of the external thread directed toward the outer portion of the tension anchor.
Regarding Claim 15,
The housing assembly according to claim 14, wherein the inner bore protrudes beyond the end of the external thread in a direction of the outer portion of the tension anchor, and the sealing face of the anchor nut is formed on the inner bore of the anchor nut.
Regarding Claim 16,
The housing assembly according to claim 15, wherein the sealing face of the anchor nut is formed as a phase on the inner bore of the anchor nut (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 17,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the anchor nut is secured against rotation on the tension anchor by a crimp connection (Col. 3, lines 22-Col. 4, line 8).
Regarding Claim 18,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the sealing element is an annular O-ring (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Faller or, in the alternative, Claims 21, 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Faller in view of Nagel et al. (US 10549741).
Examiner note: The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite. If the claim is only directed to the claimed “housing assembly” then Faller is anticipatory of Claims 21-25. If the claim extends beyond the claim scope of the “housing assembly”, then Faller in view of Nagel renders obvious claims 21, 23-25. To expedite examination and promote compact prosecution both rejections are made below, separately.
Regarding Claim 21,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore formed in a flange of a hydraulic device, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic device to the housing assembly (ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 22,
The housing assembly according to claim 21, wherein an outer face of the housing part forms an elevation that is received within a further depression, the further depression being formed in the flange and surrounding the bore ((ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 23,
The housing assembly according to claim 21, further comprising a further nut screwed onto an external thread of the outer portion of the tension anchor, thereby securing the flange to the housing part ((ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 24,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange of a hydraulic pressure generator, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic pressure generator to the housing assembly (ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Regarding Claim 25,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange of a master brake cylinder, the tension anchor thereby fastening the master brake cylinder to the housing assembly (ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Alternatively (see examiner note above):
Regarding Claim 21, Faller teaches invention substantially as claimed except for
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore formed in a flange of a hydraulic device, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic device to the housing assembly.
Faller states the tension anchor is for fastening (ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Nagel teaches
For a housing assembly,
wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor (either 2e or 2f, Fig. 2) protrudes through a bore formed in a flange (7a) of a hydraulic device, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic device to the housing assembly.
Since both references are directed to housing assemblies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing assembly of Faller to be fastened to a flange as taught by Nagel in order to provide an appropriate mounting of the housing assembly that would perform with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 23,
The housing assembly according to claim 21, further comprising a further nut (Nagel - 11a or 11b) screwed onto an external thread of the outer portion of the tension anchor, thereby securing the flange to the housing part.
Regarding Claim 24, Faller teaches invention substantially as claimed except for
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange of a hydraulic pressure generator, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic pressure generator to the housing assembly.
Faller states the tension anchor is for fastening (ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Nagel teaches
For a housing assembly,
wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor (either 2e or 2f, Fig. 2) protrudes through a bore of a flange (7a) of a hydraulic pressure generator, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic pressure generator to the housing assembly.
Since both references are directed to housing assemblies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing assembly of Faller to be fastened to a flange as taught by Nagel in order to provide an appropriate mounting of the housing assembly that would perform with predictable results.
Regarding Claim 25, Faller teaches invention substantially as claimed except for
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange of a master brake cylinder, the tension anchor thereby fastening the master brake cylinder to the housing assembly.
Faller states the tension anchor is for fastening (ex. abstract, Col. 2, lines 20-31, Col. 3, lines 13-21).
Nagel teaches
For a housing assembly,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor (either 2e or 2f, Fig. 2) protrudes through a bore of a flange (7a) of a master brake cylinder, the tension anchor thereby fastening the master brake cylinder to the housing assembly.
Since both references are directed to housing assemblies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing assembly of Faller to be fastened to a flange as taught by Nagel in order to provide an appropriate mounting of the housing assembly that would perform with predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 14-18, 21-25, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 10359175 (machine translation attached), hereinafter DE175, in view of Faller.
Regarding Claim 11, DE175 teaches
A housing assembly for a hydraulic assembly, comprising: a housing part (with 15, Figs. 1-2) which at least partially encloses an internal volume (example annotation), the housing part having a through-opening (example annotation) which extends between an inner face (interior face of with 15) directed toward the internal volume and an outer face (exterior face of with 15) of the housing part oriented in an opposite direction as the inner face, wherein a region of the inner face surrounding the through-opening forms a depression (example annotation); a tension anchor (19) which extends with an inner portion in the internal volume of the housing part and which protrudes through the through-opening, such that an outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes beyond the outer face of the housing part; a collar (22) which is attached to the inner portion of the tension anchor and has a sealing face (face facing 24); and a sealing element (24) which is arranged in the depression and bears on the inner portion of the tension anchor, on the region of the inner face surrounding the through-opening, and on the sealing face of the collar.
DE175 does not teach
an anchor nut which is screwed onto the inner portion of the tension anchor and has a sealing face
on the sealing face of the anchor nut.
DE175 teaches a collar 22 instead of the claimed anchor nut.
Faller teaches
For a housing assembly for a hydraulic assembly,
an anchor nut (13, Fig. 2) which is screwed onto the inner portion of the tension anchor (2).
Since both references are directed to housing assemblies, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the collar and tension anchor of DE175 to be anchor nut as taught by Faller in order to provide additional adjustment of the distance between stops when assembling the brake force booster. Once the modification is made the remainder of the claim language is met.
Regarding Claim 12,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the housing part is deformed in the region surrounding the through-opening in such a way that the depression is formed on the inner face and a corresponding elevation is formed on the outer face.
Regarding Claim 14,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the anchor nut (DE175 - 22 as modified by Faller - 13) includes an inner bore having an internal thread, which is screwed onto an external thread formed on the inner portion of the tension anchor, wherein the sealing face of the anchor nut extends at least partially spaced apart from an end of the external thread directed toward the outer portion of the tension anchor.
Regarding Claim 15,
The housing assembly according to claim 14, wherein the inner bore (the inner bore of DE175 - 22 as modified by Faller - 13) protrudes beyond the end of the external thread in a direction of the outer portion of the tension anchor, and the sealing face of the anchor nut is formed on the inner bore of the anchor nut.
Regarding Claim 16,
The housing assembly according to claim 15, wherein the sealing face of the anchor nut (DE175 - 22 as modified by Faller - 13) is formed as a phase on the inner bore of the anchor nut.
Regarding Claim 17,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the anchor nut is secured against rotation on the tension anchor by a crimp connection (Faller - Col. 3, lines 22-Col. 4, line 8).
Regarding Claim 18,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the sealing element is an annular O-ring (24).
Regarding Claim 21,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore formed in a flange (with 42) of a hydraulic device, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic device to the housing assembly (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 22,
The housing assembly according to claim 21, wherein an outer face of the housing part forms an elevation that is received within a further depression, the further depression being formed in the flange and surrounding the bore.
Regarding Claim 23,
The housing assembly according to claim 21, further comprising a further nut (example from translation, emphasis examiner’s “On the other side of the pointed wall, a pedal bracket, not shown, is arranged through which the end 20 of the tie rod 19 also intervenes to finally be screwed, for example with a nut, in such a way that the desired fastening of the brake booster master cylinder unit to the vehicle is accomplished.”) screwed onto an external thread of the outer portion of the tension anchor, thereby securing the flange to the housing part.
Regarding Claim 24,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange (with 42) of a hydraulic pressure generator, the tension anchor thereby fastening the hydraulic pressure generator to the housing assembly (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 25,
The housing assembly according to claim 11, wherein the outer portion of the tension anchor protrudes through a bore of a flange (with 42) of a master brake cylinder, the tension anchor thereby fastening the master brake cylinder to the housing assembly (Fig. 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those items on the 892 each teach elements of the instant invention related to housing assemblies.
MICHAEL QUANDT
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745