Claim Objections
Claim 23 and Claim 28 are the same (duplicate). One of them should be removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20, 25, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GUO et al. (Patent No: EP 3985799 A1), hereinafter, GUO.
Regarding Claim 20, GUO teaches,
A method for performing communication, performed by a User Equipment (UE), comprising: wherein the UE is equipped with multiple Rxs (Receivers), -Fig. 3, 5; Paragraph [0038] ([0038] recites, “…For example, in a mobile phone, when there are two antenna panels, the antenna panels are placed back to back, and one antenna panel is connected to one serving base station..”)
determining to operate a single Rx among the multiple Rxs; -Paragraph [0039] ([0039] recites, “In order to meet the requirement of communication quality and reduce the power consumption of the terminal, a mechanism for activating and shutting down the antenna panel of the terminal needs to be established, and in the case of good communication environment in the application scene with low traffic demand, part of the antenna panel can be shut down properly, so that the power consumption and radiation of the terminal are reduced while ensuring the system performance, so as to save energy for the terminal;…”From the two antenna panels when one panel is shutdown or deactivated, one Rx panel remains operating)
transmitting, to a base station, information that the UE operates the single Rx among the multiple Rxs. -Fig. 5; Paragraph [0061-0062] ([0061-0062] recites, “The terminal determines an antenna panel which needs to be turned off according to the second working state control scheme; the terminal initiates a second UE panel deactivation request signaling, and returns a second UE panel deactivation completion signaling to the base station after the terminal completes the operation corresponding to the second UE panel deactivation request signaling.
As shown in Fig. 5, the terminal initiates the UE panel activation/deactivation request, and feeds back "UE panel activation/deactivation complete" to the base station after completing the corresponding configuration, thereby implementing the independent option for the configuration of the antenna panel by the terminal. The UE panel activation/deactivation request, the UE panel activation/deactivation complete, and the like are all RRC signaling.”)
Claim 25 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 20. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 20 above which is rejected. Claim 25 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 20.
GUO further teaches,
A User Equipment (UE), to perform communication, comprising: a transceiver; and a processor, wherein the processor performs operation comprising: -Paragraph [0033] ([0033] recites, “According to a sixth aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a terminal comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to perform an implementation of the method described above based on instructions stored by the memory.” Any wireless device (UE) contains a transceiver with which it can transmit/receive to/from base station or network.)
Claim 30 is essentially same as Claim 25 where UE is replaced by “An apparatus”, UE can be that apparatus. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 25 above which is rejected. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GUO
in view of DUAN et al. (Patent No: US 2023/0300776 A1), hereinafter, DUAN.
Regarding Claim 21, GUO teaches the limitations of Claim 20.
Although implicit, GUO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 20, further comprising: performing a first measurement for strength of a signal from the base station via the multiple Rxs; performing a second measurement for strength of a signal from the base station via the single Rx among the multiple Rxs; determining that difference between a result of the first measurement and a result of the second measurement is lower than a threshold value, wherein the step of the determining to operate the single Rx among the multiple Rxs is performed, based on the determining that the difference is lower than the threshold value.
However, in an analogous invention DUAN teaches,
The method of claim 20, further comprising: performing a first measurement for strength of a signal from the base station via the multiple Rxs; -Paragraph [0086] ([0086] recites, “At UE 104, antennas 352a through 352r may receive the downlink signals from base station 102 and/or other base stations… A channel processor may determine reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), channel quality indicator (CQI), and/or the like.”)
performing a second measurement for strength of a signal from the base station via the single Rx among the multiple Rxs; determining that difference between a result of the first measurement and a result of the second measurement is lower than a threshold value, wherein the step of the determining to operate the single Rx among the multiple Rxs is performed, based on the determining that the difference is lower than the threshold value. -Paragraph [0119, 0156-0157] ([0119] recites, “ The memory 511, for example, may include a Rx antenna selection module 574 that when implemented by the one or more processors 510 configures the one or more processors 510 to compare beam width information received in assistance data to one or more thresholds…”[0156-0157] recites, “…The UE 104 may shutdown antenna panels that are less likely to receive the PRS beam based on the beam width information. For example, if the boresight direction uncertainty or the beam-width uncertainty is large, i.e., greater than corresponding thresholds, the UE 104 may need more Rx antenna panels for reception, or vice versa, if the boresight direction uncertainty or the beam-width uncertainty is small, i.e., less than corresponding thresholds, the UE 104 may need fewer Rx antenna panels for reception…. The reduced number of antenna panels may be selected when the beam width information received in assistance data indicates the PRS beam has a beam width that is greater than a threshold, or if the boresight direction uncertainty or beam width uncertainty are greater than corresponding thresholds, or the side lobe power level is greater than threshold and the UE is performing a timing-based positioning measurement. If the beam width information received in assistance data indicates the PRS beam has a beam width that is less than a threshold, or that the boresight direction uncertainty or beam width uncertainty are less than corresponding thresholds, or the side lobe power level is less than threshold (or if greater than the threshold, the UE is performing a direction based positioning measurements, such as AOD measurements), or if the motion or rotation of the UE 104 is detected, then an increased number of antenna panels, e.g., all of the antenna panels, may be selected (as indicated by selection 1412) for receiving the PRS beams.” It is easily understandable that, as described above, determining whether to select single Rx is based on measurements for multiple Rx and comparing data from the measurements against some threshold. The data to compare against a threshold can be the difference between first measurement (from multiple Rx) and second measurement, i.e., Single Rx.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CONTROLLING WORKING STATES OF ANTENNA PANELS OF TERMINAL, AND STORAGE MEDIUM” proposed by GUO to include the concept of “performing a first measurement for strength of a signal from the base station via the multiple Rxs; performing a second measurement for strength of a signal from the base station via the single Rx among the multiple Rxs; determining that difference between a result of the first measurement and a result of the second measurement is lower than a threshold value, wherein the step of the determining to operate the single Rx among the multiple Rxs is performed, based on the determining that the difference is lower than the threshold value.” of DUAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve device efficiency, particularly power consumption may be achieved through appropriate adaptation of Tx/Rx antennas during positioning [0051].
Regarding Claim 22, GUO and DUAN teach the limitations of Claim 21.
Although implicit, GUO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, the threshold value.
However, in an analogous invention DUAN teaches,
The method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, the threshold value. -Paragraph [0156] ([0156] recites, “The multi-panel design, for example, allows the UE 104 to receive signals from base stations… For example, if the boresight direction uncertainty or the beam-width uncertainty is large, i.e., greater than corresponding thresholds, the UE 104 may need more Rx antenna panels for reception, or vice versa, if the boresight direction uncertainty or the beam-width uncertainty is small, i.e., less than corresponding thresholds, the UE 104 may need fewer Rx antenna panels for reception.” It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that the threshold values may be communicated by the base station as a part of configuration.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CONTROLLING WORKING STATES OF ANTENNA PANELS OF TERMINAL, AND STORAGE MEDIUM” proposed by GUO to include the concept of “receiving, from the base station, the threshold value.” of DUAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve device efficiency, particularly power consumption may be achieved through appropriate adaptation of Tx/Rx antennas during positioning [0051].
Regarding Claim 23, GUO teaches the limitations of Claim 21.
Although implicit, GUO does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 20, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first signal; receiving, from another base station, a second signal; determining that AoA (angle of arrival) between the first signal and the second signal is lower than a threshold angle, wherein the step of the determining to operate the single Rx among the multiple Rxs is performed, based on the determining that the AoA is lower than the threshold angle.
However, in an analogous invention, DUAN teaches,
The method of claim 20, further comprising: receiving, from the base station, a first signal; receiving, from another base station, a second signal; -Paragraph [0137] ([0137] recites. “The location server 172 may provide assistance data to the UE 104 to enable the UE 104 to receive PRS beams from one or more base stations.”)
determining that AoA (angle of arrival) between the first signal and the second signal is lower than a threshold angle, wherein the step of the determining to operate the single Rx among the multiple Rxs is performed, based on the determining that the AoA is lower than the threshold angle. -Paragraph [0101, 0157] ([0101] recites, “.. downlink based positioning includes positioning methods such as DL-TDOA and DL-AOD. Uplink based positioning includes positioning method such as UL-TDOA and UL-AOA..” [0157] recites, “The reduced number of antenna panels may be selected when the beam width information received in assistance data indicates the PRS beam has a beam width that is greater than a threshold, or if the boresight direction uncertainty or beam width uncertainty are greater than corresponding thresholds, or the side lobe power level is greater than threshold and the UE is performing a timing-based positioning measurement. If the beam width information received in assistance data indicates the PRS beam has a beam width that is less than a threshold, or that the boresight direction uncertainty or beam width uncertainty are less than corresponding thresholds, or the side lobe power level is less than threshold (or if greater than the threshold, the UE is performing a direction based positioning measurements, such as AOD measurements), or if the motion or rotation of the UE 104 is detected, then an increased number of antenna panels, e.g., all of the antenna panels, may be selected (as indicated by selection 1412) for receiving the PRS beams.” As explained above whether to select Single Rx may be based on direction-based position measurement, e.g. AOD or AOA from multiple base station and comparing against a threshold.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CONTROLLING WORKING STATES OF ANTENNA PANELS OF TERMINAL, AND STORAGE MEDIUM” proposed by GUO to include the concept of “receiving, from the base station, a first signal; receiving, from another base station, a second signal; determining that AoA (angle of arrival) between the first signal and the second signal is lower than a threshold angle, wherein the step of the determining to operate the single Rx among the multiple Rxs is performed, based on the determining that the AoA is lower than the threshold angle.” of DUAN. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve device efficiency, particularly power consumption may be achieved through appropriate adaptation of Tx/Rx antennas during positioning [0051].
Claim 24 is essentially same as Claim 21 and the only difference is for Claim 21 when the calculated value is less than a threshold, select Single Rx while for Claim 24, when the value is more than a threshold, select multiple Rxs. The Applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 21 above which is rejected. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as claim 21.
Claim 26 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 21. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 21 above which is rejected. Claim 26 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 21.
Claim 27 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 22. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 22 above which is rejected. Claim 27 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 22.
Claim 28 is exactly same as Claim 23 and should be deleted.
Claim 29 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 24. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 24 above which is rejected. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 24.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475