DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and Species A2 in the reply filed on 24 September 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse. (See MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-15 and claims 16-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being respectively drawn to nonelected Groups III and IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim 14 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species A1, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to, for failing to clearly delineate each clause/sub-clause the body of the claim. Each clause/sub-clause should be clearly delineated (e.g. under a new heading/subheading with clear indentation). See 37 CFR 1.75(i), MPEP 608.01(m). Furthermore, limitation about thickness of the tear layer should be separated from the clause that introduces the tear layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2013/0272630 A1 (“Thomas”) per se or further in view of U.S. 2001/0031371 A1 (“Kong”).
Considering claims 1 and 8, Thomas discloses a multilayer film having an internal layer comprising an immiscible incompatible blend of primarily continuous domain of LDPE or LLDPE and balance dispersed ionomer domain, wherein the immiscible blend contributes to improved linear tearing property of the internal layer. (Thomas ¶¶ 0159-0163). Thomas is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (tearable films). Thomas discloses that LDPE accounts for 55 to 88wt% of the incompatible blend, with specific examples using 70 wt% -90 wt% LDPE/LLDPE. (Id. ¶ 0162 and Table 3). These values overlap or alternative read on the claimed wt% of the continuous phase with sufficient specificity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. (See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379; MPEP § 2144.05).
Thomas further discloses the incorporation of such a layer into a respective multilayer film, wherein the internal layer accounts for 50 to 70% of total multilayer film thickness. (Id. ¶ 0014). This overlaps the claimed thickness range of the tear layer.
Thomas discloses its multilayer has one skin layer as an outside skin layer and another skin layer as a seal layer. (Thomas ¶ 0086). Thomas discloses that the skin layer serving as a seal layer can comprise a polyolefin. (Id. ¶ 0079). Person of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that polyolefin to encompass polypropylene, thereby reading on the claimed first surface layer. Were this to be challenged (not conceded), it is noted that usage of a polypropylene-based polymer for seal layers is readily known for polymeric packaging films. (Kong ¶¶ 0030 and 0043). Person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a polypropylene-based polymer for the seal layer of Thomas, as Thomas generally discloses usage of polyolefins and as Kong demonstrates specific usage of polypropylene-based polymer for seal layers in polymeric packaging films. This rationale for supporting a finding of obviousness, where one reference demonstrates that a particular material is suitable for a particular intended use, is considered appropriate under the guidelines set forth in MPEP 2144.07.
Though ratio of tear strength in TD to tear strength in MD is not disclosed, it is noted that the inventive concept in Thomas is substantially similar to that of the Instant Application. Specifically, Thomas states that the MD oriented dispersed domains facilitate MD linear tear. (Thomas ¶ 0158). This is thus in line with the inventive concept of the instant application. Furthermore, the types of polymers used for the continuous domain and the dispersed domain also are substantially similar to those utilized in the Instant Application. Silence of a reference on a quantitative limitation when the reference discloses the general characteristic is not deemed to support patentability unless there is evidence indicating such quantitative limitation is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. (MPEP 2144.05 II.A.). As such the proclivity for linear tear of the multilayer film of Thomas manifests as a high ratio of TD tear strength to MD tear strength, and as the disclosure of Thomas generally seeks to improve linear tear properties, Thomas is considered to have disclosed conditions and motivations that lead to the claimed ratio of tear strength.
Claims 1 and 8 are obvious in view of Thomas per se or Thomas in view of Kong.
Considering claim 6, various LDPE and LLPDE materials used in the immiscible layer have the requisite melt index. (Thomas Table 2).
Considering claim 7, Thomas discloses that its multilayer film has total free shrink less than 10%, total free shrink accounting for sum of free shrink in MD and TD. (Id. ¶¶ 0011 and 0182).
Considering claim 9, while haze is not disclosed, given the substantially similar materials and processes used to form the multilayer film, the multilayer film of Thomas (or Thomas and Kong) is expected to exhibit low level of haze. Furthermore, the only multilayer film disclosed to exhibit any noticeable level of haze is one containing a curl layer containing a mixture of HDPE and styrene-butadiene. (Id. ¶ 0189). However, it can be inferred from this characterization that haze is generally not ideal and should be lowered. Silence of a reference on a quantitative limitation when the reference discloses the general characteristic is not deemed to support patentability unless there is evidence indicating such quantitative limitation is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. (MPEP 2144.05 II.A.)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas per se or Thomas further in view of Kong, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. 2013/0156900 A1 (“Ranganathan”).
Considering claim 3, although Thomas discloses outside skin layer containing various polyethylene materials, Thomas does not disclose usage of polypropylene-based polymer. However, usage of polypropylene material is well-known for an outermost layer of a multilayered packaging film, as polypropylene is a material known in the art for withstanding mechanical abuse. (Ranganathan ¶ 0054). It would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention to have use polypropylene-based polymer for the outside skin layer of Thomas for its resistance to mechanical abuse. Alternatively, Ranganathan shows that polypropylene is functionally equivalent to the various polyethylene materials used in the outside skin layer of Thomas, and it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention to have used polypropylene-based polymer in lieu of the polyethylene-based polymer material, as Ranganathan is considered to have shown the two types of closely related polymers as functional equivalents.
Concluding Remarks
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781