DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Pre-Amendment filed on Nov. 11, 2024.
Claims 1-2, 4, 11, 14-15, 21, 28, 32-33, 37, 45-46. 48, 57-59, 125 and 130 have been amended.
Claims 3, 5-10, 12-13, 16, 18-20, 22-27, 29-31, 34-36, 38-44, 47, 49-56, 60-124, 126-129 and 131-132 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 11, 14-15, 17, 21, 28, 32-33, 37, 45-46, 48, 57-59, 125 and 130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (2024/0276217).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for key management in a roaming scenario performed by a proxy entity in a serving network (see fig.6, element AKMA API, paragraphs [0043], [0128] and its description) the method comprising: receiving an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identifier and an application function (AF) identifier from an AF, wherein the AKMA key identifier is used to indicate an AKMA key of a terminal, and the AF identifier is used to indicate the AF (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 1b-3, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0128] and its description); and feeding back AKMA application key information of the AF to the AF (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 6-7, paragraphs [0043], [0133-0134] and its description).
Regarding claim 2, Wang further discloses wherein the AKMA application key information of the AF is generated by the proxy entity in the serving network; or the AKMA application key information of the AF is generated by an AKMA anchor function (AAnF) in a home network, and the method further comprises: sending the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier to the AAnF in the home network; and receiving the AKMA application key information of the AF sent by the AAnF in the home network; wherein sending the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier to the AAnF in the home network comprises: sending a third key acquisition request to the AAnF in the home network, wherein the third key acquisition request carries the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier (see abstract, fig.6, paragraphs [0128-0129] and its description).
Regarding claim 4, Wang further discloses wherein receiving the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier from the AF comprises: receiving a first key acquisition request sent by the AF, wherein the first key acquisition request carries the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier; wherein feeding back AKMA application key information of the AF to the AF comprises: sending a first key acquisition response to the AF, wherein the first key acquisition response carries the AKMA application key information of the AF; wherein the proxy entity is a part of a network exposure function (NEF) in the serving network; or wherein receiving the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier from the AF comprises: receiving a second key acquisition request sent by the network exposure function (NEF) in the serving network, wherein the second key acquisition request is a key acquisition request sent by the NEF in the serving network after receiving the first key acquisition request sent by the AF, wherein both the first key acquisition request and the second key acquisition request carry the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier; wherein feeding back AKMA application key information of the AF to the AF comprises: sending a second key acquisition response to the NEF in the serving network, wherein the second key acquisition response is used to trigger the NEF to send the first key acquisition response to the AF, wherein both the first key acquisition response and the second key acquisition response carry the AKMA application key information of the AF; wherein the proxy entity is an entity different from the NEF in the serving network (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 1b-3, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0128] and its description).
Regarding claim 11, Wang further discloses wherein the AKMA application key information of the AF or the AKMA application key information of the AF carried in a second key acquisition response comprises at least one of the following information: an AKMA application key of the AF; an expiration time of the AKMA application key; a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the terminal; or an error response; or wherein the AKMA application key information of the AF or the AKMA application key information of the AF carried in a first key acquisition response comprises at least one of the following information: an AKMA application key of the AF; an expiration time of the AKMA application key; a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the terminal; or an error response; wherein the AF is a non-trusted application function outside a 3GPP operator domain (see abstract, fig.6, paragraphs [0128-0129] and its description).
Regarding claim 45, Wang further discloses a method for key management in the roaming scenario performed by an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) anchor function (AAnF), the method comprising: receiving an AKMA key identifier and an application function (AF) identifier from the proxy entity in the serving network, wherein the AKMA key identifier is used to indicate the AKMA key of the terminal, and the AF identifier is used to indicate the AF; getting an AKMA application key of the AF based on Tehama key indicated by the AKMA key identifier; and sending AKMA application key information of the AF to the proxy entity in the serving network, and cause the proxy entity to performs the step of feeding back AKMA application key information of the AF to the AF (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 1b-3, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0134] and its description).
Regarding claim 46, Wang further discloses wherein the method further comprises: determining whether an AAnF in a home network provides a service to the AF and the proxy entity in the serving network according to authorization information or policy, wherein generating, in a case that the AKMA key of the terminal is stored in the AAnF of the home network, the AKMA application key of the AF based on the AKMA key of the terminal comprises: generating, in a case that the AKMA key of the terminal is stored in the AAnF of the home network and the AAnF in the home network provides a service to the AF and the proxy entity in the serving network, the AKMA application key of the AF based on the AKMA key of the terminal; the authorization information or policy is provided by a local policy or a network repository function (NRF) in the home network (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 1b-3, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0134] and its description).
Regarding claim 48, Wang further discloses wherein receiving the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier comprises: receiving a third key acquisition request sent by the proxy entity in the serving network, wherein the third key acquisition request is triggered and sent by the proxy entity upon receiving a second key acquisition request, and the second key acquisition request is triggered and sent by a network exposure function (NEF) in the serving network upon receiving a first key acquisition request from the AF, wherein the first key acquisition request, the second key acquisition request and the third key acquisition request all carry the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier; wherein sending the AKMA application key information of the AF comprises: sending a third key acquisition response to the proxy entity in the serving network, wherein the third key acquisition response is used to trigger the proxy entity to send a second key acquisition response to the NEF, and the second key acquisition response is used to trigger the NEF to send a first key acquisition response to the AF, wherein the first key acquisition response, the second key acquisition response and the third key acquisition response all carry the AKMA application key information of the AF; wherein the proxy entity is an entity different from the NEF in the serving network; or; wherein receiving the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier comprises: receiving a third key acquisition request sent by the proxy entity in the serving network, wherein the third key acquisition request is triggered and sent by the proxy entity upon receiving a first key acquisition request from the AF, wherein both the first key acquisition request and the third key acquisition request carry the AKMA key identifier and the AF identifier; wherein sending the AKMA application key information of the AF comprises: sending a third key acquisition response to the proxy entity in the serving network, wherein the third key acquisition response is used to trigger the proxy entity to send a first key acquisition response to the AF, wherein both the first key acquisition response and the third key acquisition response carry the AKMA application key information of the AF; wherein the proxy entity is a part of an NEF in the serving network (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 1b-3, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0134] and its description).
Regarding claim 57, Wang discloses a method for key management in a roaming scenario performed by a terminal (see abstract, fig.6, element UE, paragraph [0043 and its description), the method comprising: sending a serving network identifier and an authentication and key management for applications (AKMA) key identifier to an application function (AF), wherein the serving network identifier is used to trigger the AF to send the AKMA key identifier and an AF identifier to a proxy entity in a serving network in a case that the serving network identifier and a home network identifier are different (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, AKMA API steps 1b-3, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0128] and its description).
Regarding claim 58, Wang further discloses, wherein sending the serving network identifier to the AF comprises: sending an application session establishment request to the AF, wherein the application session establishment request carries the serving network identifier and the AKMA key identifier of the terminal (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, step 1b, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0128] and its description); wherein the method further comprises: receiving an application session establishment response from the AF wherein the method further comprises: getting an AKMA application key of the AF based on an AKMA key indicated by the AKMA key identifier (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, step 7, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0128] and its description).
Regarding claim 59, Wang further discloses wherein the application session establishment request comprises the AKMA key identifier, and the AKMA key identifier carries the serving network identifier of the terminal; or, the application session establishment request comprises the AKMA key identifier and the serving network identifier of the terminal; wherein the AF is a non-trusted application function outside a 3GPP service provider domain (see abstract, fig.6, elements UE, AF, step 1b, paragraphs [0043], [00124-0128] and its description).
Regarding claim 125, Wang further discloses and apparatus (see abstract, fig.14, elements 1400 paragraphs [0051], [0194] and its description), comprising: a memory that stores instructions (see abstract, fig.14, elements 1404 paragraphs [0051], [0194], [0197] and its description); one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the instructions when collectively executed by the one or more processors cause the apparatus to act as the proxy entity and perform the method according to claim 1 (see abstract, fig.14, elements 1402, 1404 paragraphs [0051], [0194], [0197-0198] and its description).
Regarding claim 130, Wang further discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores executable instructions, and the executable instructions when executed by a processor of the proxy entity, cause the proxy entity to perform the method according to claim fig.14, elements 1404, 1402, paragraphs [0051], [0194], [0197-0198], [0200] and its description).
Regarding claims 14-15, 17, 21, 28, 32-33 and 37 recite limitations substantially similar to claims 1-2, 4, 11, 45-46 and 48. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647