Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 12, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. (Patent No: US 2025/0016721 A1), hereinafter, Edge, in view of Chun et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0114441 A1), hereinafter, Chun.
Regarding Claim 1, Edge teaches,
An information processing method, performed by a first network element and comprising: determining, in response to determining that user equipment (UE) is to move out of a coverage range of a first access network based on ephemeris information, that the UE switches from accessing the first access network to accessing a second access network, wherein the first access network is a satellite access network; -Fig. 7A, 8; Paragraph [0022, 0119, 0121, 0136] ([0022] recites, “FIG. 7A illustrates an example of UEs that are in or out of coverage of an SV (e.g., satellite) at different times and at different locations.”[0119] recites, “In one embodiment, a gNB 106/202/307 that receives satellite coverage data from an O&M server or that calculates satellite coverage data from other data received from an O&M server (e.g. satellite orbital or ephemeris data and data on satellite cells) may broadcast satellite coverage data in each cell for locations in that cell as discussed for FIGS. 7A and 7B.” [0136] recites, “At 840, the entity 180 in the serving PLMN (e.g., the AMF 122 or an MME) may optionally also adopt various mechanisms to conserve power/resources while UE 115 is operating in the no coverage state. The entity 180 may determine that the UE 115 is in the no coverage state when time T1 occurs (e.g. when a timer in entity 180 associated with time T1 has expired). For example, entity 180 can determine time T1, which can be the same time T1 determined by UE 115, if entity 180 has sent time T1 to the UE 115 at 815 (e.g. in a NAS message), has received time T1 from UE 115 at 825 (e.g. in a NAS message), or has determined time T1 from satellite coverage data (e.g. the same satellite coverage data sent to UE 115 at 815) in the same way that UE 115 determines time T1 at 820. “ [0135] recites, “UE 115 (re)configuring a cell search scan for satellite RAT(s) and/or terrestrial RAT(s) by/at the AS layer of UE 115. The (re)configured cell search scan may include a shorter duration of cell scanning (e.g., cell scanning for shorter periods of time) and/or a longer interval between successive cell scans (e.g., cell scanning less often) than when UE 115 is operating in the coverage state. Another example, while in the no coverage state, includes the NAS layer or AS layer of UE 115 periodically (e.g. at 5 to 30 minute intervals) (re)activating support for some period (e.g. 5 seconds to 1 minute) for satellite RAT(s) and/or terrestrial RAT(s) followed by deactivating the support. This example may support UE 115 reacquiring satellite cell or TN cell availability due to UE 115 movement to a new location where satellite cell or TN cell coverage is available.” As described above, while in no coverage state from a satellite in a location, UE may switch access from the first satellite access to another satellite or Terrestrial Network (TN) coverage that is available.)
Although implicit, Edge does not explicitly mention,
and sending a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) to the UE, wherein the USRP instructs the UE to preferentially communicate based on the second access network.
However, in an analogous invention, Chun teaches,
and sending a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) to the UE, wherein the USRP instructs the UE to preferentially communicate based on the second access network. -Paragraph [0156] ([0156] recites, “At 1070, AMF #2 may obtain UE policy control information from the PCF. The PCF may provide an access network discovery and selection policy (ANDSP) to facilitate non-3GPP access. The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters. As an example, the URSP may indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application should be mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SUPPORT OF COVERAGE GAPS FOR SATELLITE ACCESS”
proposed by Edge to include the concept of “sending a user equipment route selection policy (URSP) to the UE, wherein the USRP instructs the UE to preferentially communicate based on the second access network.” of Chun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system efficiency by signaling enhancement for network access information [0216].
Regarding Claim 6, Edge and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Edge does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein before sending the URSP to the UE, the method further comprises: sending a request message to a third network element, wherein the request message requests the third network element to formulate the URSP according to the second access network; and receiving the URSP from the third network element.
However, in an analogous invention, Chun teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein before sending the URSP to the UE, the method further comprises: sending a request message to a third network element, wherein the request message requests the third network element to formulate the URSP according to the second access network; and receiving the URSP from the third network element. -Fig. 10 (1070), Paragraph [0156]([0156] recites, “At 1070, AMF #2 may obtain UE policy control information from the PCF. The PCF may provide an access network discovery and selection policy (ANDSP) to facilitate non-3GPP access. The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters. As an example, the URSP may indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application should be mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP).” As described above, the second network element AMF sends request to third network element PCF and receives URSP from PCF)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SUPPORT OF COVERAGE GAPS FOR SATELLITE ACCESS”
proposed by Edge to include the concept of “sending a request message to a third network element, wherein the request message requests the third network element to formulate the URSP according to the second access network; and receiving the URSP from the third network element.” of Chun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system efficiency by signaling enhancement for network access information [0216].
Regarding Claim 7, Edge and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Edge does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the URSP to the UE, comprises: sending, before the UE moves out of the coverage range of the first access network, a switching instruction to trigger the UE to switch to accessing the second access network; and sending, after the UE accesses the second access network, the URSP to the UE.
However, in an analogous invention, Chun teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the URSP to the UE, comprises: sending, before the UE moves out of the coverage range of the first access network, a switching instruction to trigger the UE to switch to accessing the second access network; -Paragraph [0317] ([0317] recites, “ For example, based on that the mobility assistance information comprise the information of the detected networks, the NG-RAN may determine to handover the UE to a target network. For example, the target network may be a network indicated in the information of detect networks (e.g., the second network). For example, to handover the UE to the target network (e.g., the second network), the NG-RAN may send a RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message). The RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) may comprise information of the target network, indicating the UE to access a cell of the target network….”)
and sending, after the UE accesses the second access network, the URSP to the UE. -Paragraph [0153, 0156] ([0153] recites, “The access and mobility policies may include a UE route selection policy (URSP)) that influences routing to an established PDU session or a new PDU session…” [0156] recites, “The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SUPPORT OF COVERAGE GAPS FOR SATELLITE ACCESS”
proposed by Edge to include the concept of “sending, before the UE moves out of the coverage range of the first access network, a switching instruction to trigger the UE to switch to accessing the second access network; and sending, after the UE accesses the second access network, the URSP to the UE.” of Chun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system efficiency by signaling enhancement for network access information [0216].
Regarding Claim 8, Edge and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 7.
Although implicit, Edge does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving a second registration request sent by the UE through the second access network, wherein the second registration request is a registration request sent by the UE through the second access network according to the URSP; and sending a second registration response to the UE.
However, in an analogous invention, Chun teaches,
The method of claim 7, further comprising: receiving a second registration request sent by the UE through the second access network, wherein the second registration request is a registration request sent by the UE through the second access network according to the URSP; and sending a second registration response to the UE. -Paragraph [0156, 0205] ([0156] recites, “The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters. As an example, the URSP may indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application should be mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP).” [0205] recites, “If a cell of the selected network is not available and/or if the UE fails to register to the selected network, the UE may select a second network (e.g., a second prioritized network) among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. The UE may search one or more cells of the second network, and/or may attempt registration to the second network.” As explained, UE might send registration request to the second network according to the URSP and receive a response indicating allowed or not.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SUPPORT OF COVERAGE GAPS FOR SATELLITE ACCESS”
proposed by Edge to include the concept of “receiving a second registration request sent by the UE through the second access network, wherein the second registration request is a registration request sent by the UE through the second access network according to the URSP; and sending a second registration response to the UE” of Chun. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve system efficiency by signaling enhancement for network access information [0216].
Regarding Claim 9, Edge and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 8.
Edge further teaches,
The method of claim 8, further comprising: storing an access type of the second access network in a correspondence with a network element identifier of the first network element in a second network element. -Paragraph [0077, 0098] ([0077] recites, “FIG. 3 illustrates an example of a diagram of a communication system 300 that may be capable of supporting satellite access using 5G NR or some other wireless access type such as CDMA, according to an embodiment” [0098] recites, “An SV 102, 202, 302 may broadcast, e.g., in a System Information Block type 1 (SIB1) or SIB type 2 (SIB2), the identities (IDs) of supported PLMNs (e.g., where a PLMN ID comprises a Mobile Country Code (MCC) and Mobile Network Code (MNC)) and, for each supported PLMN, the IDs of supported TAs (e.g., where the ID of a TA comprises a Tracking Area Code (TAC)). For an NGEO SV, the supported PLMNs and TAs may change as satellite cell coverage areas change. An gNB 106/202/307 may determine PLMN and TA support (and thus the PLMN IDs and TACs which are broadcast in a SIB for each satellite cell) from known ephemeris data for each SV 102/202/302 and a known directionality and angular range for component satellite beams for each satellite cell (e.g., Cell 1 and Cell 2). A gNB 106/202/307 may then update SIB broadcasting.” As described above there is one to one correspondence between access type and network element ID (e.g., PLMN ID etc.))
Regarding Claim 12, Edge and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 8.
Edge further teaches,
The method of claim 8, further comprising: performing, after the UE accesses the second access network, deregistration on the UE accessing through the first access network;
or changing, after the UE moves out of the coverage range of the first access network, a state of the UE accessing the first access network to an idle state. -Fig. 8, Paragraph [0136] ([0136] recites, “For example, entity 180 can determine time T1, which can be the same time T1 determined by UE 115, if entity 180 has sent time T1 to the UE 115 at 815 (e.g. in a NAS message), has received time T1 from UE 115 at 825 (e.g. in a NAS message), or has determined time T1 from satellite coverage data (e.g. the same satellite coverage data sent to UE 115 at 815) in the same way that UE 115 determines time T1 at 820. Entity 180 (e.g. a NAS layer in entity 180) may then assume that UE 115 is in the no coverage state following time T1 (e.g. if UE 115 does not have a signaling connection to entity 180 at time T1). Optionally, if UE 115 has a signaling connection to entity 180 at time T1, entity 180 may, following time T1, wait for an indication (e.g. an NGAP message sent by the gNB 106/202/307 to entity 180) that UE 115 is no longer connected to entity 180 and is in an Idle state, after which entity 180 may assume that UE 115 has entered a no coverage state.”)
Claim 29 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Edge further teaches,
A communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory, and an executable program stored in the memory and capable of being executed by the processor. -Paragraph [0180] ([0180] recites, “FIG. 12 shows a block diagram 1200 of a device 1205 that supports coverage gaps for satellite access in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 1205 may be an example of aspects of a device 1105 or a UE 115 as described herein. The device 1205 may include a receiver 1210, a transmitter 1215, and a communications manager 1220. The device 1205 may also include a processor. Each of these components may be in communication with one another (e.g., via one or more buses). “)
Claim 30 is essentially same as Claim 29, which is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 1 above which is rejected. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
Edge further teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an executable program -Paragraph [0010] ([0010] recites, “Certain aspects relate to a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform operations.”)
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Chun, and further in view of WANG et al. (PATENT NO: CN 110972217 A), hereinafter, WANG.
Regarding Claim 2, Edge and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Edge further teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein before determining, that the UE switches from accessing the first access network to accessing the second access network, the method further comprises: receiving a first registration request sent by the UE through the first access network, wherein the first registration request -Fig. 8 (825); Paragraph [0131] ([0131] recites, “…. For example, UE 115 may transmit the indication in one or more NAS layer messages to entity 180 via SV 102/202/302 and gNB 106/202/307. The NAS layer message may comprise a NAS Registration Request when entity 180 is an AMF 122…” Although not explicitly mentioned, however, it is easily understood to an ordinary person with the skill in the art and obvious that in response to registration request from the UE, AMF sends registration response to UE.)
Although implicit, and easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art, Edge does not explicitly mention,
access capability information indicating an access capability of the UE;
However, in an analogous invention, WANG teaches,
access capability information indicating an access capability of the UE; -Page 1, Paragraph 3 (recites, “In this scene, carrying the third indication information indicating that the UE has access to satellite base station capability if the UE in idle state sends a registration request to the core network, the core network the registration successful information of the feedback carrying the core network according to the third indication information determined by allowing or not allowing the UE to access the fourth indication information of said satellite base station, so that the UE performing idle cell selection according to the fourth indication information, for example, the fourth indication information to allow the UE to access information of the satellite base station. the UE can select access to satellite base station; “)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SUPPORT OF COVERAGE GAPS FOR SATELLITE ACCESS”
proposed by Edge to include the concept of “registration request comprises access capability information indicating an access capability of the UE” of WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to inform the UE satellite access capability to the core network during registration process.
Regarding Claim 3, Edge, Chun, and WANG teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Edge further teaches,
The method of claim 2, wherein the access capability information indicates that the UE supports at least one of: an access manner based on low earth orbit (LEO) satellite access, an access manner based on medium earth orbit (MEO) satellite access, an access manner based on geosynchronous earth orbit (GEO) satellite access, an access manner based on new radio (NR) access, or an access manner based on long term evolution (LTE) access. -Paragraph [0094] ([0094] recites, “As illustrated in FIG. 5, an area 505 may include a number of Earth fixed cells 502, as well as fixed tracking areas (TAs) such as TA 506. Fixed cells are not “real cells,” e.g., as used for terrestrial NR and LTE access, and may be referred to as “virtual cells” or “geographic cells.” A fixed cell, such as fixed cells 502, has a fixed geographic coverage area, which may be defined by a PLMN operator. For example, the coverage area of a fixed cell or a fixed TA may comprise the interior of a circle, ellipse or a polygon. The coverage area is fixed relative to the surface of the Earth and does not change with time, unlike the coverage area of a satellite cell which typically changes with time for a LEO or MEO SV. A fixed cell 502 may be treated by a 5GCN 110 the same as a real cell that supports terrestrial NR access. Groups of fixed cells 502 may define a fixed TA 506, which may be treated by a 5GCN the same as TAs that are defined for terrestrial NR access. Fixed cells and fixed TAs used for 5G satellite wireless access may be used by a 5GCN 110 to support mobility management and regulatory services for UEs 115 with minimal new impact.” As explained above the UE capability may have LEO, MEO, GEO, or terrestrial LTE based access.)
Regarding Claim 4, Edge, Chun, and WANG teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Edge further teaches,
The method of claim 2, further comprising: storing an access type of the first access network in a correspondence with a network element identifier of the first network element in a second network element. -Paragraph [0077, 0098] ([0077] recites, “FIG. 3 illustrates an example of a diagram of a communication system 300 that may be capable of supporting satellite access using 5G NR or some other wireless access type such as CDMA, according to an embodiment” [0098] recites, “An SV 102, 202, 302 may broadcast, e.g., in a System Information Block type 1 (SIB1) or SIB type 2 (SIB2), the identities (IDs) of supported PLMNs (e.g., where a PLMN ID comprises a Mobile Country Code (MCC) and Mobile Network Code (MNC)) and, for each supported PLMN, the IDs of supported TAs (e.g., where the ID of a TA comprises a Tracking Area Code (TAC)). For an NGEO SV, the supported PLMNs and TAs may change as satellite cell coverage areas change. An gNB 106/202/307 may determine PLMN and TA support (and thus the PLMN IDs and TACs which are broadcast in a SIB for each satellite cell) from known ephemeris data for each SV 102/202/302 and a known directionality and angular range for component satellite beams for each satellite cell (e.g., Cell 1 and Cell 2). A gNB 106/202/307 may then update SIB broadcasting.” As described above there is one to one correspondence between access type and network element ID (e.g., PLMN ID etc.))
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge, in view of Chun, and further in view of Xu et al. (Patent No: US 2021/0250816 A1), hereinafter, Xu.
Regarding Claim 5, Edge, and Chun teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, Edge does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 1, wherein determining, that the UE switches from accessing the first access network to accessing a second access network, comprises: determining the second access network according to access capability information of the UE and location information of the UE;
or determining the second access network according to access capability information of the UE, location information of the UE, and at least one of: network information of an access network subscribed by the UE, or ephemeris information of a satellite access network subscribed by the UE.
However, in an analogous invention, Xu teaches,
or determining the second access network according to access capability information of the UE, location information of the UE, and at least one of: network information of an access network subscribed by the UE, or ephemeris information of a satellite access network subscribed by the UE. -Paragraph [0034, 0127, 0130] ([0034] recites, “systems, devices, and apparatuses that support communication and HO operations in wireless systems, such as an NTN. To illustrate, the UE may perform a registration process with a network entity of NTN to access the NTN. Additionally, the UE may transmit the location data, the capability information, the mobility information, or a combination thereof, to the network entity..” [0127] recites, “Referring to FIG. 4, the HO calculator 471 may be configured to generate target HO time 458 based on one or more capabilities (e.g., capability information 407) of UE 115. For example, the HO calculator 471 may determine the target HO time 458 based on a HO delay associated with a particular type, such as a mechanically steered type or an electronically steered type, of UE 115.” [0130] recites, “The report request may notify to the UE of when to take a measurement (e.g., before, after, or during a HO procedure), a beam to be measured, a time for the measurement, a time to report the measurement (e.g., within an amount of time after the HO), or a combination thereof. The designated measurement time should be a function of the beam geometry and UE location.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “SUPPORT OF COVERAGE GAPS FOR SATELLITE ACCESS”
proposed by Edge to include the concept of “determining the second access network according to access capability information of the UE, location information of the UE, and at least one of: network information of an access network subscribed by the UE, or ephemeris information of a satellite access network subscribed by the UE.” of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve on its estimate of optimal HO time and apply to future HO directives [0113].
Claims 13-15, 17-18, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun in view of Edge.
Regarding Claim 13, Chun teaches,
An information processing method, performed by user equipment (UE) and comprising: receiving a user equipment route selection policy (URSP), wherein the USRP instructs the UE to preferentially communicate based on a second access network; and communicating through the second access network according to the URSP, wherein the second access network is a network accessed by the UE before the UE moves out of a coverage range of a first access network, wherein the first access network is a satellite access network.
An information processing method, performed by user equipment (UE) and comprising: receiving a user equipment route selection policy (URSP), wherein the USRP instructs the UE to preferentially communicate based on a second access network; -Paragraph [0156, 0204] ([0156] recites, “At 1070, AMF #2 may obtain UE policy control information from the PCF. The PCF may provide an access network discovery and selection policy (ANDSP) to facilitate non-3GPP access. The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters. As an example, the URSP may indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application should be mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP). [0204] recites, “For the determination of the one or more candidate networks, the UE may use a selection list of networks, an information of a home network of the UE, and/or the like. The selection list of networks may comprise information of one or more networks, may indicate priority information of the one or more networks, and/or may comprise information of one or more access technologies for the one or more networks. For example, the one or more information of the one or more access technologies may comprise one or more identifiers (e.g., NG-RAN, satellite NG-RAN, E-UTRAN (WB-S1 mode), E-UTRAN (NB-S1 mode), UTRAN, GERAN, GERAN EC-GSM-IoT) of the one or more access technologies.
and communicating through the second access network according to the URSP, wherein the second access network is a network accessed by the UE before the UE moves out of a coverage range of a first access network, 17 depicts an example implementation in which a UE moves from a location A to a location C via a location B…..For example, the first hosting network may allow the UE to use a connectivity service from the first hosting network, and/or the second hosting network may not allow the UE to use a connectivity service from the second hosting network….In an example, as the UE moves from the location A to the location B, the UE may need to change from the connectivity with the serving network to the connectivity with the first hosting network. For the change of the connectivity from the serving network to the first hosting network, the UE may need to perform measurement of one or more cells of the first hosting network, and/or a NG-RAN of the serving network may need measurement result reported by the UE. Based on the measurement, the UE may determine to select the first hosting network and/or the NG-RAN may determine to handover the UE to the first hosting network.” [0220] recites, “For example, the UE may select a network, based on one or more associated with one or more detected cells. For example, based on activation information of the network access information, the UE may determine when and/or where to use the network access information and/or the list of networks. Based on the network access information, the UE may trigger search of one or more cells of one or more networks indicated by the list of networks. Based on the activation information of the network access information, the UE may switch from using a first network access information to a second network access information.”)
Although implicit, Chun does not explicitly mention,
wherein the first access network is a satellite access network.
However, in an analogous invention Edge teaches,
wherein the first access network is a satellite access network. -Fig. 7A, 8, 19; Paragraph [0240] (Fig. 7A shows UE moving in and out of satellite coverage (first access network is a satellite access network).Paragraph [0240] recites, “FIG. 19 shows a flowchart illustrating a method 1900 that supports satellite wireless access by a user equipment (e.g. a UE 115) to a serving public land mobile network (PLMN) (e.g. a 5GCN 110) with discontinuous satellite coverage…”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Network Access Management” proposed by Chun to include the concept of “wherein the first access network is a satellite access network.” of Edge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improvements in support for coverage areas [0035].
Regarding Claim 14, Chun and Edge teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Chun further teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein receiving the URSP, comprises: receiving, before the UE moves out of the coverage range of the first access network, the URSP through the first access network. -Paragraph [0153] ([0153] recites, “For example, access and mobility policies may relate to service area restrictions, RAT/frequency selection priority (RFSP, where RAT stands for radio access technology), authorization and prioritization of access type (e.g., LTE versus NR), and/or selection of non-3GPP access (e.g., Access Network Discovery and Selection Policy (ANDSP)). The service area restrictions may comprise a list of tracking areas where the UE is allowed to be served (or forbidden from being served). The access and mobility policies may include a UE route selection policy (URSP)) that influences routing to an established PDU session or a new PDU session. As noted above, different policies may be obtained and/or enforced based on subscription data of the UE, location of the UE (i.e., location of the AN and/or AMF), or other suitable factors.” As the name suggests UE route selection policy, is used by the UE to select the route to establish data session. And, it is sent while UE is in coverage range, so that it can decide on the probable route when it is out of the coverage range.)
Regarding Claim 15, Chun and Edge teach the limitations of Claim 14.
Chun further teaches,
The method of claim 14, wherein communicating through the second access network according to the URSP, comprises: sending, according to the URSP, a second registration request to a first network element through the second access network; accessing the second access network, in response to receiving a second registration response for the second registration request; -Paragraph [0156, 0205] ([0156] recites, “The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters. As an example, the URSP may indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application should be mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP).” [0205] recites, “If a cell of the selected network is not available and/or if the UE fails to register to the selected network, the UE may select a second network (e.g., a second prioritized network) among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. The UE may search one or more cells of the second network, and/or may attempt registration to the second network.” As explained, UE might send registration request to the second network according to the URSP and receive a response indicating allowed or not.)
and communicating through the second access network. -Paragraph [0317] ([0317] recites, “…For example, based on that the mobility assistance information comprise the information of the detected networks, the NG-RAN may determine to handover the UE to a target network. For example, the target network may be a network indicated in the information of detect networks (e.g., the second network). For example, to handover the UE to the target network (e.g., the second network), the NG-RAN may send a RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message). “)
Regarding Claim 17, Chun and Edge teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Chun further teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein receiving the URSP, comprises: receiving a switching instruction; sending, according to the switching instruction, a second registration request to a first network element through the second access network; accessing the second access network, in response to receiving a second registration response for the second registration request; -Paragraph [0156, 0205, 0317] ([0317] recites, “For example, based on that the mobility assistance information comprise the information of the detected networks, the NG-RAN may determine to handover the UE to a target network. For example, the target network may be a network indicated in the information of detect networks (e.g., the second network). For example, to handover the UE to the target network (e.g., the second network), the NG-RAN may send a RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message). The RRC message (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message) may comprise information of the target network, indicating the UE to access a cell of the target network….” [0156] recites, “The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters. As an example, the URSP may indicate that data traffic associated with a particular application should be mapped to a particular SSC mode, network slice, PDU session type, or preferred access type (3GPP or non-3GPP).” [0205] recites, “If a cell of the selected network is not available and/or if the UE fails to register to the selected network, the UE may select a second network (e.g., a second prioritized network) among the one or more networks indicated by the list of the networks. The UE may search one or more cells of the second network, and/or may attempt registration to the second network.” As explained, UE might send registration request to the second network according to the URSP and receive a response indicating allowed or not.)
and receiving the URSP through the second access network. -Paragraph [0153, 0156] ([0153] recites, “The access and mobility policies may include a UE route selection policy (URSP)) that influences routing to an established PDU session or a new PDU session…” [0156] recites, “The PCF may provide a UE route selection policy (URSP) to facilitate mapping of particular data traffic to particular PDU session connectivity parameters…”)
Regarding Claim 18, Chun and Edge teach the limitations of Claim 17.
Chun further teaches,
The method of claim 17, further comprising: initiating, after the UE accesses the second access network, deregistration on the UE accessing through the first access network; -Paragraph [0140] ([0140] recites, “For example, if the UE leaves one tracking area and enters another tracking area, the UE may provide a tracking area identifier to the network. The network may deregister the UE, or the UE may deregister itself (deregistration 954).”)
or changing, after the UE accesses the second access network, a state of the UE accessing the first access network to an idle state.
Claim 31 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 13. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 13 above which is rejected. Claim 31 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 13.
Chun further teaches,
A communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory, and an executable program stored in the memory and capable of being executed by the processor, -Claim 8 (recites, “A wireless device comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:”)
Claim 32 is the apparatus claim corresponding to method claim 13. The applicant’s attention is directed towards Claim 13 above which is rejected. Claim 32 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 13.
Chun further teaches,
A non-transitory computer storage medium storing an executable program, -Paragraph [0183] ([0183] recites, “The wireless device 1310 may comprise a processing system 1311 and a memory 1312. The memory 1312 may comprise one or more computer-readable media, for example, one or more non-transitory computer readable media…”)
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun in view of Edge and further in view of WANG.
Regarding Claim 19, Chun and Edge teach the limitations of Claim 13.
Although implicit, Chun does not explicitly mention,
The method of claim 13, wherein before receiving the URSP, the method further comprises: sending a first registration request through the first access network, wherein the first registration request comprises access capability information of the UE; and wherein the access capability information indicates that the UE supports at least one of: an access manner based on low earth orbit (LEO) satellite access; an access manner based on medium earth orbit (MEO) satellite access; an access manner based on geosynchronous earth orbit (GEO) satellite access; an access manner based on new radio (NR) access; or an access manner based on long term evolution (LTE) access.
However, in an analogous invention, Edge teaches,
The method of claim 13, wherein before receiving the URSP, the method further comprises: sending a first registration request through the first access network, wherein the first registration request -Fig. 8 (825); Paragraph [0131] ([0131] recites, “…. For example, UE 115 may transmit the indication in one or more NAS layer messages to entity 180 via SV 102/202/302 and gNB 106/202/307. The NAS layer message may comprise a NAS Registration Request when entity 180 is an AMF 122…”)
and wherein the access capability information indicates that the UE supports at least one of: an access manner based on low earth orbit (LEO) satellite access; an access manner based on medium earth orbit (MEO) satellite access; an access manner based on geosynchronous earth orbit (GEO) satellite access; an access manner based on new radio (NR) access; or an access manner based on long term evolution (LTE) access. -Paragraph [0094] ([0094] recites, “As illustrated in FIG. 5, an area 505 may include a number of Earth fixed cells 502, as well as fixed tracking areas (TAs) such as TA 506. Fixed cells are not “real cells,” e.g., as used for terrestrial NR and LTE access, and may be referred to as “virtual cells” or “geographic cells.” A fixed cell, such as fixed cells 502, has a fixed geographic coverage area, which may be defined by a PLMN operator. For example, the coverage area of a fixed cell or a fixed TA may comprise the interior of a circle, ellipse or a polygon. The coverage area is fixed relative to the surface of the Earth and does not change with time, unlike the coverage area of a satellite cell which typically changes with time for a LEO or MEO SV. A fixed cell 502 may be treated by a 5GCN 110 the same as a real cell that supports terrestrial NR access. Groups of fixed cells 502 may define a fixed TA 506, which may be treated by a 5GCN the same as TAs that are defined for terrestrial NR access. Fixed cells and fixed TAs used for 5G satellite wireless access may be used by a 5GCN 110 to support mobility management and regulatory services for UEs 115 with minimal new impact.” As explained above the UE capability may have LEO, MEO, GEO, or terrestrial LTE based access.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Network Access Management” proposed by Chun to include the concept of “sending a first registration request through the first access network, wherein the first registration request of Edge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improvements in support for coverage areas [0035].
Although implicit, Chun does not explicitly mention,
registration request comprises access capability information of the UE
However, in an analogous invention, WANG teaches,
registration request comprises access capability information of the UE. -Page 1, Paragraph 3 (recites, “In this scene, carrying the third indication information indicating that the UE has access to satellite base station capability if the UE in idle state sends a registration request to the core network, the core network the registration successful information of the feedback carrying the core network according to the third indication information determined by allowing or not allowing the UE to access the fourth indication information of said satellite base station, so that the UE performing idle cell selection according to the fourth indication information, for example, the fourth indication information to allow the UE to access information of the satellite base station. the UE can select access to satellite base station; “)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Network Access Management” proposed by Chun to include the concept of “registration request comprises access capability information of the UE”
of WANG. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to inform the UE satellite access capability to the core network during registration process.
Conclusion
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475