Response to Arguments
Arguments filed 22 September 2026 have been fully considered. With regard to claim 1, the Office inadvertently placed the claim language of claim 10 opposite the Littlewood citations which were meant for claim 1. Therefore a new rejection has been issued correcting the typographical error. As to the Drawing objection and 112a rejection. The Office disagrees with applicant. There is nothing in the disclosure or figures that reasonably conveys that “the protrusion is inserted into at least one of the plurality of holes of the back cover to restrict upward movement of the bracket”. In fact, [0085] of applicant’s PG Pub specifically states that “bracket 100 may be moved upward and may be separated from the back cover 60. That is, the bracket 100 may be moved in the up-down direction…”. Inserting a protrusion in the vertical direction does not prevent/restrict the upward movement of the bracket. Applicant’s [0081] and Fig. 16 do not reasonably convey such restriction – as required by claim 10. As such, the object and rejection stand. As to the fastening members of Littlewood, bolts/screws are known to have a head larger than the neck portion, thus when mounted into a mounting hole the keyhole of the bracket may be slid over the larger portion of the hole and in a downward direction to secure the horizontal movement of the bracket. Such is clear to one of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant refers to clamping and tightening of a screw/bolt. Applicant is reminded the breadth claims do not require, limit, nor prevent the such geometry. As to the “plate 14”, the inner side of the bracket is at 14 that faces the display device, thus being “inner”. 26 protrudes from the side of 14 and faces the rear surface of the back cover (rear of the display). This clear in Fig. 1-6 of Littlewood. As to claims 2, 4 and 5 – each element of the bracket in Littlewood is three-dimensional and has a thickness. Thus has protrusions in the directions as described in the claims. As to claims 11 and 12 in light of Huang, the rear surface of display 1 of Huang can bee seen in Fig. 5 at 36. The groove is in leg at 32 below cover member and extends through body 34 ending at 342. The structural relationship between the bracket location and legs for Littlewood as modified by Huang would be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art, as Littlewood discloses the bracket is to be mounted on mounting holes in the center rear of the display. Huang discloses legs of the display on the left and right of rear mounting holes – also in the center rear of the display. Thus to one of ordinary skill in the art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges of placing the shelf between the back cover and distal end of the second leg such that the display can be stabilized as close to a wall or object behind the display, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed (as shown above), involves only routine skill in the art. As to Cho, applicant is individually attacking the references and is not considering the combination of references. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As pointed out in the previous rejection [0137] shows the use of digital printing. Cho is in the field of the endeavor as each disclose a display device.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a protrusion protruding downward from one end of the fixing body, and wherein the protrusion is inserted into at least one of the plurality of holes of the back cover to restrict upward movement of the bracket” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation of “a protrusion protruding downward from one end of the fixing body, and wherein the protrusion is inserted into at least one of the plurality of holes of the back cover to restrict upward movement of the bracket” does not appear to be shown or described in the specification. Applicant’s Fig. 16 and [0081] are unclear as to how the claimed restriction of the “upward movement of the bracket” is taught. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Littlewood (GB 2505500)
Regarding claim 1, Littlewood disclose:
A display device comprising: a display panel; a back cover located at a rear of the display panel; and a bracket which is located at a rear of the back cover, and detachably coupled to the back cover, wherein the bracket comprises: a plate arranged parallel to the back cover; and a shelf extending in a forward direction from the plate, wherein the back cover comprises a mounting hole formed through the back cover, and to which a fastening member is fixedly coupled (see Fig. 1-8; display panel 12; back cover (rear of display); bracket 10 detachable coupled; bracket has plate 14 parallel to back cover; shelf 16 extending into a forward direction from the plate; back cover comprises mounting hole (pg. 8, ln 7-10); and fastening member fixedly coupled (e.g., bolt/screw)
wherein the bracket further comprises a coupling portion including a slot, wherein the bracket is configured to be slidably coupled to the back cover by a downward movement of the bracket such that the slot of the coupling portion is guided over and spanned over both a head and a neck of the fastening member, and wherein forward and rearward movement of the bracket is restricted by the coupling portion after the bracket is spanned over the fastening member (see Fig. 1-8, pg. 8, ln. 7-17; bracket 10 has coupling portions 14 with slot 30 to slidable couple to back cover with a downward motion overhead/neck of fastening member where forward/rear movement is restricted).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Littlewood further disclose:
the bracket protrudes from an inner side of the plate toward the back cover, and faces a rear surface of the back cover, and wherein the slot is opened to; a first surface facing the back cover and a second surface connecting the first surface and the plate and facing downward (see Fig. 1-8; bracket 10 protrudes at 26 from inner side of plate 14 to face rear surface of back cover, where slot 30 is open to a first surface at 22, facing back cover and second surface (inside 30) facing downward, connecting first surface to plate (outward surface))
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Littlewood further disclose:
the coupling portion comprises a guide portion which protrudes along a boundary of the slot, wherein the head of the fastening member overlaps with the guide portion in a forward/rearward direction (see Fig. 6; pg. 8, ln. 7-17; guide portion30 (top of key hole) where fastening member overlaps top of key hole to secure bracket)
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Littlewood further disclose:
the guide portion includes at least two guide portions, wherein the coupling portion further comprises a third surface connecting the first surface and the plate and facing the second surface, and wherein a distance between the at least two guide portions increases in a direction from the third surface toward the second surface (see Fig. 5-6; two guide portions 30 on left and right posts at 14; third surface (inside 30 at bottom); where keyhole shape of shield portions increase distance in direction from third to second surface (upward)).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Littlewood further disclose:
the bracket has a smaller area than the display panel, and wherein the bracket faces a central portion of the display panel with respect to the back cover (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Littlewood in view of Chang (US 2008.0186669).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Littlewood is not explicit as to, but Chang further disclose:
the mounting hole comprises: a pair of first mounting holes spaced apart from each other in a left-right direction, and a pair of second mounting holes spaced apart from each other in a left-right direction, the pair of second mounting holes located below the pair of first mounting holes, and wherein the coupling portion comprises a first coupling portion and a second coupling portion which are respectively coupled to the pair of first mounting holes (see 4; [0014]; VESA standard mounting hole pairs; see Littlewood for coupling portion to allow dynamic connection points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to combine the known techniques of Chang to that of Littlewood to predictably provide multiple points of contact to ensure stability of the bracket to the back of the display device.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood in view of Shenzhen (CN 213582941).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Littlewood disclose:
a plurality of vertical portions which connect the a horizontal portion and are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 4; plurality of horizontal portion 16 and plurality of vertical portions 40 and 38 spaced a part and connected thereto).
Littlewood is not explicit as to, but Shenzhen disclose:
the shelf comprises: a plurality of horizontal portions spaced apart from each other, and a plurality of holes formed between the plurality of horizontal portion (see Fig. 1-2; horizontal spaced portion left and right of 22,where plurality of holes at 22 formed between horizontal portions and vertical portions (see Littlewood)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Shenzhen to that of Littlewood to predictably block items from falling off the shelf portion.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Shenzhen further disclose:
the bracket further comprises: a support frame located below the shelf on the plate, and extending in a direction intersecting with the plate and the back cover; and a rib located between the shelf and the support frame, and supporting a bottom surface of the shelf (see Fig. 2; support frame 10 below shelf on plate 1; in direction intersecting plate and back cover; where the ‘rib’ is considered the vertical portion of support 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Shenzhen to that of Littlewood to predictably add additional support to the shelf portion.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated herein. Shenzhen further disclose:
the rib comprises a first rib and a second rib supporting vertical portions located at opposite ends of the shelf among the plurality of vertical portions, wherein the bracket further comprises a connection frame connecting the first rib, the coupling portion, and the first rib (see Fig. 2; where the first rib (left portion); second rib (right portion); and connecting frame (center portion) of 10 connecting the left and right ribs).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood in view of Kang (US 2018.0027671).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Littlewood is not explicit as to, but Kang disclose:
a module cover arranged between the display panel and the back cover, wherein the back cover covers at least a portion of the module cover, and wherein the shelf overlaps with an upper surface of the back cover in an up-down direction (see Fig. 3, 18; [0046-0049]; module cover 20; display 10; back cover 30; where attachment holes on back cover 30 to attach shelf (see Littlewood) in an up/down direction)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Kang to that of Littlewood to predictably provide a display, module cover, and back cover arrangement to protect electronic components of the device ([0091]).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood in view of Huang (2016.0143160).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Littlewood is not explicit as to, but Huang disclose:
a stand which is coupled to a rear surface of the back cover and supports the display panel, wherein the stand comprises: a body coupled to the rear surface of the back cover; a first leg extending obliquely from the body, and is located in front of the display panel; and a second leg extending obliquely from the body but extends in a direction different from an extension direction of the first leg, the second leg being located at a rear of the back cover, and wherein the bracket is located within a horizontal distance between the rear surface of the back cover and a distal end of the second leg (see Fig. 2, 4-5; display 1 with stand 3 coupled to rear surface via 36; stand has body 34 coupled via 36; Fig. 3 shows first leg (left) obliquely extending to front of display and second leg (right) extending obliquely from 34 in different direction; where bracket (see Littlewood) attaches to display between the rear surface and end of second leg)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Huang to that of Littlewood to predictably to provide stability and support for the display if placed on a surface and further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the shelf between the back cover and distal end of the second leg such that the display can be stabilized as close to a wall or object behind the display, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated herein. Huang further disclose:
the body comprises a first surface in contact with the back cover and a second surface located in an opposite side of the first surface in a thickness direction of the display panel, wherein the stand comprises: a groove recessed from the second surface toward the first surface, and extending to the second leg, and a cover member coupled to the second leg, and covering at least a portion of the groove (see Fig. 4; cover member at 321; groove in leg at 32 below cover member and extends through body 34 ending at 342).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood in view of Cho (US 2013.0285953).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. While Littlewood is not explicit as to, but Cho disclose:
digital printing is applied to a rear surface of the bracket and a rear surface of the back cover (see [0137]; digital printing)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Cho to that of Littlewood to predictably allowing color designs or logos to be implemented on surfaces ([0137]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Littlewood in view of Kim’788 (US 2021.0072788).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Littlewood is not explicit as to, but Kim’788 disclose:
comprising a repeater located on a lower side of the back cover (see Fig. 7; [0121]; repeater)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, to combine the known techniques of Kim’788 to that of Littlewood to predictably allow for communication with an auxiliary device to control the display, further more, placement of the repeater on the lower side of the back cover would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., placement for best signal) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/kenneth bukowski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621