This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 11/11/2024. Claim 4 has been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 11/11/2024 has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the images on figures 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, and 8 are faded. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20190129681) in view of Scragg, JR. et al., (US 20120246359, hereinafter referred to as “Scragg”).
Regarding claim 12, Liu teaches a data transmission device, comprising:
a universal interface (figure 2: the interface module 110 is preferably a USB interface module);
a wireless communication module (figure 2: wireless module 120); and
a processor ([0054] a Microprocessor Unit (MPU));
wherein the universal interface and the wireless communication module are both connected to the processor ([0054] In a particular embodiment, an extension device is a USB dongle, where the extension device is configured with a USB interface module, a Microprocessor Unit (MPU), a wireless communication module, a random access memory (RAM), a NAND FLASH, a push button and an indicator. The extension device may be connected to the source end device through a USB interface.);
the universal interface is configured to connect with a processing device (figure 3: source end device 200);
the processor is configured to parse the screen transmission control data to determine the control data to be forwarded and send the control data to be forwarded to the wireless communication module, and determine whether to send the media data to the wireless communication module based on the control data to be forwarded ([0056] In a particular embodiment, the extension device forwards the screen display data and the audio data received from the source end device to a flat panel-for-conference, and the flat panel-for-conference decodes and presents the received audio/video data.);
the wireless communication module is configured to send the control data to be forwarded to the display device, and to send the media data to the display device (abstract - A wireless screen transmission method, an extension device, and a wireless screen transmission system are disclosed. The wireless screen transmission method includes: receiving screen display data and audio data captured by a source end device; transmitting the screen display data and the audio data to a touch screen display end over a wireless network, so that the screen display data and the audio data are presented by the touch screen display end; receiving touch data generated by the touch screen display end over the wireless network; and transmitting the touch data to the source end device, so that an operation corresponding to the touch data is performed by the source end device. The present invention further implements returning of touch data from a display end in a wireless manner based on wireless screen transmission, thereby improving flexibility and convenience of operations.).
However, Liu does not explicitly teach a virtual network card; the virtual network card is configured to acquire screen transmission control data and media data from the processing device; the virtual network card acquired the screen transmission control data and send the control data to the wireless communication module.
In an analogous art, Scragg teaches a virtual network card ([0009] a USB virtualization device is provided, comprising a network interface configured to interact with a client computer to send USB device data and receive USB device data over a network.); the virtual network card is configured to acquire screen transmission control data and media data from the processing device (abstract - Methods and systems are provided to allow personal computer users to virtualize a local USB device so that they can remotely connect to a server and interact with the server as if the local USB device was physically connected to the server. They connect a remote USB target hardware device to the target system through a physical USB connection, and the device interacts with the local user's computer over a network. The target system is unaware that the USB device is not connected directly to the system through a physical connection, and the target system does not need special software to implement the remote USB device.); the virtual network card acquired the screen transmission control data and send the control data to the wireless communication module ([0009] The USB virtualization device also provides a processor configured to translate the received USB device data from the physical USB input/output interface for output to the network interface, and to translate the received USB device data from the network interface for output to the physical USB input/output interface.).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to enable a virtual network card to acquire screen transmission and control in order to simplify multi-display of media.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Regarding claim 1, Liu-Scragg combination teaches the method performing steps similar to claim 12. However, neither the combination nor any prior art of record further teaches the virtual network card based on the universal interface, and establishing a communication connection between the virtual network card and the wireless communication module through bridging or network address translation.
Claims 2-6 depend on allowed claim 1, therefore are also allowed.
Regarding claim 7, Liu-Scragg combination teaches a transmission device comprising components similar to claim 12. However, neither the combination nor any prior art of record further teaches response to the data transmission device is connected to the processing device, the processing device sends a request instruction to the data transmission device, wherein the request instruction is used to request device information of the data transmission device, the processing device is pre-installed with a universal driver, and the universal driver includes a virtual network card driver; wherein the processor is configured to: present the data transmission device as a composite device to the processing device in response to the request instruction, wherein the composite device includes the virtual network card.
Claims 8-11 depend on allowed claim 7, therefore are also allowed.
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach the data transmission device of claim 12, wherein the universal interface is a Type-A interface.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record does not teach the data transmission device of claim 12, further comprising a memory connected to the processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a first application, and the composite device further includes a storage device; the processor is further configured to: after presenting the data transmission device as a composite device to the processing device, send the first application to the processing device through the storage device so that the processing device runs the first application, wherein the first application is used to acquire screen transmission control data and media data on the processing device, and transmit the screen transmission control data and media data to the virtual network card.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record does not teach the data transmission device of claim 12, wherein the parsing the screen transmission control data to determine the control data to be forwarded comprises: acquiring, by the processor, screen transmission control data sent by the first application through the virtual network card, and parsing the screen transmission control data; confirming, by the processor, whether to process the screen transmission control data based on the parsing result of the screen transmission control data; and response to not processing the screen transmission control data, determining, by the processor, that the screen transmission control data is the control data to be forwarded.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al., WO 2011150883 - RNDIS/CDC-ECM-based terminal integrates USB and RNDIS/CDC drivers.
Balasubramaniam, US 9654753 - Each particular virtual machine of the number of virtual machines runs an operating system along with client applications that generate video display information. A set of host components on each virtual machine captures the video display information, and converts the video display information into a format that is efficient for streaming to the display devices. Converted video display information is transmitted from each virtual machine through a virtual network interface, through a physical network interface on the host server, and over the network to a display device.
Skinner et al., US 20230418540 - streamline device interaction via device connections by surfacing a momentary GUI when devices are near one another, making it easy and quick to share content, screens and inputs.
Lu et al., US 20170249165 - Provided are Universal Serial Bus (USB) wireless network card configuration methods, a host, a USB wireless network card and a communication system. A host enters a configuration mode after connecting with a USB wireless network card, acquires, in the configuration mode, configured interface combination information including each function interface configured by a user, and then sends the configured interface combination information to the USB wireless network card.
Zhu et al., US 20160350058 - wireless display adapter device is configured to: transmit a beacon signal from the wireless display adapter device.
ALINA BOUTAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2458
/ALINA A BOUTAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458