DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4 June 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 35 U.S.C. 103 have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims filed on 27 July 2026.
The objection to the specification has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the title filed on 27 July 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-10, 22-23, 45, & 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to Claim 22, the claim now recites “wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device of said endoluminal device is performed utilizing an EM curve resistive sensor”; however, parent Claim 1 now recites “wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is performed utilizing an EM curve inductive sensor.” It is unclear if the detection is based on the EM curve inductive sensor alone, the EM curve resistive sensor, alone, or both.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is also performed utilizing an EM curve resistive sensor.”
Moreover, since antecedent basis for “a 3-D location of a tip and a shape” has already been established in parent Claim 1, it is unclear whether the “a 3-D location of a tip and a shape” of Claim 22 is the same “a 3-D location of a tip and a shape” that has been already established in parent Claim 1. See also Claims 5, 9, 23, 45, & 47 for similar pre-established antecedent basis issues.
With regards to Claim 48, the claim now recites “wherein said one or more sensors comprise a resistive EM sensor”; however, “said one or more sensors” of parent Claim 47 is claimed in the alternative rendering the corresponding limitation of Claim 48 indefinite due to lack of antecedent basis.
Moreover, the embodiment of just one sensor is definite because it unclear how the tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is detected by one sensor when said one sensor is both a resistive EM sensor and a EM curve inductive sensor.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the limitation will be interpreted as “wherein said detecting tip and shape of said endoluminal device comprises associating between said endoluminal device and sensor raw data received from two or more sensors in said endoluminal device and wherein one of said two or more sensors comprises a resistive EM sensor.”
Dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency to abovementioned claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1, 3-9, 11-12, 16-17, 23-26, 40-47, 49-52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker1 (US PGPUB 20170151027; hereinafter "Walker1") in further view of Jeon et al. (“Shape Sensor Using Magnetic Induction with Frequency Sweeping for Medical Catheters,” (30 May 2021 - 05 June 2021), 2021 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA); hereinafter "Jeon").
With regards to Claim 1, a method of displaying a navigational view for an endoluminal device (processor for performing the method, see Walker1 ¶ [0051]), comprising:
a. receiving at least one 2-D image comprising a lumen to be navigated by said endoluminal device (tracking and rendering a virtual instrument on fluoroscopic images; see Walker1 ¶ [0073]);
b. detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]);
c. calculating a position and/or a shape of said endoluminal device within said at least one 2-D image (the time history of sensor locations provides insight as to the shape of the anatomy or the possible shape of the instrument; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
d. displaying on said 2-D image said endoluminal device according to said calculation (tracking and rendering a virtual instrument on fluoroscopic images; see Walker1 ¶ [0073]);
e. amending said displaying of said endoluminal device on said 2-D image by repeating steps "b" and "c" while said endoluminal device is being moved (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update {i.e. amending} the position of the elongate instrument 18 relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]);
wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is performed utilizing an a fiber optic shape sensor (fiber optic position and shape tracking sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0046]).
While Walker1 discloses using a shape tracking system with an EM sensing coil or fiber optic position and shape tracking sensors (see Walker1 ¶ [0046]), it appears that Walker may be silent to an EM curve inductive sensor. However, Jeon teaches of an a shape sensor Using magnetic induction with for medical catheters (see Jeon Title).
Walker1 and Jeon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of shape sensing if catheter devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Walker1 to incorporate the above teachings of Jeon to provide at least an EM curve inductive sensor. Doing so would in improved accuracy (see Jeon Abstract).
With regards to Claim 31, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said at least one 2-D image is a 2-D X-ray image (tracking and rendering a virtual instrument on fluoroscopic images; see Walker1 ¶ [0073]).
With regards to Claim 41, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said at least one 2-D image comprises a 2-D view of at least one segment of said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein each imaged radiopaque marker corresponds to a segment; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]).
With regards to Claim 54, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said calculating a position and/or a shape of said endoluminal device comprises comparing said at least one segment as viewed in said at least one 2-D image with said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device in order to identify a location of said at least one segment along said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein the registration step {e.g. coordinate transformation matrices} amount to a bidirectional comparison; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]).
With regards to Claim 65, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising utilizing said identified location to perform a comparison between said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device and said at least one 2-D image (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, ; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]).
With regards to Claim 76, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising analyzing said comparison to generate a navigational view of said endoluminal device on said at least one 2-D image (3-D model of the anatomy is generated from pre-operative imaging {i.e. navigational view}, such as from a pre-op CT scan, and the instrument model interacts with the anatomy model to simulate instrument shape during a procedure; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
With regards to Claim 87, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising displaying said generated navigational view by re-projecting a result of said analysis on said at least one 2-D image (by tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated, i.e. the updating step amounts to reprojecting the sensor locations from the registration step to the anatomical model; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
With regards to Claim 98, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising amending said displaying of said generated navigational view by repeating:
a. said calculating a position and/or a shape of said endoluminal device comprises comparing said at least one segment as viewed in said at least one 2-D image with said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device in order to identify a location of said at least one segment along said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]);
b. utilizing said identified location to perform a comparison between said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device and said at least one 2-D image (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, ; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]);
c. analyzing said comparison to generate a navigational view of said endoluminal device on said at least one 2-D image (3-D model of the anatomy is generated from pre-operative imaging {i.e. navigational view}, such as from a pre-op CT scan, and the instrument model interacts with the anatomy model to simulate instrument shape during a procedure; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]); and
d. displaying said generated navigational view by re-projecting a result of said analysis on said at least one 2-D image (by tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated, i.e. the updating step amounts to reprojecting the sensor locations from the registration step to the anatomical model; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
while said endoluminal device is being moved (By tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time {i.e. while moving}, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
With regards to Claim 111, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said at least one 2-D image comprises, within said at least one 2-D image, a 2-D view of one or more EM markers and/or EM reference sensors located at EM known locations (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]).
With regards to Claim 1211, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising one or more of:
a. correlating said known 3-D location of said one or more EM markers and/or EM reference sensors with a location of said one or more EM markers and/or EM reference sensors in said 2-D image (claimed in the alternative);
b. comparing said correlation with said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device (claimed in the alternative);
c. analyzing said comparison to generate a navigational view of said endoluminal device on said at least one 2-D image (claimed in the alternative);
d. displaying said generated navigational view by re-projecting a result of said analysis on said at least one 2-D image (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update the position of the elongate instrument 18 {i.e. reprojecting result of analysis} relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]).
With regards to Claim 161, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said at least one 2-D image comprises a 2-D view of a plurality of markers located in known locations along said endoluminal device (wherein the probe includes both EM & radiopaque marker tracking sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0070]).
With regards to Claim 1716, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising one or more of:
a. comparing a location of said plurality of markers located in known locations along said endoluminal device as viewed in said at least one 2-D image with their actual 3-D known location along said endoluminal device and according to said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]);
b. analyzing said comparison to generate a navigational view of said endoluminal device on said at least one 2-D image (registering {I.e. analyzing said comparison} the EM sensor with the anatomical image frame {e.g. 2D/3D fluoroscopic image} and displaying a representation {i.e. navigational view} of the instrument onto the anatomical image; see Walker1 ¶ [0072]);
c. displaying said generated navigational view by re-projecting a result of said analysis on said at least one 2-D image (registering {I.e. analyzing said comparison} the EM sensor with the anatomical image frame {e.g. 2D/3D fluoroscopic image} and displaying a representation {i.e. navigational view} of the instrument onto the anatomical image; see Walker1 ¶ [0072]);
d. amending said displaying of said generated navigational view by repeating one or more of:
i. correlating said known 3-D location of said one or more EM markers and/or EM reference sensors with a location of said one or more EM markers and/or EM reference sensors in said 2-D image (claimed in the alternative);
ii. comparing said correlation with said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device (claimed in the alternative);
iii. analyzing said comparison to generate a navigational view of said endoluminal device on said at least one 2-D image (claimed in the alternative);
iv. displaying said generated navigational view by re-projecting a result of said analysis on said at least one 2-D image (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update the position of the elongate instrument 18 {i.e. reprojecting result of analysis} relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]);
while said endoluminal device is being moved (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update the position of the elongate instrument 18 {i.e. reprojecting result of analysis} relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]).
With regards to Claim 231, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is performed by one or more of EM tip sensing (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, ; see Walker1 ¶ [0068 & 0070]), shape sensing, passive RF sensing (The detector is configured to detect light signals that pass through the optical fiber, and an associated controller is configured to determine the geometric configuration of at least a portion of the medical instrument based on a spectral analysis of the reflected portions of the light signals; see Walker1 ¶ [0008]),
With regards to Claim 241, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said displaying comprises displaying on a 3-D roadmap said endoluminal device according to said calculation (pre-operative 3-D anatomical model reference frame AMF for the model depicted on the visual display 35; see Walker1 ¶ [0054]).
With regards to Claim 2524, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising amending said displaying of said endoluminal device on said 3-D roadmap by repeating steps "b" and "c" while said endoluminal device is being moved (by tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated, i.e. the updating step amounts to repeating steps b & c; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
With regards to Claim 2611, modified Walker1 teaches of further comprising utilizing said EM reference sensors to track a movement of a patient; and said method further comprises compensating for said movements performed by said patient by moving said detected 3-D location of said tip and said shape of said endoluminal device accordingly (the algorithms used to calculate the articulation and roll {i.e. 3D location} of an instrument in assisted driving may need to take into consideration the pulsatile flow in the arteries as well as heart and breath motions. In some embodiments, biological motions of the patient may be predicted and used to improve the performance of assisted driving. For example, in the images, the target may appear to move in sync with the patient's motion {i.e. compensation of 3D location}; see Walker1 ¶ [0133]).
With regards to Claim 40, modified Walker1 teaches of a method of displaying a navigational view for a field of view for an endoluminal device, comprising:
a. generating a volume from a plurality of images (3-D model of the anatomy is generated from pre-operative imaging {i.e. navigational view}, such as from a pre-op CT scan, and the instrument model interacts with the anatomy model to simulate instrument shape during a procedure; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
b. detecting tip and shape of said endoluminal device (the time history of sensor locations provides insight as to the shape of the anatomy or the possible shape of the instrument; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
c. deforming said volume based on said detected tip and shape of said endoluminal device (by tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]); and
d. displaying a navigational view using said deformed volume and said detected tip and shape of said endoluminal device (By tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is performed utilizing an EM curve inductive sensor (a shape sensor Using magnetic induction with for medical catheters; see Jeon Title).
With regards to Claim 4140, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said generating a volume from a plurality of images comprises one or more of:
a. receiving said plurality of images (3-D model of the anatomy is generated from pre-operative imaging {i.e. navigational view}, such as from a pre-op CT scan, and the instrument model interacts with the anatomy model to simulate instrument shape during a procedure; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
b. analyzing said plurality of images to detect one or more vessels within said plurality of images (marking the vessels in the 3D volume via segmentation & marking algorithm; see Walker1 ¶ [0101] & incorporated US PAT 9,256,940 Abstract & FIG. 5);
c. combining multiple phases of said detected one or more vessels into a single data structure comprising vessels of interest in said field of view (imaging while the instrument is traversing blood vessels; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]; compensating for heart and/or breath motions via a converging stabilization algorithm {e.g. gating or motion smoothing/averaging}; see Walker1 ¶ [0133]);
d. combining results from "b" and "c" into a common 3-D space, thereby generating said volume (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update {i.e. amending} the position of the elongate instrument 18 relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]).
With regards to Claim 4241, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said combining results from "b" and "c" into a common 3-D space, further comprises combining vascular segments with their associated 3-D spatial extends (determining the centerline {i.e. 3D spatial extends} from the 3D volume {i.e. 3D anatomical model}; see Walker1 ¶ [0122]).
With regards to Claim 4340, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said plurality of images are one or more of angiograms images, X-ray images, Cone-beam images, CT images, MRI images (3-D model of the anatomy is generated from pre-operative imaging {i.e. navigational view}, such as from a pre-op CT scan, and the instrument model interacts with the anatomy model to simulate instrument shape during a procedure; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
With regards to Claim 4440, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said volume comprises one or more data comprising descriptions of paths along which vascular centerlines extend, descriptions of nodes at which paths join and/or bifurcate, and descriptions of vascular cross-sections along the paths (dotted lines or other indicators are provided to show the ideal instrument path or the boundary {i.e. description of cross-section} of suitable paths for the instrument as illustrated in FIG. 13; see Walker1 ¶ [0119]).
With regards to Claim 4540, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said generating a volume from a plurality of images further comprises associating said generated volume with a deformation model (by tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
With regards to Claim 4641, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said receiving said plurality of images is performed in real-time (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update {i.e. amending} the position of the elongate instrument 18 relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]).
With regards to Claim 4740, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said detecting tip and shape of said endoluminal device comprises one or more of:
a. associating between said endoluminal device and sensor raw data received from one or more sensors in said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]);
b. reconstructing a 3-D shape of said endoluminal device based on said association (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]); and
c. detecting a shape location of said endoluminal device based on a coordinate system (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]).
With regards to Claim 4947, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said deforming said volume based on said detected tip and shape of said endoluminal device comprises one or more of:
a. calculating said deforming based on constrains imposed by said reconstructing a 3-D shape of said endoluminal device based on said association and said detecting a shape location of said endoluminal device based on a coordinate system (correcting for deformation of pre-op 3D image {i.e. anatomical model} as overlaid based on the real-time synchronization of a live fluoro image with the sensed instrument position; see Walker1 ¶ [0086]); and
b. calculating said deforming based on received images taken in real-time (wherein the 3D model is deformed in concert with the refreshed live fluoro image; see Walker1 ¶ [0077, 0083-0084]).
With regards to Claim 5040, modified Walker1 teaches of wherein said displaying is performed on a 2-D X-ray image (live fluor image; see Walker1 ¶ [00083]).
With regards to Claim 51, modified Walker1 teaches of a system (robotically-assisted instrument driving system 10; see Walker1 ¶ [0048]) configured for displaying a navigational view for an endoluminal device (catheter 18), comprising:
a. an endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]);
b. a sensor for detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]);
c. a user interface (The controller 34 further includes one or more interfaces 54 (e.g., communication databuses or network interfaces) for receiving user inputs from the user input device 33; see Walker1 ¶ [0053]); and
d. a processor unit (processor 50) configured to:
i. receive at least one 2-D image comprising a lumen to be navigated by said endoluminal device (tracking and rendering a virtual instrument on fluoroscopic images; see Walker1 ¶ [0073]);
ii. calculate a position and/or a shape of said endoluminal device within said at least one 2-D image, based on the detected 3-D location and shape of said device (registering the 3D EM sensor coordinate from {via EM sensor data} and the fluoroscopy coordinate frame {via known markers within FoV}, wherein shape is inferred from a plurality of EM sensors or fiber optic shape sensors; see Walker1 ¶ [0068, 0070, 0076]; the time history of sensor locations provides insight as to the shape of the anatomy or the possible shape of the instrument; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
iii. display on said 2-D image said endoluminal device according to said calculation; and iv. amend said displaying of said endoluminal device on said 2- D image by repeating steps "ii" and "iii" while said endoluminal device is being moved (as the instrument 18 moves through the patient, the tracking information of the sensor can be used to update {i.e. amending} the position of the elongate instrument 18 relative to the anatomy, image, or model such that the representation of the elongate instrument can be displayed moving in real-time in an anatomical image or model; see Walker1 ¶ [0055]);
wherein said detecting a 3-D location of a tip and a shape of said endoluminal device is performed utilizing an EM curve inductive sensor (a shape sensor Using magnetic induction with for medical catheters; see Jeon Title).
With regards to Claim 5251, modified Walker1 wherein the processor unit is configured to:
a. generate a volume from a plurality of images (3-D model of the anatomy is generated from pre-operative imaging {i.e. navigational view}, such as from a pre-op CT scan, and the instrument model interacts with the anatomy model to simulate instrument shape during a procedure; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]);
b. deform said volume based on said detected tip and shape of said endoluminal device (by tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]); and
c. display navigational view using said deformed volume and said detected tip and shape of said endoluminal device (By tracking the path of the instrument through the anatomy over time, the relative shape of the deformed vessels may be determined and both the instrument model and the anatomical model may be updated; see Walker1 ¶ [0077]).
Claim 2, 10, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker1 in view of Jeon, as applied to Claim 1, and in further view of Walker et al. (US PGPUB 20160228032; hereinafter "Walker2").
With regards to Claim 21, while Walker1 discloses all of the limitations of intervening claim 9 as shown above, it appears that Walker1 may be silent wherein said method does not require retaking new images in order to perform said "e". However, Walker2 teaches of a system and method for tracking a flexible elongate instrument within a patient (see Walker2 Abstract).
In particular, Walker2 teaches of wherein said wherein said method does not require retaking new images in order to perform said "e" (predicting the movement of the catheter based on an initial measurement of localization measurement {i.e. local EM sensor measurement & remote image segmentation from fluoro image} which also includes deformation information , i.e.; see Walker2 ¶ [0036-0037, 0079, 0092]).
Walker1 and Walker2 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tracking a flexible elongate instrument. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Walker to incorporate the above teachings of Walker2 to provide at least amending does not require retaking new images in order to perform said amending. Doing so would aid in approximating the shape and heading of the flexible device 10 (see Walker2 ¶ [0028]).
With regards to 109, wherein said amending does not require retaking new images in order to perform said amending (predicting the movement of the catheter based on an initial measurement of localization measurement {i.e. local EM sensor measurement & remote image segmentation from fluoro image} which also includes deformation information , i.e.; see Walker2 ¶ [0036-0037, 0079, 0092]).
With regards to Claim 2117, wherein said amending does not require retaking new images in order to perform said amending (predicting the movement of the catheter based on an initial measurement of localization measurement {i.e. local EM sensor measurement & remote image segmentation from fluoro image} which also includes deformation information , i.e.; see Walker2 ¶ [0036-0037, 0079, 0092]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 and 48 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Furthermore, Claims 22 and 48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: neither the searched not cited prior art references teach of using both an EM curve inductive sensor and an EM curve resistive sensor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 40, & 51 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In particular, Applicant contends that neither Walker1 nor Duindam, alone or in combination, teaches of the newly amended limitation of “utilizing an EM curve inductive sensor.” The Office agrees. However, newly cited Jeon remedies the shortcomings of Walker1 as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHISH S. JASANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/KEITH RAYMOND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798