DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frankel et al. (WO 2005/021368 A1) (cited in IDS dated 17 December 2024) (citations from attached English machine translation) (hereinafter Frankel).
Regarding claim 1, Frankel teaches a torque sensor (Pg. 1) comprising:
a holder [sensor carrier 16, 128] including an inner peripheral member [radially inner part 34, 130] and an outer peripheral member [radially outer part 44, 132] (Pg. 5, see Figs. 2 and 10, see Claim 1);
a bearing [needle bearing 12, bearing shell 14] disposed at the inner peripheral member [34] (Pg. 5, see Fig. 2); and
a strain sensor [strain gauges used as sensor elements; at least one of a plurality of sensor elements 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 140] (Pgs. 5-7, see Claim 1, Figs. 2 and 10), wherein the outer peripheral member includes an elastic part [at least one of bending elements 54, 56, 58, 60, 138 prepared for deformation] (Pgs. 5-7, see Claims 1 and 10, Figs. 2 and 10), the strain sensor is attached to the elastic part [sensors each arranged in pairs on a bending element] (Pg. 7, see Figs. 2 and 10), and the elastic part and the strain sensor each extend a long a plane parallel to an axial direction [along axis of shaft 6] (see Figs. 2-4 and 10).
Regarding claim 2, Frankel as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to comprising a plurality of elastic parts including the elastic part [bending elements 54, 56, 58, 60], wherein the plurality of elastic parts are disposed side by side at an outer side of the holder in a circumferential direction (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Frankel as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the elastic part and the inner peripheral member of the holder oppose each other across a gap in a radial direction [recesses 36, 38, 40, 42] (Pgs. 5-7, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Frankel as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the elastic part includes a recessed part recessed in the radial direction at a surface opposing the inner peripheral member [bending element 138 having recessed part at surface opposing inner peripheral member 130] [embodiments of Fig. 1 and Fig. 10 both read on claim 1; embodiment of Fig. 10 teaches claimed limitations in claim 4] (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 5, Frankel as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to comprising a connecting part connecting the inner peripheral member and the outer peripheral member, the connecting part including a recessed part recessed in the axial direction [elevations 46, 48, 50, 52 with recessed portion] (Pg. 5, see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Frankel as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to comprising a fixing part connected to an external device, the fixing part being disposed at an outer side of the elastic part in a radial direction [recess 62 with pin (not shown) connected to bicycle frame 4] (Pg. 5, see Figs. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Mikami et al. (JP 4722271 B2) (hereinafter Mikami).
Regarding claims 6-8, Frankel as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the holder includes a contact part configured to come into contact with the bearing in the axial direction, wherein the contact part protrudes from the inner peripheral member and the outer peripheral member in a radial direction. Mikami teaches a bicycle torque sensor comprising a holder including an inner peripheral member and an outer peripheral member and including a contact part configured to come into contact with a bearing in the axial direction, the contact part protruding from the inner peripheral member and the outer peripheral member in a radial direction [displacement member 38 contacting bearing portion 30 axially; protrudes from an inner peripheral portion and outer peripheral portion] (Para [0014-0018], see Figs. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Frankel with Mikami such that the holder includes a contact part configured to come into contact with the bearing in the axial direction, wherein the contact part protrudes from the inner peripheral member and the outer peripheral member in a radial direction, in order to secure the bearing from shifting in the axial direction.
Regarding claim 10, Frankel as applied to claim 9 above teaches the claimed invention, except for wherein the external device includes a protruding part protruding towards the bearing. Mikami teaches a bicycle torque sensor comprising a fixing part connected to the bicycle frame, the fixing part including a protruding part protruding towards a bearing of which torque is being sensed [adapter/fixing member 37] (Para [0007], see Figs. 2-3). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Frankel with Mikami such that the external device includes a protruding part protruding towards the bearing, in order to secure the bearing within the bicycle frame.
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855