DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-12-2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0352845, filed May 2, 2022 in view of Shan, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0076079, published March 5, 2020.
As per claim 1, Gupta discloses A device for transmitting and receiving radio- frequency signals, for a gesture detector controlling automatic opening of a motor-vehicle hatch, said device (5) comprising:
[[-]] a printed circuit board (6), passed through by at least one orifice (10) and equipped with a first side (7) and a second side (8) that face each other, one of said first and second sides (7, 8) being equipped with a first radio-frequency antenna (9) (Gupta, Fig. 9A and ¶38 using a PCB);
and [[-]] at least one reflector (1), equipped with a reflecting plate (2) capable of reflecting a radio-frequency beam and with at least one fastening tab (3), each fastening tab (3) being integrally formed with the reflecting plate (2), at least one fastening tab (3) of each at least one reflector (1) being inserted into a respective orifice (10) of the printed circuit board (6), and soldered to said printed circuit board (6) at said orifice (Gupta, Fig. 9B showing slots for the reflector and ¶58 for attaching means))
the device (5) being characterized in that: wherein [[-]] the at least one reflector includes a first reflector (1a), the reflecting plate (2) of which lies facing the first side (7) of the printed circuit board (6), and [[-]] the at least one reflector further includes a second reflector (1b), the a reflecting plate (2) of which lies facing the second side (8) of the printed circuit board (Gupta, Fig. 9B showing multiple reflectors and antenna slots).
Gupta fails to expressly disclose using tabs as an attachment means.
Shan teaches using tabs to attach components of an antenna (¶31).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use tabs, as Applicant has not disclosed that it solves any stated problem of the prior art or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as the invention disclosed by Gupta in providing a firm connection.
As per claim 2, Gupta as modified by Shan discloses the device (5) as claimed in claim 1, characterized wherein the reflecting plate (2) of at least one among the first and second reflectors (1a, 1 b) comprises at least one notch (4) that passes right through the thickness (e2) of said reflecting plate (2). (Gupta, Fig. 3 showing a notch at the slot antenna side).
As per claim 3, Gupta as modified by Shan discloses the device (2) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reflecting plate (2) of at least one among the first and second reflectors (1a, 1b) is made of metal (Gupta, ¶46).
As per claim 4, Gupta as modified by Shan discloses the device (5) as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one among the first and second reflectors (1 a, 1 b) has a major surface, which is inclined obliquely relative to the plane of the printed circuit board (6), with an angle of inclination between 200 and 700 (Gupta, ¶53 disclosing any arrangement and Fig. 6 showing oblique curves as well as Shan, Fig. 1B, item 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 5, Gupta as modified by Shan discloses the device (5) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first reflector (1a) and the second reflector (1b) flank the first radio-frequency antenna (9) (Gupta, Fig. 3).
As per claim 6, Gupta as modified by Shan further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein: [[-]] one of the first and second sides (7, 8) of the printed circuit board (6) is equipped with a second radio-frequency antenna (11); and the at least one reflector includes two sets of reflectors, where each set of one or more reflectors is associated with a respective one of the first and second radio-frequency antennas (Gupta, Fig. 9A showing multiple antenna slots and reflectors).
As per claim 7, Gupta as modified by Shan further discloses the device (5) as claimed in claim 6, wherein a first set of one or more reflectors comprises the first and second reflectors (1 a,1b), and a second set of one or more reflectors comprises a third reflector (1 c) (Gupta, Fig. 9A).
As per the limitations of claim 10, please see the rejection and rationale of claim 3 above.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta and Shan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ihlenburg, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2015/0300073, published October 22, 2105.
As per claim 9, Gupta as modified by Shan discloses the sensor of claim 1 but fails to disclose gesture recognition with the device to open a hatch.
Ihlenburg teaches gesture recognition for hatch opening (¶16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use with a hatch in order to gain the benefit of opening the hatch. The examiner submits it is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine the various applications of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646