DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA status
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities: The numbering reference to the figures should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20140044215 to Mundarath et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20200068570 to Khan et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20210176107 to Hou et al.
As to Claims 1, 11, and 16, Mundarath discloses a crest factor reduction (CFR) system with restricted peak regrowth, method, and non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, paragraph [0004, 0013, 0020]):
a processor (Fig. 2 (201), paragraph [0020, 0067]);
a memory operatively coupled with processor, wherein said memory store instruction, which when executed by the processor, cause processor to (Fig. 2, paragraph [0020, 0067], having computer readable medium having instructions to execute the system):
receive a signal of a base station, wherein the received signal is based on a complex low peak to average power ratio (PAPR) signal (Fig. 2, paragraph [0013, 0021, 0022], where the vector signal processor receives the IQ baseband signals for CFR processing (mitigate high peak to average power ratio) in base station system);
interpolate the received signal to an n-factor to generate the received signal with a pre-determined peak regrowth (Fig. 2, paragraph [0013, 0037, 0038], where interpolation up-sampling at higher rate (n-factor) allows high accuracy of peaks (peak regrowth) detection with predetermined threshold);
generate one or more pulses to negate a peak associated with pre-determined peak regrowth of the received signal to generate a modified n-factor signal (Fig. 2, paragraph [0023, 0026], where the cancellation pulse is generate to suppress (negate) signal peaks);
decimate the modified n-factor signal to generate a PAPR diminished signal and generate the CFR with the restricted peak regrowth (Fig. 2, paragraph [0013, 0022, 0026], where CFR generates the mitigated peak regrowth of interpolated samples).
Mundarath disclose all of the subject matter as described above (Fig. 2, paragraph [0013, 0021, 0022, 0026, 0037, 0038]) except for signal from a Physical layer (PHY) equipped with orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM).
However, it is well known art to generate communication signals using various modulations (including OFDM) controlled various layers (MAC, PHY, RRC, etc.) within the communication system. Also Khan in the same field of endeavor teaches the common transmitter generating signals with different modulation schemes including orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) in PHY layer of the communication system (Fig. 2A, paragraph [0006, 0042, 0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use common modulation scheme and standard communication structures (layers) as taught by Khan to modify the system and method of Mundarath to support various wireless communication standards.
Mundarath in view of Khan disclose all of the subject matter as described above (Mundarath - Fig. 2, paragraph [0013, 0021, 0022, 0026, 0037, 0038]) (Kahn - Fig. 2A, paragraph [0006, 0042, 0046]) except for digital up-conversion after CFR.
However, Hou in the same field of endeavor teaches the digital up-conversion for second CFR step at high sampling rate (Fig. 7, paragraph [0008, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use digital up-conversion to execute the high sampling rate CFR as taught by Hou to modify the system and method of Mundarath in view of Khan to improve the communication system with reduced PAPR (Hou – paragraph [0008]).
Claims 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20140044215 to Mundarath et al., U.S. PGPub. No. 20200068570 to Khan et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20210176107 to Hou et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20150349994 to Feng.
As to Claims 2 and 12, Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou discloses all of the subject matter of CFR with restricted peak regrowth with peak detection (Mundarath - Fig. 2 (233), paragraph [0013, 0021, 0022, 0026, 0037, 0038])) except for the coordinate rotation digital computer (CORDIC) technique to determine a magnitude and a phase association with the received signal.
However, Feng in the same field of endeavor teaches the peak detection/extraction using the Coordinate Rotational Digital Computer (CORDIC) algorithm to calculate the magnitude and phase of the input signal (Fig. 2 (210), paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the various algorithms for CFR including CORDIC as taught by Feng to modify the system and method of Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou to improve/enhance the communication system with various CFR algorithms.
As to Claims 3 and 13, Mundarath in view of Khan, Hou, and Feng further disclose the system and method wherein to generate a peak search window (PSW) associated with the magnitude and the phase of the received signal (Mundarath - Fig. 2 (271), paragraph [0013], adjust the peak amplitude and phase of peak search window) (Feng - Fig. 2 (210), paragraph [0014], peak detection in given time window (peak search window)). The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claims 2 and 12.
As to Claims 4 and 14, Mundarath in view of Khan, Hou, and Feng further disclose the system and method wherein configured with peak cancellation (PC) technique that provides multiplexing the received signal and generates the PSW (Mundarath - Fig. 2 (234), paragraph [0026], where the peak cancel through PSW for received signal from previous steps) (Feng - Fig. 2 (230), paragraph [0011], peak cancellation for CORDIC generated signal). The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claims 2 and 12.
Claims 5, 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20140044215 to Mundarath et al., U.S. PGPub. No. 20200068570 to Khan et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20210176107 to Hou et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20140269987 to Gubeskys et al.
As to Claims 5 and 15, Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou discloses all of the subject matter of CFR receiving signal with the pre-determined peak regrowth with an interpolation processing technique (Mundarath - Fig. 2, paragraph [0013, 0021, 0022, 0026, 0037, 0038])) except for the advance interpolation (use Finite Impulse Response).
However, Gubeskys in the same field of endeavor teaches the interpolation module implemented with finite impulse response (FIR) filter (Fig. 2, paragraph [0075, 1026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention use the various filters for CFR as taught by Gubeskys to modify the system and method of Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou to improve/enhance the communication system with lower PAPR and minimum distortion overall (Gubeskys – paragraph [0052]).
As to Claim 6, Mundarath in view of Khan, Hou, and Gubeskys further disclose the system and method wherein AIR technique uses a Finite Impulse Response (FIR) based interpolator (Gubeskys - Fig. 2, paragraph [0075, 1026]). The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 5.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20140044215 to Mundarath et al., U.S. PGPub. No. 20200068570 to Khan et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20210176107 to Hou et al. in further view of WIPO Pub. No. 2021087533 to Shih.
As to Claim 7, Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou discloses all of the subject matter of block based CFR processing in reduced complexity in baches in down-sampled domain for collection of peaks (Mundarath - Fig. 2, paragraph [0033) – implicitly reducing (decimating) by down-sampling factor) except for the down sampler.
However, Shih in the same field of endeavor teaches the down-sampler to generate different sample rate domain peak windows (Fig. 6, paragraph [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use down sampler for multi-rate peak detection as taught by Shih to modify the system of Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou to improve/enhance the communication system with flexible power consumption and silicon area of the systems (Shih – paragraph [0027]).
As to Claim 8, Mundarath in view of Khan, Hou, and Shih further disclose the system wherein the down sampler subtracts the modified n-factor signal from the received signal for generation of the PAPR diminished signal (Mundarath - Fig. 2 (272), Fig. 4 (420), paragraph [0026, 0041], where the cancellation pulse/waveform is subtracted from original signal to reduced PAPR) (Shih - paragraph [0025], where the peak is cancelled to reduce the crest factor). The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 7.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPub. No. 20140044215 to Mundarath et al., U.S. PGPub. No. 20200068570 to Khan et al. and U.S. PGPub. No. 20210176107 to Hou et al. in further view of U.S. PGPub. No. 20220217031 to Wang et al.
As to Claim 9, Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou discloses all of the subject matter of using CFR algorithm with peak search window and peak filter to reduce the peak power of the received signal (Mundarath - Fig. 2, paragraph [0004, 0023])) except for the window crest factor reduction to sanitize negated peak.
However, Wang in the same field of endeavor teaches the peak windowing crest factor reduction for no peaks in positive and negative window functions (Fig. 2, paragraph [0003,0080, 0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the peak windowing crest factor reduction as taught by Wang to modify the system of Mundarath in view of Khan and Hou to improve/enhance the communication system with improved performance and reduced complexity (Wang – paragraph [0004]).
As to Claim 10, Mundarath in view of Khan, Hou, and Wang further disclose the system wherein the dual port read only memory (DPROM) to store the sanitized negate peak (Mundarath - Fig. 2, paragraph [0021, 0067, 0068], where samples are stored in local buffers/memories including ROM) (Wang - paragraph [0080], where the PW-CFR implemented in various processor, integrated circuit, with corresponding memory resources including types ROMs which implicitly includes the various number of connection ports (single, dual, multiple – for increased data channels for faster data access)). The suggestion/motivation is the same as that used in the rejection for claim 9.
Contact Information
/SUNG S AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2631 (571)-270-3706
sung.ahn@uspto.gov