DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communication: the Preliminary amendment filed on 11/12/2024. This action is made non-final.
Claims 1-13, 15-16, 19-23 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15, and 16 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12-13, 15-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harshawat et al. (US 11146847 B1; hereinafter as Harshawat).
As to claim 1, Harshawat discloses:
An information display method (see Col.2, lines 50-61), comprising:
displaying a content presentation page on a preset application, and displaying a preset sub- interface on an upper layer of the content presentation page , wherein, associated information of first media content is displayed in the preset sub-interface, and the first media content is associated with a preset content type (see Fig. 4A and Col. 12, line 65 through Col. 13, line 16; news program 402 of a video streaming environment. News overlay 404 {~sub-interface}, in this example, overlay 404 includes a UI component 406 (e.g., button) with which the user can interact to view a local news story identified in overlay); and
in response to a trigger operation on the preset sub-interface, displaying the first media content corresponding to the associated information (Fig. 4A and Col. 13, lines 17-33; The user interacts with UI component 406 to watch the local news story. In this example, the news template includes a UI component definition that defines the action (e.g., calling a corresponding URL or command) to be performed when the user interacts with UI component 406. As shown at 414, the overlay is further expanded to play a local news story, which may be identified in the template or data received from the server system).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat further discloses:
wherein, the in response to the trigger operation on the preset sub-interface, displaying the first media content corresponding to the associated information, comprises: in response to a trigger operation on a predetermined area of the preset sub-interface or on the associated information, displaying a detail page of the first media content (see Fig. 4C and Col. 14, lines 47-53; when a user interacts with UI component 442, an expanded overlay 446 is rendered at 444, as defined by the ticker template. For example, the ticker template may define a UI component that indicates that a user interaction with UI component 442 causes an expanded overlay 446 to be rendered in which additional weather information is presented).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat further discloses:
satisfying at least one of: wherein, the preset sub-interface is a pop-up window displayed on the upper layer of the content presentation page; or the associated information of the first media content comprises at least one of pictures or text of media content of a preset theme (see Fig. 4A-4M and Col. 12, line 65 through Col. 13, line 16; e.g., News overlay).
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat further discloses:
wherein, if a starting operation of the preset application is triggered at different times, the associated information of the first media content displayed on the preset sub-interface is different (see Col. 10, lines 27-50; specific overlay types based upon time of day or day of week).
As to claim 15, claim 15 is directed to an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; storage means configured to store one or more programs; the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, causing the one or more processors to implement the method steps as claimed in claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Harshawat: see Fig. 1-2 and Col. 7, line 52 through Col. 8, line 4 and Col. 11, lines 33-58).
As to claim 16, claim 16 is directed a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having thereon stored a computer program, which, when executed by a processor, implements the method steps as claimed in claim 1; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Harshawat: see Fig. 1-2 and Col. 7, line 52 through Col. 8, line 4 and Col. 11, lines 33-58).
As to claim 20, claim 20 recites similar limitations as claimed in claim 3; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Harshawat: see Fig. 1-2 and Col. 7, line 52 through Col. 8, line 4 and Col. 11, lines 33-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harshawat et al. (US 11146847 B1; hereinafter as Harshawat).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat discloses in different embodiment and example where the preset sub-interface being configured for prompting the user whether to enter a setting mode of the preset application, the setting mode being a mode that the preset application enters to play media content of the preset content type (see Col. 17, line 57 through Col. 18, line 23; Overlay can include UI components such as buttons 482a, 482b. Each UI component may be defined within a corresponding overlay template; Other actions may include, but are not limited to, providing a menu, providing settings options, requesting that the user login to a user account, triggering the intro transition for another overlay, fetching overlay data for a subsequent overlay, submitting a payment request, and/or providing a search interface or other GUI). Although Harshawat does not expressly disclose the details of the setting mode, the examiner finds that details of the claimed setting is technically indistinguishable from the settings options disclosed by Harshawat because the language claimed in claim 2 is directed to non-functional descriptive material (“the setting mode being a mode that the preset application enters to play media content of the preset content type”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included the suggested embodiment disclosed in Harshawat to achieve the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made the combination because the advantages provided by Harshawat that provides a technique that is possible to efficiently transmit information to a wide audience (Harshawat: see Col. 1, lines 45-50).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat further discloses: wherein, a second control is displayed in the preset sub-interface, the second control being configured for enabling the preset application to enter a setting mode see Col. 17, line 57 through Col. 18, line 23; Overlay can include UI components such as buttons 482a, 482b. Each UI component may be defined within a corresponding overlay template; Other actions may include, but are not limited to, providing a menu, providing settings options, requesting that the user login to a user account, triggering the intro transition for another overlay, fetching overlay data for a subsequent overlay, submitting a payment request, and/or providing a search interface or other GUI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have included the suggested embodiment disclosed in Harshawat to achieve the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made the combination because the advantages provided by Harshawat that provides a technique that is possible to efficiently transmit information to a wide audience (Harshawat: see Col. 1, lines 45-50).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Harshawat further discloses:
in response to a trigger operation on the second control, displaying an intermediate page in which an initiate control of the setting mode and associated information of a plurality of media content are displayed, the associated information of the plurality of media content comprising the associated information of the first media content (see Fig. 4B illustrates multiple pages of the overlay interface).
As to claim 19, claim 19 recites similar limitations as claimed in claim 2; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Harshawat: see Fig. 1-2 and Col. 7, line 52 through Col. 8, line 4 and Col. 11, lines 33-58).
Claims 4, 7, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harshawat et al. (US 11146847 B1; hereinafter as Harshawat) further in view of Foss et al. (US 2016/0259528 A1; hereinafter Foss).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Harshawat does not disclose, but Foss is relied upon for teaching the limitations of claim 4. Specifically, Foss discloses wherein, after the displaying the detail page of the first media content, the method further comprises: in response to an operation of swiping the detail page in a first preset direction, closing the detail page, and restoring displaying the content presentation page comprising the preset sub- interface (Foss: see ¶ 0833; if the subsequent input is a dismissal input (e.g., a swipe input or a tap input outside of the preview), the preview is removed, and the device restores the originally displayed page x in the user interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Harshawat and the teaching of Foss together to achieve the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made the combination because the advantages provided by Foss to provide a technique that is possible to enhance user experience with touch screen user interface.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat and Foss further disclose: a first control is displayed in the preset sub-interface; in response to a trigger operation on the first control, closing the preset sub-interface, and playing a second media stream on the content presentation page (Foss: see ¶ 0833: dismissal input is well-known GUI feature in the GUI field). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Harshawat and the teaching of Foss together to achieve the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made the combination because the advantages provided by Foss to provide a technique that is possible to enhance user experience with touch screen user interface.
As to claim 21, claim 21 recites similar limitations as claimed in claim 4; therefore, is rejected under similar rationale (Harshawat: see Fig. 1-2 and Col. 7, line 52 through Col. 8, line 4 and Col. 11, lines 33-58).
Claims 5-6, 10-11, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harshawat et al. (US 11146847 B1; hereinafter as Harshawat) further in view of Liao (US 2020/0366963 A1; hereinafter Liao).
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Harshawat further discloses:
wherein, the displaying the detail page of the first media content, comprises: displaying the detail page of the first media content on a preset label page corresponding to the preset content type, the preset label page being configured for presenting a first media stream of the preset content type, and the first media stream comprising the first media content (see Fig. 4H).
In addition, Liao is relied upon for teaching the limitations of claim 5 such that Liao discloses multiple labels for video access entrance in the presentation bar (see Fig. 1b and ¶ 0048; each label 102 is corresponding to a preset label page being configured for presenting a first media stream of a preset content type including recommendation manners).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the teaching of Harshawat and the teaching of Liao together to achieve the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made the combination because the advantages provided by Liao to provide a feature that makes possible to enhance user experience with touch screen user interface (Liao: see ¶ 0005).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Harshawat and Liao further disclose:
wherein, after the displaying the detail page of the first media content on the preset label page corresponding to the preset content type, the method further comprises: in response to an operation of swiping the detail page in a second preset direction, displaying a detail page of second media content in the first media stream on the preset label page (Liao: see ¶ 0056; slide gesture to switch between pages is a known GUI feature in the GUI field). Combining Harshawat and Liao would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Harshawat and Liao further disclose: in response to a trigger operation on the initiate control, displaying a third media stream, the third media stream comprising media content corresponding to the associated information of the plurality of media content, respectively (see Fig. 1b and ¶ 0048; each label 102 is corresponding to a preset label page being configured for presenting a first media stream of a preset content type including recommendation manners. Fig. 1d and ¶ 0055 disclose multiple video access entrance). Combining Harshawat and Liao would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Harshawat and Liao further disclose: wherein, the second control is an initiate control ;the method further comprises: in response to a trigger operation on the initiate control, display a fourth media stream, the fourth media stream comprising the first media content (see Fig. 1b and ¶ 0048; each label 102 is corresponding to a preset label page being configured for presenting a first media stream of a preset content type including recommendation manners. Fig. 1d and ¶ 0055 disclose multiple video access entrance). Combining Harshawat and Liao would meet the claimed limitations for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claims 22-23, claims 22-23 recite similar limitations as claimed in claims 5-6, respectfully; therefore, are rejected under similar rationale (Harshawat: see Fig. 1-2 and Col. 7, line 52 through Col. 8, line 4 and Col. 11, lines 33-58).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)).
/TUYETLIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179