DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1-19
The Claims cite, the treatment device and the first intraluminal device, numerous times. However, the usage of the terms is not consistent. For example, the first intraluminal device is claimed as obtaining a planning image therefrom in Claim 1. The treatment device is claimed as being identified with respect to the desired puncture point. The understanding is that the treatment device provides a treatment of some nature and needs to be steered on a desired trajectory to the desired puncture point. However, the claims recite the first intraluminal device has having the desired trajectory relative to the desire puncture point. It appears that the treatment device is a part of the first intraluminal device. Perhaps the first intraluminal device contains both imaging and treatment devices. However, Claim 2 further adds to confusion as the first intraluminal device is claims to be activated to provide treatment (a puncture). The claims lead to confusion over the relationship between the treatment device and the first intraluminal device and the functions each device is performing.
Regarding Claim 11
Claim 11 recites, “a cutting device configured to increase a diameter of a puncture in the treatment device”. It is not clear how the claimed puncture point, which is understood to be a target point in the body for treatment, is now being claimed as a puncture in the treatment device itself. The claim limitation is not understood. Perhaps the Applicant intended the claim limitation to be directed to the puncture diameter of the treatment device be increased by a cutting device. However, even that claim interpretation is not understood. The Examiner thinks maybe the claim is intended to be a needle with an increasing diameter to when piercing tissue, the puncture hole diameter increases. However such an interpretation is not supported by the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 12-16 & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2019/0365480 A1) and further in view of Tolkowsky (U.S. Patent Application 2010/0161022 A1).
Claim 1 & 19: Gopinath teaches –
A system for intraluminal fenestration within a body lumen [an imaging and data collection system suitable for imaging arteries, stents, and other cardiovascular system components] (Para 0029), the system comprising:
a first intraluminal device [catheter-based data collection probe] (Figure 1A, Element 30) comprising a flexible elongate member [balloon] or [an optical fiber] or [torque wire] (Para 0049; flexible elongate member can be interpreted as any of the listed elements as the catheter is flexible and elongate in order to traverse the blood vessel); and
a processor in communication with the first intraluminal device [The patient interface unit 35 includes a probe connector suitable to receive an end of the probe 30 and be optically coupled thereto] (Para 0052) [the PIU 35 is connected to one or more intravascular data collection systems 42] (Para 0053), wherein the processor is configured to:
obtain a planning image [for stent planning and assessment] (Para 0064) from a first imaging system [a stent expansion threshold can be provided by the diagnostic system…OCT, IVUS] (Para 0064),
the planning image comprising the body lumen and a branch lumen extending from the body lumen [image processing steps can include lumen boundary detection, …side branch detection, and others] (Para 0081);
in the planning image, identify a profile [metrics] of a treatment device [planning stages and profiles obtained with respect to the blood vessel or stent. The profiles and information relating to the blood vessel or stent can be obtained using an intravascular data collection system and related probes] (Para 0079);
Examiner’s Note: The prior art teaches a planning system for stent deployment. It is understood that the metrics of the stent, such as its profile, with respect to the blood vessel are obtained [lumen profile can then be compared to the stent profile by comparing geometric values of each respective profile] (Para 0068). Otherwise the stent metrics including its profile could over expand and harm the blood vessel.
in the planning image [for stent planning and assessment] (Para 0064), identify a centerline of the branch lumen [tracking of vessel centerlines] (Para 0061);
obtain a live procedural image from a second imaging system [live angiography] (Para 0077),
the live procedure image comprising the body lumen and the branch lumen extending from the body lumen (Figure 2B; a part of Figure 2A, which displays the image of the body lumen and the branch lumen) [Co-registration has been performed between the angiography image and the lumen profile view] (Para 0076); and
Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches –
in planning [it may be planned] (Para 0630), identify a centerline of the branch lumen [the QVA is performed] (Para 0630) [measurements are provided in absolute units, such as, lesion length, the diameter of the vessel at each point along the centerline] (Para 0629) [automatic identification of center lines] (Para 0682), the centerline of the branch lumen extending from the branch lumen to a desired puncture point [an aspiration needle is led to, and positioned at, a desired anatomical location in the thorax] (Para 0804) [the road map includes a center line 102 which may later be useful for leading the valve into position and/or placing the valve at a desired orientation relative to the native anatomy…the road map includes target lines pertaining to the desired location and/or angle of the valve after it will be positioned] (Para 0772) at a boundary of the profile of the treatment device [the entire length of the guide wire (or of the catheter carrying the tool) is identified] (Para 0682; profile of the treatment device);
in planning, identify a desired trajectory [target lines] of the first intraluminal device [the tool is…an endoluminal imaging catheter] (Para 0593) relative to the desired puncture point [the road map includes markers, and/or a graphical representation of markers, of a tool that was situated, at the time of the angiogram, within one of the blood vessels] (Para 0587) [the road map includes…position and/or… orientation relative to the native anatomy…the road map includes target lines pertaining to the desired location and/or angle of the valve after it will be positioned] (Para 0772);
in the live procedural image [road map 44 is displayed alongside a fluoroscopic image stream 46, such as a live fluoroscopic image stream] (Para 0623) [road map is…overlaid upon, the current fluoroscopic image stream] (Para 0750), identify the profile of the treatment device [the entire length of the guide wire (or of the catheter carrying the tool) is identified] (Para 0682; profile of the treatment device), the centerline of the branch lumen [the QVA is performed] (Para 0630) [measurements are provided in absolute units, such as, lesion length, the diameter of the vessel at each point along the centerline] (Para 0629) [automatic identification of center lines] (Para 0682), the desired puncture point [in response to a user designating a single point on the image: [0175] automatically identifying a target portion of a blood vessel in a vicinity of the designated point] (Para 0174) [an aspiration needle is led to, and positioned at, a desired anatomical location in the thorax] (Para 0804), the desired trajectory of the first intraluminal device [the road map includes target lines pertaining to the desired location and/or angle] (Para 0772), and an actual trajectory of the first intraluminal device [determining a current position of the tool within the road map] (Para 0420) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 2/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor [least one processor] (Claim 8) is further configured to:
when the first intraluminal device is within a desired proximity and angle of the desired puncture point [in response to a user designating a single point on the image: [0175] automatically identifying a target portion of a blood vessel in a vicinity of the designated point] (Para 0174) [an aspiration needle is led to, and positioned at, a desired anatomical location in the thorax] (Para 0804), activate a functional portion of the first intraluminal device to puncture the treatment device [image tracking facilitates determination by a user of the orientation of the tool relative to the vessel at any given moment, and thus assists the operator in determining when to push forward and/or activate the tool] (Para 0677) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 3/1: Gopinath teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
in the planning image [stent planning and assessment] (Para 0064), identify lumen walls of the branch lumen, extending from the branch lumen [image processing steps can include lumen boundary detection, which corresponds to boundary between lumen L and wall of blood vessel which bounds it, stent detection, side branch detection, and others. Lumen detection informs stent detection because it gives a location relative to which stents are going to exist in the image] (Para 0081); and
in the live procedural image [live angiography] (Para 0077), identify the lumen walls of the branch lumen, extending from the branch lumen [image processing steps can include lumen boundary detection, which corresponds to boundary between lumen L and wall of blood vessel which bounds it, stent detection, side branch detection, and others. Lumen detection informs stent detection because it gives a location relative to which stents are going to exist in the image] (Para 0081).
Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches identify lumen walls of the branch lumen [the QVA is performed] (Para 0630) [measurements are provided in absolute units, such as, lesion length, the diameter of the vessel at each point along the centerline] (Para 0629) [automatic identification of center lines] (Para 0682), extending from the branch lumen to the profile of the treatment device [the entire length of the guide wire (or of the catheter carrying the tool) is identified] (Para 0682; profile of the treatment device) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 4/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
after the treatment device is placed within the body lumen, based on a position of the treatment device within the live procedural image [image tracking, and/or image enhancement, before, during, and/or after the deployment of the tool is performed with respect to the lesion] (Para 0745), adjust the identified desired puncture point and the identified desired trajectory of the first intraluminal device [the shape of the road map is adjusted] (Para 0745; the road map is understood to include the desired puncture point for a biopsy and target lines to the biopsy) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 5/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
display, on the live procedural image, an indication of a difference [The valve delivery device is positioned, optionally using the road map, such that the location of the pre-deployed valve (or of the aforementioned illustrated valve) in the typically stabilized image stream is appropriate, relative to an implantation location of the valve. For example, a line marking the distal edge (or any other known section) of the new valve may be guided toward a target line in the road map till the two significantly overlap] (Para 0784) between the desired trajectory of the first intraluminal device and the actual trajectory of the first intraluminal device [it is determined that the pre-deployed valve shifts by a distance D mm along the vessel over the course of the cardiac cycle. Therefore, the valve is aimed and deployed at a distance from its designated implantation location in the ascending aorta that is determined based upon the observed shift of the valve of D mm For example, the valve may be deployed at the distance of D mm from its designated implantation location] (Para 0785) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 6/1: Gopinath teaches further comprising at least one of a guide catheter or a guidewire [a guide wire] (Para 0005), wherein the guide catheter or guidewire is configured to affect the actual trajectory of the first intraluminal device [a stent can be delivered to the stenotic site through a catheter via a guide wire] (Para 0005).
Claim 8/1: Examiner’s Note: Tolkowsky teaches using combination of different imaging catheters and thus it is understood that the disclosure applies to the different imaging catheters.
fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
as a second intraluminal device moves through the body lumen, identify, on the live procedural image, an actual trajectory of the second intraluminal device [the endoluminal imaging catheter may be, for example, an IVUS catheter, an OCT catheter, a NIRS catheter, an MRI catheter, or any combination thereof] (Para 0640) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
Examiner’s Note: Tolkowsky teaches using combination of different imaging catheters and thus it is understood that the disclosure applies to the different imaging catheters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 9/8/1: Gopinath teaches further comprising at least one of a guide catheter or a guidewire [a guide wire] (Para 0005), wherein the guide catheter or guidewire is configured to affect the actual trajectory of the intraluminal device [a stent can be delivered to the stenotic site through a catheter via a guide wire] (Para 0005).
Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches the second intraluminal device [the endoluminal imaging catheter may be, for example, an IVUS catheter, an OCT catheter, a NIRS catheter, an MRI catheter, or any combination thereof] (Para 0640) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 12/8/1: Gopinath teaches wherein the intraluminal device is an intravascular imaging device [catheter-based data collection probe] (Figure 1A, Element 30).
Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches the second intraluminal device [the endoluminal imaging catheter may be, for example, an IVUS catheter, an OCT catheter, a NIRS catheter, an MRI catheter, or any combination thereof] (Para 0640) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 13/8/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the second [catheter may be…any combination thereof] (Para 0640) intraluminal device is an injection catheter configured to inject a therapeutic material [road maps, which are based on the proximally- and distally-injected contrast agent] (Para 0612) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 14/13/8/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
in the planning, identify an injection volume within the branch lumen [road map comprises a synthesized background(s), enhancement(s), contour(s), pattern(s), texture(s), shade(s) and/or color(s) that was created based upon the visual information acquired from the injection and/or dissipation of contrast agent] (Para 0611-0612) [cloud 14 of contrast agent may be observed in the vicinity of the distal tip of guiding catheter] (Para 0557),
wherein the injection volume is to be injected with the therapeutic material [injection…of contrast agent] (Para 0611-0612); and
in the live procedural image, identify the injection volume within the branch lumen (Figure 3, Element 14) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Claim 15/1: Gopinath teaches wherein the profile of the treatment device is a desired profile [metrics] for a treatment device to be implanted or an actual profile of a treatment device already implanted [planning stages and profiles obtained with respect to the blood vessel or stent. The profiles and information relating to the blood vessel or stent can be obtained using an intravascular data collection system and related probes] (Para 0079).
Claim 16/1: Gopinath teaches wherein the first intraluminal device is a laser catheter device (Para 0047).
Claim(s) 7 & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2019/0365480 A1) and Tolkowsky (U.S. Patent Application 2010/0161022 A1) and further in view of Gijsbers et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2020/0383661 A1).
Claim 7/6/1 & 10/9/1: Gopinath teaches wherein the guidewire is a guidewire [a guide wire] (Para 0005).
Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to, as the guidewire moves through the body lumen, identify, on the live procedural image, a 3D trajectory of the guidewire [the tool is…an endoluminal imaging catheter] (Para 0593) [the road map includes…position and/or… orientation relative to the native anatomy…the road map includes target lines pertaining to the desired location and/or angle of the valve after it will be positioned] (Para 0772) in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath to include the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure of Tolkowsky in order to facilitates accurate deployment of the tool, relative to the surrounding anatomy, even within a beating heart, or a moving vessel (Para 00771).
Gopinath and Tolkowsky fail to teach Fiber Optic Real Shape (FORS) guidewire. However, teaches Fiber Optic Real Shape (FORS) guidewire (Para 0061) in order to determine 3D shape and position of the catheter (Para 0061)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath and Tolkowsky to include the FORS guidewire as taught by Gijsbers in order to determine 3D shape and position of the catheter (Para 0061).
Claim(s) 17 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2019/0365480 A1) and Tolkowsky (U.S. Patent Application 2010/0161022 A1) and further in view of Romoscanu (U.S. Patent Application 2011/0251519 A1).
Claim 17/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to identify the desired trajectory [target lines] of the first intraluminal device [the tool is…an endoluminal imaging catheter] (Para 0593) [the road map includes…position and/or… orientation relative to the native anatomy…the road map includes target lines pertaining to the desired location and/or angle of the valve after it will be positioned] (Para 0772)
Gopinath and Tolkowsky fail to teach a bend radius is not smaller than a specified bend radius. Romoscanu teaches such that a bend radius of the intraluminal device is not smaller than a specified bend radius [steering section is flexed to limit the minimum bend radius to a predetermined minimum] (Abstract) in order to prevent excessive bending of components such as fiber optics (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath and Tolkowsky to include the bend radius limitation as taught by Romoscanu in order to prevent excessive bending of components such as fiber optics (Abstract).
Claim 18/17/1: Gopinath fails to teach the specific claimed details with respect to the planning of the procedure. However, Tolkowsky teaches wherein the processor is further configured to identify the desired trajectory of the first intraluminal device such that a functional portion of the first intraluminal device approaches the desired puncture point [in response to a user designating a single point on the image: [0175] automatically identifying a target portion of a blood vessel in a vicinity of the designated point] (Para 0174) [an aspiration needle is led to, and positioned at, a desired anatomical location in the thorax] (Para 0804) [image tracking facilitates determination by a user of the orientation of the tool relative to the vessel at any given moment, and thus assists the operator in determining when to push forward and/or activate the tool] (Para 0677)
Gopinath and Tolkowsky fail to teach a desired range of angles. However, Romoscanu teaches the device within a desired range of angles [steering section is flexed to limit the minimum bend radius to a predetermined minimum] (Abstract) in order to prevent excessive bending of components such as fiber optics (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopinath and Tolkowsky to include the bend radius limitation as taught by Romoscanu in order to prevent excessive bending of components such as fiber optics (Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Geiger et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2005/0107679 A1) – Geiger teaches a system and method for endoscopic path planning is provided. The method comprises: identifying a target in a lung, wherein the target is located in a peripheral airway of the lung; generating an endoscopic path to the target, wherein a peripheral artery is used as a surrogate for the peripheral airway; and viewing the endoscopic path.
Soper et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2006/0149134 A1) – Soper teaches visual-assisted guidance of an ultra-thin flexible endoscope to a predetermined region of interest within a lung during a bronchoscopy procedure. The region may be an opacity-identified by non-invasive imaging methods, such as high-resolution computed tomography (HRCT) or as a malignant lung mass that was diagnosed in a previous examination. An embedded position sensor on the flexible endoscope indicates the position of the distal tip of the probe in a Cartesian coordinate system during the procedure. A visual display is continually updated, showing the present position and orientation of the marker in a 3-D graphical airway model generated from image reconstruction. The visual display also includes windows depicting a virtual fly-through perspective and real-time video images acquired at the head of the endoscope, which can be stored as data, with an audio or textual account.
Tolkowsky (U.S. Patent Application 2010/0041949 A1) – Tolkowsky teaches apparatus is described for use with an imaging device (31) that acquires a pre-procedure image of a portion of a subject's body disposed at a pre-procedure position. An input unit receives from a user an indication of two or more lines within the image that correspond to respective branches of a multi-branch luminal structure. A probe moves within the portion along two or more lines in the structure that respectively correspond to the two or more lines within the image. A location sensor coupled to the probe senses location coordinates along the two or more lines, while the portion is at a current position. A control unit registers the image of the portion with the portion's current position by registering the two or more lines within the image, with the location coordinates along the two or more lines.
/Helene Bor/Examiner, Art Unit 3797