DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the Applicant’s filing on November 12, 2024. Claims 1-8 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0010225 by Seki et al. (herein after “Seki”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0142441 by Berry et al. (herein after “Berry”) and Loading a Dump Truck From a Stock Pile at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvh6T4mtM48 by TxLTAP (herein after “TxLTAP”).
Note: Text written in bold typeface is claim language from the instant application. Text written in normal typeface are comments made by the Examiner and/or passages from the prior art reference(s).
Regarding claim 1, Seki discloses a work machine (Seki: loading machine 1 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a main body (Seki ¶ [0027]: The vehicle body 2 includes a vehicle body front part 2F and a vehicle body rear part 2R; vehicle body 2 in Fig. 1) including a travel unit (Seki ¶ [0029]: The travel device 4 supports the vehicle body 2. The travel device 4 has wheels 5. The wheels 5 rotate by driving force generated by an engine mounted in the vehicle body 2 … The travel device 4 can travel on ground RS; travel device 4 and wheels 5 in Fig. 1);
a work implement attached in front of the main body, the work implement including a bucket at a tip end (Seki ¶ [0035]: The working equipment 10 has a boom 11 rotatably coupled to the vehicle body front part 2F, and a bucket 12; Seki ¶ [0037]: The bucket 12 is a work member having a tip portion 12B including a cutting edge. The bucket 12 is placed ahead of the front wheels 5F. The bucket 12 is coupled to a tip portion of the boom 11; working equipment 10 and bucket 12 in Fig. 1);
a work implement actuator that drives the work implement with respect to the main body (Seki ¶ [0069]: Control of motion of the working equipment 10 includes control of motion of at least one of the boom cylinder 13 and the bucket cylinder 14. The wheel loader 1 has a hydraulic pump, a boom control valve that controls a flow rate and direction of hydraulic oil supplied from the hydraulic pump to the boom cylinder 13, and a bucket control valve that controls a flow rate and direction of hydraulic oil supplied from the hydraulic pump to the bucket cylinder 14);
a work implement posture sensor that detects a posture of the work implement (Seki ¶ [0039]: The angle sensor 50 detects an angle of the working equipment 10. The angle sensor 50 includes a boom angle sensor 51 that detects an angle of the boom 11 and a bucket angle sensor 52 that detects an angle of the bucket 12);
an object sensor that detects an object around the main body (Seki ¶ [0041]: The three-dimensional measurement device 20 is mounted in the wheel loader 1. The three-dimensional measurement device 20 is supported by a housing 17. The three-dimensional measurement device 20 measures a measurement target ahead of the vehicle body front part 2F. The measurement target includes a loading target in which an excavation object excavated by the working equipment 10 is loaded. The three-dimensional measurement device 20 measures a three-dimensional shape of the measurement target. The three-dimensional measurement device 20 measures relative positions from the three-dimensional measurement device 20 to each of a plurality of measurement points on a surface of the measurement target, and measures a three-dimensional shape of the measurement target); and
a controller (Seki ¶ [0068]: the working equipment control unit 87 controls motion of the working equipment 10 for loading the excavation object to the vessel BE) that provides a command to drive the work implement actuator based on state (Seki ¶ [0099]: Furthermore, the travel speed of the wheel loader 1 and height of the bucket at a moment may be taken into consideration. With this arrangement, it is possible to control the working equipment 10 at optimal rising speed so that the position of the tip portion 12B is higher than the upper end portion BEt of the vessel BE immediately before the tip portion 12B reaches the closest point of the transportation vehicle LS), the work implement posture sensor (Seki ¶ [0067]: the bucket calculation unit 83 calculates a position of the bucket 12 in a vehicle body coordinate system of the wheel loader 1. When an angle specified on the basis of the position of the three-dimensional measurement device 20, a position of the upper end portion BEt of the vessel BE, and a position of a lower end portion of the bucket 12 is equal to or larger than a predetermined angle, the target calculation unit 86 calculates the position of the upper end portion BEt of the vessel BE), and the object sensor (Seki ¶ [0068]: On the basis of the distance to the transportation vehicle LS and height of the upper end portion BEt of the vessel BE that are calculated by the target calculation unit 86, the working equipment control unit 87 controls motion of the working equipment 10 for loading the excavation object to the vessel BE),
wherein the controller recognizes a loading target into which loads in the bucket are to be loaded, based on detection of the object (Seki ¶ [0068]: On the basis of the distance to the transportation vehicle LS and height of the upper end portion BEt of the vessel BE that are calculated by the target calculation unit 86, the working equipment control unit 87 controls motion of the working equipment 10 for loading the excavation object to the vessel BE), and controls the work implement actuator feature point of the bucket is located above the loading target (Seki ¶ [0098]: After the boom 11 performs rising motion and the bucket 12 is placed above the vessel BE, the working equipment control unit 87 controls the working equipment 10 so that the bucket 12 performs tilting motion. With this arrangement, the excavation object is discharged from the bucket 12 and loaded to the vessel BE) .
It is noted that Seki fails to explicitly disclose a work machine comprising:
a travel sensor that detects a state of travel of the travel unit; and
a controller that provides a command to drive the work implement actuator based on detection values from the travel sensor,
wherein the controller controls the work implement actuator and the travel unit such that the travel unit travels rearward with the full dump state being maintained.
However, Berry, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a work machine (Berry: material-handling machine 102 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a travel sensor that detects a state of travel of the travel unit (Berry ¶ [0041]: The controller 196 may be configured to determine a land speed of the body 112 of the machine 102 relative to the work surface 104 based on signals indicative of output shaft speeds from the at least one transmission mechanism 124 and information regarding gear ratios, tire diameters, and the like, for the machine 102); and
a controller that provides a command to drive the work implement actuator (Berry ¶ [0044]: the controller 196 may send actuating signals to the work implement system 118 to effect a desired direction of motion, velocity of motion, force, or combination thereof, associated with the lift actuator 138, the tilt actuator 142, or both) based on detection values from the travel sensor (Berry ¶ [0051]: Systems and methods according to aspects of the present disclosure alleviate the aforementioned challenges with unloading operations by determining the location of the implement 130 of the material-handling machine 102 relative to a material receptacle 106, and then by having a controller 196 fully automate the unloading operation),
wherein the controller recognizes a loading target into which loads in the bucket are to be loaded, based on detection of the object (Berry ¶ [0055]: the material receptacle 106 is located within the zone of detection 208 of the perception system 120, and the controller 196 may proceed to locate features of the material receptacle 106 relative to the implement 130 or other portion of the machine 102 based on input from the perception system 120), and controls the work implement actuator and the travel unit such that the bucket is in a full dump state while a feature point of the bucket is located above the loading target (Berry ¶ [0075]: As shown in FIG. 7B, the controller 196 actuates the machine 102 to automatically move the implement 130 along a predetermined path 560 to locate the leading edge 166 of the implement 130 at a target unloading location 210 above an aperture 554 of the material receptacle 106. The predetermined path 560 is selected to locate the implement 130 at the target unloading location 210 while avoiding any unintended contact between the machine 102 and the material receptacle 106. Further, the controller 196 may actuate the propulsion system 116, the implement system 118, or both, to effect motion of the implement 130 along the predetermined path 560; Berry ¶ [0079]: the controller 196 may automatically actuate the implement system 118 to unload material 108 from the implement 130 into the material receptacle 106. FIG. 7C shows an example of the position of the implement 130 over the material receptacle 106 after unloading material 108 from the implement 130 into the material receptacle 106) .
It is further noted that the combination of Seki and Berry fails to explicitly teach wherein the controller controls the work implement actuator and the travel unit such that the travel unit travels rearward with the full dump state being maintained.
However, TxLTAP, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the controller controls the work implement actuator and the travel unit such that the travel unit travels rearward with the full dump state being maintained.
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:55 showing a wheel loader with a bucket in a full dump state)
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:56 showing a wheel loader reversing with a bucket maintained in a full dump state)
Examiner interprets the combination of Seki and Berry to teach a work machine controller that recognizes a loading target and controls a work implement to dump a load based on the work implement being above a loading target. The controller is programmed to automate the work machine to mirror the actions of an experienced operator (Berry ¶ [0049]-[0051]). TxLTAP teaches a method for loading a dump truck that includes controlling a work machine and work implement to travel backward while maintaining a full dump state. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the controller of Seki and Berry to include logic for controlling the work machine and work implement as taught by TxLTAP.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for automating loading work by a loading machine of Seki to include the travel sensor and automated travel control of Berry and the method of maintaining a full dump state while reversing of TxLTAP with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make these modifications in order to transfer a material from a work implement to a material receptacle while avoiding contact between the work implement and the material receptacle (Berry ¶ [0008]) and to maximize efficiency and safety while operating a loading machine (TxLTAP: time stamp 0:48-0:50).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Seki, Berry and LxLTAP discloses wherein the controller sets an upper end of a side surface of the loading target recognized by the object sensor as a reference point (Seki ¶ [0119]: The target calculation unit 86 extracts an irradiation point PJ existing at a highest position among the three-dimensional data in the transportation vehicle group, and calculates the height Hb of the upper end portion BEt of the vessel BE on the basis of this irradiation point PJ), and starts drive of the work implement actuator to operate the bucket in a tilt direction at a time point when a horizontal distance between the reference point and the feature point becomes equal to or smaller than a prescribed value (Berry ¶ [0078]: The horizontal distance 558 may be selected to avoid unintended contact between the implement 130 and the material receptacle 106 during the unloading of material 108 from the implement 130 to the material receptacle 106; Berry ¶ [0080]: in step 526 the implement 130 is retracted away from the aperture 554 of the material receptacle 106 along a path that avoids unintended contact between the machine 102 and the material receptacle 106. According to an aspect of the disclosure, the controller 196 is programmed to effect a path in retraction from the material receptacle 106 that is substantially the reverse of the implement 130 path effected in steps 522 and 524).
Examiner interprets the combination of Seki, Berry and LxLTAP to teach a work machine controller that positions a work implement above a loading target and at a horizontal distance that is selected to avoid unintended contact with the loading target. The controller determines a path for extracting a work implement by substantially reversing a path the work implement followed before transitioning to a dumping state. Both paths are determined based on the horizontal distance that avoids unintended contact with a loading target. Thus, operating the bucket in a tilt direction will occur when a feature point of the bucket and reference point of a loading target are equal to a horizontal distance or prescribed value.
Further, LxLTAP suggests operating a bucket in a tilt direction while the bucket is within a distance of the edge of a loading target.
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:56 beginning to operate a bucket in a tilt direction)
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:58 finishing operating a bucket in a tilt direction)
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for automating loading work by a loading machine of Seki modified by the travel sensor and automated travel control of Berry and the method of maintaining a full dump state while reversing of TxLTAP to further include the horizontal distance for avoiding contact with a loading target and reverse path for retracting a work implement of Berry with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make these modifications in order to transfer a material from a work implement to a material receptacle while avoiding contact between the work implement and the material receptacle (Berry ¶ [0008]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Seki, Berry and LxLTAP discloses wherein the controller stops drive of the work implement actuator to operate the bucket in the tilt direction at a time point when the feature point moves beyond the reference point.
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:58 finishing operating a bucket in a tilt direction)
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:58 no longer operating a bucket in a tilt direction when the leading edge of the work implement has moved beyond the edge of the loading target)
Examiner interprets the combination of Seki and Berry to teach a work machine controller that recognizes a loading target and controls a work implement to dump a load into a loading target and includes a path for extracting a work implement by substantially reversing a path the work implement followed before transitioning to a dumping state where both paths are determined based on a horizontal distance that avoids unintended contact with a loading target. The controller is programmed to automate the work machine to mirror the actions of an experienced operator (Berry ¶ [0049]-[0051]). TxLTAP suggests a method for loading a dump truck that includes controlling a work machine and work implement to travel backward and finish a tilt operation of the work implement when a leading edge of a work implement moves beyond an edge of a loading target. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the controller of Seki and Berry to include logic for controlling the work machine and work implement as suggested by TxLTAP.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for automating loading work by a loading machine of Seki modified by the travel sensor and automated travel control including the horizontal distance for avoiding contact with a loading target and reverse path for retracting a work implement of Berry and the method of maintaining a full dump state while reversing of TxLTAP to further include stopping a tilting operation when a leading edge of a work implement moves beyond an edge of a loading target of TxLTAP with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make these modifications in order to maximize efficiency and safety while operating a loading machine (TxLTAP: time stamp 0:48-0:50).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Seki, Berry and LxLTAP discloses wherein the work implement has a boom coupled to the main body (Seki ¶ [0035]: The working equipment 10 has a boom 11 rotatably coupled to the vehicle body front part 2F; boom 11 in Fig. 1), and
the controller controls the travel unit to travel rearward with the full dump state being maintained while a posture of the boom with respect to the main body is held.
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:55 showing a wheel loader with a bucket in a full dump state)
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:56 showing a wheel loader reversing with a bucket maintained in a full dump state and a boom posture held with respect to the main body)
Examiner interprets the combination of Seki and Berry to teach a work machine controller that recognizes a loading target and controls a work implement to dump a load based on the work implement being above a loading target. The controller is programmed to automate the work machine to mirror the actions of an experienced operator (Berry ¶ [0049]-[0051]). TxLTAP teaches a method for loading a dump truck that includes controlling a work machine and work implement to travel backward while maintaining a full dump state and holding a boom posture with respect to the work machine main body. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the controller of Seki and Berry to include logic for controlling the work machine and work implement as taught by TxLTAP.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for automating loading work by a loading machine of Seki modified by the travel sensor and automated travel control of Berry and the method of maintaining a full dump state while reversing of TxLTAP to further include the method of holding a boom posture with respect to the work machine main body of TxLTAP with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make these modifications in order to maximize efficiency and safety while operating a loading machine (TxLTAP: time stamp 0:48-0:50).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Seki, Berry and LxLTAP discloses wherein the work implement has a boom coupled to the main body (Seki ¶ [0035]: The working equipment 10 has a boom 11 rotatably coupled to the vehicle body front part 2F; boom 11 in Fig. 1), and
the controller controls the bucket to operate in the tilt direction while a posture of the boom with respect to the main body is held.
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:56 beginning to operate a bucket in a tilt direction)
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:58 finishing operating a bucket in a tilt direction while a boom posture is held with respect to the main body)
Examiner interprets the combination of Seki and Berry to teach a work machine controller that recognizes a loading target and controls a work implement to dump a load into a loading target and includes a path for extracting a work implement by substantially reversing a path the work implement followed before transitioning to a dumping state where both paths are determined based on a horizontal distance that avoids unintended contact with a loading target. The controller is programmed to automate the work machine to mirror the actions of an experienced operator (Berry ¶ [0049]-[0051]). TxLTAP suggests a method for loading a dump truck that includes controlling a work machine and work implement to travel backward while operating a work implement in a tilt direction and holding a boom posture with respect to the work machine main body. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the controller of Seki and Berry to include logic for controlling the work machine and work implement as suggested by TxLTAP.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for automating loading work by a loading machine of Seki modified by the travel sensor and automated travel control including the horizontal distance for avoiding contact with a loading target and reverse path for retracting a work implement of Berry and the method of maintaining a full dump state while reversing of TxLTAP to further include the method of holding a boom posture with respect to the work machine main body while reversing and operating a work implement in a tilt direction of TxLTAP with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make these modifications in order to maximize efficiency and safety while operating a loading machine (TxLTAP: time stamp 0:48-0:50).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Seki, Berry and LxLTAP discloses wherein the work implement has a boom coupled to the main body (Seki ¶ [0035]: The working equipment 10 has a boom 11 rotatably coupled to the vehicle body front part 2F; boom 11 in Fig. 1), and
the controller starts drive of the work implement actuator to lower the boom at the time point when the feature point moves beyond the reference point.
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 7:58 no longer operating a bucket in a tilt direction when the leading edge of the work implement has moved beyond the edge of the loading target)
(TxLTAP: at time stamp 8:00 no longer operating a bucket in a tilt direction and lowering a boom when the leading edge of the work implement has moved beyond the edge of the loading target)
Examiner interprets the combination of Seki and Berry to teach a work machine controller that recognizes a loading target and controls a work implement to dump a load into a loading target and includes a path for extracting a work implement by substantially reversing a path the work implement followed before transitioning to a dumping state where both paths are determined based on the horizontal distance that avoids unintended contact with a loading target. The controller is programmed to automate the work machine to mirror the actions of an experienced operator (Berry ¶ [0049]-[0051]). TxLTAP suggests a method for loading a dump truck that includes controlling a work machine and work implement to travel backward and finish a tilt operation of the work implement when a leading edge of a work implement moves beyond an edge of a loading target while holding a boom posture with respect to the work machine main body. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art could have modified the controller of Seki and Berry to include logic for controlling the work machine and work implement as taught by TxLTAP.
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system for automating loading work by a loading machine of Seki modified by the travel sensor and automated travel control including the horizontal distance for avoiding contact with a loading target and reverse path for retracting a work implement of Berry and the method of maintaining a full dump state while reversing including stopping a tilting operation when a leading edge of a work implement moves beyond an edge of a loading target of TxLTAP to further include the method of holding a boom posture with respect to the work machine main body of TxLTAP with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make these modifications in order to maximize efficiency and safety while operating a loading machine (TxLTAP: time stamp 0:48-0:50).
Claims 7 and 8 recite analogous limitations to claim 1, above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
US 2018/0080193 discloses an automatic dump control for a loader that controls a boom and bucket to move to a height above a receptacle ensuring the bucket is positioned over the receptacle before dumping a load (¶ [0027]-[0029]). Further discloses controlling a boom and bucket to a height above a receptacle before reversing the loader (¶ [0030]).
US 2018/0142442 discloses various states of a wheel loader that is excavating and loading including a soil ejection step where an operator dumps an excavated object from a bucket at a prescribed position and loads the excavated object into a dump truck. Further discloses a step for rearward travel where a bucket is moved in a tilt direction and a boom is lowered (¶ [0083]-[0085]).
/N.P.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666