DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1 – 12) in the reply filed on (5 – 8 – 2026) is acknowledged. Consequently, Invention II (Claim 13 – 14) is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the same reply filed on (5 – 8 – 2026).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the elastic actuator must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 4 – 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “towards/away ” in line(s) 3. Claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter. A claim is indefinite if the scope of the claim is not clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art. One cannot ascertain whether “towards/away” defines “towards or away,” “towards and away,” or another relative movement of the claimed second portions. For the purposes of examination it will be understood to be “towards and/or away”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the moulding configuration " in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination, it will be understood to be a moulding configuration as this seems to be the first instance of the terminology moulding configuration being introduced into the claim set.
The term “the male punch (5) close to a bottom wall (4) of the female element (2);” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination “close” will be understood to be adjacent and/or proximate.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "each portion (7)" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination "each portion (7)" will be understood to be each second portion (7).
The term “the respective seat (8) close to the bottom wall (4).” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination “close” will be understood to be adjacent and/or proximate.
The term “said pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2).” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination it will be understood to be adjacent and/or proximate.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " Wherein it" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination the term “it” will be understood to be the compression moulding device.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "around the moulding surface (10)" in the first line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, for the purposes of examination the term “the moulding surface (10)” will be understood to be the outer moulding surface (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Davide Penazzi et al. (US 20100098800 A1, hereinafter Penazzi)Regarding claim 1,
A compression moulding device, comprising:
- a female element (2) for housing a dose of material suitable for compression moulding;
- a male punch (5) at least partly insertable in the female element (2) for compressing said dose and making a relative product;
- wherein said male punch (5) has an outer surface (10) for moulding the dose, and
wherein said male punch (5) comprises a first portion (6) slidable relative to at least a second portion (7) between a moulding condition
wherein the second portion (7) radially compresses the dose against the female element (2) and
a collapsed condition wherein the second portion (7) is radially retracted away from the dose;
the first portion (6) having a cylindrical shape having a plurality of seats (8) alternated with a plurality of outer surfaces (9),
wherein said male punch (5) comprises a plurality of second portions (7) each of which housed in a respective seat (8) of the first portion (6); and
wherein said male punch (5) also comprises a fixed third portion (18), associated with the first portion (6) and
having a pressing wall (19) positioned at the end of the male punch (5a) for pressing the dose against the bottom wall (4) of the female element (2).
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0026]) teaches that the mould 1 further comprises a die 14, shown in FIGS. 1 and 4, provided with a cavity 15 inside which there can be received a dose of plastics from which the cap 4 can be formed. ([0063]) teaches that during operation, a dose of plastics is introduced into the cavity 15, whilst the die 14 is spaced away from the punch 3. Where the die 14 acts as applicant’s female element (2) for housing a dose of material suitable for compression moulding of a cap 4.
([0025]) teaches that a mould 1 for compression moulding an object made of plastics, for example a cap 4, comprises a punch 3, suitable for shaping. ([0027]) adds that the punch 3 and the die 14 are movable with respect to one another along a moulding direction A. ([0033]) notes that a forming core 7 is connected, included in the punch 3. Where the punch 3, in particular the forming core 7 acts as applicant’s male punch (5) that is at least partly insertable in the female element (2) for compressing said dose and making a relative product.
([0034]) teaches that the forming core 7 comprises a transverse forming surface 27, during forming, contributes to shaping an end wall 28 of the cap 4 internally. ([0038]) adds that the respective first forming surfaces 31, that cooperate with the die 14 for shaping a side wall 33 of the cap 4. As best illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7) the forming core 7 with the forming surface 27 and forming surfaces 31 is provided. Where, the first forming surfaces 31 and forming surface 27 of the forming core 7 acts as applicant’s male punch’s (5) outer surface (10) for moulding the dose.
([0043]) teaches that as shown in FIGS. 4 and 6, each forming element 34 is bounded by two further lateral coupling surfaces 39, which may slide along the lateral coupling surfaces 29, and by a tilted coupling surface 40 of the forming core 7. ([0067]) teaches as shown in FIG. 2, the first spring 13 pushes the extracting element 18, the forming elements 34 and the forming core 7 downwards by the distance D. Where the forming core 7 act as applicant’s first portion (6) which is slidable relative to at least a second portion (7) (forming element 34) between a moulding condition.
([0047]) teaches that each forming element 34 is provided with a second forming surface 35, on which a recess 36 is obtained for forming a projection 37 that projects from the internal lateral surface 32 of the cap 4. Where the forming surface 35 provide for the forming element’s 34 / second portion (7) to radially compresses the dose against the die 14 / female element (2).
([0005]) teaches that during operation, a dose of plastics is introduced inside the die and subsequently the punch and the die are moved towards one another to shape the dose so as to obtain the cap. ([0040]) teaches that the forming core 7 comprises forming and disengaging means includes a plurality of forming elements 34, each of which is housed inside a respective groove 25 and is slidably coupled with the latter. ([0043]) notes that As illustrated in (Figs. 4 – 6), each forming element 34 is bounded by two further lateral coupling surfaces 39, which may slide along the lateral coupling surfaces 29, and by a tilted coupling surface 40, which may slide along the bottom coupling surface 30. ([0064]) teaches that in the moulding position C, the extracting element 18 is arranged so that the end-forming surfaces 38 of the forming elements 34 are substantially coplanar with the transverse forming surface 27 of the forming core 7. Highlighting, that (Fig. 3) shows the forming elements 34 are substantially coplanar with the transverse forming surface 27 of the forming core 7, which provide for the forming elements 34 / forming core’s 7 collapsed condition, (as opposed to (Fig. 6) showing the expanded position). As such, the forming elements 34 act as applicant’s second portion (6) slidable relative to at least a second portion (7) between a moulding condition.
([0035]) teaches that as shown in FIG. 7, on the second portion 9 there is obtained a plurality of grooves 25 that may be the same as one another. The grooves 25 have a dovetail section and a progressively increasing depth moving from the first surface 26 to the transverse, forming surface 27. ([0038]) adds that two adjacent grooves 25 are separated by respective first forming surfaces 31, that cooperate with the die 14 for shaping a side wall 33 of the cap 4, shown in (Fig. 8). As illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7), the forming core 7 has a cylindrical shape with a plurality of grooves 25 alternating with a plurality of forming surfaces 31. Where grooves 25 act as applicant’s plurality of seats (8) alternated with a plurality forming surfaces 31 acting as applicant’s a plurality of outer surfaces (9).
([0040]) teaches that forming elements 34, each of which is housed inside a respective groove 25 and is slidably coupled with the latter. ([0043]]) notes that As shown in (Figs. 4 & 6), each forming element 34 is bounded by two further lateral coupling surfaces 39, which may slide along the lateral coupling surfaces 29, and by a tilted coupling surface 40, which may slide along the bottom coupling surface 30. Where the forming elements 34 provide for applicant’s a plurality of second portions (7) each of which housed in a groove 25 / respective seat (8) of the first portion (6);
([0033]) teaches that the forming core 7 has a substantially cylindrical first portion 8 and a shaped second portion 9, arranged in a position that is further from the tubular element 2 than the first portion 8. Where there cylindrical first portion 8 acts as applicant’s male punch (5) fixed third portion (18), associated with the forming core 7 / first portion (6). Alternatively, ([0033]) teaches that a shaped second portion 9, arranged in a position that is further from the tubular element 2 than the first portion 8. Where there cylindrical second portion 8 acts as applicant’s male punch (5) fixed third portion (18), associated with the forming core 7 / first portion (6).
([0034]) teaches that the forming core 7 comprises a transverse forming surface 27, during forming, contributes to shaping an end wall 28 of the cap 4 internally. Where, the forming surface 27 acts as applicant’s a pressing wall (19) positioned at the end of the male punch (5a) for pressing the dose against the bottom wall (4) of the female element (2).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein each second portion (7) comprises an outer surface (11) adjacent to and interposed between two outer surfaces (9) of the first portion (6) and
having cavities (12) configured to define a thread of the product to be moulded;
said outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) in the moulding condition defining said outer moulding surface (10).
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0038]) teaches that two adjacent grooves 25 are separated by respective first forming surfaces 31, that cooperate with the die 14 for shaping a side wall 33 of the cap 4, shown in (Fig. 8). ([0044]) adds that each forming element 34 is provided with a second forming surface 35, on which a recess 36 is obtained for forming a projection 37 that projects from the internal lateral surface 32 of the cap 4. As illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7) the forming surface 35 act as applicant’s outer surface (11) that are found adjacent to and interposed between two outer forming surfaces 31 of the forming core 7 / first portion (6).
([0044]) teaches that each forming element 34 is provided with a second forming surface 35, on which a recess 36 is obtained for forming a projection 37 that projects from the internal lateral surface 32 of the cap 4. Where the recess 36 of the forming elements 34 act as applicant’s cavities (12) configured to define a thread of the product to be moulded.
([0045]) teaches that the first forming surfaces 31 and the second forming surfaces 35 cooperate to define the entire internal lateral surface 32 of the cap 4. Where the first forming surfaces 31 and the second forming surfaces 35 of the forming elements 34 and the forming core 7, respectively, provide for and act as applicant’s outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) in the moulding condition defining said outer moulding surface (10).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein said seats (8) of the first portion (6) are arranged circumferentially along the cylindrical extension of the first portion (6);
said second portions (7) being movable radially towards/away from the longitudinal axis of extension (X) of the first portion.
Penazzi teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7) the grooves 25 / seats (8) of the first portion (6) are arranged circumferentially along the cylindrical extension of the first portion (6).
As illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7) the forming elements 34 are shown to being movable radially towards/away from the longitudinal axis of extension (X) of the first portion.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 2,
Wherein each seat (8) comprises a contact surface (8a) inclined and converging towards an end (5a) of the male punch (5) close to a bottom wall (4) of the female element (2); and
wherein each second portion (7) comprises a contact surface (7a) inclined and converging towards the end (5a) of the male punch (5) close to said bottom wall (4);
said contact surface (8a) of each seat (8) abutting the contact surface (7a) of the respective second portion (7) to slide thereon between the moulding configuration and the collapsed configuration.
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0037]) teaches that each groove 25 is bounded by two lateral coupling surfaces that lie on respective planes that converge on one another in a region outside the forming core 7. Each groove 25 is further bounded by a bottom coupling surface 30, tilted with respect to the, longitudinal axis B and interposed between the lateral coupling surfaces 29. The bottom coupling surfaces 30 of all the grooves 25 can be tilted by the same amount with respect to the longitudinal axis B. The bottom coupling surfaces 30 are convergent on the die 14. Where the converge grooves 25 provide acts as applicant’s seat (8) comprising a contact surface (8a) inclined and converging towards an end (5a) of the male punch (5) close to a bottom wall (4) of the female element (2).
([0042]) teaches that the forming elements 34 have a section, taken transversely to the longitudinal axis B, which increases moving to the die 14. ([0043]) adding that as shown in (Figs. 4 – 7), each forming element 34 is bounded by two further lateral coupling surfaces 39, which may slide along the lateral coupling surfaces 29, and by a tilted coupling surface 40, which may slide along the bottom coupling surface 30. As detailed, the forming elements 34 are provided with a contact surface (7a) inclined and converging towards the end (5a) of the male punch (5) close to said bottom wall (4), where the converging towards the end (5a) is defined by the grooves 25 in which the forming elements 34 are coupled to.
([0042]) teaches that the forming elements 34 have a section, taken transversely to the longitudinal axis B, which increases moving to the die 14. ([0043]) adding that as shown in (Figs. 4 – 7), each forming element 34 is bounded by two further lateral coupling surfaces 39, which may slide along the lateral coupling surfaces 29, and by a tilted coupling surface 40, which may slide along the bottom coupling surface 30. As detailed, the grooves 25 are provided with a contact surfaces that are found to be abutting the contact surface (7a) of the respective forming elements 34 / second portion (7) to slide thereon between the moulding configuration and the collapsed configuration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
B.) Claim(s) 5 – 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davide Penazzi in view of Schweigert (US 6099785 A, hereinafter Schweigert)
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4,
Wherein said first portion (6) is movable along said longitudinal axis of extension (X) to define said moulding and collapsed conditions;
each portion (7) in the collapsed condition having the respective contact surface (7a) abutting an end zone of the contact surface (8a) of the respective seat (8) close to the bottom wall (4).
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0005]) teaches that during operation, a dose of plastics is introduced inside the die and subsequently the punch and the die are moved towards one another to shape the dose so as to obtain the cap. ([0006]) teaches that once the cap is formed, the punch and the die are moved away from one another, whilst the cap remains associated with the punch as the threads are coupled with the recesses and the ridges of the external forming surface of the punch. As such, the punch 3, including the forming core 7 / first portion (6) is movable along said longitudinal axis of extension (X) to define said moulding and collapsed conditions.
Regarding Claim 5, Penazzi further teaches on ([0084]) that the punch provided with forming and disengaging elements of the type disclosed above for injection-moulding objects made of plastics. Penazzi is silent on each of the second portions (7) in the collapsed condition having the respective contact surface (7a) abutting an end zone of the contact surface (8a) of the respective seat (8) close to the bottom wall (4). In analogous art for an injection molding apparatus and method of injection molding a closure having projections extending inwardly from a skirt of the closure includes a plurality of slides for movement obliquely with respect to an inner mold core, (Abstract), Schweigert suggests details regarding each of the second portions (7) in the collapsed condition having the respective contact surface (7a) abutting an end zone of the contact surface (8a) of the respective seat (8) close to the bottom wall (4), and in this regard, Schweigert teaches the following:
(Col. 5, lines 53 – 59) teaches that the slide 20 is mounted on the mold core 18 by sliding it downwardly so that the upper end of the guide 34 enters the open bottom end of the T-slot 48 and the respective sidewalls 32, 46 and faces 30, 44 of the slide 20 and channel 28 are in face-to-face juxtaposition until a bottom shelf 56 of the slide 20 is positioned within a seat 58 in the base 26 of the inner mold 16. Where the slides 20 are provided with a respective contact surface / shelf 56 / respective contact surface (7a) that when in the collapsed condition abuts an end of the seat 58 / contact surface (8a) of the groove / respective seat (8) close to the bottom wall of the base.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus comprising a molding device for molding an object having an end wall and a side wall includes a forming core having a lateral forming surface for shaping part of an internal surface of the side wall of Penazzi. By modifying the core to comprise a that each second portion (7) in the collapsed condition has a respective contact surface (7a) that abuts an end zone of the contact surface (8a) of the respective groove close to the bottom wall (4), as taught by Schweigert. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a core to comprise a that each second portion (7) in the collapsed condition has a respective contact surface (7a) that abuts an end zone of the contact surface (8a) of the respective groove close to the bottom wall (4) as it provides for a resting location of the slide(s) 20 to be within a seat 58 of the base 26 of the inner mold 16, (Col. 5, lines 53 – 59). Highlighting, that the applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5,
Wherein said male punch (5) also comprises an elastic pushing actuator associated with said second portions (7) for pushing said portions towards said longitudinal axis of extension (X) of the first portion (6);
said outer surfaces (11) of the second portions (7) in the collapsed condition being positioned inside a containment space defined by said outer moulding surface (10) of the male punch (5).
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0060]) teaches that a first end of the second spring 45 interacts, by means of the ring 44, with the annular end 42. A second end of the second spring 45 interacts with the bush 46, which in turn is in contact with the projecting portions 41. As such, the second spring 45 interacts with the bush 46 acts as an elastic pushing actuator associated with said second portions (7) for pushing said portions towards said longitudinal axis of extension (X) of the first portion (6). Alternatively, ([0061]) teaches that the apparatus 1 may be devoid of the second spring 45. In this case, the forming elements 34 are positioned with respect to the forming core 7 by means of the protrusion 62 which, by interacting with the bush 46, pushes the protruding portions 41 towards the annular element 10. Where the annular element 10 acts as an elastic pushing actuator associated with said second portions (7) for pushing said portions towards said longitudinal axis of extension (X) of the first portion (6).
([0064]) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 5) the end-forming surfaces 38 of the forming elements 34 are substantially coplanar with the transverse forming surface 27 of the forming core 7. Where the grooves 25 within in the forming core 7 which extend and including the forming surface 27 and first surfaces 31 provide a containment space such that the outer surfaces (11) of forming elements 34 / the second portions (7) in the collapsed condition are positioned inside said containment space which as noted is defined by said outer moulding surface (10) of the male punch (5)
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6,
Wherein said elastic actuator comprises an elastic ring housed in grooves (14a) made in each second portion (7);
said elastic ring being positioned coaxially and outside the first portion (6).
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0060]) teaches that a first end of the second spring 45 interacts, by means of the ring 44, with the annular end 42. A second end of the second spring 45 interacts with the bush 46, which in turn is in contact with the projecting portions 41. As such, the second spring 45 interacts with the bush 46 acts as an elastic pushing actuator associated with said second portions (7) for pushing said portions towards said longitudinal axis of extension (X) of the first portion (6). As illustrated in (Figs. 4 – 6), the ledge of projecting portions 41 act as applicant’s groove which provides for housing the bush(ing) 46 for movement / actuating of the forming elements 34.
As illustrated in (Figs. 4 – 6), the bush(ing) 46 is found to be positioned coaxially and outside the forming core 7 / first portion (6).
C.) Claim(s) 5 – 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davide Penazzi in view of Schweigert and in further view of Mikac et al. (US 20090152770 A1, hereinafter Mikac)Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7,
Wherein said third portion (18) has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the first portion (6);
said pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2).
Penazzi teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7), the forming core 7 has a substantially cylindrical first portion 8 and the shape of the second portion 9, in the closed position is also shown to be substantially cylindrical.
Regarding Claim 8, Penazzi as modified by Schweigert further teaches on ([0084]) that the punch provided with forming and disengaging elements of the type disclosed above for injection-moulding objects made of plastics. Penazzi is silent on the third portion (18) has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the first portion (6) and said pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2). In analogous art for a mechanically-collapsible core device for molding an article that includes a central pin having a plurality of engaging members, a plurality of first collapsible core members each having an engaging member that engages with a respective engaging member of the central pin, (Abstract), Mikac suggests details regarding the third portion (18) has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the first portion (6) and said pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2), and in this regard, Mikac teaches the following:
([0018]) teaches that when the device is assembled at a home position, the central pin is slidably engaged into an orifice of the base member, the first collapsible core members are inserted into the cutouts of the base member with the rails of the first collapsible core members being engaged with the grooves of the central pin inserted through the orifice, and the rails of the second collapsible core members are engaged with the grooves in the conical portion of the base member with a first end of the second collapsible core members engaging the shoulder portion of the base member. Where the pin acts as applicant’s third portion (18) has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the base / first portion (6).
([0047]) teaches that A hole (orifice) 47 is also formed through the center of the base member 8, including extending through both the cylindrical portion 40 and the conical portion 41. The diameter of the hole 47 is preferably slightly larger than the untapered diameter of the central pin 2 so that the central pin 2 can slidably fit within the hole 47. ([0058]) adds that thus, as seen in FIG. 3, the mechanically-collapsible core device of the invention thus assembled, and by inserting the pin 2 until end 22 is relatively flush with end 39 of the base member, and retaining the second collapsible core members with surface 52 engaged with shoulder 48 of base member 8, the home position of the device is obtained. As best illustrated in (Figs. 1 – 4 & 20), the end 22 of central pin 2 is found to act as applicant’s pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus comprising a molding device for molding an object having an end wall and a side wall includes a forming core having a lateral forming surface for shaping part of an internal surface of the side wall of Penazzi. By modifying the core to comprise a third portion (18) that has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the first portion (6) and said pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2). Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement a core that comprises a third portion (18) that has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the first portion (6) and said pressing wall (19) being associated with an end (20a) of the cylindrical body (20) close to the female element (2) as it provides for a central pin 2 is also seen to include a plurality of grooves 21. The grooves 21 constitute engaging members that, as will be described later, engage the first collapsible core members 3, ([0043]), and utilizing the 4-degree taper of the central pin described above, the inventors herein have utilized a corresponding 4-degree taper for the engaging member of the first collapsible core member 3, ([0047]). Highlighting, that the applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or the use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way provides for the recitation of KSR case law. Where, "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8,
Wherein the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose.
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0038]) teaches that two adjacent grooves 25 are separated by respective first forming surfaces 31, that cooperate with the die 14 for shaping a side wall 33 of the cap 4, shown in (Fig. 8). ([0044]) teaches that the forming element 34 is provided with a second forming surface 35, on which a recess 36 is obtained for forming a projection 37 that projects from the internal lateral surface 32 of the cap 4 ([0047]) adds that The end-forming surfaces 38 cooperate with the transverse forming surface 27 to shape internally the end wall 28 of the cap 4. ([0063]) adds as shown in FIG. 4, the die 14 comprises a tubular, wall 48 that surrounds the cavity 15. As illustrated in (Figs. 4 – 7), the forming core 7 provided with forming surfaces 31, second forming surface 35, transverse forming surface 27 and end-forming surfaces 38 provide for the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose.
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 8,
Wherein the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose.
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0038]) teaches that two adjacent grooves 25 are separated by respective first forming surfaces 31, that cooperate with the die 14 for shaping a side wall 33 of the cap 4, shown in (Fig. 8). ([0044]) teaches that the forming element 34 is provided with a second forming surface 35, on which a recess 36 is obtained for forming a projection 37 that projects from the internal lateral surface 32 of the cap 4 ([0047]) adds that The end-forming surfaces 38 cooperate with the transverse forming surface 27 to shape internally the end wall 28 of the cap 4. ([0063]) adds as shown in FIG. 4, the die 14 comprises a tubular, wall 48 that surrounds the cavity 15. As illustrated in (Figs. 4 – 7), the forming core 7 provided with forming surfaces 31, second forming surface 35, transverse forming surface 27 and end-forming surfaces 38 provide for the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose.
Regarding Claim 8, Penazzi is silent on the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose. In analogous art as applied above, Mikac suggests details regarding the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose, and in this regard, Mikac teaches the following:
([0018]) teaches that when the device is assembled at a home position, the central pin is slidably engaged into an orifice of the base member, the first collapsible core members are inserted into the cutouts of the base member with the rails of the first collapsible core members being engaged with the grooves of the central pin inserted through the orifice, and the rails of the second collapsible core members are engaged with the grooves in the conical portion of the base member with a first end of the second collapsible core members engaging the shoulder portion of the base member. Where the pin acts as applicant’s third portion (18) has a cylindrical body (20) coaxially inserted at least partly inside the base / first portion (6). ([0064]) notes that once the molding fixture has been assembled, and the molded part has been formed (e.g., molded part 110 in FIG. 4), the molding fixture is operated to collapse the core device of the invention and eject the molded part. As illustrated in (Fig. 4) the central pin 2 along with end 22 is found to be within the cavity used for molding the article, thus the end 22 of central pin 2 provides for a molding surface, in tandem with the other portions of the core. Where the end 22 of central pin 2 / the pressing wall (19) defines in conjunction with the outer surfaces (9, 11) of the first and second portions (6, 7) said outer surface (10) for moulding the dose.
The same rejection rationale, and analysis that was used previously for claim 7, can be applied here and should be referred to for this claim as well.Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 9,
Wherein said second portions (7) in the collapsed condition are positioned inside a perimeter defined by a peripheral edge of the pressing wall (19).
Penazzi teaches the following:
As illustrated in (Figs. 5 – 7), the forming element 34 is bounded by two further lateral coupling surfaces 39 within grooves 25. Such that when in the collapsed position provided in (Fig. 5), the end-forming surfaces 38 of the forming elements 34 are substantially coplanar with the transverse forming surface 27 of the forming core 7. Providing for second portions (7) in the collapsed condition are positioned inside a perimeter defined by a peripheral edge of the forming surface 27 / pressing wall (19).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 4,
Wherein it also comprises an extraction unit (22) positioned around said male punch (5) and
movable axially along said longitudinal axis of extension (X).
Penazzi teaches the following:
& b.) ([0052]) teaches that the mould 1 further comprises an extracting element 18, that is coaxial with the longitudinal axis B, to remove the cap 4. The extracting element 18, which may be substantially sleeve-shaped, surrounds the forming core 7. Where the extracting elements 18 acts as applicant’s extraction unit (22) positioned around the forming core 7 / male punch (5), with the extracting elements 18 understood to be axially movable along said longitudinal axis of extension for removing the cap from the molding surfaces after forming.
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 11,
Wherein said extraction unit (22) comprises an annular element (23) extending around the moulding surface (10);
said annular element (23) sliding towards the end (5a) of the male punch (5) in the respective collapsed condition for extracting a moulded product following the action of pressing the dose.
Penazzi teaches the following:
([0054]) teaches that the extracting element 18 comprises a lower portion 23 that is integral with the upper portion 19 and surrounds the second portion 9 of the forming core 7. The lower portion 23 is provided with an annular end 42 which projects towards the longitudinal axis B inside the lower portion 23. As illustrated in (Fig. 4) the extracting element 18 is found to have a lower portion 23 with an annular end 42 extending around the first forming surfaces 31 / the outer moulding surface (10) used for shaping a side wall 33 of the cap 4.
([0067]) teaches that as shown in (Fig. 2), the first spring 13 pushes the extracting element 18, the forming elements 34 and the forming core 7 downwards by the distance D. ([0069]) teaches that the driving bar 50 drives the extracting element 18, moving the extracting element 18 along the longitudinal axis B downwards with respect to the forming core 7, which remains, on the other hand, stationary. The operating surface 24 pushes down the edge zone 52 of the cap 4, so that the end wall 28 of the cap 4 is detached from the forming core 7. Noting, that as the extracting element 18 beings to slide, the forming core 7 and the forming elements 34 are understood to be coplanar along with the extracting element 18, (Fig. 2). ([0069]) adds that whilst the extracting element 18 moves the cap 4 away from the forming core 7, the projections 37 of the cap 4, engaged in the recesses 36, drag the forming elements 34 towards the die 14. In this manner, the forming elements 34 slide with respect to the forming core 7, so as to protrude with respect to the latter by a progressively increasing amount. As such, as the extraction transpires, the core moves from the collapsed position (Fig. 5) to the expanded position in which the forming elements 34 slide away from the forming core 7 as illustrated in (Fig. 6). Accordingly, the extraction of the cap 4 is understood to begin with the extracting element 18 comprising an annular end 42 sliding towards the end (5a) of the forming core 7 / male punch (5) in the respective collapsed condition for extracting a moulded product following the action of pressing the dose. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Helenius et al. (US 20100323051 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An injection molding tool having a core assembly with a shaft that is lockably or securedly mounted within a bore of a plate or within another suitable lock element. Rotational or other suitable movement of the lock results in or translates into axial movement of and/or axial forces apply to the core assembly.
Thomas Barnes (US 20120301572 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Various embodiments provide methods and apparatus for cooling a mold in a compression or injection molding assembly, thereby enabling increased cycling speed and efficiency. Embodiments include a coolant flow path that transports a fluid coolant into and out of a cooling ring around the molding assembly's core.
Kubota et al. (US 4541605 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) Present invention relates to a metal mold device comprising a female die, a die frame having a hole and a male die assembly moving along an axis of the hole to produce a plastic molding having an opening with a partially waved inner sidewall.
Rote et al. (US 20070098836 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A compression molding machine, for compression molding a closure shell having a base wall with an opening and in accordance with one aspect of the disclosure, includes a male mold section and a female mold section having associated surfaces that oppose each other to form a cavity for compression molding the base wall of the closure shell.
Matteo Zoppas (US 7425124 B2) – teaches in the (Abstract) A device for compression moulding of plastic objects, comprising a plurality of compression-moulding units (9), each of which comprises a core mould element and a moulding cavity (2) filled by dropping into it a dose of plastic material; each moulding unit (9) is designed to carry out a moulding sequence comprising an operation of opening of the mould, an operation of filling of the moulding cavity, and an operation of closing of the mould.
Zeno Zuffa (US 20030003183 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) An apparatus for manufacturing plastics items provided with external undercuts, comprising at least one compression molding unit (S), which is composed of an upper male mold part (1) comprising a plug (15) and of a lower female mold part (2) aligned, along a vertical axis, with the male mold part (1), means for actuating the mold parts (1, 2) between a spaced position.
Lin et al. (US 20220347903 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Provided is a mold structure with a fast replacement of a mold core, including an upper mold base and a lower mold base corresponding to the upper mold base. The upper mold base is provided with at least one upper mold base, wherein the bottom of the upper mold base is provided with a push-pull device, the push-pull device includes a pressure cylinder and a push-pull rod capable of expansion and contraction and the upper mold core is driven by the expansion and contraction of the push-pull rod.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743