Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [42,43,44 and 47] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Solomon (US 20230009140 A1) in view of Basuki (US 20220124457 A1).
In regards to claim 42, 49, 56, 61, Solomon teaches a method of performing sensing measurements during a sensing session between a first wireless station (STA) and a second wireless STA in a wireless communication network [0096] the AP may establish a separate measurement session on one or more wireless channels with each of the discovered wireless communication devices based at least in part on the capabilities of the respective discovered wireless communication devices, the method comprising: selecting, during a sensing session setup, the first wireless STA as a sensing transmitter STA for transmitting frames [0156] at block 1502, the initiator device assigns a transmitting device role or a receiving device role or both transmitting and receiving device roles to one or more of the responder devices during the negotiation of the sensing parameters. In some instances, the roles assigned to the one or more responder devices may be identified by the Measurement Setup ID and the second wireless STA as a sensing receiver STA for performing measurements on frames received from the sensing transmitter STA, [0099] the AP 802 may assign a role of transmitting device, a role of receiving device, or the roles of transmitting device and receiving device to one or more of the STAs 804. For example, in some instances, STAs assigned the role of transmitting device may be used to transmit sounding sequences (such as NDPs) over the wireless channel, and STAs assigned the role of receiving device may be used to estimate channel conditions or determine CSI responsive to the sounding sequences and performing, by the sensing receiver STA during a sensing session, wireless sensing to obtain sensing measurements based on frames received from the sensing transmitter STA. [0130] The NDP 1043 may carry one or more sounding sequences configured for obtaining channel state information (CSI) of the wireless channel. In some instances, the NDP 1043 may include a plurality of LTFs configured for channel estimation. Each of the responder devices rSTA1-rSTA3 receives the NDP 1043 transmitted by the AP, and estimates channel conditions or determines CSI of the wireless channel based on the sounding sequences carried in the NDP 1043, A method for a first wireless station (STA) to request sensing measurements from a second wireless STA in a wireless communication network, [0107] The reporting phase 850 begins with the AP 802 soliciting channel information from the STAs 804. In some implementations, the AP 802 may transmit a TF Sensing Trigger frame over the wireless channel to the STAs 804. The TF Sensing Trigger frame may identify one or more of the STAs 804 to provide a measurement report to the AP 802. A second wireless station (STA) arranged to perform sensing measurements during a sensing session between a first wireless STA and the second wireless STA in a wireless communication network [0176] the wireless communication device 2400 may be configured as a wireless station such as one of the STAs 804 of FIG. 8. In some other implementations, the wireless communication device 2400 may be configured as a responder device such as the responder devices rSTA1-rSTA3 of FIGS. 9A, 9B, 10A, 10B, or 11. A first wireless station (STA) arranged to request sensing measurements from a second wireless STA in a wireless communication network, [0107] The reporting phase 850 begins with the AP 802 soliciting channel information from the STAs 804. In some implementations, the AP 802 may transmit a TF Sensing Trigger frame over the wireless channel to the STAs 804. The TF Sensing Trigger frame may identify one or more of the STAs 804 to provide a measurement report to the AP 802.
Solomon does not teach wherein the selection is based on expected accuracy of the sensing measurements.
However, Basuki does teach wherein the selection is based on expected accuracy of the sensing measurements. [0094] This selection by the positioning computation node 105 may be based on the desired accuracy as well as measurements in the report 150. For this selection, the positioning computation node 105 may consider similar factors as UE 135 described above. Alternatively, the positioning computation node 105 may select network nodes based on a predicted ability to estimate a position with the desired accuracy. For instance, the channel quality measurement report 150 may indicate a small set of network nodes associated with relatively narrow beams (i.e. narrow beam width) and high channel quality.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Solomon and Basuki before him or her, to modify the method of Solomon in include sensing measurement configuration as taught by Basuki.
The motivation for doing so would be improved positioning accuracy. (Paragraph 0006 by Basuki)].
In regard to claim 43, 50, Solomon and Basuki teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Solomon also teaches a method reporting, by the sensing receiver STA, the obtained sensing measurements to the sensing transmitter STA [0133] In response to receiving the TF Sensing Trigger frame 1052, the responder devices rSTA1-rSTA3 transmit respective measurement reports 1054 over the one or more wireless channels to the AP, at time t.sub.6. Each of the measurement reports 1054 may include or indicate the CSI determined by a corresponding responder device based on the NDP 1043.
In regard to claim 44, 51 and 62, Solomon and Basuki teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Solomon also teaches wherein the report of the obtained sensing measurements includes the following: channel state information (CSI) field including the obtained sensing measurements; [0133] Each of the measurement reports 1054 may include or indicate the CSI determined by a corresponding responder device based on the NDP 1043. In some implementations, each of the measurement reports 1054 may include the Measurement Instance ID of the corresponding measurement instance 1001 and the Measurement Setup ID identifying the set of the sensing parameters, and control field that describes how to interpret the CSI. [0134] the measurement reports 1054 may include or indicate the receive parameters used by the respective responder devices rSTA1-rSTA3 to receive the NDP 1043. Example receive parameters may include (but are not limited to) receive antenna indexes, automatic gain control (AGC) per receive chain, estimated CFO, received signal strength indication (RSSI) per antenna, or any spatial mapping of the sounding sequences to different receive antennas
In regard to claim 47, 54, 59, Solomon and Basuki teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Solomon also teaches wherein selecting during the sensing session setup comprises selecting the following by the sensing receiver STA: [0048] the initiator device may re-assign the receiving device role to another group of devices better suited to estimate channel conditions or determine CSI. In some instances, the initiator device may also assign the receiving device role to itself, the first wireless STA as the sensing transmitter STA and the second wireless STA as the sensing receiver STA during a first part of the sensing session; [0099] The AP 802 may also assign roles to one or more of the STAs 804. In some implementations, the AP 802 may assign a role of transmitting device, a role of receiving device, or the roles of transmitting device and receiving device to one or more of the STAs 804. For example, in some instances, STAs assigned the role of transmitting device may be used to transmit sounding sequences (such as NDPs) over the wireless channel and the first wireless STA as the sensing receiver STA and the second wireless STA as the sensing transmitter STA during a second part of the sensing session.[0156] at block 1502, the initiator device assigns a transmitting device role or a receiving device role or both transmitting and receiving device roles to one or more of the responder devices during the negotiation of the sensing parameters and [0050] if movement of a particular device assigned to the role of transmitting device decreases its ability to transmit sounding sequences suitable for channel estimation and increases its ability to estimate channel conditions, the initiator device may re-assign the particular device to the role of receiving device (such that the particular device estimates channel conditions rather than transmitting the sounding sequences used for channel estimation).
Claim [45] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Solomon (US 20230009140 A1) in view of Basuki (US 20220124457 A1) further in view of Peter (US 20230048423 A1).
In regard to claim 45, 52, 57 and 63 Solomon and Basuki teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Solomon and Basuki do not teach wherein the selection during the sensing session setup is further based on one or more of the following: actual and/or expected interference experienced by any of the first wireless STA and the second wireless STA; and a transmit power of any of the first wireless STA and the second wireless STA.
However, Peter does teach wherein the selection during the sensing session setup is further based on one or more of the following: actual and/or expected interference experienced by any of the first wireless STA and the second wireless STA; [0078] Assessing interference- and reachability-related criteria makes it possible to avoid lighting devices that are likely to suffer or have been determined (e.g. based on historical data) to suffer from wireless interference caused by non-lighting devices affecting the lighting device's ability to perform RF-based sensing, and a transmit power of any of the first wireless STA and the second wireless STA. [0016] Said least one processor may be configured to determine at least part of said suitability of a device of said plurality of devices by assessing at least one of: said device's hardware and software capabilities, said device's RF characteristics, said device's mounting orientation, wireless interference close to said device… Said RF characteristics may comprise radiation patterns, directionality of the antenna, transmit power, and/or reception sensitivity, for example.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Solomon and Basuki before him or her, to modify the method of Solomon in include sensing measurement configuration as taught by Basuki.
The motivation for doing so would be improved positioning accuracy. (Paragraph 0006 by Basuki)].
Claim [46, 53, 58 and 64] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Solomon (US 20230009140 A1) in view of Basuki (US 20220124457 A1) further in view of Peter (US 20230048423 A1) further in view of Chae (US 20150109947 A).
In regard to claim 46, 53, 58 and 64 Solomon, Peter and Basuki teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Solomon, Peter and Basuki do not teach wherein the actual and/or expected interference is based on one of the following: an average fraction of time that the first wireless STA and/or the second wireless STA is interfered; a maximum interference that the first wireless STA and/or the second wireless STA is expected to experience; or an expected distribution for the interference that the first wireless STA and/or the second wireless STA is expected to experience.
However, Chae does teach wherein the actual and/or expected interference is based on one of the following: an average fraction of time that the first wireless STA and/or the second wireless STA is interfered; a maximum interference that the first wireless STA and/or the second wireless STA is expected to experience; [0115] When the maximum interference magnitude condition .epsilon. is low, the transmission chance of the SU signal that generates interference and throughput are more limited, but the interference that is experienced by the PU signal is reduced. In contrast, when the maximum interference magnitude condition .epsilon. is high, the transmission chance of the SU signal that generates interference and throughput are more allowed, but the interference that is experienced by the PU signal increases, or an expected distribution for the interference that the first wireless STA and/or the second wireless STA is expected to experience.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Solomon, Peter, Chae and Basuki before him or her, to modify the method of Solomon, Peter and Basuki in include interference configuration as taught by Chae.
The motivation for doing so would be improved network transmission efficiency. (Paragraph 0007 by Chae)].
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466