DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/12/2024 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 1-11, 16- 24 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 11, 16-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chi et al. (US Pub. 20250007761 A1).
For claims 1, 11, and 21, Chi discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Figs. 17-19) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a base station, a signaling indicating an orthogonal angular momentum (OAM) multiplexing configuration of one or more configured OAM modes (S1001-1002, S902, S701; network device may be a gNB and sends transmission-mode information indicating the OAM mode configured for the terminal. The information may identify one or more OAM-mode combinations, including their arrangement and number) [0126], [0130]-[0134]; and
apply at least one of the configured OAM modes for at least one of receiving a downlink transmission or transmitting an uplink transmission (S1003, S703, S501, Chi’s claims 1 and 8; the terminal transmit a control channel according to the network-indicated OAM mode; identifies PUCCH and PDCCH alternatives. The PUCCH embodiment satisfies the claimed downlink/uplink alternative.) [0133]-[0134], [0075]-[0077].
Claim 11 differs from claim 1 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art further discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 17-19), the method comprising (Figs. 5-12):
All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claim 16, Chi discloses a base station for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Figs. 17-19) and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a signaling indicating an orthogonal angular momentum (OAM) multiplexing configuration of one or more configured OAM modes to be applied at the UE for at least one of receiving a downlink transmission or transmitting an uplink transmission (S1001-1002, S902, S701; Chi’s claims 1 and 8; network device may be a gNB and sends transmission-mode information indicating the OAM mode configured for the terminal. The information may identify one or more OAM-mode combinations, including their arrangement and numbe; identifies PUCCH and PDCCH alternatives. The PUCCH embodiment satisfies the claimed downlink/uplink alternative.) [0126], [0130]-[0134]; and
receive, from the UE, the uplink transmission with at least one of the one or more configured OAM modes applied (S1003, S703, S501-S503; the terminal transmits a control channel according to the network-indicated OAM mode;) [0133]-[0134], [0075]-[0077].
Claim 21 differs from claim 1 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior art. The cited prior art further discloses a processor for wireless communication (Figs. 17-19), comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Figs. 17-19) and configured to cause the processor to: (Figs. 5-12).
All other identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 2, 17, and 22, Chi discloses the UE to map the at least one configured OAM mode with at least one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) for the at least one of receiving the downlink transmission or transmitting the uplink transmission (“…SINRs corresponding to different OAM modes are different due to the influence of different channel parameters. Specifically, the larger the SINR, the higher the stability of the OAM mode, and the smaller the absolute value of the eigenvalue, the larger the SINR of the OAM mode.”) [0124], [0061], [0047].
For claims 3 and 23, Chi discloses the UE to apply a first configured OAM mode for the receiving the downlink transmission, and apply a second configured OAM mode for the transmitting the uplink transmission (Figs. 5-12; S1003, S703, S501-503) [0130]-[0134], [0075]-[0077].
For claims 4, 18, and 24, Chi discloses a number of the one or more configured OAM modes is indicated by one of downlink control information (DCI) signaling or radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Figs. 5, 7 and 12; Chi’s claims 4–5 and 13–14; permits the network to indicate the configured OAM mode through RRC or DCI. Indicating the arrangement and number of OAM-mode combinations; its example selects three singleton combinations, producing three indicated OAM modes) [0046], [0073], [0100].
For claim 7, Chi discloses a number of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states corresponds to a number of the one or more configured OAM modes (“…SINRs corresponding to different OAM modes are different due to the influence of different channel parameters. Specifically, the larger the SINR, the higher the stability of the OAM mode, and the smaller the absolute value of the eigenvalue, the larger the SINR of the OAM mode.”) [0124], [0061], [0047].
For claim 8, Chi discloses a number of the one or more configured OAM modes corresponds to one transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (“…SINRs corresponding to different OAM modes are different due to the influence of different channel parameters. Specifically, the larger the SINR, the higher the stability of the OAM mode, and the smaller the absolute value of the eigenvalue, the larger the SINR of the OAM mode.”) [0124], [0061], [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi et al. (US Pub. 20250007761 A1) in view of Ko et al. (US Pub. 20180070351 A1).
For claims 5 and 19, Chi discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
Chi further discloses the OAM multiplexing configuration comprises a number of channel [0035].
But Chi doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Ko.
Ko discloses a number of channel layers mapped to a number of codewords for spatial multiplexing [0051], [0059], [0080], [0086]
the number of channel layers for each codeword is at least equal to a number of the one or more configured multiplexing modes (operational states: 1≦N≦8) [0009]-[0011], [0305], and
the number of channel layers indicates the number of the one or more configured multiplexing modes for at least one of the receiving the downlink transmission or the transmitting the uplink transmission [0054]-[0057], [0060]-[0062].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing channel multiplexing schemes used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Chi with Ko to ensure the channels can be properly optimized for communication, thus, improving data throughput.
For claims 6 and 20, Chi discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
Chi further discloses the OAM multiplexing configuration [0035].
But Chi doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Ko.
Ko discloses the signaling indicating the multiplexing configuration comprises a mapping matrix that maps a number of channel layers to the one or more configured multiplexing modes associated with utilizing at least one of spatial multiplexing or a diversity scheme [0059], [0081], [0129].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing channel multiplexing schemes used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Chi with Ko to ensure the channels can be properly optimized for communication, thus, improving data throughput.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chi et al. (US Pub. 20250007761 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 20230262703 A1).
For claim 9, Chi discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
Chi further discloses the OAM multiplexing configuration comprises a number of channel [0035].
But Chi doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Chen.
Chen discloses the signaling indicating the spatial multiplexing configuration comprises a number of the one or more configured different modes associated with respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states that correspond to a set of antenna arrays (Fig. 7) [0111], [0087], [0124]-[0125].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing channel multiplexing schemes used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Chi with Chen to ensure the channels can be properly optimized for communication, thus, improving data throughput.
For claim 10, Chi discloses all limitations this claim depended on.
Chi further discloses the OAM multiplexing configuration comprises a number of channel [0035].
But Chi doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitation taught by Chen.
Chen discloses the signaling indicating the spatial multiplexing configuration comprises an association of demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports with the one or more configured different modes [0112]-[0114], [0080], [0107].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing channel multiplexing schemes used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Chi with Chen to ensure the channels can be properly optimized for communication, thus, improving data throughput.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20220077982-A1; US-20230171056-A1; US-20240080067-A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409