DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 13-15, 18-21, 23, 25, 27 -30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0132862), Jeon hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Jeon teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (fig. 19 and paragraph 0317 - ... An article of manufacture may comprise a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon for enabling programmable hardware to cause a device (e.g., a wireless device, wireless communicator, a wireless device, a base station, and the like) to allow operation of multi-carrier communications described herein. The device, or one or more devices such as in a system, may include one or more processors, memory, interfaces, and/or the like. ...
a memory; and (fig. 19)
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (fig. 19)
receive, from a serving cell, an indication of at least one bandwidth part (BWP) that is not active and that is associated with operations in a candidate cell; and ([0300] A base station may transmit at least one RRC message/signaling to (pre-)configure at least one configured grant on a non-active UL BWP. ... [0303] A base station may preconfigure a wireless device with one or more configured grants on a first UL BWP that may be non-active UL BWP for a cell by transmitting at least one RRC message/signaling. … )
receive, or transmit, on the candidate cell, using the at least one BWP. ([0300] … If the configured grant on a non-active UL BWP is preconfigured, a wireless device may transmit one or more data packet on one or more radio resources associated with the configured grant when the non-active UL BWP becomes an active UL BWP via a DCI without waiting for one or more signaling/messages to activate and/or configure the configured grant. ...)
Regarding Claim 4, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the indication is included in downlink control information or a medium access control layer control element. ([0249 … For the indication of active DL/UL bandwidth part(s) to a wireless device, DCI (directly and/or indirectly), MAC CE, Time pattern (e.g. DRX like) and/or combinations thereof may be considered. … [0251] Common PRB indexing may be used at least for DL BWP configuration in RRC connected state ... [0252] ... A MAC CE-based approach may be used for the activation and/or deactivation of DL and UL BWP. ...)
Regarding Claim 5, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the at least one BWP includes a default BWP that is common to operations in the candidate cell. ([0164] The base station may configure a wireless device-specific default DL BWP other than an initial active BWP. The base station may configure the wireless device-specific default DL BWP, for example, after RRC connection, which may be performed for the purpose of load balancing. The default BWP may support connected mode operations other than operations supported by initial active BWP. Other connected mode operations may comprise, for example, fall back and/or connected mode paging. ... )
Regarding Claim 6, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the at least one BWP includes a BWP that has a lowest identifier out of a plurality of identifiers for a plurality of BWPs associated with the candidate cell. ([0175] A wireless device may identify a BWP identity from a DCI, which may simplify an indication process. The total number of bits for a BWP identity may depend on the number of bits that may be used within a scheduling DCI (and/or a switching DCI), and/or the wireless device minimum BW. The number of BWPs may be determined based on the wireless device supported minimum BW and/or the network maximum BW. The maximum number of BWPs may be determined based on the network maximum BW and/or the wireless device minimum BW. For example, if 400 MHz is the network maximum BW and 50 MHz is the wireless device minimum BW, 8 BWPs may be configured to the wireless device such that 3 bits may be required within the DCI to indicate the BWP. Such a split of the network BW (e.g., depending on the wireless device minimum BW) may be useful for creating one or more default BWPs from the network side by distributing wireless devices across the entire network BW (e.g., for load balancing purposes).)
Regarding Claim 7, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the indication is included in a radio resource control message. ([0303] A base station may preconfigure a wireless device with one or more configured grants on a first UL BWP that may be non-active UL BWP for a cell by transmitting at least one RRC message/signaling. … )
Regarding Claim 9, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a cyclic prefix, a common resource block (RB), or a quantity of contiguous RBs, associated with the at least one BWP. ([0150] A wireless device configured for operation with wireless resources (e.g., bandwidth parts (BWPs)) of a serving cell may be configured by higher layers for the serving cell. The wireless device may be configured for a set of BWPs for receptions by the wireless device (e.g., DL BWP set) and/or or a set of BWPs for transmissions by the wireless device (e.g., UL BWP set). For a DL BWP, an UL BWP in a set of DL BWPs, or an UL BWPs, the wireless device may be configured with at least one of following for the serving cell: a subcarrier spacing for DL and/or UL provided by a higher layer parameter, a cyclic prefix for DL and/or UL provided by a higher layer parameter, a number of contiguous PRBs for DL and/or UL provided by a higher layer parameter, an offset of the first PRB for DL and/or UL in the number of contiguous PRBs relative to the first PRB by a higher layer ... )
Regarding Claim 11, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a physical random access channel configuration associated with the at least one BWP ([0185] A contention-based random access (CBRA) RACH procedure may be supported via an initial active DL BWP and/or an initial active UL BWP, for example, if the wireless device identity is unknown to the base station. The contention-free random access (CFRA) RACH procedure may be supported via the USS configured in an active DL BWP for the wireless device. An additional CSS for RACH purposes may not need to be configured per BWP, such as for the CFRA RACH procedure supported via the USS configured in an active DL BWP for the wireless device. Idle mode paging may be supported via an initial active DL BWP. Connected mode paging may be supported via a default BWP. No additional configurations for the BWP for paging purposes may be needed for paging. A configured BWP (e.g., on a serving cell) may have the CSS configured for monitoring pre-emption indications for a pre-emption)
Regarding Claim 13, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of a common search space associated with the at least one BWP. ([0263] A common search space for at least RACH procedure may be configured in one or more BWPs for a wireless device in a PCell. A common search space for group-common PDCCH (e.g. SFI, pre-emption indication, etc.) may be configured in one or more BWPs for a wireless device in a serving cell)
Regarding Claim 14, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of a transmission configuration indication state associated with the at least one BWP. ([0302] A first wireless device may receive a first DCI (directly and/or indirectly) indicating a switch an active UL BWP from a first UL BWP to a second UL BWP for a first cell, wherein one or more configured grants may be pre-configured in the second BWP. The one or more configured grants may be type 1 GF transmission/scheduling that may not need an L1/L2 activation signaling (e.g., MAC CE and/or DCI (PDCCH order)). The activation and/or deactivation of the one or more configured grants may depend on a state of the second UL BWP, e.g., whether the second UL BWP may be an active UL BWP or not.)
Regarding Claim 15, Jeon teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: (fig. 19 and [0317] ... An article of manufacture may comprise a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon for enabling programmable hardware to cause a device (e.g., a wireless device, wireless communicator, a wireless device, a base station, and the like) to allow operation of multi-carrier communications described herein. The device, or one or more devices such as in a system, may include one or more processors, memory, interfaces, and/or the like. ...
a memory; (fig. 19) and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: (fig. 19)
determine at least one bandwidth part (BWP), that is not active, for operations in a candidate cell; and ([0300] A base station may transmit at least one RRC message/signaling to (pre-)configure at least one configured grant on a non-active UL BWP. ... [0303] A base station may preconfigure a wireless device with one or more configured grants on a first UL BWP that may be non-active UL BWP for a cell by transmitting at least one RRC message/signaling. … )
transmit an indication of the at least one BWP. ([0300] … If the configured grant on a non-active UL BWP is preconfigured, a wireless device may transmit one or more data packet on one or more radio resources associated with the configured grant when the non-active UL BWP becomes an active UL BWP via a DCI without waiting for one or more signaling/messages to activate and/or configure the configured grant. ...)
Regarding Claim 18, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the indication is included in downlink control information or a medium access control layer control element. ([0249 … For the indication of active DL/UL bandwidth part(s) to a wireless device, DCI (directly and/or indirectly), MAC CE, Time pattern (e.g. DRX like) and/or combinations thereof may be considered. … [0251] Common PRB indexing may be used at least for DL BWP configuration in RRC connected state ... [0252] ... A MAC CE-based approach may be used for the activation and/or deactivation of DL and UL BWP. ...)
Regarding Claim 19, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the at least one BWP includes a default BWP that is common to operations in the candidate cell. ([0164] The base station may configure a wireless device-specific default DL BWP other than an initial active BWP. The base station may configure the wireless device-specific default DL BWP, for example, after RRC connection, which may be performed for the purpose of load balancing. The default BWP may support connected mode operations other than operations supported by initial active BWP. Other connected mode operations may comprise, for example, fall back and/or connected mode paging. ... )
Regarding Claim 20, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the at least one BWP includes a BWP that has a lowest identifier out of a plurality of identifiers for a plurality of BWPs associated with the candidate cell. ([0175] A wireless device may identify a BWP identity from a DCI, which may simplify an indication process. The total number of bits for a BWP identity may depend on the number of bits that may be used within a scheduling DCI (and/or a switching DCI), and/or the wireless device minimum BW. The number of BWPs may be determined based on the wireless device supported minimum BW and/or the network maximum BW. The maximum number of BWPs may be determined based on the network maximum BW and/or the wireless device minimum BW. For example, if 400 MHz is the network maximum BW and 50 MHz is the wireless device minimum BW, 8 BWPs may be configured to the wireless device such that 3 bits may be required within the DCI to indicate the BWP. Such a split of the network BW (e.g., depending on the wireless device minimum BW) may be useful for creating one or more default BWPs from the network side by distributing wireless devices across the entire network BW (e.g., for load balancing purposes).)
Regarding Claim 21, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the indication is included in a radio resource control message. ([0303] A base station may preconfigure a wireless device with one or more configured grants on a first UL BWP that may be non-active UL BWP for a cell by transmitting at least one RRC message/signaling. … )
Regarding Claim 23, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an indication of at least one of a subcarrier spacing, a cyclic prefix, a common resource block (RB), or a quantity of contiguous RBs, associated with the at least one BWP. ([0150] A wireless device configured for operation with wireless resources (e.g., bandwidth parts (BWPs)) of a serving cell may be configured by higher layers for the serving cell. The wireless device may be configured for a set of BWPs for receptions by the wireless device (e.g., DL BWP set) and/or or a set of BWPs for transmissions by the wireless device (e.g., UL BWP set). For a DL BWP, an UL BWP in a set of DL BWPs, or an UL BWPs, the wireless device may be configured with at least one of following for the serving cell: a subcarrier spacing for DL and/or UL provided by a higher layer parameter, a cyclic prefix for DL and/or UL provided by a higher layer parameter, a number of contiguous PRBs for DL and/or UL provided by a higher layer parameter, an offset of the first PRB for DL and/or UL in the number of contiguous PRBs relative to the first PRB by a higher layer ... )
Regarding Claim 25, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a physical random access channel configuration associated with the at least one BWP ([0185] A contention-based random access (CBRA) RACH procedure may be supported via an initial active DL BWP and/or an initial active UL BWP, for example, if the wireless device identity is unknown to the base station. The contention-free random access (CFRA) RACH procedure may be supported via the USS configured in an active DL BWP for the wireless device. An additional CSS for RACH purposes may not need to be configured per BWP, such as for the CFRA RACH procedure supported via the USS configured in an active DL BWP for the wireless device. Idle mode paging may be supported via an initial active DL BWP. Connected mode paging may be supported via a default BWP. No additional configurations for the BWP for paging purposes may be needed for paging. A configured BWP (e.g., on a serving cell) may have the CSS configured for monitoring pre-emption indications for a pre-emption)
Regarding Claim 27, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of a common search space associated with the at least one BWP ([0263] A common search space for at least RACH procedure may be configured in one or more BWPs for a wireless device in a PCell. A common search space for group-common PDCCH (e.g. SFI, pre-emption indication, etc.) may be configured in one or more BWPs for a wireless device in a serving cell).
Regarding Claim 28, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Jeon further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
transmit an indication of a transmission configuration indication state associated with the at least one BWP. ([0302] A first wireless device may receive a first DCI (directly and/or indirectly) indicating a switch an active UL BWP from a first UL BWP to a second UL BWP for a first cell, wherein one or more configured grants may be pre-configured in the second BWP. The one or more configured grants may be type 1 GF transmission/scheduling that may not need an L1/L2 activation signaling (e.g., MAC CE and/or DCI (PDCCH order)). The activation and/or deactivation of the one or more configured grants may depend on a state of the second UL BWP, e.g., whether the second UL BWP may be an active UL BWP or not.)
Regarding Claim 29, Jeon teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: (fig. 19 and [0317] ... An article of manufacture may comprise a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon for enabling programmable hardware to cause a device (e.g., a wireless device, wireless communicator, a wireless device, a base station, and the like) to allow operation of multi-carrier communications described herein. The device, or one or more devices such as in a system, may include one or more processors, memory, interfaces, and/or the like. ...
receiving, from a serving cell, an indication of at least one bandwidth part (BWP) that is not active and that is associated with operations in a candidate cell; and ([0300] A base station may transmit at least one RRC message/signaling to (pre-)configure at least one configured grant on a non-active UL BWP. ... [0303] A base station may preconfigure a wireless device with one or more configured grants on a first UL BWP that may be non-active UL BWP for a cell by transmitting at least one RRC message/signaling. … )
receiving, or transmitting, on the candidate cell, using the at least one BWP. ([0300] … If the configured grant on a non-active UL BWP is preconfigured, a wireless device may transmit one or more data packet on one or more radio resources associated with the configured grant when the non-active UL BWP becomes an active UL BWP via a DCI without waiting for one or more signaling/messages to activate and/or configure the configured grant. ...)
Regarding Claim 30, Jeon teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a network entity, comprising: (fig. 19 and [0317] ... An article of manufacture may comprise a non-transitory tangible computer readable machine-accessible medium having instructions encoded thereon for enabling programmable hardware to cause a device (e.g., a wireless device, wireless communicator, a wireless device, a base station, and the like) to allow operation of multi-carrier communications described herein. The device, or one or more devices such as in a system, may include one or more processors, memory, interfaces, and/or the like. ...
determining at least one bandwidth part (BWP), that is not active, for operations in a candidate cell; and ([0300] A base station may transmit at least one RRC message/signaling to (pre-)configure at least one configured grant on a non-active UL BWP. ... [0303] A base station may preconfigure a wireless device with one or more configured grants on a first UL BWP that may be non-active UL BWP for a cell by transmitting at least one RRC message/signaling. … )
transmitting an indication of the at least one BWP. ([0300] … If the configured grant on a non-active UL BWP is preconfigured, a wireless device may transmit one or more data packet on one or more radio resources associated with the configured grant when the non-active UL BWP becomes an active UL BWP via a DCI without waiting for one or more signaling/messages to activate and/or configure the configured grant. ...)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0132862), Jeon hereinafter, in view of Koskela et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0096338), Koskela hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the at least one BWP includes a quasi-active BWP associated with a corresponding operation in the candidate cell.
However, in the analogous art, Koskela explicitly discloses wherein the at least one BWP includes a quasi-active BWP associated with a corresponding operation in the candidate cell. ([0126] … which e.g. enables the UE 200 to perform beam measurement(s) BM related to the at least one bandwidth part BWP2 (“BWP ID 2”) associated with a currently non-serving cell (“PCI# 1”), also cf. arrow a5 of FIG. 11A and the dashed rectangle pointing out CSI-RS# 1 of BWP ID 2. The configuration of FIG. 11A may according to further exemplary embodiments also be denoted as “non-serving cell configuration as semi-active BWP on PCell”. ... [0134] ... prior to a HO, the bandwidth part BWP2 associated with a non-serving cell may be considered to be “semi-” active, i.e. a serving cell (PCell) or base station 100 may have a currently active BWP BWP1 (cf. e.g. FIG. 11A) and additionally, preferably simultaneously, one or more semi-active BWPs BWP2 (“BWP ID 2”) for which the UE 200 may e.g. apply beam measurement BM ... )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Koskela's semi-active BWP to lower signaling overhead.
Regarding Claim 16, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the at least one BWP includes a quasi-active BWP associated with a corresponding operation in the candidate cell.
However, in the analogous art, Koskela explicitly discloses wherein the at least one BWP includes a quasi-active BWP associated with a corresponding operation in the candidate cell ([0126] … which e.g. enables the UE 200 to perform beam measurement(s) BM related to the at least one bandwidth part BWP2 (“BWP ID 2”) associated with a currently non-serving cell (“PCI# 1”), also cf. arrow a5 of FIG. 11A and the dashed rectangle pointing out CSI-RS# 1 of BWP ID 2. The configuration of FIG. 11A may according to further exemplary embodiments also be denoted as “non-serving cell configuration as semi-active BWP on PCell”. ... [0134] ... prior to a HO, the bandwidth part BWP2 associated with a non-serving cell may be considered to be “semi-” active, i.e. a serving cell (PCell) or base station 100 may have a currently active BWP BWP1 (cf. e.g. FIG. 11A) and additionally, preferably simultaneously, one or more semi-active BWPs BWP2 (“BWP ID 2”) for which the UE 200 may e.g. apply beam measurement BM ... ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Koskela's semi-active BWP to lower signaling overhead.
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0132862), Jeon hereinafter, in view of Koskela et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0096338), Koskela hereinafter and further in view of Zhang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0281652), Zhang hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Jeon in view of Koskela teaches claim 2.
Yet, Jeon in view of Koskela does not expressly teach wherein the quasi-active BWP is a downlink BWP associated with a channel state information reference signal.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the quasi-active BWP is a downlink BWP associated with a channel state information reference signal. ([0074] In some embodiments, a gNB may switch a UE to an active BWP to conduct radio measurements, such as a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on downlink (DL) and/or a sounding reference signal (SRS) on uplink (UL). In general, scheduling these measurements may require additional messaging and power drain. Autonomous measurement by a UE on other configured but non-active BWPs may be difficult and/or not feasible given that the UE may not be informed of CSI-RS scheduling on the particular BWP to be measured, such that it may be advantageous for the network to coordinate the measurements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Zhang's non-active BWP channel state information reference signal to achieve reduced latency.
Regarding Claim 17, Jeon in view of Koskela teaches claim 16.
Yet, Jeon in view of Koskela does not expressly teach wherein the quasi-active BWP is a downlink BWP associated with a channel state information reference signal.
However, in the analogous art, Zhang explicitly discloses wherein the quasi-active BWP is a downlink BWP associated with a channel state information reference signal ([0074] In some embodiments, a gNB may switch a UE to an active BWP to conduct radio measurements, such as a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) on downlink (DL) and/or a sounding reference signal (SRS) on uplink (UL). In general, scheduling these measurements may require additional messaging and power drain. Autonomous measurement by a UE on other configured but non-active BWPs may be difficult and/or not feasible given that the UE may not be informed of CSI-RS scheduling on the particular BWP to be measured, such that it may be advantageous for the network to coordinate the measurements.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Zhang's non-active BWP channel state information reference signal to achieve reduced latency.
Claims 8 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0132862), Jeon hereinafter, in view of Mehta et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0144911), Mehta hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the at least one BWP includes a virtual BWP not used for shared channel and control channel communications.
However, in the analogous art, Mehta explicitly discloses wherein the at least one BWP includes a virtual BWP not used for shared channel and control channel communications ([0024] However, the present disclosure discloses creation of a very narrow BWP, referred to herein as a virtual BWP, within an operating channel which is not supported by 3GPP current standards (e.g., below 5 MHz). This enables the wireless network, such as that shown in FIG. 1, to be even more flexible in supporting a variety of use cases. In particular, the network, including, for example, the cell base station 102 and UE 104, artificially creates a small virtual BWP and assign it to the users without requiring any explicit signaling to the user for creating the virtual BWP. The virtual BWPs will limit the PDCCH control, the PDSCH data region, the PUCCH and the PUSCH for a given user which can be associated with).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Mehta's virtual BWP for higher spectrum flexibility.
Regarding Claim 22, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the at least one BWP includes a virtual BWP not used for shared channel and control channel communications.
However, in the analogous art, Mehta explicitly discloses wherein the at least one BWP includes a virtual BWP not used for shared channel and control channel communications. (paragraph 0024 - However, the present disclosure discloses creation of a very narrow BWP, referred to herein as a virtual BWP, within an operating channel which is not supported by 3GPP current standards (e.g., below 5 MHz). This enables the wireless network, such as that shown in FIG. 1, to be even more flexible in supporting a variety of use cases. In particular, the network, including, for example, the cell base station 102 and UE 104, artificially creates a small virtual BWP and assign it to the users without requiring any explicit signaling to the user for creating the virtual BWP. The virtual BWPs will limit the PDCCH control, the PDSCH data region, the PUCCH and the PUSCH for a given user which can be associated with).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Mehta's virtual BWP for higher spectrum flexibility.
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0132862), Jeon hereinafter, in view of Deogun et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0252821), Deogun hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 10, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a radio link monitoring configuration associated with the at least one BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Deogun explicitly discloses
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive a radio link monitoring configuration associated with the at least one BWP ([0096] According to the aspect of the present disclosure illustrated in FIG. 7, the network may configure the additional RLM-RS for transmission in a non-active BWP. Thus, for each RLM-RS resource, base station 105 indicates to UE 115 the downlink BWP identifier (ID) associated with the RLM-RS. For example, base station 105 indicates to UE 115 that communications will occur using active BWP 700. Base station 105 would further signal to UE 115 the RLM configurations which include identification of the BWP ID designated for alternative RLM-RS (non-active BWP 701). Thus, when alternative RLM-RS are enabled, UE 115 would know to tune to non-active BWP 701 to monitor for such alternative RLM-RS.). RLM-RS is Radio Link Monitoring Reference Signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Deogun's radio link monitoring on the non-active BWP to lower power use.
Regarding Claim 24, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a radio link monitoring configuration associated with the at least one BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Deogun explicitly discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a radio link monitoring configuration associated with the at least one BWP ([0096] According to the aspect of the present disclosure illustrated in FIG. 7, the network may configure the additional RLM-RS for transmission in a non-active BWP. Thus, for each RLM-RS resource, base station 105 indicates to UE 115 the downlink BWP identifier (ID) associated with the RLM-RS. For example, base station 105 indicates to UE 115 that communications will occur using active BWP 700. Base station 105 would further signal to UE 115 the RLM configurations which include identification of the BWP ID designated for alternative RLM-RS (non-active BWP 701). Thus, when alternative RLM-RS are enabled, UE 115 would know to tune to non-active BWP 701 to monitor for such alternative RLM-RS.). RLM-RS is Radio Link Monitoring Reference Signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Deogun's radio link monitoring on the non-active BWP to lower power use.
Claims 12 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al, (U.S. PGPub 2019/0132862), Jeon hereinafter, in view of Liu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0017292), Liu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 12, Jeon teaches claim 1.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of a pathloss reference signal associated with the at least one BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of a pathloss reference signal associated with the at least one BWP ([0058] FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the SRS pathloss reference signal indication MAC CE according to the third embodiment. The SRS Resource Set ID.sub.i field indicates the i.sup.th SRS resource set ID to which the MAC CE applies. The SRS-PathlossReferenceRS-ID, field indicates a SRS pathloss reference signal (SRS-PathlossReferenceRS) configured to the SRS resource set indicated by the SRS Resource Set ID.sub.i field (the SRS Resource Set ID.sub.i field with the same index i as the SRS-PathlossReferenceRS-ID.sub.i field). The index i may range from 0 to 15 (i.e. N−1), as a maximum of 16 (i.e. N) SRS resource sets may be applied for a UE in a BWP according to UE capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Liu's SRS pathloss reference signal to ensures the device matches its uplink transmit power to the exact pathloss.
Regarding Claim 26, Jeon teaches claim 15.
Yet, Jeon does not expressly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of a pathloss reference signal associated with the at least one BWP.
However, in the analogous art, Liu explicitly discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of a pathloss reference signal associated with the at least one BWP ([0058] FIG. 3 illustrates an example of the SRS pathloss reference signal indication MAC CE according to the third embodiment. The SRS Resource Set ID.sub.i field indicates the i.sup.th SRS resource set ID to which the MAC CE applies. The SRS-PathlossReferenceRS-ID, field indicates a SRS pathloss reference signal (SRS-PathlossReferenceRS) configured to the SRS resource set indicated by the SRS Resource Set ID.sub.i field (the SRS Resource Set ID.sub.i field with the same index i as the SRS-PathlossReferenceRS-ID.sub.i field). The index i may range from 0 to 15 (i.e. N−1), as a maximum of 16 (i.e. N) SRS resource sets may be applied for a UE in a BWP according to UE capability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon’s Activation and Deactivation of Configured Grant to include Liu's SRS pathloss reference signal to ensures the device matches its uplink transmit power to the exact pathloss.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2023/0403592 which describes bandwidth allocation method and apparatus, user equipment, and base station.
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/Tejis Daya/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472