DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15, 21-25 received on 11/12/2024 have been examined, of which claims 1, 14 and 15 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 uses “adapted to control” language. However, MPEP Section 2106 – Patent subject matter eligibility defines the following for correct interpretation of the claim limitation.
The subject matter of a properly construed claim is defined by the terms that limit its scope. It is this subject matter that must be examined. As a general matter, the grammar and intended meaning of terms used in a claim will dictate whether the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. The following are examples of language that may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim:
(A) statements of intended use or field of use,
(B) “adapted to” or “adapted for” clauses,
(C) “wherein” clauses, or
(D) “whereby” clauses.
This list of examples is not intended to be exhaustive. See also MPEP § 2111.04.
The suggested language would be “configured to control" or "controls".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11, 14-15, 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (US 20230055200) in view of Jia et al. (US 20220264641)
Regarding claim 1, Yoshioka teaches a method (fig 14-15 are examples of measurement reporting including sidelink CSI reporting with latency bound), comprising:
transmitting, by a first device, to a second device, information regarding a latency bound of sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) reporting (para 91: as illustrated in fig 14, information regarding the latency bound corresponding to the CSI request may be indicated from the terminal 20A to the terminal 20B, the terminal 20A may explicitly or implicitly indicate the latency bound to the terminal 20B via the SCI);
transmitting, to the second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) including first CSI request information that triggers first CSI reporting (para 90: in fig. 14, the terminal 20A transmits the SCI including the CSI request via a PSCCH, and the SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in a PSSCH corresponding to the PSCCH. The CSI request implicitly indicates that the CSI-RS is transmitted); and
receiving, from the second device, the first CSI reporting within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 90: the terminal 20B performs CSI measurement from the received SL-CSI-RS and reports the CSI based on the result to the terminal 20A via a MAC layer; fig 14 shows the CSI report transmission from 20B to 20A at slot n+6, within the configured latency bound of slot n+8).
Yoshioka teaches sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound configuration. The term “shared spectrum” is broadly interpreted as shared frequency resources. Yoshika in fig 13 and 14 teach that SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in PSSCH (physical sidelink shared channel) (para 83-97) and abstract teaching a terminal includes a transmission unit that transmits a request for channel state information and one or more shared channels including a reference signal to another terminal. Further, fig 13 and 14 show the frequency domain on Y axis, where the sub-channels are common or shared. Thus, the reference teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a shared spectrum (fig 13 and 14 show the frequency domain on Y axis, where the sub-channels are common or shared; para 90: in fig. 14, the terminal 20A transmits the SCI including the CSI request via a PSCCH, and the SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in a PSSCH corresponding to the PSCCH), the first device is allowed to trigger second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 92: as illustrated in fig. 14, with respect to multiple specific CSI requests, information indicative of the same timing of the latency bound, may be indicated via the SCI corresponding to each of the multiple CSI requests. The multiple specific CSI requests may correspond to the same CSI report event; fig 14 shows two CSI requests at slots n and n+2 with the same latency bound at slot n+8).
However, for the claim interpretation, that the shared spectrum is referring to NR or 5G system defined unlicensed spectrum/band (NR-U) and licensed spectrum/band, the reference is silent regarding the sidelink transmission on unlicensed spectrum. Jia is directed to D2D technology that is operated in a licensed frequency band and a D2D technology that is operated in an unlicensed frequency band (para 2) and HARQ feedback in unlicensed frequency band and LBT (listen before talk) mechanism.
Jia further teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a shared spectrum, the first device is allowed to trigger second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (fig 10, 11; para 215: when the terminal device A is used as a sending device to transmit data, a correspondence exists between a sent PSSCH and a PSFCH of the receiving device B, for the PSSCH, the receiving device B has three PSFCHs, namely, a PSFCH #1, a PSFCH #2, and a PSFCH #3, corresponding to the PSSCH, and HARQ information is carried on the PSFCH for transmission. LBT that is performed before transmission is performed in an unlicensed spectrum, that is, the receiving device B performs LBT before transmitting the HARQ information on the PSFCH #1, the PSFCH #2, and the PSFCH #3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound as taught by Yoshioka with multiple sidelink feedback channel in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Jia for the benefit of improving the accuracy of resending data by the second terminal device as taught by Jia in para 9.
Regarding claim 14, Yoshioka teaches a first device (terminal 20, fig 18; terminal 20A, fig 14-15), comprising:
at least one transceiver (communication device 1004, fig 18, para 143);
at least one processor (processor 1001, fig 18); and
at least one memory (memory 1002, fig 18) connected to the at least one processor (fig 18) and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor (para 140-141: a control program that is stored in the memory 1002 and that is operated by the processor 1001), cause the first device to perform operations (fig 14-15 are examples of measurement reporting including sidelink CSI reporting with latency bound) comprising:
transmitting, to a second device, information regarding a latency bound of sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) reporting (para 91: as illustrated in fig 14, information regarding the latency bound corresponding to the CSI request may be indicated from the terminal 20A to the terminal 20B, the terminal 20A may explicitly or implicitly indicate the latency bound to the terminal 20B via the SCI);
transmitting, to the second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) including first CSI request information that triggers first CSI reporting (para 90: in fig. 14, the terminal 20A transmits the SCI including the CSI request via a PSCCH, and the SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in a PSSCH corresponding to the PSCCH. The CSI request implicitly indicates that the CSI-RS is transmitted); and
receiving, from the second device, the first CSI reporting within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 90: the terminal 20B performs CSI measurement from the received SL-CSI-RS and reports the CSI based on the result to the terminal 20A via a MAC layer; fig 14 shows the CSI report transmission from 20B to 20A at slot n+6, within the configured latency bound of slot n+8).
Yoshioka teaches sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound configuration. The term “shared spectrum” is broadly interpreted as shared frequency resources. Yoshika in fig 13 and 14 teach that SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in PSSCH (physical sidelink shared channel) (para 83-97) and abstract teaching a terminal includes a transmission unit that transmits a request for channel state information and one or more shared channels including a reference signal to another terminal. Further, fig 13 and 14 show the frequency domain on Y axis, where the sub-channels are common or shared. Thus, the reference teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a shared spectrum (fig 13 and 14 show the frequency domain on Y axis, where the sub-channels are common or shared; para 90: in fig. 14, the terminal 20A transmits the SCI including the CSI request via a PSCCH, and the SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in a PSSCH corresponding to the PSCCH), the first device is allowed to trigger second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 92: as illustrated in fig. 14, with respect to multiple specific CSI requests, information indicative of the same timing of the latency bound, may be indicated via the SCI corresponding to each of the multiple CSI requests. The multiple specific CSI requests may correspond to the same CSI report event; fig 14 shows two CSI requests at slots n and n+2 with the same latency bound at slot n+8).
However, for the claim interpretation, that the shared spectrum is referring to NR or 5G system defined unlicensed spectrum/band (NR-U) and licensed spectrum/band, the reference is silent regarding the sidelink transmission on unlicensed spectrum. Jia is directed to D2D technology that is operated in a licensed frequency band and a D2D technology that is operated in an unlicensed frequency band (para 2) and HARQ feedback in unlicensed frequency band and LBT (listen before talk) mechanism.
Jia further teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a shared spectrum, the first device is allowed to trigger second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (fig 10, 11; para 215: when the terminal device A is used as a sending device to transmit data, a correspondence exists between a sent PSSCH and a PSFCH of the receiving device B, for the PSSCH, the receiving device B has three PSFCHs, namely, a PSFCH #1, a PSFCH #2, and a PSFCH #3, corresponding to the PSSCH, and HARQ information is carried on the PSFCH for transmission. LBT that is performed before transmission is performed in an unlicensed spectrum, that is, the receiving device B performs LBT before transmitting the HARQ information on the PSFCH #1, the PSFCH #2, and the PSFCH #3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound as taught by Yoshioka with multiple sidelink feedback channel in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Jia for the benefit of improving the accuracy of resending data by the second terminal device as taught by Jia in para 9.
Regarding claim 15, Yoshioka teaches a processing device adapted to control a first device (control unit 240, fig 17, terminal 20, fig 18; para 132: the control unit 240 performs operations associated with a HARQ for D2D communication and DL communication), the processing device comprising:
at least one processor (processor 1001, fig 18); and
at least one memory (memory 1002, fig 18) connected to the at least one processor (fig 18) and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor (para 140: the control unit 240 of the terminal 20 shown in FIG. 17 may be implemented by a control program that is stored in the memory 1002 and that is operated by the processor 1001), cause the first device to perform operations comprising:
transmitting, to a second device, information regarding a latency bound of sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) reporting (para 91: as illustrated in fig 14, information regarding the latency bound corresponding to the CSI request may be indicated from the terminal 20A to the terminal 20B, the terminal 20A may explicitly or implicitly indicate the latency bound to the terminal 20B via the SCI);
transmitting, to the second device, first sidelink control information (SCI) including first CSI request information that triggers first CSI reporting (para 90: in fig. 14, the terminal 20A transmits the SCI including the CSI request via a PSCCH, and the SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in a PSSCH corresponding to the PSCCH. The CSI request implicitly indicates that the CSI-RS is transmitted); and
receiving, from the second device, the first CSI reporting within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 90: the terminal 20B performs CSI measurement from the received SL-CSI-RS and reports the CSI based on the result to the terminal 20A via a MAC layer; fig 14 shows the CSI report transmission from 20B to 20A at slot n+6, within the configured latency bound of slot n+8).
Yoshioka teaches sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound configuration. The term “shared spectrum” is broadly interpreted as shared frequency resources. Yoshika in fig 13 and 14 teach that SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in PSSCH (physical sidelink shared channel) (para 83-97) and abstract teaching a terminal includes a transmission unit that transmits a request for channel state information and one or more shared channels including a reference signal to another terminal. Further, fig 13 and 14 show the frequency domain on Y axis, where the sub-channels are common or shared. Thus, the reference teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a shared spectrum (fig 13 and 14 show the frequency domain on Y axis, where the sub-channels are common or shared; para 90: in fig. 14, the terminal 20A transmits the SCI including the CSI request via a PSCCH, and the SL-CSI-RS is transmitted in a PSSCH corresponding to the PSCCH), the first device is allowed to trigger second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 92: as illustrated in fig. 14, with respect to multiple specific CSI requests, information indicative of the same timing of the latency bound, may be indicated via the SCI corresponding to each of the multiple CSI requests. The multiple specific CSI requests may correspond to the same CSI report event; fig 14 shows two CSI requests at slots n and n+2 with the same latency bound at slot n+8).
However, for the claim interpretation, that the shared spectrum is referring to NR or 5G system defined unlicensed spectrum/band (NR-U) and licensed spectrum/band, the reference is silent regarding the sidelink transmission on unlicensed spectrum. Jia is directed to D2D technology that is operated in a licensed frequency band and a D2D technology that is operated in an unlicensed frequency band (para 2) and HARQ feedback in unlicensed frequency band and LBT (listen before talk) mechanism.
Jia further teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a shared spectrum, the first device is allowed to trigger second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (fig 10, 11; para 215: when the terminal device A is used as a sending device to transmit data, a correspondence exists between a sent PSSCH and a PSFCH of the receiving device B, for the PSSCH, the receiving device B has three PSFCHs, namely, a PSFCH #1, a PSFCH #2, and a PSFCH #3, corresponding to the PSSCH, and HARQ information is carried on the PSFCH for transmission. LBT that is performed before transmission is performed in an unlicensed spectrum, that is, the receiving device B performs LBT before transmitting the HARQ information on the PSFCH #1, the PSFCH #2, and the PSFCH #3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound as taught by Yoshioka with multiple sidelink feedback channel in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Jia for the benefit of improving the accuracy of resending data by the second terminal device as taught by Jia in para 9.
Regarding claim 2 and 21, Yoshioka further teaches wherein a start of the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting is based on the first SCI including the first CSI request information (para 93: in fig. 14, the latency bound is indicated as an eight-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to the CSI request transmitted in slot n, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8. With respect to the above, the latency bound is indicated as six-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to a CSI request transmitted in slot n+2, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8, which is the same timing as the latency bound indicated in slot n).
Regarding claim 3 and 22, Yoshioka further teaches wherein, based on the communication between the first device and the second device being performed in the shared spectrum (sidelink shared channel communication on PSSCH between terminal 20A and 20B, fig 14), the first device is allowed to trigger the second CSI reporting to the second device before a last slot of the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 93: in fig. 14, the latency bound is indicated as an eight-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to the CSI request transmitted in slot n, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8. With respect to the above, the latency bound is indicated as six-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to a CSI request transmitted in slot n+2, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8, which is the same timing as the latency bound indicated in slot n; here, the last slot of the latency bound of the SL-CSI reporting is n+8, and the trigger is sent on slots n and n+2, which are before n+8).
Regarding claim 4 and 23, Yoshioka further teaches wherein, based on the communication between the first device and the second device being performed in the shared spectrum (sidelink shared channel communication on PSSCH between terminal 20A and 20B, fig 14), the first device is allowed to trigger the second CSI reporting to the second device before a completion of the first CSI reporting (para 93: in fig. 14, the latency bound is indicated as an eight-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to the CSI request transmitted in slot n, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8. With respect to the above, the latency bound is indicated as six-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to a CSI request transmitted in slot n+2, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8, which is the same timing as the latency bound indicated in slot n; here, the SL-CSI reporting is sent at slot n+6, and the trigger is sent on slots n and n+2, which are before n+6).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshioka further teaches transmitting, to the second device, second SCI including second CSI request information that triggers the second CSI reporting within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (fig 14, CSI trigger from terminal 20A to 20B at slot n+2 within the latency bound of n+8 slot; para 92-93: in FIG. 14, with respect to multiple specific CSI requests, information indicative of the same timing of the latency bound, may be indicated via the SCI corresponding to each of the multiple CSI requests, the latency bound is indicated as an eight-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to the CSI request transmitted in slot n, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8, the latency bound is indicated as six-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to a CSI request transmitted in slot n+2, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8, which is the same timing as the latency bound indicated in slot n).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshioka further teaches wherein a start of the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting is initialized based on the second SCI including the second CSI request information (para 93: the latency bound is indicated as six-slot offset in the SCI corresponding to a CSI request transmitted in slot n+2, and accordingly the latency bound is slot n+8, which is the same timing as the latency bound indicated in slot n).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshioka further teaches the first device is not allowed to trigger the second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (as shown in fig 14, the two CSI request with first trigger in slots n and n+2, triggers same first CSI reporting within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting).
Yoshioka fails to teach the sidelink on licensed spectrum.
Yoshioka fails to teach, but Jia teaches wherein, based on communication between the first device and the second device being performed in a licensed spectrum, the first device is not allowed to trigger the second CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 4: in the licensed frequency band, there is a fixed time relationship between a physical sidelink shared channel (physical sidelink shared channel, PSSCH) and a physical sidelink feedback channel (physical SL feedback channel, PSFCH) for sending a HARQ feedback corresponding to the physical sidelink shared channel, so that a terminal device provides the HARQ feedback for the PSSCH on the PSFCH). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound as taught by Yoshioka with multiple sidelink feedback channel in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Jia for the benefit of improving the accuracy of resending data by the second terminal device as taught by Jia in para 9.
Claims 5-8, 12-13, 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshioka et al. (US 20230055200) in view of Jia et al. (US 20220264641) in further view of Chen (US 20210329604)
Regarding claim 5 and 24, Yoshioka in view of Jia teaches the limitations of parent claim. Yoshioka in view of Jia fail to teach maximum number of new CSI reporting trigger. Chen is directed to physical layer enhancements for sidelink communication.
Chen further teaches wherein a maximum number of triggers of new CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting is configured for the first device or the second device (fig 5; para 30: the next or new trigger for SL CSI reporting is only allowed after receiving the corresponding CSI reports and/or fail to receive CSI reports due to reaching maximum (re-) transmission times and/or exceeding the latency bound for the CSI reporting; here, maximum number of trigger is one for the new CSI reporting within latency bound if reporting is not successful). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound and sidelink feedback in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Yoshioka and Jia with number of SL-CSI trigger and reporting as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding out of order delivery of CSI reports as taught by Chen in para 6.
Regarding claim 6 and 25, Yoshioka in view of Jia fail to teach, Chen further teaches wherein information regarding a maximum number of triggers of new CSI reporting to the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (fig 5; para 30: the next or new trigger for SL CSI reporting is only allowed after receiving the corresponding CSI reports and/or fail to receive CSI reports due to reaching maximum (re-) transmission times and/or exceeding the latency bound for the CSI reporting; here, maximum number of trigger is one for the new CSI reporting within latency bound if reporting is not successful) is transmitted from a base station to the first device or the second device (fig 3-5 show the UE links with gNB; para 25: the SL configuration is received from the network and/or pre-configuration at the UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound and sidelink feedback in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Yoshioka and Jia with number of SL-CSI trigger and reporting as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding out of order delivery of CSI reports as taught by Chen in para 6.
Regarding claim 7, Yoshioka in view of Jia fail to teach, Chen further teaches wherein a maximum number of transmissions of new CSI reporting by the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting is configured for the first device or the second device (para 6: the first SL CSI reporting is completed upon detecting one or more conditions comprising a successfully reception of the first SL CSI reporting, a maximum number or retransmission is reached, and a SL CSI reporting latency timer expired; here, the successful reception of CSI reporting is considered as reporting completion condition, thus the maximum number of transmission of new CSI reporting is considered as one; para 25: the SL configuration is received from the network and/or pre-configuration at the UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound and sidelink feedback in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Yoshioka and Jia with number of SL-CSI trigger and reporting as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding out of order delivery of CSI reports as taught by Chen in para 6.
Regarding claim 8, Yoshioka in view of Jia fail to teach, Chen further teaches wherein information regarding a maximum number of transmissions of new CSI reporting by the second device within the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting is transmitted from a base station to the first device or the second device (para 6: the first SL CSI reporting is completed upon detecting one or more conditions comprising a successfully reception of the first SL CSI reporting, a maximum number or retransmission is reached, and a SL CSI reporting latency timer expired; here, the successful reception of CSI reporting is considered as reporting completion condition, thus the maximum number of transmission of new CSI reporting is considered as one; para 25: the SL configuration is received from the network and/or pre-configuration at the UE). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound and sidelink feedback in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Yoshioka and Jia with number of SL-CSI trigger and reporting as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding out of order delivery of CSI reports as taught by Chen in para 6.
Regarding claim 12, Yoshioka in view of Jia teaches the limitations of parent claim.
Jia further teaches the communication between the first device and the second device being performed in the licensed spectrum (para 151: based on frequency bands in which D2D technologies are operated, the D2D technologies is classified into a D2D technology that is operated in a licensed frequency band and a D2D technology that is operated in an unlicensed frequency band). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound as taught by Yoshioka with multiple sidelink feedback channel in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Jia for the benefit of improving the accuracy of resending data by the second terminal device as taught by Jia in para 9.
Yoshioka in view of Jia fails to teach, but Chen further teaches the first device is not allowed to trigger the second CSI reporting to the second device before a last slot of the latency bound of the SL CSI reporting (para 30: a latency timer at the Tx UE, UE 502, triggering SL CSI reporting is configured, the latency timer starts when the CSI reporting is triggered and stops when the corresponding CSI report is received correctly. If the latency timer is expired or stopped, a new CSI reporting is triggered. Otherwise, the new CSI reporting is not allowed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound and sidelink feedback in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Yoshioka and Jia with number of SL-CSI trigger and reporting as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding out of order delivery of CSI reports as taught by Chen in para 6.
Regarding claim 13, Yoshioka in view of Jia teaches the limitations of parent claim.
Jia further teaches the communication between the first device and the second device being performed in the licensed spectrum (para 151: based on frequency bands in which D2D technologies are operated, the D2D technologies is classified into a D2D technology that is operated in a licensed frequency band and a D2D technology that is operated in an unlicensed frequency band). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound as taught by Yoshioka with multiple sidelink feedback channel in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Jia for the benefit of improving the accuracy of resending data by the second terminal device as taught by Jia in para 9.
Yoshioka in view of Jia fails to teach, but Chen further teaches the first device is not allowed to trigger the second CSI reporting to the second device before a completion of the first CSI reporting (para 30: at step 541, UE 502 determines if the first aperiodic SL CSI reporting is completed. In one embodiment, the first SL CSI reporting is completed upon detecting one or more conditions. The conditions comprise one or more of: a successfully reception of the first SL CSI reporting, a maximum number of (re-)transmission is reached, and a SL CSI reporting latency timer expired. For example, the next or new trigger for SL CSI reporting is only allowed after receiving the corresponding CSI reports and/or fail to receive CSI reports due to reaching maximum (re-) transmission times and/or exceeding the latency bound for the CSI reporting). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink CSI reporting within latency bound and sidelink feedback in unlicensed spectrum as taught by Yoshioka and Jia with number of SL-CSI trigger and reporting as taught by Chen for the benefit of avoiding out of order delivery of CSI reports as taught by Chen in para 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
- Manolakos et al. (US 20210045074): fig 4; abstract: according to the CSI request, the first UE may transmit a reference signal on the sidelink for the second UE(s) to measure. The UE(s) may generate and transmit a CSI report on the sidelink to first UE, and the first UE may aggregate the received CSI report(s) and transmit them to the base station within the time period specified by the timing requirement received in the control information
- Yerramalli et al. (US 20180042012): para 82: the aperiodic CSI reporting on the unlicensed carriers may be self-contained within the unlicensed carriers and may be independent of periodic and aperiodic CSI reporting on the licensed carriers. Thus, if the UE receives a trigger signal via a carrier in the cell group for licensed carriers, the aperiodic CSI reporting on the licensed carrier may be triggered (e.g., via a UL grant) on the licensed carrier, and may not be triggered on the unlicensed carrier. On the other hand, if the UE receives a trigger signal via a carrier in the cell group for unlicensed carriers, the aperiodic CSI reporting on the unlicensed carrier is triggered at the UE (e.g., via a UL grant) on the unlicensed carrier and cannot be triggered on the licensed carrier
- Son et al. (US 20230217287): fig 9-11; abstract: The method includes transmitting information that indicates a delay bound value of a sidelink (SL) channel state information (CSI) report to a second terminal. Sidelink control information (SCI) including CSI request information in transmitted to the second terminal. A monitoring operation is performed to receive the SL CSI of the second terminal within a time period corresponding to the delay bound value from a time of transmitting the CSI request information.
/RINA C PANCHOLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 8/20/2026