DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the retracted position" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al. (US 2009/0194385 A1).
Re claim 11, Cao et al. disclose a method for controlling an electromechanical brake including an electric motor (26) which acts on a brake actuator (21) via a gear unit (27, 28) to generate a braking force, wherein a switchable and bistable freewheel locking device (1, [0024]), via which a brake release direction of the brake actuator can be locked, is provided to lock the gear unit, wherein the method comprises the following steps: moving back the brake actuator after a braking operation by a fixed predefined distance; and controlling the locking device to fix the brake actuator in the retracted position. ([0035])
Re claim 12, Cao et al. disclose wherein the locking device is actively retracted before the brake is actuated. ([0033])
Re claim 13, Cao et al. disclose wherein the locking device is deactivated by actuating the brake. ([0033])
Re claim 14, Cao et al. disclose wherein the locking device is activated when the vehicle is stationary and the brake is activated in order to create a parking brake. ([0003], [0012])
Re claim 15, Cao et al. disclose wherein the fixed predefined distance is ascertained starting from a point of contact between friction partners of the brake. ([0035])
Re claim 18, Cao et al. disclose an electromechanical brake, comprising: an electric motor (26) which acts on a brake actuator (21) via a gear unit (27, 28) to generate a braking force; a switchable and bistable freewheel locking device (1), via which a brake release direction of the brake actuator can be locked, to lock the gear unit; and a control device which is configured to control the locking device to fix the brake actuator after the brake actuator is moved back. ([0035])
Re claim 19, Cao et al. disclose wherein the brake is a drum brake. ([0005])
Re claim 20, Cao et al. disclose wherein the brake is a disc brake. (Fig. 2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2009/0194385 A1) in view of Ralea (US 2005/0269872 A1).
Re claim 16, Cao et al. do not teach wherein the point of contact is ascertained using values from a force sensor and/or torque sensor. Ralea teach moving a brake actuator by a fixed predefined distance using values from a force sensor. ([0017]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to use a force sensor to determine actuator adjustment in order to provide more precise adjustment as taught by Ralea.
9. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2009/0194385 A1) in view of Ritter et al. (EP 4056436 A1).
Re claim 17, Cao et al. do not teach wherein the point of contact is ascertained using values of a motor current, and/or motor speed and/or motor position. Ritter et al. teach wherein the point of contact is ascertained using values of a motor current, and/or motor speed and/or motor position. ([0041]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to ascertained using values of a motor current, and/or motor speed and/or motor position as an alternative means for determining point of contact to reduce cost, space and weight. ([0003] – [0004])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schumann et al. ‘848, Halasy Wimmer et al, Schumann et al ‘858, Ymaguchi, Schumann et al. ‘688, Blosch et al., Jungbecker et al., Yamaguchi and Pitzer teach similar electromechanical brakes.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616