DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6, 9-13, 16-17, 19-21, 23 and 24-28 are currently pending in the application. Claims 24-28 have been withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1-3, 6, 9-13, 16-17, 19-21 and 23 are being treated on the merits.
Any rejection(s) and/or objection(s) made in the previous Office action and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments in the response filed on 10/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 13, 19-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 111235736 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a pantyhose article (a pantyhose 1; fig. 1; see English translation; paras. 0054-0055) comprising:
a first tubular member (a first leg tube 2; fig. 1; para. 0055) having:
a first panty portion (a first panty body 12; fig. 1; para. 0055) extending from a waist end of the pantyhose article to a bottom end of the first panty portion (see annotated fig. 1);
a first tubular leg portion (first leg tube 2; fig. 1; para. 0055) defining a first leg cavity (fig. 1; para. 0055) and extending from a top end of the first tubular leg portion (fig. 1), corresponding to the bottom end of the first panty portion (see annotated fig. 1), to a first foot end of the first tubular leg portion (at first toe 31; fig. 1; para. 0055), the first tubular leg portion comprising a first principal sub-portion (starting from the dotted line in annotated fig. 1 to foot end 31 and including jacquard stripes 21; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) and a first transitional sub-portion (see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055), the first principal sub-portion extending from a first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion to the first foot end (see annotated fig. 1) and the first transitional sub-portion extending from the top end of the first tubular leg portion to the first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion (see annotated fig. 1), the first principal sub-portion being formed of a first knit (plain stitches and jacquard stripes 21; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) comprising a first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) fiber and at least one first companion fiber (leg tube 2 and foot 3 comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene yarn and spandex; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) and the first transitional sub-portion being formed of a second knit (plain stitches; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) comprising a second UHMWPE fiber and at least one second companion fiber (leg tube 2 comprising ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene yarn and spandex; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055), the first knit being different from the second knit (the first knit comprises jacquard stripes while the second knit does not comprise jacquard stripes; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055).
Annotated Fig. 1 from CN111235736A
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 1, and further discloses
wherein the first transitional sub-portion extends circumferentially about the first tubular leg portion (see annotated fig. 1); and/or wherein the first panty portion, the first transitional sub-portion and the first principal sub-portion are integrally formed; and/or wherein the first panty portion, the first transitional sub-portion and the first principal sub-portion are formed in a continuous knitting operation.
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first panty portion is formed of a knit being free of UHMWPE; and/or wherein a knit of the first panty portion and the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion have at least one fiber in common; and/or wherein the first knit of the first principal sub-portion and the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion have at least one fiber in common (sock tube 2, including the first knit of the first principal sub-portion and the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion, is made of a UHMWPE yarn, a spandex yarn and a UV-resistant yarn; para. 0055).
Regarding claim 19, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first UHMWPE fiber of the first knit has a denier of about 25 to about 35 (10D-50D; para. 0044) and the at least one first companion fiber comprises at least one stretch fiber having a total denier of about 10 to about 20 (spandex 10D-20D; paras. 0045-0046).
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 19, and further discloses wherein the second UHMWPE fiber of the first transitional sub-portion has a denier of about 25 to about 35 (10D-50D; para. 0044) and the at least one second companion fiber comprises at least one stretch fiber having a total denier of about 10 to about 20 (spandex 10D-20D; para. 0045) being knit with the second UHMWPE fiber (para. 0045); and
wherein the at least one second companion fiber further comprises an additional companion fiber (an anti-ultraviolet yarn; para. 0046) reinforcing the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion (para. 0046).
Regarding claim 21, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the first panty portion is formed of a knit having a total denier of about 20 to about 250 (30-90D, including UHMWPE yarn 10D-50D, spandex 10D-20D, and anti-ultraviolet yarn 10D-20D; paras. 0044-0046); and/or
further comprising a second tubular member (a second leg tube 2; fig. 1; para. 0055) having:
a second panty portion (a second panty body 12; fig. 1; para. 0055) extending from the top end of the pantyhose article to a bottom end of the second panty portion being aligned with the bottom end of the first panty portion (see annotated fig. 1);
a second tubular leg portion (first leg tube 2; fig. 1; para. 0055) defining a second leg cavity (fig. 1; para. 0055) and extending from a top end thereof (fig. 1), corresponding to the bottom end of the second panty portion (see annotated fig. 1), to a second foot end of the second tubular leg portion (at second toe 31; fig. 1; para. 0055), the second tubular leg portion comprising a second principal sub-portion (starting from the dotted line in annotated fig. 1 to foot end 31 and including jacquard stripes 21; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) and a second transitional sub-portion (see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055), the second principal sub-portion extending from a second thigh region of the second tubular leg portion to the second foot end (see annotated fig. 1) and the second transitional sub-portion extending from the top end of the second tubular leg portion to the second thigh region of the second tubular leg portion (see annotated fig. 1), the second principal sub-portion being formed of the first knit comprising the first UHMWPE fiber and the at least one first companion fiber (second leg tube 2 and foot 3 knitted with ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene yarn, spandex and UV-resistant yarn; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) and the second transitional sub-portion being formed of the second knit comprising the second UHMWPE fiber and the at least one second companion fiber (second leg tube 2 knitted with ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene yarn, spandex and UV-resistant yarn; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055);
wherein longitudinal edges of the first panty portion are joined to respective longitudinal edges of the second panty portion to form a panty tube defining a panty cavity for receiving a lower torso of a wearer (see fig. 1), the panty cavity being in fluid communication with the first leg cavity of the first tubular leg portion and the panty cavity being in fluid communication with the second leg cavity of the second tubular leg portion (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 21, and further discloses the pantyhose article comprising the second tubular member (fig. 1; para. 0055), wherein the first transitional sub-portion being formed of the second knit having the second UHMWPE fiber and the second transitional sub-portion being formed of the second knit having the second UHMWPE fiber provide protection against wearing out of the first transitional sub-portion and the second transitional sub-portion from inner thigh rubbing of a person wearing the pantyhose article (inherent function of UHMWPE fibers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berry (US 3,696,444 A) in view of Chen (CN 111235736 A).
Regarding claim 1, Berry discloses a pantyhose article (a sheer pantyhose; figs. 5-7; col. 2, ll. 41-49) comprising:
a first tubular member (a first seamless tube forming a first half stocking blank; figs. 1-3; col. 3, ll. 1-6) having:
a first panty portion (first panty portion P; figs. 1-3; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 5-21) extending from a waist end of the pantyhose article to a bottom end of the first panty portion (fig. 2; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 5-21);
a first tubular leg portion (leg portion L; figs. 1-3; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 5-21) defining a first leg cavity (figs. 1-3) and extending from a top end thereof (figs. 1-3), corresponding to the bottom end of the first panty portion (see figs. 1-3), to a first foot end of the first tubular leg portion (at closed toe end 12; figs. 1-3; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 5-8), the first tubular leg portion comprising a first principal sub-portion (leg portion L; figs. 1-3) and a first transitional sub-portion (first run-stop band 11; figs. 1-3; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 9-13), the first principal sub-portion extending from a first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion to the first foot end (figs. 1-3; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 5-21) and the first transitional sub-portion extending from the top end of the first tubular leg portion to the first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion (figs. 1-3; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 4, ll. 5-21), the first principal sub-portion (leg portion L; fig. 2) being formed of a first knit (any type of plain or patterned stitch; figs. 1-3; col. 3, ll. 33-53) and the first transitional sub-portion (first run-stop band 11; figs. 1-3) being formed of a second knit (any type of special stitches; col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 3, ll. 16-32), the first knit being different from the second knit (as discussed above; col. 3, ll. 16-53).
Berry does not disclose wherein the first knit comprising a first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) fiber and at least one first companion fiber, and the second knit comprising a second UHMWPE fiber and at least one second companion fiber. However, Chen, in an analogous art, teaches (a pantyhose 1; fig. 1; see English translation; paras. 0054-0055) comprising: a first tubular member (a first leg tube 2; fig. 1; para. 0055) having: a first panty portion (a first panty body 12; fig. 1; para. 0055) extending from a waist end of the pantyhose article to a bottom end of the first panty portion (see annotated fig. 1); a first tubular leg portion (first leg tube 2; fig. 1; para. 0055) defining a first leg cavity (fig. 1; para. 0055) and extending from a top end thereof (fig. 1), corresponding to the bottom end of the first panty portion (see annotated fig. 1), to a first foot end of the first tubular leg portion (at first toe 31; fig. 1; para. 0055), the first tubular leg portion comprising a first principal sub-portion (including jacquard stripes 21; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) and a first transitional sub-portion (see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055), the first principal sub-portion extending from a first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion to the first foot end (see annotated fig. 1) and the first transitional sub-portion extending from the top end of the first tubular leg portion to the first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion (see annotated fig. 1), the first principal sub-portion being formed of a first knit (plain knit and jacquard stripes 21; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) comprising a first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) fiber and at least one first companion fiber (leg tube 2 and foot 3 knitted with ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene yarn, spandex and UV-resistant yarn; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) and the first transitional sub-portion being formed of a second knit (plain stitches; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055) comprising a second UHMWPE fiber and at least one second companion fiber (leg tube 2 comprising an ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene yarn and a spandex yarn; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055), the first knit being different from the second knit (the first knit comprises jacquard stripes while the second knit does not comprise jacquard stripes; see annotated fig. 1; para. 0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the pantyhose article as disclosed by Berry, with wherein the first knit comprising a first ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) fiber and at least one first companion fiber, and the second knit comprising a second UHMWPE fiber and at least one second companion fiber as taught by Chen, in order to provide a pantyhose article which is light, thin and comfortable, has excellent wear resistance, impact resistance and cut resistance (Chen; para. 0006).
Regarding claim 2, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 1, and Berry further discloses the pantyhose article further comprising a gusset (crotch patch 17; figs. 2, 5-7; col. 4, ll. 18-29); wherein an edge of the first transitional sub-portion is joined to the gusset (figs. 2; col. 4, ll. 18-29).
Regarding claim 3, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 2. Berry does not explicitly disclose wherein the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion includes a mesh knit. However, Berry does disclose any type of special stitches may be utilized to form the second knit (col. 2, ll. 41-49; col. 3, ll. 16-32), and the second knit may include a repeated pattern of three plain stitches and a held or elongated stitch (col. 3, ll. 16-22). One of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that a pantyhose article commonly includes mesh knit in the tubular leg portions, and a held or elongated stitches may form meshes in the second knit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pantyhose article as disclosed by Berry, with wherein the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion includes a mesh knit, in order to provide the first transitional sub-portion with sufficient flexibility and ventilation as well as aesthetic appeal.
Regarding claim 6, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 1, and Berry further discloses wherein the first transitional sub-portion extends circumferentially about the first tubular leg portion (figs. 5-7); and/or wherein the first panty portion, the first transitional sub-portion and the first principal sub-portion are integrally formed (the stocking blank is knitted from top to bottom; fig. 1; col. 3, ll. col. 3, ll. 1-10); and/or wherein the first panty portion, the first transitional sub-portion and the first principal sub-portion are formed in a continuous knitting operation (fig. 1; col. 3, ll. col. 3, ll. 1-10).
Regarding claim 9, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 6, and Berry further discloses wherein the continuous knitting of the first panty portion and the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion reduces tearing along a transition between the first panty portion and the first transitional sub-portion (as no seam being formed between the two portions; figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 9, and Berry further discloses wherein the continuous knitting of the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion and the first knit of the principal sub-portion reduces tearing along a transition between the first transitional sub-portion and the first principal sub-portion (as no seam being formed between the two portions; figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 6. As to the limitation "wherein the first panty portion, the first transitional sub-portion and the first principal sub-portion are formed in the continuous knitting operation using a same number of yarn feeds of a circular knitting machine throughout the continuous knitting operation", the limitation is deemed a product-by-process limitation in the claim, and determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process limitation is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113, I. In this case, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the pantyhose article with a same number yarn filaments, in order to provide a sheer pantyhose article with a substantially uniform thickness for comfort and aesthetic appeal. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 12, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 11. As to the limitation "wherein the same number of yarn feeds is 2 feeds or less", the limitation is deemed a product-by-process limitation in the claim, and determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process limitation is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113, I. In this case, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the pantyhose article with one or two yarns for the stitches, in order to obtain a sheer pantyhose article which is lightweight and allows natural skin tone to show through thereby providing comfort and aesthetic appeal. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Regarding claim 13, Berry and Chen, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 1, and Berry further discloses wherein the first panty portion is formed of a knit being free of UHMWPE (the panty portion P is formed by heavy denier stretchable yarn, and UHMWPE is not a stretchable yarn; col. 3, ll. 11-16); and/or wherein a knit of the first panty portion and the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion have at least one fiber in common; and/or wherein the first knit of the first principal sub-portion and the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion have at least one fiber in common.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 111235736 A) in view of Hague (US 2018/0368483 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the pantyhose article of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion further comprises at least one additional companion fiber (a UV-resistant yarn; para. 0055).
Chen does not disclose wherein the first UHMWPE fiber and the at least one first companion fiber are knit together in a plated knit in the first knit of the first principal sub-portion. However, Hague, in an analogous art, teaches a pantyhose article (tights 10; fig. 1; para. 0050) comprising tubular leg portions (fig. 1), the tubular leg portions comprising a UHMWPE fiber and at least one first companion fiber knitted in a plated manner (UHMWPE fiber is required on every course of the knit and a stretch fiber can be on every course or every other course; paras. 0010, 0059). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pantyhose article as disclosed by Chen, with wherein the first UHMWPE fiber and the at least one first companion fiber are knit together in a plated knit in the first knit of the first principal sub-portion of the first tubule leg portion as taught by Hague, in order to provide an improved pantihose with uniformly distributed UHMWPE fiber and stretch fiber plated together thereby enhancing durability while maintaining a uniform stretchability in the principal sub-portion of the tubule leg portion.
Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second UHMWPE fiber of the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion is the same as the first UHMWPE fiber of the first knit; wherein at least one of the second companion fiber of the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion is the same as at least one of the first companion fiber of the first knit; and wherein the second UHMWPE fiber and the at least one second companion fiber being the same as the at least one first companion fiber are knit together in the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion. However, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that it has been a common practice to knit a tubular leg portion of a sheer pantyhose with at least one continuous long yarn to avoid knots or yarn ends in the tubular leg portion to provide comfort, durability as well as aesthetic appeal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pantyhose article, with as taught by Chen, with wherein the second UHMWPE fiber of the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion is the same as the first UHMWPE fiber of the first knit; wherein at least one of the second companion fiber of the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion is the same as at least one of the first companion fiber of the first knit; wherein the second UHMWPE fiber and the at least one second companion fiber being the same as the at least one first companion fiber are knit together in the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion, in order to use continuous long yarns in the tubular leg portion to eliminate any knot or yarn end in the tubular leg portions of the sheer pantyhose for comfort, durability as well as aesthetic appeal.
Regarding claim 17, Chen and Hague, in combination, disclose the pantyhose article of claim 16. Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one additional companion fiber is knit as a mesh knit within the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion; and/or wherein the at least one additional companion fiber of the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion is present in a knit of the first panty portion. However, one of ordinary skill of the art would recognize that a pantyhose article generally utilizes mesh knit in the tubular leg portions. Further, Hague teaches wherein all the companion fibers are plated with the UHMWPE fiber and knitted forming a mesh structure in the tubular leg portions (figs. 5A-5B; paras. 0010, 0059). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have configured the pantyhose article as disclosed by Chen, with wherein the additional companion fiber is knit as a mesh knit within the second knit of the first transitional sub-portion as taught by Hague, in order to provide a lightweight pantyhose article with mesh knit in the tubular leg portions with sufficient flexibility and ventilation. Such a configuration is within the level of one of ordinary skill of the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's remarks: Applicant asserts that Chen does not disclose or teach that the annotated upper region as a transitional sub-portion having the claimed location, extent, and second UHMWPE-containing knit, nor does Chen describe the jacquard-striped region as a principal sub-portion extending from a thigh region to the foot end and being formed of the claimed first knit.
Examiner's response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims require the first principal sub-portion extending from a first thigh region of the first tubular leg portion to the first foot end. The annotated fig. 1 shows a first principal sub-portion extending from a first thigh region (at the dotted lines in the annotation) to the first foot end 31. In Chen, the first principal sub-portion is formed of two types of stitches; i.e., plain stitches and jacquard stitches, as a first knit. The annotated fig. 1 also shows a transitional sub-portion extending from the top end of the first tubular leg portion to the first thigh region. In Chen, the transitional sub-portion is formed of plain stitches as a second knit. As such, the first knit is different from the second knit. As both sock tube 3 and the sock foot 2 of Chen comprise plain stitches made of UHMWPE and other yarns, both the first principal sub-portion and the transitional sub-portion comprise UHMWPE fibers. Therefore, the first principal sub-portion and the transitional sub-portion as mapped in the Office action meet the claimed requirement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AIYING ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732