DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1- 3, 5 – 15, 18-19 and 49-52 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 3, 5 – 15, 18-19 and 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueck, publication number: US 2024/0298194 in view of Wang, publication number: US 2008/0126794.
As per claims 1, 49 and 50, Mueck teaches an authentication method, performed by a first certificate authority (CA), wherein the method comprises:
generating a first-type certificate based on a transport layer security (TLS) protocol;
wherein the first-type certificate is a certificate of an entity in a first security domain in which the first CA is located (TLS certificate authority issuing certificates for TLS clients in its domain, [0158]).
Mueck does not teach wherein the first certificate authority is a root certificate authority and wherein generating the first-type certificate based on the TLS protocol comprises: generating the first-type certificate signed based on a private key of the first root CA.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the first certificate authority is a root certificate authority and wherein generating the first-type certificate based on the TLS protocol comprises: generating the first-type certificate signed based on a private key of the first root CA. (using a private key to generate a certificate, server certificate being signed by trusted certificate authority, the trusted certificate authority is analogous to the first root CA, [0020], TLS based security session, [0019][0021][0043])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueck’s certificate authority system to include a root certificate authority system as described in Wang’s proxy communication system for advantages of system scalability and simplification of certificate as further described in Wang [0035].
As per claim 2, the combination teaches further comprising: sending the first-type certificate to the entity (Mueck: TLS certificate authority issuing certificates for TLS clients in its domain, [0158]).
As per claim 3, the combination teaches wherein generating the first-type certificate based on the transport layer security (TLS) protocol comprises:
generating a root certificate, wherein the root certificate is used to generate the first-type certificate (Wang: proxy device signing server certificate, [0035-0036]).
As per claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the entity comprises at least
one of:
Root CA;
TLS server CA;
TLS client CA;
TLS proxy CA;
Interconnection CA;
TLS server;
TLS client; or
TLS proxy (Mueck: TLS client and TLS server, Fig. 4A, [0158])
As per claims 6 and 51, the combination teaches an authentication method, performed by an interconnection certificate authority (CA) in a first security domain in which a first CA is located, wherein the method comprises:
generating a second-type certificate based on a TLS protocol (Interconnection CA cross certifying TLS client or server of a peer domain, Fig. 4, [0158]);
wherein the second-type certificate is a certificate of an entity in a second security domain in which a second CA is located, and the second-type certificate is at least used for TLS verification between entities in the first security domain and the second security domain (Peer domain certification, 3GPP 33.310, Fig. 4, [0158]).
Mueck does not teach wherein the certificate authority is a root certificate authority and acquiring a first-type certificate generated based on a transport layer security (TLS) protocol, wherein the first-type certificate is signed based on a private key of the first root CA.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the certificate authority is a root certificate authority and acquiring a first-type certificate generated based on a transport layer security (TLS) protocol, wherein the first-type certificate is signed based on a private key of the first root CA (using a private key to generate a certificate, server certificate being signed by trusted certificate authority, the trusted certificate authority is analogous to the first root CA, [0020], TLS based security session, [0019][0021][0043])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueck’s certificate authority system to include a root certificate authority system as described in Wang’s proxy communication system for advantages of system scalability and simplification of certificate as further described in Wang [0035].
As per claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the entity comprises at least one of:
TLS proxy CA;
TLS proxy;
TLS server or
TLS client (Mueck: TLS client and TLS server, Fig. 4A, [0158]).
As per claim 8, the combination teaches wherein generating the second-type certificate based on the transport layer security (TLS) protocol comprises:
generating a TLS proxy CA certificate of a TLS proxy CA signed based on a private key of the interconnection CA (Wang: certificate authority, [0023], proxy certificate, [0028]).
As per claim 9, the combination teaches further comprising: sending the second-type certificate to the entity (Mueck: issuing certificate, [0158], Wang: certificate authority, [0023], proxy certificate, [0028]).
As per claims 10 and 52, the combination teaches an authentication method, performed by a first-type entity in a first security domain in which a first certificate authority (CA) is located, wherein the method comprises:
acquiring a predetermined certificate based on a transport layer security (TLS) protocol,
wherein the predetermined certificate comprises at least one of:
a first-type certificate of an entity in the first security domain in which the first CA is located (issuing certificates to TLS clients in its domain, [0158]); or
a second-type certificate of an entity in a second security domain in which a second CA is located, and the second-type certificate is at least used for TLS verification between entities in the first security domain and the second security domain (creating cross certificates, [0158], Fig. 4).
Mueck does not teach wherein the certificate authority is a root certificate authority and wherein the first-type certificate is signed based on a private key of the first root CA.
In an analogous art, Wang teaches wherein the certificate authority is a root certificate authority and wherein the first-type certificate is signed based on a private key of the first root CA (using a private key to generate a certificate, server certificate being signed by trusted certificate authority, the trusted certificate authority is analogous to the first root CA, [0020], security session, [0019][0021][0043])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueck’s certificate authority system to include a root certificate authority system as described in Wang’s proxy communication system for advantages of system scalability and simplification of certificate as further described in Wang [0035].
As per claim 11, the combination teaches wherein acquiring the predetermined certificate based on the transport layer security (TLS) protocol
comprises:
acquiring the predetermined certificate that is pre-configured; or,
receiving the predetermined certificate sent by the first root CA or an interconnection CA (Mueck: receiving certificate from interconnect certificate authority, Fig. 4, [0158]).
As per claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the first-type entity comprises at least one of:
TLS server CA;
TLS client CA; or
TLS proxy CA (Mueck: TLS client and TLS server, Fig. 4A, [0158]).
As per claim 13, the combination teaches further comprising:
generating a third-type certificate signed based on a private key of the first-type entity (Mueck: token 512, [0160]).
As per claim 14, the combination teaches further comprising:
sending a third-type certificate to a second-type entity, wherein the third-type certificate comprises a public key used to establish a TLS tunnel between different entities (Mueck: token 512 and TLS connection 516, [0160]. Wang: TLS [0019][0021][0043]).
As per claim 15, the combination teaches wherein the first-type entity comprises a TLS client CA; the second-type entity comprises a TLS client; and sending the third-type certificate to the second-type entity comprises:
sending a TLS client certificate to the TLS client (Mueck: sending client certificate to client, [0158]); or
wherein the first-type entity comprises a TLS server CA; the second-type entity comprises a TLS server; and sending the third-type certificate to the second-type entity comprises:
sending a TLS server certificate to the TLS server; or
wherein the first-type entity comprises a TLS proxy CA; the second-type entity comprises a TLS proxy; and sending the third-type certificate to the second-type entity comprises:
sending a TLS proxy certificate to the TLS proxy.
As per claim 18, the combination teaches wherein sending the third-type certificate to the second-type entity comprises:
sending a TLS client certificate and a TLS server certificate to the second-type entity (Mueck: creating cross certificates, [0158], Fig. 4).
As per claim 19, the combination teaches wherein the second-type entity comprises at least one of:
TLS server;
TLS client; or
TLS proxy (Mueck: TLS client and TLS server, Fig. 4A, [0158]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUGBENGA O IDOWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494