DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendments
The preliminary amendment filed 12/18/2024 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/12/2024, 02/28/2025, 05/04/2026, 10/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s specification paragraph 0082 recites “photonic planar waveguide 100” it should be –photonic planar waveguide 210--, paragraph 0093 recites “power source 340” it should be –power source 240—
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49, 59-62, and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 49, the claim recites "in a range from 10⁻⁴ to more than 0.1" and "in a range from 1 pm/V to more than 10³ pm/V". A range ending in "more than" a value has no upper endpoint, so it is unclear what values fall within the claimed ranges. For examination, claim 49 is interpreted as intending a local variation of the refractive index of at least 10⁻⁴ and a local variation of the second order nonlinear susceptibility of at least 1 pm/V.
Regarding claim 59, the claim recites "the core layer being between the planar electrode layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for "the planar electrode layer" in the claim, which earlier recites "a pair of planar electrode layers". Claims 60-62 depend from claim 59 and are rejected for the same reason. For examination, claim 59 is interpreted as intending "the core layer being between the planar electrode layers".
Regarding claim 65, the claim places a period after "the optical signal coupled through the core layer" and then recites "receiving the programmed optical signal coupled out from the core layer" and "adjusting the control signal". A claim is a single sentence, so it is unclear whether the receiving and adjusting steps are part of the claimed method. For examination, claim 65 is interpreted as including the receiving and adjusting steps. Additionally, the claim will be understood to be -- the optical signal coupled through the core layer;--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 59 and 61-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe (JP H06-059289 A Hereinafter Abe).
Regarding claim 59, Abe discloses a programmable device (30a, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013), comprising:
a waveguide structure (31-40, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) extending in a plane (FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) and having
a core layer (37, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013), and
a pair of cladding layers (35 and 38, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0013 and 0019) on opposing sides of the core layer;
a pair of planar electrode layers (32 and 39, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) extending parallel to each other, the core layer being between the planar electrode layer; and
a photoconductive layer (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) comprising a photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013),
wherein, in operation of the programmable device,
a voltage (paragraph 0013, specifically the AC voltage of 43) is applied across the waveguide structure through the planar electrode layers,
a patterned illumination (P, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0018 and 0021) of light (paragraph 0018) is projected on individual areas (paragraph 0018) of the photoconductive layer to locally vary a conductivity (paragraph 0018) of the photoconductive material in the photoconductive layer so as to cause corresponding local variations (paragraphs 0019 and 0020) in at least one of a refractive index (paragraphs 0019 and 0020) or a nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer while the voltage is applied across the waveguide structure (paragraph 0011), and
an optical signal (paragraphs 0020 and 0021) is coupled into the core layer and propagates through the core layer with the corresponding local variations in the at least one of the refractive index or the nonlinear susceptibility (paragraphs 0021 and 0023).
Regarding claim 61, Abe discloses the photoconductive layer (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) is different from the core layer (37, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013), and
wherein the photoconductive layer is above the core layer and between an upper planar electrode layer (32, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) of the planar electrode layers and an upper cladding layer (35, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0013 and 0019) of the cladding layers.
Regarding claim 62, Abe discloses the patterned illumination (P, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0018 and 0021) on the photoconductive layer (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0018) and the voltage (paragraph 0019) applied across the waveguide structure generate local variations of electric fields (paragraphs 0011 and 0019) across a plurality of different corresponding regions (FIGS. 2 and 4, paragraphs 0019 and 0023) of the core layer, so as to cause the corresponding local variations in the at least one of the refractive index or the nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer (paragraphs 0019 and 0020).
Regarding claim 63, Abe discloses a method of managing a programmable device (30a, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0013 and 0018), comprising:
illuminating light (paragraph 0018) on the programmable device to produce a patterned illumination (P, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0018 and 0021) of the light on a photoconductive layer (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) of the programmable device, so as to locally vary a conductivity (paragraph 0018) of a photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) in the photoconductive layer, wherein the programmable device extends in a plane (FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) and comprises a waveguide structure (31-40, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) having a core layer (37, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) and a pair of cladding layers (35 and 38, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0013 and 0019) on opposing sides of the core layer;
while illuminating the light on the programmable device, applying a voltage (paragraphs 0011 and 0013) across the waveguide structure through a pair of planar electrode layers (32 and 39, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) of the programmable device so as to cause corresponding local variations (paragraphs 0019 and 0020) in at least one of a refractive index (paragraphs 0019 and 0020) or a nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer; and
programming an optical signal (paragraph 0021) by coupling the optical signal through the core layer with the corresponding local variations in the at least one of the refractive index or the nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer (paragraphs 0021 and 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46-49, 51, 54, 57, and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Timurdogan et al. (US 10,133,149 B2 Hereinafter Timurdogan).
Regarding claim 46, Abe teaches a programmable system (30, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013), comprising:
a programmable device (30a, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) extending in a plane (FIG. 1, paragraph 0013), the programmable device comprising:
a pair of planar electrode layers (32 and 39, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) extending parallel to each other; and
a waveguide structure (31-40, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) comprising a core layer (37, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) and a pair of cladding layers (35 and 38, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0013 and 0019) on opposing sides of the core layer, the core layer being between the planar electrode layers, the waveguide structure comprising a photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013);
a power source (43, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) electrically connected to the planar electrode layers and configured to apply a voltage (paragraph 0013) across the waveguide structure during operation of the programmable system;
a light source (45, FIG. 1, paragraph 0017) configured to produce an illumination (paragraphs 0017 and 0018) at a wavelength (paragraph 0018, specifically the wavelength of the light transmitted through 41 that increases the conductivity of 33) to change a conductivity (paragraph 0018) of the photoconductive material;
a spatial light controller (41 and 42, FIG. 1, paragraph 0017) arranged to receive the illumination from the light source and illuminate the photoconductive material with a patterned illumination (P, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0018 and 0021) to locally vary the conductivity of the photoconductive material while the voltage is applied across the waveguide structure (paragraph 0011); and
while the photoconductive material is illuminated with the patterned illumination and the voltage is applied across the waveguide structure (paragraphs 0011 and 0021).
Abe fails to teach an optical signal source that directs an optical signal to an edge of the waveguide structure to couple the optical signal into the core layer.
However, Timurdogan teaches an optical signal source (col. 23, lines 37-41, specifically the near-infrared CW tunable pump laser) arranged to direct an optical signal (col. 23, lines 37-41) to an edge (col. 23, lines 39-41, specifically the on-chip inverse silicon taper at the waveguide end) of the waveguide structure (col. 21, lines 48-50) to couple the optical signal into the core layer (col. 21, lines 48-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the fiber-coupled laser optical signal source of Timurdogan to the waveguide structure of Abe, in order to couple the pump light into the on-chip waveguide through the inverse taper with a calibrated fiber-to-chip coupling loss (Timurdogan, col. 23, lines 37-45).
Regarding claim 47, Abe teaches the patterned illumination (P, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0018 and 0021) is configured to locally vary the conductivity of the photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0018) to cause a corresponding local variation (paragraphs 0019 and 0020) in at least one of a refractive index (paragraphs 0019 and 0020) or a nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer (37, FIG. 1, paragraph 0019) during the operation of the programmable system.
Regarding claim 48, Abe teaches the patterned illumination (P, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0018 and 0021) on the photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0018) and the voltage (paragraph 0019) applied across the waveguide structure generate local variations of electric fields (paragraphs 0011 and 0019) across a plurality of regions (FIGS. 2 and 4, paragraphs 0019 and 0023) of the core layer so as to cause corresponding local variations in the at least one of the refractive index or the nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer (paragraphs 0019 and 0020).
Regarding claim 49, Abe teaches the corresponding local variation of the refractive index of the core layer (37, FIG. 2, paragraphs 0019 and 0020) is in a range from 10⁻⁴ to more than 0.1 (paragraph 0020, specifically a difference of 0.036).
Abe fails to teach a local variation of a second order nonlinear susceptibility of the core layer in a range from 1 pm/V to more than 10³ pm/V.
However, Timurdogan teaches the corresponding local variation of a second order nonlinear susceptibility (col. 24, lines 7-10) of the core layer (col. 21, lines 48-50) is in a range from 1 pm/V to more than 10³ pm/V (col. 24, lines 7-10, specifically 41 pm/V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the electric field-induced second order nonlinear susceptibility of Timurdogan to the core layer of Abe, in order to use the field-induced second order nonlinearity in sum and difference frequency generation and electro-optic modulation (Timurdogan, col. 25, lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 51, Abe teaches the photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) is arranged in a layer (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) different from the core layer (37, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013), and, wherein the layer including the photoconductive material is above the core layer and between an upper planar electrode layer (32, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) of the planar electrode layers and an upper cladding layer (35, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0013 and 0019) of the cladding layers.
Regarding claim 54, Abe teaches the spatial light controller (41 and 42, FIG. 1, paragraph 0017) comprises a spatial light modulator (SLM) (41, FIG. 1, paragraph 0017) having a plurality of elements (paragraph 0017, specifically the matrix-shaped transparent electrodes of 41) configured to be modulated to diffract the illumination from the light source (45, FIG. 1, paragraph 0017) to generate the patterned illumination onto a plurality of different corresponding areas (paragraphs 0017 and 0018) of a top surface (31, FIG. 1, paragraphs 0017 and 0018) of the programmable device.
Regarding claim 57, Abe fails to teach an optical receiver receiving an output optical signal coupled out from the waveguide structure.
However, Timurdogan teaches an optical receiver (col. 23, lines 52-55, specifically the external optical spectrum analyzers) configured to receive an output optical signal (col. 23, lines 34-36) coupled out from the waveguide structure (col. 23, lines 52-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the output fiber and optical spectrum analyzer receiver of Timurdogan to the waveguide structure of Abe, in order to collect the output light and measure its wavelengths (Timurdogan, col. 23, lines 52-55).
Regarding claim 58, Abe teaches the photoconductive material (33, FIG. 1, paragraph 0013) comprises at least one of:
amorphous silicon (Table 1, paragraph 0014, specifically the a-Si of 33).
Claims 52, 53, 55, 56, and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Timurdogan and Wu et al. (US 7,612,355 B2 Hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 52, Abe in view of Timurdogan fails to teach the spatial light controller comprising an optical deflecting device that individually deflects illumination spots onto areas of the top surface of the programmable device.
However, Wu teaches the spatial light controller (104 and 116, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 44-52) comprises an optical deflecting device (116, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 46-51) configured to individually deflect respective illumination spots (col. 19, lines 49-51, specifically the light reflected by the individual MEMS mirrors of 116) of the illumination onto a plurality of different corresponding areas (col. 19, lines 21-28) of a top surface (24, FIG. 7A, col. 19, lines 21-28) of the programmable device to generate the patterned illumination (col. 19, lines 49-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the digital micromirror deflecting device of Wu to the spatial light controller of Abe in view of Timurdogan, in order to generate any arbitrary illumination pattern with high contrast ratio without computation (Wu, col. 24, lines 45-48).
Regarding claim 53, Abe in view of Timurdogan fails to teach the spatial light controller comprising an optical scanner that sequentially scans an illumination spot across areas of the top surface of the programmable device.
However, Wu teaches the spatial light controller (234, 236 and 38, FIG. 31, col. 34, lines 9-18) comprises an optical scanner (236, FIG. 31, col. 34, lines 14-18) configured to sequentially scan an illumination spot (col. 34, lines 14-18) of the illumination from the light source (114, FIG. 31, col. 34, lines 10-13) across a plurality of different corresponding areas (col. 33, lines 13-16) of a top surface (24, FIG. 30A, col. 33, lines 13-16 and 23-28) of the programmable device to generate the patterned illumination (col. 34, lines 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the scanning mirror optical scanner of Wu to the spatial light controller of Abe in view of Timurdogan, in order to produce a dynamically reconfigurable electric field pattern on the photoconductive surface with a single moving light beam (Wu, col. 33, lines 3-16).
Regarding claim 55, Abe teaches generate at least one control signal (paragraph 0017, specifically the dynamic drive signal forming the light and dark pattern of 41) based on at least one target optical signal (paragraphs 0021 and 0022, specifically the deflection angle of the output light selected through the apex angle of P), the at least one control signal corresponding to at least one of a two-dimensional (2D) refractive index profile (paragraphs 0019 and 0023) or a 2D nonlinear susceptibility profile in the core layer.
Abe in view of Timurdogan fails to teach a controller coupled to the power source, light source, spatial light controller or optical signal source that generates the control signal and transmits it to one of them.
However, Wu teaches a controller (102, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 44-52) coupled to at least one of the power source, the light source, the spatial light controller (104 and 116, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 44-52), or the optical signal source,
wherein the controller is configured to:
transmit the at least one control signal (col. 19, lines 44-52, specifically the image signals output by 102) to the at least one of the power source, the light source, the spatial light controller, or the optical signal source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the computer controller of Wu to the spatial light controller of Abe in view of Timurdogan, in order to generate the optical images in the computer and load them to the spatial light modulator (Wu, col. 17, lines 40-43).
Regarding claim 56, Abe fails to teach a control signal sent to the spatial light controller to generate the patterned illumination.
However, Wu teaches a second control signal (col. 19, lines 44-52, specifically the image signals output by 102) to the spatial light controller (104 and 116, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 44-52) to control the corresponding illumination (114, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 46-48) to generate a corresponding patterned illumination (col. 19, lines 21-28) on the photoconductive material (24, FIG. 7A, col. 19, lines 21-28).
Regarding claim 65, Abe teaches generating at least one control signal (paragraph 0017, specifically the dynamic drive signal forming the light and dark pattern of 41) based on at least one target optical signal (paragraphs 0021 and 0022, specifically the deflection angle of the output light selected through the apex angle of P), the at least one control signal corresponding to at least one of a two-dimensional (2D) refractive index profile (paragraphs 0019 and 0023) or a 2D nonlinear susceptibility profile in the core layer; and
using the control signal to control at least one of:
the illumination of the light on the programmable device (paragraphs 0017 and 0018).
Abe fails to teach receiving the programmed optical signal coupled out from the core layer and adjusting the control signal based on comparing the programmed optical signal to the target optical signal.
However, Timurdogan teaches receiving the programmed optical signal (col. 23, lines 52-55) coupled out from the core layer (col. 23, lines 34-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the output light collection of Timurdogan to the core layer of Abe, in order to collect the output light and measure its wavelengths (Timurdogan, col. 23, lines 52-55).
Abe in view of Timurdogan fails to teach adjusting the control signal based on comparing the programmed optical signal to the target optical signal.
However, Wu teaches adjusting the control signal (140 and 142, FIG. 18A, col. 26, lines 19-25) based on a result of comparing (138, FIG. 18A, col. 26, lines 19-22) the programmed optical signal to the at least one target optical signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the closed-loop pattern regeneration of Wu to the control signal of Abe in view of Timurdogan, in order to generate subsequent patterns in relation to the desired goal of the application (Wu, col. 26, lines 19-25).
Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Wu.
Regarding claim 64, Abe fails to teach individually deflecting respective illumination spots of the light onto areas of the top surface of the programmable device.
However, Wu teaches individually deflecting respective illumination spots (116, FIG. 7B, col. 19, lines 46-51) of the light onto a plurality of different corresponding areas (col. 19, lines 21-28) of a top surface (24, FIG. 7A, col. 19, lines 21-28) of the programmable device to produce the patterned illumination of the light (col. 19, lines 49-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the digital micromirror deflection of Wu to the illuminating of Abe, in order to generate any arbitrary illumination pattern with high contrast ratio without computation (Wu, col. 24, lines 45-48).
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Timurdogan and Leib (US 3,993,400 A Hereinafter Leib).
Regarding claim 50, Abe in view of Timurdogan fails to teach the core layer comprising the photoconductive material, an electrode layer configured as part of the cladding layers, and the core layer immediately adjacent to the electrode layers.
However, Leib teaches the core layer (16 and 18, FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 50-57) comprises the photoconductive material (18, FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 52-55),
wherein at least one of the planar electrode layers (20 and 22, FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 57-62) is configured as at least part of the cladding layers (FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 60-62 and col. 9, lines 41-43, specifically the NESA glass of 20 and 22), and
wherein the core layer is immediately adjacent to the pair of planar electrode layers (FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 57-60) that are between the pair of cladding layers (FIG. 2, col. 9, lines 33-36 and 41-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the photoconductor and liquid crystal guiding layer of Leib sandwiched directly between the electrodes to the waveguide structure of Abe in view of Timurdogan, with the electrode layers 32 and 39 of Abe lying between the glass substrates 31 and 40 of Abe (paragraph 0013), in order to apply the voltage directly across the photoconductive material and the light-guiding liquid crystal so that patterned illumination of the photoconductor locally changes the index of the guiding layer and forms light guides in it (Leib, col. 2, lines 57-66; col. 3, lines 1-12).
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Leib.
Regarding claim 60, Abe fails to teach the core layer comprising the photoconductive layer, an electrode layer configured as part of the cladding layers, and the core layer immediately adjacent to the electrode layers.
However, Leib teaches the core layer (16 and 18, FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 50-57) comprises the photoconductive layer (18, FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 52-55), wherein at least one of the planar electrode layers (20 and 22, FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 57-62) is configured as at least part of the cladding layers (FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 60-62 and col. 9, lines 41-43, specifically the NESA glass of 20 and 22), and wherein the core layer is immediately adjacent to the pair of planar electrode layers (FIG. 2, col. 2, lines 57-60) that are between the pair of cladding layers (FIG. 2, col. 9, lines 33-36 and 41-43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to have included the photoconductor and liquid crystal guiding layer of Leib sandwiched directly between the electrodes to the waveguide structure of Abe, with the electrode layers 32 and 39 of Abe lying between the glass substrates 31 and 40 of Abe (paragraph 0013), in order to apply the voltage directly across the photoconductive material and the light-guiding liquid crystal so that patterned illumination of the photoconductor locally changes the index of the guiding layer and forms light guides in it (Leib, col. 2, lines 57-66; col. 3, lines 1-12).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tournois et al. (US 2016/0033797 A1) teaches a nematic liquid crystal waveguide between an amorphous silicon photoconductor and a substrate, with transparent electrodes and optics that project a programmable optical mask onto the photoconductor to shape ultrashort pulses; Hoke (US 2004/0240832 A1) teaches an optical waveguide core with a spatially reconfigurable refractive index written by a projected light pattern; Kolacz et al. (US 2021/0286231 A1) teaches a liquid crystal-clad waveguide beam steerer with bulk-property feedback for the steering voltage; and Cardenas et al. (US 11,243,419 B2) teaches electro-optic silicon nitride formed by electric poling during deposition.
Conclusion
/ERIC T EIDE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875