Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "22" and "28" have both been used to designate the same element in Figure 2. Given the fact that reference character “22” denotes an overall element of the invention, it should include an arrowhead at the end of its leader line.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “30” has been used to designate both the inner surface of the wheel in Figure 1 and the coating system in Figure 3.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph [0001] fails to provide the 371 status of the application.
In paragraphs [0026] and [0030], reference to US Applications is improper, given the fact that an Application is not a published document readily available to the general public. The Application numbers should be replaced with the US Patent numbers associated therewith. Furthermore, see section 2 above.
Reference character “54” is used to denote the PVD metal layer in paragraph [0027] and the first light portion in paragraph [0028].
Reference character “58” is used to denote the translucent coating in paragraph [0027] and the red coloration in paragraph [0028].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term - -a- - should be inserted between the terms “to” and “base” in line 2, for grammatical clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite due to the fact that it is unclear what element of the invention includes “a second portion” being reflected by the translucent polymer coating. Furthermore, if the aforementioned “second portion” is part of the “first portion of light” that illuminates the wheel, it is unclear how the “second portion” can both “reflect” and “pass therethrough” the translucent polymer coating.
The term “about” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. No quantitative or qualitative limitations have been set forth in the claims to clearly define this term.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the polymer resin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation has not been previously set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stebbins et al (10,399,380).
Per claim 1, Stebbins et al shows a vehicle wheel 10 including a face (i.e. disk) portion 14 and a rim portion 12, which define a wheel surface 24. The face portion 14 includes a plurality of spokes 22 (See Figure 1). As shown in Figure 3, the wheel surface 24 includes thereon a translucent polymer coating (40 and/or 42) defining an outermost coating, which may be tinted. A first portion of light illuminating the wheel will reflect a second portion thereof from the surface of the outermost coating, while a third portion thereof may pass through the outermost coating to reflect a forth portion of light from one or more of the other coating layers on the wheel surface 24.
Per claim 2, the translucent polymer coating 240/242 may be adhered to an alloy substrate 232 defining the wheel surface 224 (Figure 5).
Per claim 3, Figure 3 shows the translucent polymer coating 40/42 is adhered to a base polymer layer 34 defining the wheel surface 24. The base polymer 34 is pigmented.
Per claim 4, Figure 3 shows the translucent polymer coating 40/42 adhered to a PVD metal layer 38 defining the wheel surface 24.
Per claim 5, Figure 5 shows the translucent polymer coating 240/242 adhered to at least one of a base polymer layer 234 and an alloy substrate 232 defining the wheel surface 224.
Per claim 6, Figure 5 shows the translucent polymer coating 240/242 adhered to at least one of a PVD metal layer 238 and an alloy substrate 232 defining the wheel surface 224.
Per claim 8, the translucent polymer coating 40/42 may be a pigmented powder coating material.
Per claim 9, Stebbins et al discloses that in Figure 3, the base polymer layer 34 may be pigmented a first hue, while the translucent polymer coating 40/42 may be pigmented a second hue.
Per claim 10, Stebbins et al discloses that in Figure 3, both the base polymer layer 34 and the translucent polymer coating 40/42 may be pigmented the same hue.
Per claim 11, Stebbins et al discloses that at least one of the translucent polymer coating and the base coating may include an additive having “light reflective properties” (i.e. metal flake).
Per claim 13, the second portion of light would define a first hue, while the fourth portion of light would define a third hue.
Per claim 14, the outermost translucent polymer coating 40/42 is defined by one of a high, medium, or low gloss.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stebbins et al.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Stebbins et al does not disclose the film thickness of the translucent polymer coating 40 and/or 42. However, it is well known in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the film thickness of an outermost coating is a result effective variable, dependent upon the desired level of gloss and/or depth of color of a paint job.
Regarding claim 15, Stebbins et al does not disclose the outermost translucent coating 42 including approximately 20% by weight of pigment. However, it is well known in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that the percentage by weight of pigment is a result effective variable, which determines the desired strength or depth of color.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references show wheels having multiple layered painted surfaces.
/JASON R BELLINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615