Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9 & 11-19 & 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by LV et al. US 2023/0093039 A1
Claims 1 and 21:
LV discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See figs. 3-4, Terminal), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (See paras 62-63, memory and processor) and configured to cause the UE to:
receive configuration information for channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) (See paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback) indicating orbital angular momentum (OAM) mode resources (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”); and
transmit wireless signal using a subset of the OAM mode resources and based at least in part on OAM mode-based measurements for the subset of the OAM mode resources (See para 220-221, data sent on OAM mode resources after measurements. See para 238, “The terminal device may send uplink data based on the radio resource indicated by the first OAM mode domain identifier, and the network device may receive the uplink data on the radio resource indicated by the first OAM mode domain identifier”).
Claim 16:
LV discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (See figs. 3-4, Network device), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (See paras 62-63, memory and processor) and configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit configuration information for channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) ) (See paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback) indicating at least one orbital angular momentum (OAM) mode resource (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”); transmit a report configuration for the at least one OAM mode resource See para 170, “S604: The network device sends, to the terminal device by using the plane electromagnetic wave, a sequence [+1, +5, +7, +3] of OAM physical modes of OAM test signals to be sent by the network device”); and receive, based at least in part on the report configuration, a report including OAM mode-based measurements for one or more RS of the OAM mode resource (See para 220-221, data sent on OAM mode resources after measurements. See para 238, “The terminal device may send uplink data based on the radio resource indicated by the first OAM mode domain identifier, and the network device may receive the uplink data on the radio resource indicated by the first OAM mode domain identifier”).
Claims 2 and 17:
LV discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS further comprises at least one of a time resource, a frequency resource, a time-domain behavior, an OAM mode index, a usage type corresponding to an RS or RS transmission, a reference signal reception, or combination thereof (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”).
Claims 3 and 18:
LV discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that at least some of the RS correspond to an OAM mode index (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”. Also, see paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback. Also see paras 8-9, OAM mode sequence number).
Claim 4:
LV discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that at least some of the RS correspond to a different type of sequence generation method for each of the OAM mode resources (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”. Also, see paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback. Also see paras 8-9, OAM mode sequence number).
Claims 5 and 19:
LV discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that at least some of the RS (See paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback.) are initialized with OAM mode-specific index information for different OAM modes (See para 8, “the OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first sequence number in sorting sequence numbers of the transmission parameters of the vortex electromagnetic waves in the plurality of OAM physical modes”. Also see para 29).
Claim 8:
LV discloses that the configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that different antenna ports are associated with different OAM modes (See para 151, “in a column of logical OAM identifier sequence numbers shown in Table 2, for OAM physical modes l.1 and l.4, no matter what physical means are used, for example, regardless of whether same or different transmit power is allocated to the OAM physical modes l.1 and l.2, same or different antenna arrays are used”. Also see fig.5 and para 163, “Four OAM physical modes set to be used by the network device are respectively +1, +3, +5, and +7. It is specified that innermost circle antenna elements send the OAM physical mode +1, and innermost circle antenna elements sequentially send the OAM physical modes +3, +5, and +7”).
Claim 9:
LV discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured to include CSI resource identifiers, and wherein each CSI resource identifier is associated with at least one OAM mode (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”).
Claim 12:
LV discloses a report for each RS of a plurality of RS (See paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback. Also see para 170, test signals) indicates at least an OAM mode based on OAM
mode-based channel measurements (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”. Also see para 172).
Claims 13 and 15:
LV discloses UE to transmit multiple reports, and wherein each report is specific to an individual OAM mode (See para 174, “assuming that the terminal device supports only OAM physical modes [+1, +3, +5], the acknowledgment message fed back by the terminal device to the network device may indicate that the capability of the terminal device is [+1, +5, N/A, +3”. Also see para 181, “The terminal device feeds back, to the network device, the signal-to-noise ratio SNR.l corresponding to each OAM physical mode”. Also see para 186, “The terminal device feeds back, to the network device, a signal-to-noise ratio SNR.l* and a crosstalk coefficient γ.l that correspond to each OAM physical mode.”).
Claim 14:
LV discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (See figs. 3-4, Terminal), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (See paras 62-63, memory and processor) and configured to cause the UE to: receive configuration information for channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) (See paras 12 and 113, reference signal for electromagnetic wave and feedback) indicating at least one orbital angular momentum (OAM) mode resource (See para 101-104, “The first OAM mode domain identifier corresponds to a first transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave…an OAM mode domain identifier can be used to determine a radio resource. The OAM mode domain identifier may be related to a transmission parameter of a vortex electromagnetic wave”); receive, a report configuration for the at least one OAM mode resource (See para 170, “S604: The network device sends, to the terminal device by using the plane electromagnetic wave, a sequence [+1, +5, +7, +3] of OAM physical modes of OAM test signals to be sent by the network device”); and transmit, based at least in part on the report configuration, a report to including OAM mode-based measurements for one or more references signals of the OAM mode resource (See para 220-221, data sent on OAM mode resources after measurements. See para 238, “The terminal device may send uplink data based on the radio resource indicated by the first OAM mode domain identifier, and the network device may receive the uplink data on the radio resource indicated by the first OAM mode domain identifier”).
Claim 11:
Receive, a report configuration for the OAM mode resources (See para 170, “S604: The network device sends, to the terminal device by using the plane electromagnetic wave, a sequence [+1, +5, +7, +3] of OAM physical modes of OAM test signals to be sent by the network device”); and transmit, based at least in part on the report configuration, a report including OAM mode-based measurements for one or more RS of the OAM mode resources (See para 172, “S605: After receiving information about the sequence of the OAM physical modes, the terminal device feeds back an acknowledgment message to the network device, and reports capability information of the terminal device”. Also see para 118, “the capability information may be the CSI report”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV et al. in view of Choi et al. US 2025/0096968 A1
Claim 7:
LV doesn’t disclose configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that an OAM mode number index is configured through radio resource control (RRC) signalling using a bit table.
Choi discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that an OAM mode number index is configured through radio resource control (RRC) signalling using a bit table (See para 201, “According to an embodiment, the periodicity of an OAM reference resource set may be replaced by a CSI-RS periodicity T.CSI-RS and/or configured as T.OAM-RS through the RRC”. It is understood that the RRC msg is in bits).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LV with the teachings of Choi to improve the method disclosed by LV by including the feature of configuration of OAM in RRC. The motivation to combine would have been to set up a framework UE to report quality.
Claim 10:
LV doesn’t explicitly disclose configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that CSI configurations with OAM modes are one or more of aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent.
Choi discloses configuration information for the CSI-RS is configured such that CSI configurations with OAM modes are one or more of aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (See para 201, “According to an embodiment, the periodicity of an OAM reference resource set may be replaced by a CSI-RS periodicity T.CSI-RS and/or configured as T.OAM-RS through the RRC. According to an embodiment, the CSI-RS periodicity may be used as the periodicity of the OAM reference resource set, and/or the periodicity of the OAM reference resource set may be configured separately”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of LV with the teachings of Choi to improve the method disclosed by LV by including the feature of periodicity of configuration. The motivation to combine would have been to quality communication by configuring according to the network needs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475