DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pellegrino (US-20190271666-A1).
In regards to claim 1, Pellegrino teaches a system for monitoring assets, the system comprising: (abstract)
an asset; and (101 fig. 1, ‘asset structure’)
one or more sensors coupled to the asset, wherein the sensors comprise: (para(s) [0020-0030]; 102-103 fig. 1, ‘plurality of ultrasound sensors’, ‘digital sensor interface (DSI)’)
an ultrasonic transmitter configured to transmit one or more signals in the form of ultra-sonic pulses to the asset; (408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’)
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive the signals; (408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’)
a signal processing module configured to process measurements taken by the signals; and (404 fig. 4, ‘microcontroller’)
a communication module configured to store data regarding measurements taken by the signals and transmit the data to an analysis module, wherein the analysis module is a component of the sensors or is a component of a cloud based system, and wherein the analysis module is configured to analyze the data and determine a condition of the asset based on the data. (408, 408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘communications port’, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’; para(s) [0012-0013, 0051-0053, 0059, 0061, 0073])
In regards to claim 2, Pellegrino teaches a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the asset is a structural body, and wherein the condition is a wall thickness of the structural body. (101 fig. 1, ‘asset structure’; (para(s) [0036, 0059-0060])
In regards to claim 6, Pellegrino teaches a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the sensors are configured to continuously transmit the one or more signals or transmit the one or more signals at time based intervals. (para [0066]; 102 fig. 1, ‘plurality of ultrasound sensors’)
In regards to claim 7, Pellegrino teaches a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1) wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a report comprising details on locations of the asset where the measurements were taken. ( DSI stores reports containing contextual data such as GPS coordinates; para(s) [0033, 0038])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino (US-20190271666-A1), in view of, Loosararian (US-20180275672-A1).
Pellegrino teaches:
In regards to claim 3, Pellegrino teaches a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegino to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino does not teach:
wherein the asset is a structural body comprising a repair in the form of a fiber reinforced composite wrap, and wherein the condition is an internal delamination or void between one or more layers of the fiber reinforced composite wrap or in a fiber-resin matrix of the fiber reinforced composite wrap.
Loosararian teaches:
wherein the asset is a structural body comprising a repair in the form of a fiber reinforced composite wrap, and wherein the condition is an internal delamination or void between one or more layers of the fiber reinforced composite wrap or in a fiber-resin matrix of the fiber reinforced composite wrap. (para(s) [0060, 0082])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Loosararian to provide a a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
In regards to claim 4, Pellegrino teaches a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegino to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino does not teach:
wherein the asset comprises a repair in the form of a mechanical solution, and wherein the condition is a wall thickness of the mechanical solution.
Loosararian teaches:
wherein the asset comprises a repair in the form of a mechanical solution, and wherein the condition is a wall thickness of the mechanical solution. (Loosararian: para(s) [0060, 0082])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Loosararian to provide a a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
In regards to claim 8, Pellegrino teaches a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegino to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino does not teach:
wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a report comprising how the condition of the asset has changed during a service life of the asset.
Loosararian teaches:
wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a report comprising how the condition of the asset has changed during a service life of the asset. (Loosararian: para(s) [0060, 0122-0125]; 4100, 4106 fig. 41, ‘apparatus’; 818 fig. 10, ‘inspection map’; ‘the Facility Wear Value 4106 on an Inspection Map 818 generates a projection, e.g. best repair operation, for strategic planning regarding the remaining life of an asset over a service life; paragraph [0125]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system for monitoring assets as taught by SENSOR with wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a projection regarding a remaining time until a specific value regarding the condition of the asset will be 'reached, in order to perform inspections of assets to detect asset defects (see paragraph [0060]’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Loosararian to provide a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
In regards to claim 9, Pellegrino teach a system of claim 1, (see claim rejection 1)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegino to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino does not teach:
wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a projection regarding a remaining time until a specific value regarding the condition of the asset will be reached.
Loosararian teaches:
wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a projection regarding a remaining time until a specific value regarding the condition of the asset will be reached. (Loosararian: para(s) [0600124-0125]; ‘the Facility Wear Value 4106 on an Inspection Map 818 generates a projection, e.g. best repair operation, for strategic planning regarding the remaining life of an asset over a service life; Paragraph [0125]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system for monitoring assets as taught by SENSOR with wherein the analysis module is configured to generate a projection regarding a remaining time until a specific value regarding the condition of the asset will be 'reached, in order to perform inspections of assets to detect asset defects (see GECKO; Paragraph [0060]).’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Loosararian to provide a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
In regards to claim 10, Pellegrino & Loosararian teach a system of claim 9, (see claim rejection 9) wherein the projection is based on a type, a temperature, or a pressure of a fluid that is flowing through the asset, as well as a corrosion rate of a material of the asset. (Loosararian: para(s) [0124-0125]; ‘the projection includes Facility Wear Values 4106 that include temperature of the asset; Paragraphs [0124-0125]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system for monitoring assets as taught by SENSOR with wherein the projection is based on a type, a temperature, or a pressure of a fluid that is flowing through the asset, as well as a corrosion rate of a material of the asset, in order to perform inspections of assets to detect asset defects (see GECKO; Paragraph [0060]).’)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino (US-20190271666-A1), in view of, Loosararian (US-20180275672-A1), in further view of Roberts (JP-2024118471-A 08-30-2024).
Pellegrino & Loosaraian teach:
In regards to claim 5, Pellegrino & Loosaraian teach a system of claim 4, (see claim rejection 4)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegrino & Loosaraian to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino & Loosaraian don’t teach:
wherein the mechanical solution is a clamp.
Roberts teaches:
wherein the mechanical solution is a clamp. (12 fig(s) 4-5, ‘test ring’; ‘The two halves 16, 18 are held together by mechanical seal screws 30. The screws 30 extend through holes 32 in the top portion 16, pass through the void 26, and engage threaded holes 34 in the bottom portion 18. Although two screws 30 are shown, any suitable number can be used to ensure proper clamping.’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Roberts to provide the structure for a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pellegrino (US-20190271666-A1).
In regards to claim 11, Pellegrino teaches a method for monitoring assets, the method comprising: (abstract; para(s) [0020-0030])
coupling one or more sensors to an asset, wherein the sensors comprise: (101 fig. 1, ‘asset structure’)
an ultrasonic transmitter configured to transmit one or more signals in the form of ultra-sonic pulses to the asset; (408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’)
an ultrasonic receiver configured to receive the signals; (408, 408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘communications port’, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’; para(s) [0012-0013, 0051-0053, 0059, 0061, 0073])
a signal processing module configured to process measurements taken by the signals; and (101 fig. 1, ‘asset structure’ para(s)_[0059, 0061, 0073])
a communication module configured to store data regarding measurements taken by the signals and transmit the data to an analysis module, wherein the analysis module is a component of the sensors or is a component of a cloud based system, and wherein the analysis module is configured to analyze the data and determine a condition of the asset based on the data; and (408, 408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘communications port’, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’; para(s) [0012-0013, 0051-0053, 0059, 0061, 0073])
receiving information regarding the condition of the asset based on the data. (408, 408(a-b), 409 fig. 4, ‘communications port’, ‘RS485 and CAN transceivers’, ‘wireless transceiver’; para(s) [0012-0013, 0051-0053, 0059, 0061, 0073])
In regards to claim 12, Pellegrino teaches a method of claim 11, (see claim rejection 11) wherein the asset is a structural body, and wherein the condition is a wall thickness of the structural body. (101 fig. 1, ‘asset structure’; (para(s) [0036, 0059-0060])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino (US-20190271666-A1), in view of, Loosararian (US-20180275672-A1).
In regards to claim 13, Pellegrino teaches a method of claim 11, (see claim rejection 11)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegino to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino does not teach:
wherein the asset is a structural body comprising a repair in the form of a fiber reinforced composite wrap, and wherein the condition is an internal delamination or void between one or more layers of the fiber reinforced composite wrap or in a fiber-resin matrix of the fiber reinforced composite wrap.
Loosararian teaches:
wherein the asset is a structural body comprising a repair in the form of a fiber reinforced composite wrap, and wherein the condition is an internal delamination or void between one or more layers of the fiber reinforced composite wrap or in a fiber-resin matrix of the fiber reinforced composite wrap. (para(s) [0060, 0082])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Loosararian to provide a a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
In regards to claim 14, Pellegrino teaches a method of claim 11, (see claim rejection 11)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegino to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino does not teach:
wherein the asset comprises a repair in the form of a mechanical solution, and wherein the condition is a wall thickness of the mechanical solution.
Lossararian teaches:
wherein the asset comprises a repair in the form of a mechanical solution, and wherein the condition is a wall thickness of the mechanical solution. (Loosararian: para(s) [0060, 0082])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Loosararian to provide a a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pellegrino (US-20190271666-A1), in view of, Loosararian (US-20180275672-A1), in further view of Roberts (JP-2024118471-A 08-30-2024).
In regards to claim 15, Pellegrino & Loosaraian teach a method of claim 14, (see claim rejection 14)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Pellegrino & Loosaraian to provide a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Pellegrino & Loosaraian don’t teach:
wherein the mechanical solution is a clamp.
Roberts teaches:
wherein the mechanical solution is a clamp. (12 fig(s) 4-5, ‘test ring’; ‘The two halves 16, 18 are held together by mechanical seal screws 30. The screws 30 extend through holes 32 in the top portion 16, pass through the void 26, and engage threaded holes 34 in the bottom portion 18. Although two screws 30 are shown, any suitable number can be used to ensure proper clamping.’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for Roberts to provide the structure for a fiber composite wrap for a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited Staal (US-20260070291), Knezevie (US 20210155325), Ducousso (US-20190271665), and Buechler (US-9244043) references further describe a method & system for monitoring repairs performed on fluid containment assets as described by the claims.
/K.C.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2852 /STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852