DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-16, 19-20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LV (US 2023/0093039) in view of Choi (US 2024/0422779), Huang (US 2023/0171056) and Choi (US 2022/0078780).
2. As per claim1, LV teaches a method for transmitting configuration information of a reference signal, performed by a first communication device, the method comprising: receiving capability information transmitted from a second communication device (LV, ¶0022 “… capability …”); and
LV doesn’t explicitly mention, Choi779 teaches transmitting configuration information of an orbital angular momentum (OAM) measurement reference signal to the second communication device (Choi779, ¶0199-0200 “… OAM … reference signal …”. Furthermore, it is well-known in the art at the time of the invention to transmit OAM measurement reference signal for the benefit of accurate channel estimation and/or performance optimization -see Huang US 2023/0171056 ¶0065),
LV doesn’t explicitly mention, Choi780 teaches wherein the configuration information is configured to indicate at least one of an antenna port of the second communication device for measuring the OAM measurement reference signal (Choi780, ¶0362 – 0363) or an OAM mode value corresponding to the antenna port, wherein the OAM mode value is determined according to a number of OAM modes supported by the second communication device in the capability information (Choi780, ¶0362 – 0363).
Therefore, taking the combined teaching of LV, Choi779, Huang and Choi780 as a whole, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to communicate configuration, capability and/or OAM measurement reference signal for the benefit of accurate channel estimation and/or performance optimization
3. Claims 9 and 19 are similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
4. As per claim 2, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a correspondence relationship is established between the OAM mode value and the number of OAM modes (Huang, ¶0065), and the correspondence relationship is configured to generate the OAM mode value in the configuration information according to the number of OAM modes in the capability information (Huang, ¶0068).
5. Claim 10 is similarly analyzed as claim 2 for obviousness reason discussed above.
6. As per claim 3, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the capability information comprises support information of an OAM capability and the number of OAM modes supported by the second communication device (Huang, ¶0071); and transmitting the configuration information of the OAM measurement reference signal to the second communication device comprises: determining, in response to determining that the second communication device has the OAM capability according to the support information of the OAM capability, the OAM mode value of the OAM measurement reference signal corresponding to the antenna port according to the number of OAM modes supported by the second communication device (Choi780, ¶0362 – 0363); and transmitting the configuration information of the OAM measurement reference signal to the second communication device, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of antenna port information for measuring the OAM measurement reference signal or the OAM mode value corresponding to the antenna port (Choi780, ¶0372).
7. Claim 11 is similarly analyzed as claim 3 for obviousness reason discussed above.
8. As per claim 4, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information comprises time-frequency domain position indication information, and the time-frequency domain position indication information is configured to indicate a time-frequency domain position of the OAM measurement reference signal corresponding to the antenna port (LV, ¶0241-0244).
9. Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as claim 4 for obviousness reason discussed above.
10. As per claim 5, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the time-frequency domain position indication information comprises at least one of: time domain position indication information; frequency domain position indication information; or a time-frequency domain pattern (LV, ¶0241).
11. Claim 13 is similarly analyzed as claim 5 for obviousness reason discussed above.
12. As per claim 6, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information is carried in at least one of: radio resource control (RRC) signaling; media access control (MAC) signaling; or physical layer signaling (LV, ¶0084).
13. Claim 14 is similarly analyzed as claim 6 for obviousness reason discussed above.
14. As per claim 7, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the OAM measurement reference signal to the second communication device based on the configuration information (Choi779, ¶0199-0200 “… OAM … reference signal …”); receiving measurement information of the OAM measurement reference signal from the second communication device (Choi779, ¶0199-0200 “… OAM … reference signal …”); and transmitting configuration information of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) to the second communication device according to the measurement information, wherein the configuration information of the DMRS comprises at least one of an antenna port of the DMRS, time-frequency domain information of the DMRS, or an OAM mode value of the DMRS (Huang, ¶0041).
15. Claim 15 is similarly analyzed as claim 1 for obviousness reason discussed above.
16. As per claim 8, LV in view of Choi779, Huang and Choi780 teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first communication device is a base station, and the second communication device is a relay device; the first communication device is the relay device, and the second communication device is a terminal device; or the first communication device is the base station, and the second communication device is the terminal device (Horn, ¶0047).
17. Claim 16 is similarly analyzed as claim 8 for obviousness reason discussed above.
18. Claim 20 is similarly analyzed as claim 9 for obviousness reason discussed above.
19. Claims 23 - 24 are similarly analyzed as claim 9 for obviousness reason discussed above.
Conclusion
ZEWDU A. KASSA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/ZEWDU A KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635