DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 11 and 13 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 11 and 13 are independent.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 is numbered as 2 – it should be 1. Appropriate action is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION – The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, in claims 1, 11 and 13, both the server system and the shared image cache hold the down-scaled version of the image asset. However, the source (i.e., server system or cache) of the down-scaled version of the image asset that is transmitted to the first client device for display, is unclear. Appropriate action is required.
Further, regarding claim 6, it is unclear how an instruction to the first client device to down-scale the image asset is sent without transmitting the image asset to the first client device. Inventor(s) (or (pre-AlA) Applicant(s)) is therefore required to provide the rationale behind how an instruction is sent to a device to perform a specific task (i.e., down-scale an image asset) without transmitting the needed component for which the instruction was sent. Appropriate action is required.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, claim 2 recites the limitation "…receiving a second request for the down-scaled version of the image asset…" However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim – there is no claimed first request. Appropriate action is required.
Specifically, claim 4 recites the limitation "…in accordance with the amount of downscaling satisfying a threshold amount of scaling." However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate action is required.
Specifically, claim 5 recites the limitation "…determining that the client is to perform the downscaling…" However, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brockmann, Ronald A. (US-20200409647-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Ronald).
Regarding independent claim(s) 1, 11 and 13, Ronald teaches:
A server system (e.g., an application server 700 (FIG. 7) of Ronald) executing a third-party application (e.g., a graphics API such as OpenGL of Ronald), comprising: one or more processors (e.g., processors of Ronald); and memory (e.g., memory of Ronald) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors for: for a first session of a plurality of sessions (e.g., client sessions of Ronald) of the third-party application (e.g., a graphics API such as OpenGL of Ronald) (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0042, 0059, 0105]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7), the first session corresponding to a first client device (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0042, 0059, 0105]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7): accessing an image asset (e.g., image frame (e.g., image assets 121) of Ronald); providing a modified version of the image asset to the third-party application to be processed by the third-party application (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0042, 0059, 0105, 0106]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); receiving, from the third-party application, an indication that the modified version of the image asset has been down-scaled by the third-party application during processing (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0039, 0049]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); in response to receiving the indication that the modified version of the image asset has been down-scaled by the third-party application, determining that the image asset is to be down-scaled at the server system (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0039, 0049, 0051, 0071]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); and in accordance with a determination that the image asset is to be down-scaled at the server system: down-scaling, at the server system (e.g., remote server (e.g., third party application 101-3) of Ronald) (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0057, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7), the image asset, thereby producing a down-scaled version (e.g., manipulated, resized, re-arranged, transformed image of Ronald) of the image asset (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); transmitting the down-scaled version of the image asset to be stored in a shared image cache (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040, 0056, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7), wherein the plurality of sessions of the third-party application have access to the shared image cache (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040, 0056, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); and transmitting the down-scaled version of the image asset to the first client device for display (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040, 0056, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Ronald teaches:
at the server system, for a second session of the plurality of sessions (e.g., on behalf of a plurality of client devices of Ronald) of the third-party application corresponding to a second client device (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0059, 0062, 0091]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7): after storing the down-scaled version of the image asset in the shared image cache for the first session (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040, 0056, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7), receiving a second request for the down-scaled version of the image asset (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0059, 0062, 0091]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); and in response to the second request and in accordance with a determination that the server system is to perform the down-scaling: retrieving the down-scaled version of the image asset from the shared image cache (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040, 0056, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7); and sending the down-scaled version of the image asset to the second client device corresponding to the second session (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0059, 0062, 0091]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Ronald teaches:
wherein the image asset is stored in the shared image cache for an initial session of the plurality of sessions (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040, 0056, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Ronald teaches:
determining that the server system is to perform the downscaling and send the downscaled image asset in accordance with the amount of downscaling satisfying a threshold amount of scaling (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0057, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Ronald teaches:
determining that the client is to perform the downscaling in accordance with the amount of downscaling failing to satisfy a threshold amount of scaling (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0057, 0062]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Ronald teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first client device is to perform the down-scaling, sending an instruction to the first client device to down-scale the image asset without transmitting the image asset to the first client device (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0057, 0062, 0125]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Ronald teaches:
wherein the modified version of the image asset comprises a QR code overlaid across the entire image asset (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0121, 0125]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Ronald teaches:
wherein the modified version of the image asset comprises a plurality of modules placed in fixed locations, relative to the scale of the image asset, each module including data (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0040]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Ronald teaches:
wherein a first subset, less than all, of the plurality of modules are assigned to data to encode orientation (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0051, 0071-0073]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Ronald teaches:
wherein a second subset, less than all, of the plurality of modules are assigned to encode color planes and for detection of color transformations (See at least Ronald, ¶ [0050 – 0052]; FIGS. 1, 6, 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO–892)
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217 – 9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786 – 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272 – 1000.
/IDOWU O OSIFADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675