Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-14, 17-18, 20-23, 28, and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu (US PGPUB 20250330284 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a positioning configuration information processing method, performed by a gNB-Distributed Unit (DU) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “Ask the DU (gNB-Distributed Unit) to provide SRS resources for a particular UE”),
sending Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) configuration-related information to a gNB- Central Unit (CU) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “Block 1504 DU sends the SRS configuration to CU (gNB- Central Unit), the DU sends a DU-to-CU message. This message contains SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) configuration”),
such that the gNB-CU sends the SRS configuration-related information to a User Equipment (UE) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “the CU receives and processes the SRS configuration received from the DU, block 1508 the CU transmits, to the UE via the DU, an RRC reconfiguration message including the SRS configuration”),
the SRS configuration-related information is used for positioning the UE (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIGS 3-7 & 15A,15B, read as “the SRS configuration is specifically for positioning of UE, block 1508 the CU transmits, to the UE via the DU, an RRC reconfiguration message including the SRS configuration”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, In addition Wu teaches the SRS configuration-related information is used for positioning the UE in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “ A positioning configuration information is provided by the DU and CU sends SRS positioning related information to the UE for use while the UE is in a RRC inactive state”).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, In addition Wu teaches wherein prior to sending SRS configuration-related information to a gNB-CU (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “ At block 1710, the DU transmits the first DU-to-CU message to the CU”),
the positioning configuration information processing method comprises: receiving a positioning information request message sent by the gNB-CU (see sections [0292]- [0296], FIG. 17 “ the DU determines whether to transmit a first or second SRS configuration to a CU based on whether a message from the CU requests an allocation of SRS resources for the UE in an inactive state”),
wherein the positioning information request message is used to request the SRS configuration-related information (see sections [0292]- [0296], FIG. 17 “The method 1700 begins at block 1702, where the DU receives a first CU-to-DU message requesting SRS resources for the UE from a CU. At block 1704, the DU determines whether the first CU-to-DU message requests SRS resources for positioning in an inactive state”).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, In addition Wu teaches the sending SRS configuration-related information to a gNB-CU comprises: sending positioning information response message carrying the SRS configuration- related information to the gNB-CU (see section [0272] “first DU-to-CU message is a Positioning Information Response message, a UE Context Modification Required message, or a Positioning Information Update message. For a UE Context Modification Required message, the CU transmits a UE Context Modification Confirm message to the DU in response. the CU receive a Positioning Information Response message from the DU in response to the Positioning Information Request message”).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, In addition Wu teaches the sending the SRS configuration-related information to the gNB-CU comprises: in response to determining that the UE is in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state, (see sections [0096], [0272], and FIGS. 3-7 “read as the DU generate the SRS configuration information in the RRC configuration for positioning in the RRC Inactive state, The DU sends the SRS configuration to the CU (e.g. DU-to-CU RRC information IE”),
sending the SRS configuration-related information to the gNB-CU wherein the method further comprises: determining that the UE is in the RRC inactive state based on that the UE is accessing with a Small Data Transmission (SDT) (see section [0093], and FIG. 3 “read as the DU sends SRS configuration information to the CU, the CU includes the SRS related configuration in an RRC release message, the DU forwards that message to the UE causing the UE to enter RRC inactive while retaining SDT and SRS positioning capability”).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, In addition Wu teaches wherein the SRS configuration-related information (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “ At block 1710, the DU transmits the first DU-to-CU message to the CU”), comprises at least one of: a first type of configuration information for positioning the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “At block 1704, the DU determines whether the first CU-to-DU message requests SRS resources for positioning in an inactive state”),
wherein the first type of configuration information comprises at least one of time-frequency resources or period information (see section [0096], [0109] “the SRS configuration (e.g., SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig IE) is specific for SRS transmission during the inactive state. In some cases where the DU 174 generates the SRS configuration, the DU 174 includes the SRS configuration in the DU-to-CU message of event 331”); or
a second type of configuration information for positioning the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the second type of configuration information comprises at least one of: BandWidth Part (BWP) information; Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) threshold information for validating a Time Alignment (TA); downlink path loss reference information for validating the TA; absolute RSRP threshold information about a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) set for a downlink path loss reference for validating the TA; or TA timing information for indicating SRS positioning transmission (not required since Wu teaches the “first type of configuration information”).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 8, In addition Wu teaches the BWP information comprises: at least one of a Supplementary_-Uplink BWP (BWP-SUL); or a Normal Uplink BWP (BWP-NUL): or wherein the RSRP threshold information comprises at least one of second indication information for indicating to increase a RSRP threshold or third indication information for indicating to reduce the RSRP threshold
(Since the claim (i.e. claim 8) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. SRS configuration-related information comprises at least one of… to second type information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “first type information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches a positioning configuration information processing method, performed by a gNB- Central Unit (CU) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “Ask the CU (gNB- Central Unit) to provide SRS resources for a particular UE”),
receiving Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) configuration-related information sent by a gNB- Distributed Unit (DU) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “Block 1504 DU sends the SRS configuration to CU (gNB- Central Unit), the DU sends a DU-to-CU message. This message contains SRS (Sounding Reference Signal) configuration”),
sending the SRS configuration-related information to a User Equipment (UE) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “the CU receives and processes the SRS configuration received from the DU, block 1508 the CU transmits, to the UE via the DU, an RRC reconfiguration message including the SRS configuration”),
the SRS configuration-related information is used for positioning the UE (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “the SRS configuration is specifically for positioning of UE”).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 11, In addition Wu teaches the sending the SRS configuration-related information to a UE comprises: sending a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling carrying the SRS configuration- related information to the UE (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “ A positioning configuration information is provided by the DU, the DU sends SRS configuration to the CU and the CU sends SRS positioning related information to the UE for use while the UE is in an RRC inactive state and send RRC signal carry the SRS configuration related information to the UE”).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 11, In addition Wu teaches the SRS configuration-related information is used for positioning the UE in an RRC inactive state or an RRC idle state see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “A positioning configuration information is provided by the DU and CU sends SRS positioning related information to the UE for use while the UE is in a RRC inactive state”).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 11, In addition Wu teaches wherein the method further comprise: sending a positioning information request message to the gNB-DU, (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “the CU receives and processes the SRS configuration sent from the DU”),
wherein the positioning information request message is used to request the SRS configuration-related information (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “the CU receives and processes the SRS configuration received from the DU the SRS configuration is specifically for positioning of UE”); or
wherein receiving the SRS configuration-related information sent by the gNB-DU comprises: receiving a positioning information response message carrying the SRS configuration-related information sent by the gNB-DU (not required since Wu teaches the “sending” step above); or
wherein the method further comprises: sending a positioning information request message to the gNB-DU, wherein the positioning information request message is used to request the SRS configuration-related information, wherein the receiving the SRS configuration-related information sent by the gNB-DU comprises: receiving a positioning information response message carrying the SRS configuration-related information sent by the gNB-DU (not required since Wu teaches the “sending” step above).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 11, In addition Wu teaches wherein the SRS configuration-related information (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “ At block 1710, the DU transmits the first DU-to-CU message to the CU”), comprises at least one of: a first type of configuration information for positioning the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “At block 1704, the DU determines whether the first CU-to-DU message requests SRS resources for positioning in an inactive state”),
wherein the first type of configuration information comprises at least one of time-frequency resources or period information (see section [0096], [0109] “the SRS configuration (e.g., SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig IE) is specific for SRS transmission during the inactive state. In some cases where the DU 174 generates the SRS configuration, the DU 174 includes the SRS configuration in the DU-to-CU message of event 331”); or
a second type of configuration information for positioning the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the second type of configuration information comprises at least one of: BandWidth Part (BWP) information; Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) threshold information for validating a Time Alignment (TA); downlink path loss reference information for validating the TA; absolute RSRP threshold information about a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) set for a downlink path loss reference for validating the TA; or TA timing information for indicating SRS positioning transmission (not required since Wu teaches the “first type of configuration information”).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 17, In addition Wu teaches (Since the claim (i.e. claim 17) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. SRS configuration-related information comprises at least one of… to second type information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “first type information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim.).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches a positioning configuration information processing method, performed by a User Equipment (UE) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “Ask the CU (gNB- Central Unit) to provide SRS resources for a particular UE”),
receiving Sounding Reference Signal (SRS} configuration-related information sent by a gNB- Central Unit (CU) (see sections [0275]- [0280], FIG 13,14 read as “DU receives a request from CU, The CU sends a CU-to-DU message requesting SRS resources for specific UE”),
the SRS configuration-related information is obtained by the gNB-CU from a gNB- Distributed Unit (DU) (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as” CU-to-DU request SRS resources, block 1304 the DU determines the SRS resource configuration for the UE. The DU sends DU-to-CU message containing SRS”),
determining a position of the UE based on the SRS configuration-related information (see sections [0282]- [0285], FIG 15A,15B read as “the SRS configuration is specifically for positioning of UE”).
Regarding claim 21, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 20, In addition Wu teaches the receiving the SRS configuration-related information sent by a gNB-CU comprises: receiving an RRC signaling carrying the SRS configuration-related information sent by the gNB-CU (see sections [0292]- [0296], FIG. 17 “ the DU determines whether to transmit a first or second SRS configuration to a CU based on whether a message from the CU requests an allocation of SRS resources for the UE in an RRC inactive state message”).
Regarding claim 22, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 20, In addition Wu teaches wherein the SRS configuration-related information (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “ At block 1710, the DU transmits the first DU-to-CU message to the CU”), comprises at least one of: a first type of configuration information for positioning the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state (see sections [0292]- [0296], and FIG. 17 “At block 1704, the DU determines whether the first CU-to-DU message requests SRS resources for positioning in an inactive state”),
wherein the first type of configuration information comprises at least one of time-frequency resources or period information (see section [0096], [0109] “the SRS configuration (e.g., SRS-PosRRC-InactiveConfig IE) is specific for SRS transmission during the inactive state. In some cases where the DU 174 generates the SRS configuration, the DU 174 includes the SRS configuration in the DU-to-CU message of event 331”); or
a second type of configuration information for positioning the UE in the RRC inactive state or the RRC idle state, wherein the second type of configuration information comprises at least one of: BandWidth Part (BWP) information; Reference Signal Receiving Power (RSRP) threshold information for validating a Time Alignment (TA); downlink path loss reference information for validating the TA; absolute RSRP threshold information about a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) set for a downlink path loss reference for validating the TA; or TA timing information for indicating SRS positioning transmission (not required since Wu teaches the “first type of configuration information”).
Regarding claim 23, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 22, In addition Wu teaches (Since the claim (i.e. claim 22) upon which this claim depends, recites option for steps written in the alternative way (i.e. SRS configuration-related information comprises at least one of… to second type information….) and the option to which this claim is directed (i.e. “first type information...”) is not the one for the prior art is cited, no art needs to be cited for in the rejection of this claim).
Regarding claim 28, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 1, In addition Wu teaches a gNB-Distributed Unit (DU), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing therein instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 1 (see section [0070] “the DUs 174 also includes processing hardware that can include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units”).
Regarding claim 30, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 11, In addition Wu teaches a gNB-Central Unit (CU), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing therein instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 11 (see section [0069] “The CU 172 includes processing hardware, such as one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., CPUs) and a computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the general-purpose processor(s), and/or special-purpose processing units”).
Regarding claim 31, Wu teaches all the limitation of claim 20, In addition Wu teaches a User Equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; and a memory storing therein instructions executable by the processor, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 20 ( see section [0068] “The UE 102 is equipped with processing hardware 150 that can include one or more general-purpose processors such as CPUs and non-transitory computer-readable memory storing machine-readable instructions executable on the one or more general-purpose processors, and/or special-purpose processing units”).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645