Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5-9, 13-15,17, 19-23, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US PGPUB 20250133577 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US PGPUB 20250351213 A1) further in view of BERGGREN et al. (US PGPUB 20220201646 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HU teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory (see section [0251], FIGS. 4-6 “read as memory”), and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (see section [0251], FIG. 7 “read as processor 706, where the UE includes the memory) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor (paragraph 293, read as including a processor and a memory. Computer programmable instructions for implementing a method for SL positioning are stored in the memory) is configured to:
participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover (see sections [0100], [0103], FIG. 3D read as the target UE is transmitting/receiving SL positioning information to/from the network (gNB) via at least one anchor UE, where the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE is during a handover procedure), wherein the positioning session with the network entity via the first relay UE is associated with a first positioning configuration (paragraphs 100, 101, read as the transmitting/receiving of the SL positioning information includes the SL PRS configuration).
HU teaches the claimed invention except for participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE
Wu teaches participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE (see sections [0150], [0151], FIG. 7 “read as UE 701 and BS 704 communicate via relay 702 and UE 701 sends (i.e. participates) measurement reports to BS 704 via UE 702 and during these measurement reports, BS 704 decides to switch (i.e. handover) from source relay UE 702 to another UE 703)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Combination of HU and Wu fail to explicitly suggest switch to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover.
However. In an analogous field of endeavor BERGGREN teaches switch to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see section [0113], FIG. 6 “read as the UE may performing operations of positioning configuration, whether the exiting positioning configuration remains valid after checking the current serving cell; if the UE has moved to another cell, it request a new positioning configuration, otherwise it continues using the existing one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include switch to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Wu teaches receive the second positioning configuration from the network entity if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover (see sections [0097]- [0103] and FIG. 4 “read as when the first indirect path is no longer valid or available, the serving cell sends an RRCReconfiguration message to instruct the UE to switch to a second indirect path via a target relay UE”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include receive the second positioning configuration from the network entity if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, HU US teaches adjust a measurement period for the positioning session after switching to the second positioning configuration (see section [0102]- [0104], FIG. 3 “read as when the target UE or anchor UE changes state a handover (path change), the SL positioning configuration is managed so that UE can continue performing positioning measurements”),
or restart the measurement period for the positioning session after maintaining the first positioning configuration (not required since HU teaches “adjust a measurement period for the positioning session”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of HU, Wu and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, BERGGREN teaches the at least one processor is further configured to: perform at least one positioning measurement for the positioning session via the first relay UE if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see sections [0113],[0129] FIG. 6 “read as the UE may performing operations of positioning configuration, whether the exiting positioning configuration remains valid after checking the current serving cell; if the UE has moved to another cell, it request a new positioning configuration, otherwise it continues using the existing one, if the configuration is associated with the serving cell or with a group of cells that includes the serving cells, the configuration may be determined to be valid. After validation of the configuration, the wireless communications device may proceed with positioning operations in idle mode”).
transmit positioning measurement data for the positioning session via the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see section [0113] “The downlink measurements 152 may also provide beam information related to the serving base station 132 and neighbor base stations 134 so that the UE 136 may select appropriate transmit beams for the uplink reference signals. For example, if beam correspondence is maintained, a corresponding transmit beam may be selected based on a receive beam for reference signals from the serving base station 132 and/or neighbor base stations 134”),
wherein the positioning measurement data is based on the at least one positioning measurement for the positioning session via the first relay UE (see section [0122] “read as the UE measure downlink reference signals, transmit uplink reference to signals and measurement information to the serving base station, and the network combines UE and measurements to determine the UE’s position, so positioning measurement data according to positioning operation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify combination HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include the at least one processor is further configured to: perform at least one positioning measurement for the positioning session via the first relay UE if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover; and transmit positioning measurement data for the positioning session via the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover, wherein the positioning measurement data is based on the at least one positioning measurement for the positioning session via the first relay UE thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, HU teaches perform a set of round-trip time (RTT) measurements (see section [0098] “ transmit/receive the SL-PRS and use which resource and sidelink positioning method (e.g., sidelink time difference of arrival (TDOA) or round-trip time (RTT)”).
or transmit at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission (not required since HU teaches the “round trip time (RTT) measurements”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of HU, Wu and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, BERGGREN teaches the positioning measurement data includes at least one of a measurement report (see section [0123] FIG. 8 “The base stations 132 and 134 may send respective measurement reports 200 to the positioning computation 130, which calculates a positioning estimate 202 based on the reports 200. The reports 200 may include positioning measurement values”).
or location information for the first UE (not required since BERGGREN teaches the “a measurement report”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of the combination of HU, Wu , and BERGGREN with BERGGREN to include the positioning measurement data includes at least one of a measurement report or location information for the first UE thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, BERGGREN teaches the second positioning configuration is provided to the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover (see section [0113], FIG. 6 “UE 136 may confirm a validity of the positioning configuration information 146, the UE 136 may perform downlink measurements 152 to identify a cell in which it is located. When the identified cell corresponds to the positioning configuration information 146, the known configuration is verified. If the UE 136 has moved to a different serving cell or different group of cells since receiving the positioning configuration information 146, the information may no longer be valid and the UE 136 may require a new configuration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of the combination of HU ,Wu, and BERGGREN with BERGGREN to include the second positioning configuration is provided to the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Wu teaches the second positioning configuration is associated with the positioning session between the first UE and the network entity via the second relay UE (see section [0128], FIG. 5, “the relay UE is a source relay UE during a path switch procedure from a first indirect path to a second indirect path, wherein the first indirect path is between the remote UE and the network via the source relay UE, and wherein the second indirect path is between the remote UE and the network via a second target relay UE”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include the second positioning configuration is associated with the positioning session between the first UE and the network entity via the second relay UE thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, HU teaches the positioning session is a sidelink (SL) positioning session (see section [0130] “the SL positioning related information includes at least one mapping, and wherein each mapping is: a mapping between a SL positioning configuration and a corresponding sidelink destination ID),
the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is a SL handover (see section [0104] “the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE when it changes its state, and how to handle the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE during a handover procedure.”),
the first UE is a first remote UE (see section [0129] FIG.4 “In step 402, the first UE may receive first SL positioning related information from the network. In some embodiments of the present application, the first UE may receive the first SL positioning related information from the LMF”),
the network entity is a transmission-reception point (TRP) or a location management function (LMF) (see section [0129] “the first UE may receive the first SL positioning related information from the LMF via an LPP signaling or from the serving BS via an RRC signaling).
or a transmission-reception point (TRP) (not required since HU teaches “a location management function (LMF)”).
Regarding claim 15, HU teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
a memory (see section [0251], FIGS. 4-6 “read as memory”), and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory (see section [0251], FIG. 7 “read as processor 706, where the UE includes the memory) and, based at least in part on information stored in the memory, the at least one processor (paragraph 293, read as including a processor and a memory. Computer programmable instructions for implementing a method for SL positioning are stored in the memory) is configured to:
participate in a positioning session with a first user equipment (UE) via a first relay UE during a handover (see sections [0100], [0103], FIG. 3D read as the target UE is transmitting/receiving SL positioning information to/from the network (gNB) via at least one anchor UE, where the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE is during a handover procedure), wherein the positioning session with the first UE via the first relay UE is associated with a first positioning configuration (paragraphs 100, 101, read as the transmitting/receiving of the SL positioning information includes the SL PRS configuration).
HU teaches the claimed invention except for participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE.
Wu teaches participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE (see sections [0150], [0151], FIG. 7 “read as UE 701 and BS 704 communicate via relay 702 and UE 701 sends (i.e. participates) measurement reports to BS 704 via UE 702 and during these measurement reports, BS 704 decides to switch (i.e. handover) from source relay UE 702 to another UE 703)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Combination of HU and Wu fail to explicitly suggest switch to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover.
However. In an analogous field of endeavor BERGGREN teaches switch to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see section [0113], FIG. 6 “read as the UE may performing operations of positioning configuration, whether the exiting positioning configuration remains valid after checking the current serving cell; if the UE has moved to another cell, it request a new positioning configuration, otherwise it continues using the existing one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include switch to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Wu teaches receive the second positioning configuration from the network entity if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover (see sections [0097]- [0103] and FIG. 4 “read as when the first indirect path is no longer valid or available, the serving cell sends an RRCReconfiguration message to instruct the UE to switch to a second indirect path via a target relay UE”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include receive the second positioning configuration from the network entity if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, HU teaches adjust a measurement period for the positioning session after switching to the second positioning configuration (see sections [0102]- [0104], FIG. 3 “read as when the target UE or anchor UE changes state a handover (path change), the SL positioning configuration is managed so that UE can continue performing positioning measurements”),
or restart the measurement period for the positioning session after maintaining the first positioning configuration (not required since HU teaches “adjust a measurement period for the positioning session”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, BERGGREN teaches receive positioning measurement data for the positioning session via the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see section [0113] “The downlink measurements 152 may also provide beam information related to the serving base station 132 and neighbor base stations 134 so that the UE 136 may select appropriate transmit beams for the uplink reference signals. For example, if beam correspondence is maintained, a corresponding transmit beam may be selected based on a receive beam for reference signals from the serving base station 132 and/or neighbor base stations 134”),
wherein the positioning measurement data is based on at least one positioning measurement for the positioning session via the first relay UE (see section [0122] “read as the UE measure downlink reference signals, transmit uplink reference to signals and measurement information to the serving base station, and the network combines UE and measurements to determine the UE’s position, so positioning measurement data according to positioning operation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include receive positioning measurement data for the positioning session via the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover, wherein the positioning measurement data is based on at least one positioning measurement for the positioning session via the first relay UE thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 6. In addition, HU teaches perform a set of round-trip time (RTT) measurements (see section [0098] “ transmit/receive the SL-PRS and use which resource and sidelink positioning method (e.g., sidelink time difference of arrival (TDOA) or round-trip time (RTT)”).
or transmit at least one positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission (not required since HU teaches the “round trip time (RTT) measurements”).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 20. In addition BERGGREN teaches the positioning measurement data includes at least one of a measurement report (see section [0123] FIG. 8 “The base stations 132 and 134 may send respective measurement reports 200 to the positioning computation 130, which calculates a positioning estimate 202 based on the reports 200. The reports 200 may include positioning measurement values”).
or location information for the first UE (not required since BERGGREN teaches the “a measurement report”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include the positioning measurement data includes at least one of a measurement report or location information for the first UE thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, BERGGREN teaches the second positioning configuration is provided to the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover (see section [0113], FIG. 6 “UE 136 may confirm a validity of the positioning configuration information 146, the UE 136 may perform downlink measurements 152 to identify a cell in which it is located. When the identified cell corresponds to the positioning configuration information 146, the known configuration is verified. If the UE 136 has moved to a different serving cell or different group of cells since receiving the positioning configuration information 146, the information may no longer be valid and the UE 136 may require a new configuration”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include the second positioning configuration is provided to the second relay UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, Wu teaches the second positioning configuration is associated with the positioning session between the first UE and the network entity via the second relay UE (see section [0128], FIG. 5, “he relay UE is a source relay UE during a path switch procedure from a first indirect path to a second indirect path, wherein the first indirect path is between the remote UE and the network via the source relay UE, and wherein the second indirect path is between the remote UE and the network via a second target relay UE”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include the second positioning configuration is associated with the positioning session between the first UE and the network entity via the second relay UE thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. In addition, HU teaches the positioning session is a sidelink (SL) positioning session (see section [0130] “the SL positioning related information includes at least one mapping, and wherein each mapping is: a mapping between a SL positioning configuration and a corresponding sidelink destination ID),
the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is a SL handover (see section [0104] “the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE when it changes its state, and how to handle the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE during a handover procedure.”),
the first UE is a first remote UE (see section [0129] FIG.4 “In step 402, the first UE may receive first SL positioning related information from the network. In some embodiments of the present application, the first UE may receive the first SL positioning related information from the LMF”),
the network entity is a transmission-reception point (TRP) or a location management function (LMF) (see section [0129] “the first UE may receive the first SL positioning related information from the LMF via an LPP signaling or from the serving BS via an RRC signaling),
or a transmission-reception point (TRP) (not required since HU teaches “a location management function (LMF)”).
Regarding claim 29, HU teaches a method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
participating in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover (see sections [0100], [0103], FIG. 3D read as the target UE is transmitting/receiving SL positioning information to/from the network (gNB) via at least one anchor UE, where the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE is during a handover procedure), wherein the positioning session with the network entity via the first relay UE is associated with a first positioning configuration (paragraphs 100, 101, read as the transmitting/receiving of the SL positioning information includes the SL PRS configuration).
HU teaches the claimed invention except for participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE
Wu teaches participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE (see section [0150], [0151], FIG. 7 “read as UE 701 and BS 704 communicate via relay 702 and UE 701 sends (i.e. participates) measurement reports to BS 704 via UE 702 and during these measurement reports, BS 704 decides to switch (i.e. handover) from source relay UE 702 to another UE 703)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Combination of HU and Wu fail to explicitly suggest switching to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover.
However. In an analogous field of endeavor BERGGREN teaches switching to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see section [0113], FIG. 6 “read as the UE may performing operations of positioning configuration, whether the exiting positioning configuration remains valid after checking the current serving cell; if the UE has moved to another cell, it request a new positioning configuration, otherwise it continues using the existing one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include switching to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Regarding claim 30, HU teaches a method wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
participating in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover (see sections [0100], [0103], FIG. 3D read as the target UE is transmitting/receiving SL positioning information to/from the network (gNB) via at least one anchor UE, where the SL positioning configuration by the target UE or the anchor UE is during a handover procedure), wherein the positioning session with the network entity via the first relay UE is associated with a first positioning configuration (paragraphs 100, 101, read as the transmitting/receiving of the SL positioning information includes the SL PRS configuration).
HU teaches the claimed invention except for participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE.
Wu teaches participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE (see section [0150], [0151], FIG. 7 “read as UE 701 and BS 704 communicate via relay 702 and UE 701 sends (i.e. participates) measurement reports to BS 704 via UE 702 and during these measurement reports, BS 704 decides to switch (i.e. handover) from source relay UE 702 to another UE 703)”),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify HU with Wu to include participate in a positioning session with a network entity via a first relay UE during a handover from the first relay UE to a second relay UE thereby, to improving the throughput of a user equipment (UE) that is located in the coverage or far from the BS, which can result in relatively low signal quality as taught by Wu (see section [0003]).
Combination of HU and Wu fail to explicitly suggest switching to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover
or maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover.
However. In an analogous field of endeavor BERGGREN teaches switching to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or
maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover (see section [0113], FIG. 6 “read as the UE may performing operations of positioning configuration, whether the exiting positioning configuration remains valid after checking the current serving cell; if the UE has moved to another cell, it request a new positioning configuration, otherwise it continues using the existing one”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU and Wu with BERGGREN to include switching to a second positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover or maintaining the first positioning configuration if the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover thereby, to reducing latency, resource utilization, and power consumption as taught by BERGGREN (see section [0092]).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US PGPUB 20250133577 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US PGPUB 20250351213 A1) in view of BERGGREN et al. (US PGPUB 20220201646 A1) as applied to claims 1and 15 above, and further in view of Siomina (US PGPUB 20140080489 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches identify whether the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE; and transmit a positioning error message if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover
However. In an analogous field of endeavor, Siomina teaches identify whether the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE (see section [0185], FIGS. 2-4 “the indication about the ongoing positioning session can be sent to the target cell before the positioning node is informed of the cell change”), transmit a positioning error message if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover (see section [0185], [0193], FIGS. 2-4 Block 420 “ the radio network node sends an indication about an on-going positioning session to a target cell, such as when the cell change involves a handover to the target cell. Information provided as part of in association with the indication of the cell change, such as the type of cell change or a new uplink or downlink transmission configuration for a target UE").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify , the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN with Siomina to include identify whether the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE; and transmit a positioning error message if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to improve positioning QoS, e.g., accuracy and/or response time, when a cell change occurs as taught by Siomina (see section [0152]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches identify whether the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE; and transmit the second positioning configuration for the first UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover
Siomina teaches identify whether the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE (see section [0185], FIGS. 2-4 “the indication about the ongoing positioning session can be sent to the target cell before the positioning node is informed of the cell change”),
transmit the second positioning configuration for the first UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover (see section [0185], [0193], FIGS. 2-4 Block 420 “ the radio network node sends an indication about an on-going positioning session to a target cell, such as when the cell change involves a handover to the target cell. In formation provided as part of in association with the indication of the cell change, such as the type of cell change or a new uplink or downlink transmission configuration for a target UE").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu, and BERGGREN with Siomina to include identify whether the first positioning configuration is valid based on the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE; and transmit the second positioning configuration for the first UE if the first positioning configuration is not valid based on the handover thereby, to improve positioning QoS, e.g., accuracy and/or response time, when a cell change occurs as taught by Siomina (see section [0152]).
Claims 4,10,12,18,24,26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US PGPUB 20250133577 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US PGPUB 20250351213 A1) in view of BERGGREN et al. (US PGPUB 20220201646 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of KANG (WO 2024019591 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches the first positioning configuration is associated with a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration message and wherein the second positioning configuration is associated with a second RRC configuration message different from the first RRC configuration message.
KANG teaches the first positioning configuration is associated with a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration message (see section [0155], FIG. 9 Block 907 “Base station 1 (940) can transmit an RRCReconfiguration message in step 907 to the terminal (900) instructing it to change the side link relay path or handover path according to the decision in step 906 (e.g. In the embodiment of FIG. 9, it is decided to change the side link path to the side link relay (950) in base station 2 (960).”),
the second positioning configuration is associated with a second RRC configuration message different from the first RRC configuration message (see section [0156] Fig. 15 “read as The RRC Reconfiguration message is delivered through the current Layer 2 relay, and Layer 3 rely configuration instructing RRC Reconfiguration, the terminal 960 sends the RRC configuration complete message to UE2 (second position) in step 909”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu (US ‘231)’ and BERGGREN with KANG to include the first positioning configuration is associated with a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration message and wherein the second positioning configuration is associated with a second RRC configuration message different from the first RRC configuration message thereby, extend service coverage and increase the reliability of data transmission and reception and minimize or reduce the terminal's battery usage by transmitting and receiving data/signaling with a base station through a sidelink relay as taught by KANG (see section [0048]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with at least one handover distance threshold, such that the handover is executed if a distance between the first UE and the first relay UE is greater than the at least one handover distance threshold, wherein the at least one handover distance threshold includes a threshold bias distance.
KANG teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with at least one handover distance threshold, such that the handover is executed if a distance between the first UE and the first relay UE is greater than the at least one handover distance threshold (see section [0365] “read as the terminal reports measurements and may switch to the second relay when the current relay’s measurement falls down below the first threshold and the candidate relay’s measurement greater the second threshold”),
the at least one handover distance threshold includes a threshold bias distance (see section [0176] FIG. 11 “read as terminal can communicate directly with the Layer-3 sidelink relay and perform relay selection or relay change. Layer-3 relay may be located inside or outside the coverage area (minimum or maximum distance) the coverage area of base station”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu, and BERGGREN with KANG to include the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with at least one handover distance threshold, such that the handover is executed if a distance between the first UE and the first relay UE is greater than the at least one handover distance threshold, wherein the at least one handover distance threshold includes a threshold bias distance thereby, extend service coverage and increase the reliability of data transmission and reception and minimize or reduce the terminal's battery usage by transmitting and receiving data/signaling with a base station through a sidelink relay as taught by KANG (see section [0048]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 1. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with a notification message from the first relay UE to the first UE, wherein the first UE initiates the handover if the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, and wherein the first UE initiates a connection re-establishment if the first UE is in an RRC connected state.
KANG teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with a notification message from the first relay UE to the first UE (see sections [0155]- [0156], FIG. 9 blocks 906- 909 “gNB1 940 sends a RRCReconfiguration message instructing (command) UE1 to switch from current relay to the target relay, gNB2 provides the configuration information required for L2 Relay UE2 950”),
wherein the first UE initiates the handover if the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (see section [0152] FIG. 9 blocks 905 -907 “gNB1 940 and gNB2 960 exchange information for Ui handover or relay path switch, 906 gNB1 decides whether to perform Ui handover or path switch, 907 gNB1 sends an RRCReconfiguration message instructing the UE to switch from UE1 to UE2”),
wherein the first UE initiates a connection re-establishment if the first UE is in an RRC connected state (see section [0152], FIG. 9 block 910 “The terminal (900) can perform the PC5 unicast connection establishment procedure with the layer-2 sidelink relay (950) in step 911 when transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu, and BERGGREN with KANG to include the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with a notification message from the first relay UE to the first UE, wherein the first UE initiates the handover if the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, and wherein the first UE initiates a connection re-establishment if the first UE is in an RRC connected state thereby, extend service coverage and increase the reliability of data transmission and reception and minimize or reduce the terminal's battery usage by transmitting and receiving data/signaling with a base station through a sidelink relay as taught by KANG (see section [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches the first positioning configuration is associated with a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration message, and wherein the second positioning configuration is associated with a second RRC configuration message different from the first RRC configuration message.
KANG teaches the first positioning configuration is associated with a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration message (see section [0155], FIG. 9 Block 907 “Base station 1 (940) can transmit an RRCReconfiguration message in step 907 to the terminal (900) instructing it to change the side link relay path or handover path according to the decision in step 906 (e.g. In the embodiment of FIG. 9, it is decided to change the side link path to the side link relay (950) in base station 2 (960).”),
the second positioning configuration is associated with a second RRC configuration message different from the first RRC configuration message (see section [0156] Fig. 15 “read as The RRC Reconfiguration message is delivered through the current Layer 2 relay, and Layer 3 rely configuration instructing RRC Reconfiguration, the terminal 960 sends the RRC configuration complete message to UE2 (second position) in step 909”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu (US ‘231)’ and BERGGREN with KANG to include the first positioning (configuration is associated with a first radio resource control (RRC) configuration message, and wherein the second positioning configuration is associated with a second RRC configuration message different from the first RRC configuration message thereby, extend service coverage and increase the reliability of data transmission and reception and minimize or reduce the terminal's battery usage by transmitting and receiving data/signaling with a base station through a sidelink relay as taught by KANG (see section [0048]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with at least one handover distance threshold, such that the handover is executed if a distance between the first UE and the first relay UE is greater than the at least one handover distance threshold, wherein the at least one handover distance threshold includes a threshold bias distance.
KANG teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with at least one handover distance threshold, such that the handover is executed if a distance between the first UE and the first relay UE is greater than the at least one handover distance threshold (see section [0365] “read as the terminal reports measurements and may switch to the second relay when the current relay’s measurement falls down below the first threshold and the candidate relay’s measurement greater the second threshold”),
wherein the at least one handover distance threshold includes a threshold bias distance (see section [0176] FIG. 11 “read as terminal can communicate directly with the Layer-3 sidelink relay and perform relay selection or relay change. Layer-3 relay may be located inside or outside the coverage area (minimum or maximum distance) the coverage area of base station”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu, and BERGGREN with KANG to include the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with at least one handover distance threshold, such that the handover is executed if a distance between the first UE and the first relay UE is greater than the at least one handover distance threshold, wherein the at least one handover distance threshold includes a threshold bias distance thereby, extend service coverage and increase the reliability of data transmission and reception and minimize or reduce the terminal's battery usage by transmitting and receiving data/signaling with a base station through a sidelink relay as taught by KANG (see section [0048]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination HU, Wu, and BERGGREN teaches all the limitations of claim 15. However, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN fails to teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with a notification message from the first relay UE to the first UE, wherein the first UE initiates the handover if the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, and wherein the first UE initiates a connection re-establishment if the first UE is in an RRC connected state.
KANG teaches the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with a notification message from the first relay UE to the first UE (see section [0231]- [0235], FIG. 13 blocks 1309 &1310 “base station 1 (1340) may determine handover to a Ui cell or path change to a layer-2 sidelink relay in step 1309 by referring to the terminal measurement result in step 1308. Base Station 1 (1340) instructs the terminal (1300) to handover or change the layer-2 sidelink relay path according to the decision in step 1309 (e.g., change the path to the layer-2 sidelink relay in the embodiment of FIG. 13). (Determine) The RRCReconfiguration message may be transmitted in step 1310”),
wherein the first UE initiates the handover if the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state (see section [0231]- [0235], FIG. 13 blocks 1309 -1312 “the target sidelink relay (1350) can determine that the terminal (1300) has sent an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to the target sidelink relay (1350) and perform a transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state”),
wherein the first UE initiates a connection re-establishment if the first UE is in an RRC connected state (see section [0231]- [0235], FIG. 13 blocks 1309 -1313 “The terminal (1300) can perform the PC5 unicast connection establishment procedure with the layer-2 sidelink relay (1350) in step 1313 when transition to the RRC_CONNECTED state”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu, and BERGGREN with KANG to include the handover from the first relay UE to the second relay UE is associated with a notification message from the first relay UE to the first UE, wherein the first UE initiates the handover if the first UE is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state, and wherein the first UE initiates a connection re-establishment if the first UE is in an RRC connected state thereby, extend service coverage and increase the reliability of data transmission and reception and minimize or reduce the terminal's battery usage by transmitting and receiving data/signaling with a base station through a sidelink relay as taught by KANG (see section [0048]).
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (US PGPUB 20250133577 A1) in view of Wu et al. (US PGPUB 20250351213 A1) in view of BERGGREN et al. (US PGPUB 20220201646 A1) in view of KANG (WO 2024019591 A1) as applied to claims 10 and 24 above, and further in view of WEI et.al. (US PGPUB 20240259884 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of HU, Wu, and BERGGREN and KANG teaches all the limitations of claim 10. However, the combination of HU, Wu US ‘231’, BERGGREN and KANG fail to teaches the at least one handover distance threshold includes a minimum distance threshold and a maximum distance threshold, wherein the threshold bias distance is at least one of (I) greater than the minimum distance threshold, (ii) less than the maximum distance threshold, or (iii) greater than the minimum distance threshold and less than the maximum distance threshold
WEI teaches at least one handover distance threshold includes a minimum distance threshold and a maximum distance threshold (see sections [0062]- [0063] read as “A threshold distance is used to determine whether a UE participates in group handover with relay node. UEs whose distance from the node is less (Minimum) than a threshold distance performs group handover with relay, while a UE whose distance is greater (Maximum) than the threshold distance performs a separate handover instead”),
wherein the threshold bias distance is at least one of (I) greater than the minimum distance threshold, (ii) less than the maximum distance threshold, or (iii) greater than the minimum distance threshold and less than the maximum distance threshold (see sections [0062]- [0063] read as “A threshold distance is used to determine whether a UE participates in group handover with relay node. UEs whose distance from the node is less (Minimum) than a threshold distance performs group handover with relay, while a UE whose distance is greater (Maximum) than the threshold distance performs a separate handover instead.” (“The distance may determine using signal strength/quality or location information (e.g. GNSS coordinates).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify , the combination of HU , Wu US ‘231’, BERGGREN and KANG with WEI to include the at least one handover distance threshold includes a minimum distance threshold and a maximum distance threshold, wherein the threshold bias distance is at least one of (I) greater than the minimum distance threshold, (ii) less than the maximum distance threshold, or (iii) greater than the minimum distance threshold and less than the maximum distance threshold thereby, to improve the network speed, reliability, efficiency and/or flexibility of these networks as taught by WEI (see section [0004]).
Regarding claim 25 the combination of HU, Wu, BERGGREN and KANG teaches all the limitations of claim 24. However, the combination of HU, Wu US ‘231’, BERGGREN and KANG fail to teaches the at least one handover distance threshold includes a minimum distance threshold and a maximum distance threshold, wherein the threshold bias distance is at least one of: (I) greater than the minimum distance threshold, (ii) less than the maximum distance threshold, or (iii) greater than the minimum distance threshold and less than the maximum distance threshold
WEI teaches the at least one handover distance threshold includes a minimum distance threshold and a maximum distance threshold (see sections [0062]- [0063] read as “A threshold distance is used to determine whether a UE participates in group handover with relay node. UEs whose distance from the node is less (Minimum) than a threshold distance performs group handover with relay, while a UE whose distance is greater (Maximum) than the threshold distance performs a separate handover instead”),
the threshold bias distance is at least one of: (I) greater than the minimum distance threshold, (ii) less than the maximum distance threshold, or (iii) greater than the minimum distance threshold and less than the maximum distance threshold (see sections [0062]- [0063] read as “A threshold distance is used to determine whether a UE participates in group handover with relay node. UEs whose distance from the node is less (Minimum) than a threshold distance performs group handover with relay, while a UE whose distance is greater (Maximum) than the threshold distance performs a separate handover instead.” (“The distance may determine using signal strength/quality or location information (e.g. GNSS coordinates).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify the combination of HU , Wu US ‘231’, BERGGREN and KANG with WEI to include the at least one handover distance threshold includes a minimum distance threshold and a maximum distance threshold, wherein the threshold bias distance is at least one of: (I) greater than the minimum distance threshold, (ii) less than the maximum distance threshold, or (iii) greater than the minimum distance threshold and less than the maximum distance threshold thereby, to improve the network speed, reliability, efficiency and/or flexibility of these networks as taught by WEI (see section [0004]).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645