DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, drawn to the finger dexterity measuring device, in the reply filed on 9/1/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-19 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/1/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
“securing means for securing” in claim 6.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a thumb portion” in claim 1;
“a finger portion” in claim 1;
“a first rotatable element” in claim 1; and
“a wrist portion” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (CN 114536381 A1, hereinafter Wang).
For claim 1, Wang discloses a device for measuring finger dexterity (Figs 1,2,33), comprising inter alia:
a thumb portion (1) configured to be releasably secured to a thumb (Fig 1),
a finger portion (2,3,4,5) configured to be releasably secured to the distal end of a finger (Fig 1),
wherein the finger portion and the thumb portion are connected by a flexible connector (600) (Fig 1),
wherein the flexible connector extends between the thumb portion and the finger portion (Fig 1) (Fig 1);
a first rotatable element (113) (Fig 2);
a rotation sensor (9) configured to sense rotation of the rotatable element (Fig 33),
a microprocessor (control circuit board), wherein the microprocessor is in communication with the rotation sensor (Fig 33), and
a transmitter (tendon rope) (Fig 29-32 description) configured for wireless communication with a computing device (810),
wherein the rotatable element is configured to rotate when the finger portion and thumb portion move relative to each other (Fig 33 description), and
wherein the microprocessor is configured to generate rotation data in response to rotation of the rotatable element, wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit the rotation data to the computing device (Figs 29-33 description).
For claim 2, Wang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first rotatable element is a magnet (magnet of Fig 33 description) and wherein the rotation sensor is a magnetic rotary encoder (113) (Fig 2).
For claim 3, Wang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein one end of the flexible connector is affixed to the finger portion and the other end of the flexible connector is affixed to the thumb portion (Fig 2), and wherein the flexible connector is configured to wind around a second rotatable element (2132) (Fig 14-17) when the thumb portion and finger portion move towards each other (Fig 2).
For claim 4, Wang discloses the device of claim 3, further comprising a spiral torsion spring (elastic reset piece 25) fixed to the second rotatable element (Fig 14-17 description), wherein the spiral torsion spring is arranged to contract when the thumb portion and the finger portion are moved away from each other (Fig 14-17 description).
For claim 5, Wang discloses the device of claim 4, wherein contraction of the spiral torsion spring causes rotation of the magnet (Fig 33 description).
For claim 6, Wang discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the microprocessor and transmitter are housed in a wrist portion (Fig 29-32), wherein the wrist portion comprises securing means for securing the wrist portion to a wrist (Fig 29-32).
For claim 7, Wang discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising a timer (pre-tightening mechanism that keeps drive tendon rope time keeping tension state of description of Figs 29-33) configured to record the time required to complete a predetermined number of finger taps by a participant performing a finger tapping test (pre-tightening mechanism that keeps drive tendon rope time keeping tension state of finger tapping movement of description of Figs 29-33).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for measuring finger dexterity.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791