Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s reply received 9/18/26. Claims 1-16 are pending while claims 1-6 and 15-16 are withdrawn. Claims 7-14 are considered on the merits.
Election/Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 7-14 in the reply filed on 9/18/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 administers a supplement “based on Enterococcus faecium”. The phrase ‘based on’ is confusing because it does not clearly limit this bacteria as part of the composition, but can include cell-free media where E. faecium was cultured, as well as components or metabolic products of E. faecium. This leaves the metes and bounds of the structure of the composition unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 114586888 A, published 2022) in light of support by The Merck Veterinary Manual (2025). Since Li et al. is in Chinese, an English translation is provided. All citations in this action are to that translation.
Li et al. teach administering chickens a feed additive comprising Enterococcus faecium and sodium butyrate to treat colibacillosis. (Li, pg. 2, middle) which is an inflammation in the intestinal mucosa caused by E. coli as supported by the Merk Veterinary Manual.
Therefore the invention as a whole is anticipated by the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 114586888 A, published 2022, in IDS 12/12/24) in view of Ubbink et al. (EP 1344458, 2002). Since Li et al. is in Chinese, an English translation is provided. All citations in this action are to that translation.
Li et al. teach administering chickens (e.g. livestock) a feed additive comprising Enterococcus faecium and sodium butyrate to treat colibacillosis (Li, pg. 2, middle).
Li et al. does not teach Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415. However this would be obvious in view of Ubbink et al. who teach Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 formulated into pellets (Ubbink, Example 2) for treating livestock and pets (Ubbink 0029). The pets include cats and dogs (Ubbink, 0029). Specifically Ubbink et al. teach using Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 in its commercially available form of LBC-ME10 which is microencapsulated (Ubbink, 0011, 0125). Ubbink et al. teach LBC-ME10 has good stability. E. faecium NCIMB10415 is a synonym for E. faecium SF68 as supported by Applicant’s Specification (pg. 3, lines 5-10).
It would be obvious to use microencapsulated Enterococcus faecium NCIMB10415 LBC-ME10 formulation in the invention of Li et al. since Ubbink et al. teach it is a suitable probiotic formulation with good stability to administer to both livestock, dogs, and cats. One of ordinary skill would recognize this as simply substituting one Enterococcus faecium for another, when both are taught as probiotics for livestock and other animals.
Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Early (GB2258170).
Early teach administering a pet supplement comprising Enterococcus faecium (pg. 17, lines 1-10) to treat gastroenteritis, colitis, or obesity (pg. 7, lines 10-20).
While Early does not expressly teach all the claim limitations in a single embodiment, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the claimed method after reviewing the entire disclosure. Therefore the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 1874238. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims disclose methods of administering a composition comprising Enterococcus faecium NCIMB 10415 and sodium butyrate to treat the intestinal submucosa.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In response to this office action the applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure, including the claims (MPEP 714.02 and 2163.06).
CONTACT INFORMATION
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699